Skip to main content
Weddings

New York Players Entertainment Reviews

New York Players Entertainment

New York Players Entertainment

Albany, NY
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 90 Reviews
View more information

90 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 90
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

33 User photos

  • P
    Paul L. Married on 03/14/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Simply The Best

    Can’t say enough, Mike was great at communicating our wants and needs and The New York Players delivered. Not only great musicians and singers, the group delivered the right songs at the right time throughout entire night. Professional from start to finish. We got so many comments about the great band and the dance floor was packed all night long….(loved the horn section) Mike made the entire night worry free and we would recommended the group without hesitation. Hire them now. GREAT JOB!
  • C
    Caroline B. Married on 12/18/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing wedding band!!

    We had a blast dancing the night away with the New York Players at our December wedding! Mike was wonderful to work with leading up to the day. He was thorough in the planning process and we had a lot of fun talking with him during our phone calls. The band played at my husband’s two sister’s weddings prior to ours, and we will definitely be recommending them to others!!
  • Erica
    Erica C. Married on 12/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    New York Players Owns the Stage

    Leading up to our wedding, the band was perhaps the most important part of the night. We loved Mike Emery from the first phone call because we could tell he was confident that NY Players could deliver - and deliver they did. Our dance floor was packed all night, the horns were electric and the vocals were excellent. They even let the bride and groom on stage to sing Born to Run and bring the house down. Don’t look anywhere else for a band in the Capital Region, this is your group. Thank you New York Players!!
  • Amber
    Amber G. Married on 09/25/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Don't wait. Hire them now!

    Don’t hesitate. Hire the New York Players now! I’ve been in and attended a LOT of weddings, and they are hands-down the very best wedding band I’ve ever seen. Don’t get a DJ - it doesn’t compare. And don’t waste your money on any other band. I first heard the NY Players about 8 years before my own wedding when I was a bridesmaid for one of my best friends. She hired them for her wedding in Saratoga, NY and they were truly unforgettable! I kept them in mind all those years and said that If I was ever lucky enough to find the right person and have a big wedding, I would hire them.

    Sure enough, when my time came, I called up Mike Emery and booked them before any other vendor. Our wedding was in Newport, RI, so bringing them all that distance meant extra costs for travel and hotel rooms for the 11-member band, but it was absolutely worth it. I coordinated with the venue to be sure both were available on the date we were looking for, because I just had to have this amazing band on our big day. And let me tell you, they did not disappoint! They rocked the house! Everyone raved! When we walked around to the tables to say hello to people, every single table said “wow this band is amazing!” We had a full dance floor all night. The NY Players MADE our wedding what it was. They are absolutely awesome! Truly talented musicians.

    You’re getting several vocalists, so they can cover a wide variety of songs, which you will get to choose from their extensive song list. And if you’re looking for a particular song that they haven’t done before, they will learn up to 3 new songs just for you! I thought I would definitely be asking for this, but I didn’t end up needing to - they already know sooo many songs.

    Several times during the evening they combined two songs from different genres into a medley - One verse/chorus from the first song, then into a verse/chorus from the second, repeating, until they played both choruses at the same time, with different singers - an “in the round” effect. They picked songs with the same key and rhythm and each time they did it, it blew the doors off the place.

    Mike was also incredibly organized. When you hire this band, you are hiring professionals with a ton of experience. They MC the night, and are basically responsible for the flow of the entire event. Mike made sure to have several calls with us ahead of the big day and get all the details down. He didn’t miss a beat.

    You will not regret booking the NY Players. They will bring your event up several notches! We highly recommend them!
  • Joseph
    Joseph B. Married on 09/25/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Simply amazing.

    We had known about The New York Players for years. There was no doubt that we wanted to book them for our wedding.

    They came out to Newport for ours, and quite simply, we were blown away. Literally every single guest came up to us to rave about how great the band was. They played every song incredibly well, with passion and energy. They even put together a number of medleys that combined different genres and had everyone singing along at the top of our lungs.

    You cannot go wrong with The New York Players.
  • Heather
    Heather W. Married on 08/21/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best wedding band ever!

