Skip to main content
Weddings

Musical Heart Strings Reviews

Musical Heart Strings

Musical Heart Strings

Martinez, CA
5.0 out of 5 rating, 140 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
140 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating
100% Recommended by couples

Awards

140
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

30 User photos

  • gweasley
    Jennifer L. Sent on 12/31/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Musical Heartstrings means perfect music for a perfect day

    Look no further and hire Musical Heartstrings, full stop. We had Gretchen and Kerry play cello and violin respectively for our November wedding at the Brazil Room in Berkeley. I love stressful situations only because they tend to be very revealing in terms of people’s character, and great character is important when you’re working on a potentially very stressful event like a wedding. Well, two weeks before the wedding, the groom decided to veto a key piece of music that was going to be part of my vows. Within a tight timeframe (and our limited budget), Gretchen took the initiative to search for a musical score that would suit a backup piece of my choosing and got me and Kerry into her home for a last-minute rehearsal. They didn’t have to do any of this and yet they did. I am forever grateful for their grace, support, and willingness to accommodate us when they didn’t have to.

    From the beginning, Gretchen was so communicative and well-organized, and I just loved the sheer volume of samples on their website (which was also very mobile-friendly). Other than our caterer, Gretchen was the most communicative and on-top-of-it vendor I worked with. It was so enjoyable working with both her and Kerry and they played beautifully for our wedding ceremony and cocktail hour. They played everything from pieces from The Hobbit to Lady Gaga, and many other selections from their extensive repertoire. Now, I am looking forward to hopefully having Gretchen as my cello teacher. Excellent musicians, excellent people. Lots of love to musical heartstrings!

    Musical Heart Strings's reply:

    Awwww... Jenny, you were such a delight. We felt so sorry for you that your husband vetoed your song. We had to make it all work out so your day would still be as wonderful as you always dreamed. We wish you a life time of happiness and no more vetoes!
  • P
    Paola M. Sent on 10/20/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly Reccomend

    Musical Heart Strings, Gretchen and Julie, were absolutely the perfect choice for our wedding ceremony at San Francisco City Hall. They are professional, reliable and independent since they play there often.
    All of our guests complimented us for their music and huge repertoire. I highly recommend them!

    Musical Heart Strings's reply:

    Thank you so much Paola. Your wedding we delightful, and we loved how much your guests loved the music (especially your dad, who conducted to the music!)
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • C
    Celina E. Sent on 09/24/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    So incredibly special!!

    Musical Heartstrings duo Gretchen and Kerry were such an amazing addition to our Ceremony and Cocktail hour. Our guests were raving about the music. They truly helped make our Wedding incredibly special. We really enjoyed that they had an extensive repertoire to choose from and allowed us to select what we would like played. Gretchen was extremely professional and responsive. She was so helpful and pleasant to work with. My husband and I couldn’t have been happier with them.

    Musical Heart Strings's reply:

    Thank you so much for these kind words Celina. Your wedding was so wonderful, including the venue, the florist, the DJ, and the wedding planner. Everything was top notch, and the stars of the event (you and your new husband) were absolutely stunning. Thank you for including us in your special occasion.
  • S
    Sydney B. Sent on 10/08/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Musical Heart Strings is Magical

    Music Heart Strings did a wonderful job adding to the ambiance of the wedding. The music was lovey and just what my partner and I had hoped for. We feel so lucky have worked with them! They were professional and prompt and detailed in their responses. I would recommend them to anyone!
  • E
    Elisa S. Sent on 12/29/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect, Personalized Strings for Outdoor Wedding

    We were so happy that we engaged cello/violin duo Gretchen and Kerry to play our wedding ceremony and the subsequent cocktail hour. Their musical was exactly what we needed for the outdoor festivities!!! They truly set the vibe of the ceremony/cocktails. They were a dream to work with: super responsive in customizing their set list to our preferences. Will recommend them to all of our friends in the Sonoma/Napa area!

    Musical Heart Strings's reply:

    Thank you so much for these kind words! Your wedding was gorgeous, you both looked very elegant and beautiful, your vows were ever so memorable, your guests were a delight, and we had the best time. Thank you also for posting such a lovely photo with your testimonial! We wish you the best New Year ever!!!
  • C
    Catrina W. Sent on 08/31/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely Wonderful!

