Musical DJs & Event Lighting Reviews

272 | Haymarket, VA
See photos, pricing and details

272 Reviews for Musical DJs & Event Lighting

Recommended by 98% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

272

23 User photos

Musical DJs & Event Lighting 1
Musical DJs & Event Lighting 2
Musical DJs & Event Lighting 3
Musical DJs & Event Lighting 4
Musical DJs & Event Lighting 5
+ 19
Order by:
  • N

    Nancy · Getting married on 10/31/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing. I was a bit crazy my last week before my wedding. By hey emailed me and when communication did not reach our D.J.- who was amazing- I believe John, he simply asked before the wedding. He took requests and was very flexible when my new husband wanted to "throw down a few spins.". Made the night enjoyable and kept the party going. Amazing job. Kept my guests guessing what would be played next. One of my favorite part of the service was playing Fresh Beat Band for my son to get into the party too.

    Sent on 07/28/2012
  • Danela

    Fulana · Getting married on 04/24/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very good customer service

    Very good customer service fast reply

    Sent on 07/21/2019
  • Allison

    Allison · Married on 10/12/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dan is the Man!

    Dan of Musical DJ's was a true pleasure to work with. From first booking, to our many check-in calls, to his performance on our wedding day, it was all top notch service. Dan is a professional musician and knows his craft well. We had a bagpiper for our processional and recessional and Dan worked with him to make sure all was on track. He did just the right amount of talking/emceeing. He played the perfect songs. At one point I went and asked him what to do because the dance-floor was so packed that people were spilling over into the seating area, haha... it was a good problem to have! My father was particularly impressed with Dan. Thanks, Dan!

    Musical DJs & Event Lighting 6
    Sent on 11/01/2019
  • B

    Brianne · Married on 08/31/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Freddie B is the best DJ!

    We had the most amazing experience with Musical DJs . Initial conversations with Dan were very thorough and he was extremely responsive. We had requested DJ Freddie B based on a recommendation from a family member and I am so glad we did. DJ Freddie delivered! He had everyone out on the dance floor all night. His energy really sets the tone for the night and he even joined us out on the dance floor for a few songs. We still have people coming up to us saying how awesome the music was. I would highly recommend!

    Sent on 09/26/2019
  • N

    Nina · Married on 08/30/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best dj ever!

    Dan Lamaestra was totally incredible! I can not begin to thank "Dan" for a wonderful job he did at my daughters wedding. Things went so smooth and he was right there making sure we were happy though out the night. The music was great I don't think anyone sat down the whole night.
    Thank you Dan you will be hearing from us again!

    Sent on 09/05/2019
  • Kristi

    Kristi · Married on 08/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    An excellent DJ experience!

    Musical DJs was a perfect fit for us and our wedding needs; at the very beginning we had a long and informative phone call with Dan Lamaestra, the owner, about the details of our event and its special requirements (having lots of Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing guests, as well as a live band to coordinate with for the ceremony and cocktail hour), which went very smoothly. From that point forward it was one seamless transition after another, from the easy-to-use song selection tool to meeting our actual DJ, Jeremy, who was excellent and worked great with our day-of coordinator. The uplighting, for our Deaf and hearing guests alike, was a big plus. We would recommend Musical DJs without hesitation!

    Sent on 08/28/2019
  • S

    Salvatore Amadeo · Married on 07/14/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful!!

    We couldn’t have asked for a better DJ! Dan was attentive to all of our requests, and for the moments we couldn’t come up with the right song, he knew exactly what to play, and when to play it. We highly recommend him for all events. If you are struggling to choose a DJ for your event, stop looking, and hire Dan.

    Sent on 07/23/2019
  • Josh

    Josh Leffert · Married on 06/28/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    High Level Professionalism with Personal Touch!

    We couldn't be happier that we decided to go with Dan and Musical DJs & Event Lighting. From the moment when I submitted a request for information to the end of our wedding reception he was extremely professional while being friendly and very helpful. He was full of recommendations and suggestions before the event. During the day of the ceremony and reception he was always making sure we were up to speed with requests, ideas, new options and was very flexible. My wife was wanting the dance floor packed as much as possible and he did a great job with song selection. Amazing vendor and we would recommend him to anyone.

    Sent on 07/15/2019

    Musical DJs & Event Lighting's reply:

    Thanks Josh! This was such a beautiful wedding and you did such a fabulous job with the location and planning. It was a pleasure being a part of it! We wish both of you all the best in your new life together:)
  • Robert

    Robert Vi Semus · Married on 06/22/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dj freddie b!