    The New York Players were absolutely incredible at our wedding at Forest Lake Camp. Our guests were blown away and the compliments haven't stopped coming in, even months later. "WHERE did you find that band?!" "Those horns!!!" "The lead singers were INCREDIBLE!" They brought down the house and we couldn't be more grateful. Truly hoping one of our friends hires them next so we can have a dance party with them again!!
  • Courtney
    Courtney A. Married on 08/21/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Couldn’t ask for a better experience!

    The New York Players exceeded our expectations in every way and kept everyone at our wedding dancing all night! Their professionalism and ease to work with leading up to our wedding day made us know they were going to be great, but we honestly felt like our wedding night was the best concert of our lives. The music and vibe was incredible. Multiple guests told my husband and I they were the best band of any wedding they’ve been to. Truly spectacular! Thank you New York Players!
  • Colin
    Colin H. Married on 07/03/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Incredible, Non-Stop Party

    Mike was really easy to deal with and accommodating. The band was cooking all night long, and the dance floor stayed packed
  • L
    L D Married on 05/30/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    100 stars!! Incredible band!

    What a fantastic band! Choosing Body and Soul was the best decision we made. We were absolutely blown away by how incredible Body & Soul was at our wedding. Blown away! Our guests danced the entire night and did not want the party to end! Every song was a 5 star performance. Working with Mike was a dream. He not only helped us prep for the wedding in an incredibly organized and fun manner, but he also became a friend and we looked forward to each of our meetings. The musicians and singer are so incredibly talented! They even learned additional songs that we requested. They were amazing and we couldn't recommend Body and Soul more highly.
  • Amanda
    Amanda K. Married on 01/16/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Energy brought for one epic night

    New York Players played during our wedding in 2022. They sent over a song list for you and your spouse to choose from. Mike the manager contacted us a week before the wedding to go over the music choices, bridal party names and proper pronunciation. They were very attentive, organized and well prepared. The day of the wedding they were fabulous! They brought so much energy to the venue with their instruments and voices. They did an amazing job and sound amazing! Our guests, bride and groom had a great time. Would highly recommend them for any event.
  • Jenna
    Jenna C. Married on 10/17/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Hire nyp asap!

    I couldn't recommend NYP enough! We actually didn't get a chance to see them before our wedding as myself and now husband lived in Seattle at the time, and honestly watched a couple YouTube demos and made the decision. We also had many friends recommend them from wedding they had gone too and NYP had played at. Our wedding changed about 5x due to COVID and NYP were amazing adjusting and even making last minute changes quite literally until the last day with us to accommodate. They literally saved my wedding. They had my guests being creative doing 'chair' dancing to comply with the no-dancing rules per the state, and they played great songs so people could get a 'live concert' that no one has even had in a while. Every single guest complimented us on them and said that made the wedding - they even let me sing at my own wedding. If we didn't have NYP- I dont think my wedding would have turned out how it went - we have no regrets and only amazing things to say. The lead singer was FANTASTIC and could cover such a wide range of songs.
  • Ashley
    Ashley F. Married on 07/06/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best NY Band!!

    Hire the New York Players for your wedding!! They were INCREDIBLE and all of our guests loved them so much. Mike, the manager, is super responsive via cell or email and did a great job answering all our questions and making us feel super confident going into the wedding. They learned 3 new songs for us and KILLED IT. They were definitely one of the best choices we made for our wedding!! We cannot thank them enough!!
  • J
    Jocelyn H. Married on 06/29/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Incredible!