    Musical Heart Strings was such an excellent addition to our ceremony. Kerry and Gretchen are professional, kind, and incredibly talented. They were so helpful from start to finish of the planning process including music recommendations and how they could best support our ceremony vision. We had so much fun choosing the songs for the ceremony and the different genres to choose from, was astounding. We got so many compliments from our guests, and we can’t recommend them enough for your event! They are truly one of a kind!

    Musical Heart Strings's reply:

    Awww....this is so sweet. Thank you! It was an honor to be a part of your wedding. Thank you so much for choosing us to be a part of your special day.
  • J
    Jingjing H. Sent on 07/28/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful music and vibe for my wedding!

    Gretchen and Kerry played string duo for our wedding, it was such a success and I could not appreciate them more! They are super responsive and skillful throughout the process, from initial inquiry, to signing the contract, to choosing the music, finalizing small details, and performing on the event day. The music was so beautiful and energetic, which created a unique vibe throughout the day and all my guests loved it! More importantly, I sincerely appreciate their flexibility to play over time for the reception. The music really made a difference. I highly recommend them!

    Musical Heart Strings's reply:

    Jingjing, we are humbled by these kind words. Your wedding was so beautiful, and you were both such a delightful couple. We were so honored that you wanted us for another hour. It was our pleasure. Thank you for choosing Musical Heart Strings for your special day.
  • R
    Ruby Sent on 08/21/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Musical Heart Strings made our wedding day truly special!

    Musical Heart Strings created the magical ambience that we envisioned for our wedding! We had so much fun and ease picking out songs from their repertoire. When our wedding day came, we were absolutely in awe hearing the music come to life as they delivered on every song.

    From beginning to end, we appreciated their responsiveness, thought and care. They were extremely personable and detail oriented.

    We are so grateful that Musical Heart Strings was able to be a part of our wedding day to make it so special and memorable!

    Musical Heart Strings's reply:

    Thank you so much Ruby. Your wedding was so memorable. We loved how your bridesmaids and groomsmen walked down the aisle each escorting one of your 3 dogs. And you two were so beautiful. It was truly a wedding we will never forget!
  • Deborah Schissell
    Deborah S. Sent on 06/23/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfection!

    Musical Heart Strings is magical! They are very professional and responsive, and played beautifully. Also very professional and responsive. They worked with us to Taylor the music to exactly what we wanted. Very prompt, and communicated with our venue directly which was a big help. These are accomplished professional musicians who will make your day even more special. Highly recommend!

    Musical Heart Strings's reply:

    Thank you Deborah! Your daughter's wedding was so beautiful. You should be proud with your contributions to this wedding. You helped bring it to new levels. Thank you for hiring Musical Heart Strings to be a part of it!
  • Stephanie
    Stephanie K. Sent on 06/28/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Simply Wonderful

    We are so happy with the performance that Gretchen and her string quartet brought to our wedding. We had them play for our ceremony and cocktail hour. They had such a wide selection of music with a few of my favorites already in their repertoire. My husband and I have a special attachment to Ghibli films, and so we felt like it was a must to request some special arrangements from our favorite films. Gretchen arranged beautiful pieces from “The Wind Rises” and “Howl’s Moving Castle” to play during our ceremony. Gretchen made special effort to ensure that we heard the arrangements in its entirety, and she even played for us when we were taking bridal party photos before guests arrive!
    Gretchen also made an extra special arrangement for my bridal procession where she included by favorite section of the piece, and played it at the right moment during my walk. The timing couldn’t have been better.
    Their performance was everything we had hoped for. We even had our guests come up to us to ask where we found such talented musicians!
    After they finished playing, Gretchen greeted and congratulated us personally, which we appreciated
    All of these small gestures mean so much to us. Working with Musical Heart Strings was such a joy, from beginning to end.

    Musical Heart Strings's reply:

    Awwww Stephanie, this review brought tears to my eyes. You are the best! Your choice in music selections was amazing! Your arrangement commissions are now some of our favorite pieces in our repertoire, and judging by how much people are requesting them, we're not alone. Thanks again for giving us the opportunity to be a part of your wedding.
  • L
    Leo Sent on 06/09/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing professionals and people!

    Musical Heart Strings made our wedding day even more special! Thank you for being part of our history, for playing with such talent, and for being outstanding people!

    Musical Heart Strings's reply:

    Thank you so much for choosing us to play the music for your special day. Your commissioned arrangement Hyrule Field is now one of our favorite arrangements ever. It made the perfect processional!
  • J
    Jonathan D. Sent on 12/11/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Service All Around!