    My wife and I would highly recommend Musical DJ’s, especially our DJ/MC, Freddie B. We had our initial communication with Dan, who was incredibly friendly and easy to talk to and provided us with detailed information about their services. He was very professional and answered all our questions and concerns in a timely fashion.
    BUT MY MAN FREDDIE B! DJ Freddie is without a doubt the best DJ you can have at your wedding. From our first planning meeting to the last, he went above and beyond to make sure our special day was perfect. He was incredibly detailed and organized through each planning session and shared in our vision for our wedding day.
    Freddie helped organize and gather our guests to take individual photos with us so that they could have an everlasting memory. He worked well with us to create a detailed timeline but was also able to find us pockets of time, so we could enjoy our guests’ company. Freddie also gave pep talks to members of the bridal party to calm and nerves before their speeches! He also did a fantastic job of transitioning to different parts of our ceremony/reception and making sure all our guests were on the same page.
    Once all the speeches and dances were done, Freddie got the dance floor pumping! Based off our planning sessions, he knew exactly which songs and what style of music we wanted, and he did not disappoint! The dance floor was absolutely on fire. After the wedding, all our guests were raving about what a fantastic job he did.
    We are so grateful for the excellent service Freddie provided on our big day. He truly made it a night to remember. He was incredibly passionate about his art and did everything within his power to make sure the day went smoothly. Bottom line, if you are looking for a DJ, Freddie B is your guy. Period.

    Musical DJs & Event Lighting 7
    Sent on 06/27/2019
  • E

    Erica · Married on 06/15/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We LOVED working with DJ Freddie B!!!

    We originally decided to go with Musical Djs because they were able to check our boxes without breaking the bank, and because we felt so comfortable talking to Dan when we had our initial consultation. He was very thorough and explained everything to us right from the very beginning. When we found out we had been assigned Freddie as our DJ we were so excited as we had seen all of his rave reviews online...and he proved to live up to all of the hype! Freddie not only was our DJ but was an integral part of our day. He went above and beyond any of our expectations for an MC/DJ. He met with us and took note of not just our music tastes but who we are as a couple. He took every idea we had and made sure it happened...and not only that but was able to give us several awesome ideas we hadn't thought of! He planned everything out from start to finish and met every single one of our requests and more.
    Not only did he play amazing music and prove to be an awesome DJ/MC but he took us into his life personally, getting to know us and our families and keeping up with us even after the wedding.
    We absolutely LOVED working with Freddie B. And would recommend him and Dan and all of Musical DJ's to anyone for any occasion!

    Musical DJs & Event Lighting 8
    Musical DJs & Event Lighting 9
    Musical DJs & Event Lighting 10
    Musical DJs & Event Lighting 11
    Musical DJs & Event Lighting 12
    Musical DJs & Event Lighting 13
    Musical DJs & Event Lighting 14
    Sent on 07/07/2019
  • Kyle

    Kyle Vincent · Married on 05/26/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Freddie B!

    Our DJ Freddie B is the main reason our wedding went so smoothly and was so much fun! He is a true professional who knows how to engage the crowd, coordinate speeches and soundtracks, and keep the party going! Freddie planned out the night by the minute with us and made sure everything was exactly how we wanted. He suggested the perfect songs for us when we needed advice and came up with some great intros and transitions, keeping the party alive all night! He took initiative to coordinate with the venue staff, photographers, videographer, and guests to make sure everyone had everything they needed. Freddie is a true friend after booking him for two events and genuinely wants the best for his clients. I wouldn’t go with another DJ in the NOVA area.

    Musical DJs & Event Lighting 15
    Sent on 07/01/2019
  • R

    Rudy Ramos · Married on 04/13/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    5 stars. Freddy’s the best!

    Amazing DJ! From start to finish Freddy was very professional. He had the party going all night. Super helpful throughout the entire wedding. I’d highly recommend him!

    Sent on 08/02/2019
  • Sabrina

    Sabrina · Married on 10/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dj freddie b is the best!

    I would highly recommend Musical DJs and event lighting. From my first phone call with Dan, the owner of the company, to my last phone call with our DJ Freddie B, my experience was fantastic. They were thorough and accommodating with scheduling calls. When I told Dan we were having a fusion wedding he recommended Freddie B hosting our event. With all the planning I'd been doing I was just happy to have a DJ booked! Our first phone call with Freddie was more than pleasant! His high energy and kind spirit was evident. He had endless song suggestions and he set our final timeline for the day! He worked with my vision and accommodated us completely. The day of the event Freddie outshined EVERYONE including our event coordinator. He was with us through photos and ran through the rain to get things we forgot. He remembered everyone's names and was a friend the entire day! He kept us on schedule and partied with us! Every guest complimented him when they left for the evening. After our wedding we were asked for his information from multiple guests I gladly passed it along. This man was the real deal and went above and beyond his job description! The uplighting was also beautiful and made our reception hall that much more breathtaking. Brian and I thank you from the bottom of our hearts, Freddie!! You are the best there is and you will forever be our go to. Thanks again, friend!!

    Sent on 11/05/2018
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 10/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Musical DJ's and DJ Jeremy James killed it!