    New York Players is the best, and we absolutely loved them. We researched a LOT of bands based on what we'd heard at other weddings (spanning from Tennesee to NYC to upstate NY). We really wanted a band whose players were guaranteed (i.e. not a group of 30 musicians that rotate). With New York Players, who you see and hear at events is who you will have at your event. We were never worried because we knew that that the group we loved to listen to would be the group performing at our wedding. Additionally, we loved their structure! They took two short breaks throughout the night, otherwise, they were playing. This was very important to us because we didn’t want there to be a lull of people not on the dance floor. We didn’t do a traditional sit-down dinner (instead we did stations), and throughout the whole night, the dance floor was PACKED. Guests had a blast. Working with Mike Emery throughout the process was enjoyable, easy, and fun. My mom and I tend to get nervous, and Mike always put us at ease. Leading up to the wedding, we had three short phone calls with Mike to talk through everything (evening timeline, toasts, bridal party entrance, etc.). We revised our song selections a few times, and it was never an issue. Mike was so personable, and we were touched that he researched my nephew’s fatal disease after hearing about it and brought him a special present. Additionally, New York Players learned some songs for us! They learned the Backstreet Boys song my husband wanted for the mother/son dance, and they also learned a Coldplay song for our wedding party entrance. We thought this was really, really amazing. One highlight was our first dance: my husband and I worked with a dance instructor to choreograph the first dance, and we briefly chatted with Mike to time when the band would start playing our song after they announced us. We had a blast, and our guests went wild over the dance! All night everyone commented on how lively, fun, and amazing the band was. Everyone wanted to know they were and where they were from! I cannot recommend them enough. The entire process was enjoyable, and the day of the wedding was absolutely AWESOME.
  • Elena
    Elena M. Married on 06/01/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Band There Is!

    New York Players are the best band in upstate New York. They bring such enthusiasm to their performance not to mention their amazing vocals! They were so easy to work with and made the process so smooth. Thank you guys!!!
  • Bridget
    Bridget Married on 12/08/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Dance All Night With These Rock Stars !!

    We got married on December 8th at the Canfield Casino in Saratoga, NY. This venue has an amazing stage that is perfect for a band so when it came time to select our band we knew we had the select the perfect one. After talking with Mike and the New York Players, we knew all the reviews that they were the best band in New York had to be 100% true! From our first consultation on the phone to the end of our wedding, the New York Players rocked! Mike made sure to go over every aspect of the night and clearly has tons of experience on how to plan and execute a perfect wedding night. He’s super organized and had monthly calls starting 3 months out to go over the itinerary for the evening, the set list and other details. About a month out, he was willing to meet as much as we needed to finalize the details. So much of what a Band does isn’t the music, but the MC’ing and coordination of the night along with your caterers and other vendors. Mike and his team seamlessly integrated our music selections into the evening and gave us great recommendations for music choices at key points in the night like our entrance music and cake cutting music. They are even willing to learn three songs for you if they don’t know how to play them!
    If you’re looking for the best Band in upstate NY who will guarantee that you and your guests will be on their feet dancing all night long, look no further. Mike Emery and the New York players are the real deal!
  • K
    Kathy S. Married on 11/10/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The New York Players were amazing!

    This review is long overdue. The New York Players were the band at my daughter’s wedding last year. They were absolutely fabulous, professional, and all-around perfect. By way of background, the bride and groom were late 20s…that period of time when many friends from their college and immediately after-college social circles tie the knot. To be specific, their wedding last November was the tenth wedding of the year for their group of friends. All of the previous weddings had been fun…all over the country…some big, some more intimate…some bands….some DJs… all different. So, they wanted theirs to be FUN as well…they wanted a dance party. The Players were spectacular. Mike made the planning process easy and was very accommodating. The actual music selection couldn’t have been better. The dance floor was pretty much full the whole night. The best part, in my view, is that this band uniquely appeals to all age groups. The bride and groom and their 20 and 30 something aged friends were out there on the dance floor the whole time having a blast. Equally happy, were our 50 and 60 year old friends and family who danced all night as well. It’s now exactly a year later and we still get compliments from wedding guests on how great the band was.
  • K
    Kevin F. Married on 09/29/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Kept everyone dancing all night

    Players Nouveau (from New York Players Entertainment Group) were a huge hit at our wedding! I've received so many compliments about how amazing the band was from several of our guests. They're very professional, punctual, and adaptive to their clients requests. I would strongly recommend using this group for weddings and other such events!
  • Rebecca
    Rebecca N. Married on 09/15/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Extremely Talented and Completed our Wedding Celebration