    Musical Heart Strings were such a pleasure to work with! We had the string duo option perform at our ceremony, and the music was wonderful. They have a large selection of music to choose from and it was all beautiful. Additionally, they have the option to commission original arrangements of whatever song you choose. We couldn't pass this up and each walked out to unique arrangements. Such a magical experience! Gretchen was very responsive and attentive. The cost was well worth the service, and we would hire them again for a future event without hesitation!

    Musical Heart Strings's reply:

    Thank you so much Jonathan! Your wedding was so beautiful. I'm still amazed at how perfectly you timed your walk to go with your wedding songs so that we ended right at the perfect moments. It was AMAZING! Thanks for choosing us to be a part of your wedding.
  • Valentina
    Valentina Sent on 10/22/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    So magical

    Thank you to Grethen and Kerry - 2 beautiful and talented women. They made our ceremony, cocktail and dinner so unique with their vast repertoire. They know honestly ALL songs 💕 We also made them learn 2 of our special songs. Honestly, everything was also magic thank to them. We are very thankful!

    Musical Heart Strings's reply:

    Thank you so much Valentina for this lovely sentiment and for hiring Musical Heart Strings for your special occasion. Your Napa valley wedding was so lovely! We wish you all the best.
  • A
    Ali T. Sent on 11/16/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Outstanding quartet!!!!

    Wow! Musical heart strings was outstanding! Getting chills all over again thinking about how special they made our wedding day. The musical heart strings quartet played for our wedding ceremony and cocktail hour. They made each event very memorable. They have an amazing song selection list, and are so talented. The ceremony music exceeded our expectations. The cocktail hour music fit our request perfectly (classy, fun, timeless). Could not recommend this group enough. They are so kind and enjoyable to work with.

    Musical Heart Strings's reply:

    Awww.... Your wedding was so fun. Thank you for the photos! We're so happy that we were able to play outside and amp our music inside since your wedding was so large. That worked out perfectly and as a result, you got a lot more music because all we had to move for the cocktail hour was the amplifier! We were delighted that we managed to play everything on your list. We wish you all the best!
  • Dawn
    Dawn R. Sent on 09/21/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Exquisite and divine

    Gretchen is a delight to work with. Extremely talented musicians. I requested a string trio with amplification and foot percussions. Boy did they deliver and then some. Aside from a huge repertoire to choose from, they sound amazing. They made our garden reception exquisite. Music of angels. For some reason they make covers sound divine. I believe that music is a universal language and a vehicle that brings the heavens and the earth together. I would not hesitate to book them. But book far in advance.

    Musical Heart Strings's reply:

    Oh my gosh Dawn.... these words are so lovely. Thank you. And thank you for hiring us for your daughter's wedding reception. It was so lovely and your home and garden is so gorgeous. We hope to play for you again!
  • Forrest
    Forrest J. Sent on 11/21/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Wedding Music

    Musical Heart Strings was a perfect addition to our wedding! We had their full string quartet at our outdoor event.

    The communication before the event was very responsive and helpful. We discussed a detailed plan for the ceremony music, as well as a set list for the cocktail hour. I asked for Gilbert and Sullivan music to go with our nautically-themed wedding and they were able to acquire and arrange several more G&S tunes beyond what they already had in their library! The cost of this extra service was very reasonable and led to a personalized wedding experience that was exactly as I had imagined.

    On the day of the event, the performers were very skilled and played beautifully. They flawlessly hit their cues in the wedding ceremony and our guests loved the extensive collection of music they played during the cocktail hour.

    Musical Heart Strings has a vast library of classical music, movie tunes, and pop songs to choose from, so any mood you want to set for your event can be done easily. They are all skilled professionals who really know their music and sound great on every tune they play. Thank you very much for the great performance!!

    Musical Heart Strings's reply:

    Awww.... Forrest, this is so sweet! Thank you for your kind words. We just also posted them on Facebook. Your wedding was so fun. We loved your idea of all Gilbert & Sullivan for your prelude. We never knew how fun that could be. And With Cat-Like Tread made the PERFECT processional. Thanks for letting us be a part of this wonderfully unique wedding!
  • Allison
    Allison Sent on 08/30/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Magical and tasteful !

    Musical Heart Strings exceeded our expectations in every way! Gretchen is not only an amazing cellist, but also super easy and FUN to work with! She was very responsive, helpful, and kind - even when we selected significantly more songs than could possibly fit into the time frame we hired them for! We were blown away by their extensive repertoire and wanted to hear all of it, haha! From the beginning, we knew that they were going to ensure our vision was achieved, but also elevate it with their magical artistry! We are so happy we trusted Gretchen and Kerry to perform the music for our special day! They are an exquisite duo. Our guests also loved the vibe that Musical Heart Strings brought to our wedding, as we received many compliments for how professional and tasteful they were. Simply a delight to work with from beginning to end! I look forward to working with them again in the future!
  • C
    Charlotte L. Sent on 08/14/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Just Lovely

    Heart Strings was absolutely the perfect choice for the wedding. They are professional and lovely to work with. They added so much to the event. The music they played touched our hearts. Thank you Heart Strings!!!

    Musical Heart Strings's reply:

    Thank you so much for these words, Charlotte. Your daughter's wedding was so beautiful! We are so honored that you chose our violin/cello duo to be a part of it.
  • J
    Jayna Sent on 08/22/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible!!

    Musical Heart Stings did an incredible job at our July wedding in Sonoma County! Gretchen/MHS were very responsive to questions and emails, flexible with song choices and extremely professional and kind. You can see they truly have a passion for what they do. We received a lot of compliments during and after the wedding from our guests in regards to what a beautiful touch this was on our night. If you want to add a live musical element to your wedding, we highly refer MHS and we look forward to working with them again!

    Musical Heart Strings's reply:

    You are so sweet Jayna. Thank you so much! Your wedding was absolutely gorgeous!!! We look forward to working with you again!
  • J
    Jody C. Sent on 06/28/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Exactly what YOU want!

    Musical Heart Strings is an amazing group to work with. They are reliable, professional, freindly, fun, and TALENTED! They have a huge repertoire and deliver what you want with exactly the right amount of finesse and ambiance. Do yourself a favor and knock this off of your to-do list. I highly recommend them.

    Musical Heart Strings's reply:

    Wow Jody! Thank you for this awesome testimonial. We always have so much fun playing for your events. Thanks for your continued support.
  • B
    Bob K. Sent on 08/02/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Father of the Bride

    We hired Musical Heart Strings for a May 2022 wedding. They more than lived up to the great reviews earned by their previous performances.
    Gretchen was wonderful to work with. The number of musical selections from which we could choose our 42 songs was positively huge. They came an hour early and stayed as long as we needed them. While we had arranged for only three musicians they sounded like many more, with their sound carrying more than 100 feet across an expansive venue. If you need highly dedicated and professional musicians for your event, this is the group for you.
  • P
    Paul C. Sent on 06/27/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    They were a special addition to our day

    We loved working with Musical Heart Strings. Communication was clear, there were no stressful moments, and the music on the day was exactly what we had hoped for. We were impressed by their attention to detail! Strongly recommended.

    Musical Heart Strings's reply:

    Thank you so much Paul. Your wedding was perfect and the location was gorgeous. Thank you for including us in this milestone!
  • A
    Angela K. Sent on 07/26/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Exceptional Musicians! 10/10

    Booked Musical Heart String for my wedding in Sonoma and the team played beautifully on our special day. Live string music was a hit with my guests and elevated the event. From ceremony through cocktail hour, the music was perfect for an outdoor vineyard setting. I was able to pick from a wide repertoire selection on their website; they have everything from pop, classical, to fun and whimsical. My ring bearer walked down to the tune of James Bond and the guests LOVED it!

    Musical Heart String was professional and attentive to their client's need from initial consultation. Checked in prior to the wedding and worked seamlessly with my planner and officiant to flawlessly execute the music at the exact timing. One of the easiest vendors I worked with. 10/10. Could not recommend Musical Heart String more!

    Musical Heart Strings's reply:

    Thank you for this lovely review Angela. Your wedding was beautiful and your ring bearer was adorable, although I think you meant to write that he walked down to the James Bond Theme. ;-) Mission Impossible is not yet in our repertoire...give us time though. It would be a good addition.
  • Violet
    Violet W. Sent on 03/15/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Thank You Musical Heart Strings!

    I’ve been working with Kerry and Gretchen for a few years now and they always put on an excellent performance for our residents. They have a diverse repertoire that everyone enjoys. They are professional, flexible and always a delight to have. I would definitely recommend them to perform at your next event! You will not be disappointed!

    Musical Heart Strings's reply:

    Thank you Violet. We love playing concerts for your residents. Thank you for continuing to hire us now and again. We look forward to the next time.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message