    Players Nouveau (one of the bands from New York Entertainment Group) were a huge hit at our wedding this past September! So many of our family and friends still talk about the band and music whenever our wedding is brought up! The bands voices and sound were beyond talented and they could sing a huge variety of songs, so much so we had such a hard time creating a playlist because we liked ALL of their songs! Players Nouveau were extremely professional and organized and made our party fun and lively all night! Mike was great at communicating with us from start to finish on how the whole process worked and made us feel confident and at ease. Players Nouveau are talented and will complete your celebration!
  • M
    Molly Married on 07/21/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Body and Soul was absolutely amazing! We have had so many guests tell us how great they thought the band was! The songs were fun and kept us dancing the entire time they played. The players interacted with both me and my guests and it was a blast! They also accommodated to each song request we gave them ahead of time and incorporated the wedding games we wanted to include that day. So glad we got them to be at our wedding! Thank you for helping us throw a great party!
  • L
    Liz Married on 05/12/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Not that these guys need another amazing review because everyone knows how good they are, but we just had to take the time to say thank you to them for helping us throw the best party ever at our wedding. The dance floor was packed all night and people could not say enough good things about how awesome they sounded. We were so happy to have them be a part of our special day. They are definitely the best around!
  • K
    Kristy Married on 10/28/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Body & Soul (the smaller band that is part of NY Players Entertainment group) played at our wedding and were great! The band had tons of energy and good quality music. They learned our first dance song that we had chosen and we had many calls with Mike leading up to the day to ensure we were aligned on all of the pertinent details for the day. The pianist also learned several songs for us for the ceremony as well. The guests had a good time and we had lots of compliments on the band at the end of the night!
  • G
    Griffan Married on 09/29/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    From the very first phone call made inquiring about their services, to the last incredible song played at our wedding, The New York Players were the epitome of professional music entertainers. Their organizational skills were only matched by their exceptional musical talent. There wasn't a single guest at our wedding that didn't get up and dance! Thank you for making our wedding absolutely unforgettable!
  • J
    Jessica Married on 09/23/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The New York Players were absolutely amazing on our wedding day!! We heard them play multiple times beforehand, and knew that we just had to have them for our big day. They certainly did not disappoint! From the beginning, Mike was so easy to work with...very professional, helpful, and quick to respond. They provided an extensive song list to choose from, and even allow you to request additional songs that may not be on their list. Our "first dance" song was not on the list we received, but I reached out to Mike and he said "no problem"! They performed an amazing rendition of the song, and we couldn't have been happier. Once the party started, it was right to the dance floor! We have quite a rowdy bunch, all of who love to dance. Not only did they know how to get things going quickly, but there were multiple occasions where a couple of the guys came right onto the dance floor with their instruments - it was AWESOME!! They kept the party going all night, and I don't think there was a second where someone wasn't dancing. I can't thank them enough for a job well-done! If you chose them for your big day, you definitely won't be disappointed!
  • J
    James Married on 09/16/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Honestly, we can't say enough amazing things about The New York Players. They are a 10-piece band: 2 male singers, 1 female singer, 2 guitarists, 1 drummer, 1 pianist, and a 3-piece brass section (sax, trumpet & trombone). They provide all their own lighting, sound equipment, power, etc. Mike Emery, the band leader / drummer, really took the time to get to know us, the style of music we like, and truly made our reception a night to never forget. You'll get a copy of their setlist (which is HUGE) and can highlight the top ~50 songs you want them to play. And they'll even learn a new song just for you if it isn't on their setlist (they learned "Feel It Still" by Portugal The Man less than a week before our wedding)! We haven't stopped receiving compliments from our guests on how great the music and packed the dance floor was all night long. If you're in the upstate NY area, we promise you won't find a more energetic, fun, and downright entertaining band than these guys! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED, you won't be disappointed!
  • L
    Lauren Married on 09/08/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    NY Players were my wedding band this Fall. They kept the party going non-stop. They learned and played my wedding song and the parent dances songs. They played the music we requested during their set breaks. Music is SO IMPORTANT at your wedding...you won't go wrong with NYP. My guest were talking about them for months after. THANKS!