    My husband and I are so happy that we found Musical DJs! From the very start, Dan was SUPER responsive and helpful! He recommended DJ Jeremy James for our wedding and it was a perfect match. Before our wedding, Jeremy met with us and went over all the details to make sure our big day went exactly as we dreamed it. He had excellent recommendations when we weren't sure about something and was super flexible with the inevitable last-minute changes. The online planning tools they offer made it so easy to communicate music choices without sending tons of emails back and forth.

    On the day of our wedding, Jeremy made sure everything went off without a hitch. His music choices and great personality kept the energy up and people on the dance floor all night. We are so grateful to Jeremy and Musical DJ's for helping to make our wedding day absolutely perfect!

    Sent on 10/20/2018
  • B

    Brittney · Married on 10/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dj freddie b is amazing!

    We couldn't have asked for a better DJ and would highly recommend! Freddie was so easy to work with and very professional at the same time. Freddie treats you like family and really values what you as a couple want the most. We were a really easy going couple and he helped us choose songs when we were really unsure. He makes sure everything is running as planned even in slightly difficult situations. The dance floor was always packed and he knows how to keep it that way. I would highly recommend booking him now before he's booked... because he's just that amazing.

    Sent on 11/04/2018
  • E

    Erika · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used DJ Freddie B for our wedding and couldn't have made a better decision! Freddie was so professional and accommodating. He really took the time to get to know us, and our style before choosing all of the songs for the wedding and reception. Freddie assisted us in choosing songs when we were unsure and went with whatever style we wanted. My guests and I had the BEST time and the dance floor was packed all night long! Could not say better things about Freddie and the amazing work he did!!

    Sent on 10/08/2018
  • M

    Matthew Norwicz · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Saved our wedding!

    There are truly no words to describe DJ Freddy! He was the most caring, genuine, fun, and energetic person to work with ever!

    To start, we received some pretty frustrating news just two days before our wedding that our previous DJ who we booked through a different company (1.5 years before) cancelled. Understandably frantic, our amazing wedding coordinator at Bluemont Vineyard was thankfully able to locate and recommend DJ Freddy. Naturally we had our hesitations because we had never spoken to DJ Freddy. We did not know much about him and he did not know much about us either. Just a few hours after we learned about our cancellation, DJ Freddy reached out to us. It felt like a miracle because the instant he started talking, a huge weight left our shoulders. His energy, enthusiasm, and constant verbal reassurance was so genuine. We could literally feel his personality and excitement through the phone. He maintained consistent contact with us throughout the next couple days leading up to the wedding. He was so organized and efficient, making sure every tiny detail was addressed. He incorporated various unique small (and large) requests we had in mind to surprise our guests. He also offered various suggestions to our existing timeline which were VERY helpful. His ample DJ experience was definitely evident! In a matter of just 48 hours we completely trusted this incredible stranger to run our wedding. This “stranger” was the best thing that could have happened! THroughout the night DJ Freddy checked in on us to make sure we were okay, along with updating as we were moving through the timeline. His ability to get literally all 180 guests on the dancefloor was mind blowing but not surprising at all. His energy translated to all of our guests instantaneously. Not a single person left the venue without a smile and a sweaty dress/suit. He gave us his word that our night would be incredible and he surpassed our expectations!


    If there is ever a time again in our lives that we need a DJ, we will definitely be calling him up. But in the meantime, we will just recommend and highly encourage others to hire Freddy!
    We are forever grateful that Freddy was our DJ and would not have had it any other way! Everything really does happen for a reason. His devotion to us was undeniable and we will always have a special place in our hearts for him.

    Sent on 11/19/2018
  • T

    Taylor · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dan was our DJ and we didn't have to worry about a single thing regarding the music during the wedding. He went above and beyond to make sure he knew what we and our guests would like to hear and he made everything go smoothly all night.

    Sent on 10/03/2018
  • K

    Kristina · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had Freddie B Dj our wedding and I honestly couldn’t have asked for a better Dj! We have received so many compliments on the music and MCing that he did. He had a lot of music to cover- from salsa, to polkas, OSU fight song, to regular dance music and he did a fabulous job. Our dance floor was never empty. He read the crowd perfectly! We had everyone left at the end of the night still ready to keep going thanks to Freddie! And he gives the bride and groom heads up as to what is happening next. We honestly couldn’t have asked for a better night

    Sent on 10/09/2018
  • M

    Mary Ann · Married on 09/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Let me just start by saying, DJ FREDDIE B. IS AWESOME!!! Picking the right DJ was ESSENTIAL when planning our wedding and we got it right with DJ Freddie B! My husband and I had been to many weddings where you hear the same music and/or Top 40 hits and wanted to find a DJ who is flexible and can work with our style of music. After our initial conversation, I knew Freddie could give us exactly what we wanted and more! Not only did he emcee the entire event and keep the dance floor packed all night with his great song choices and upbeat/contagious energy, he communicated with all of my vendors to ensure our timeline didn’t get thrown off when the inevitable “bump in the road” took place before the ceremony even started. All in all Freddie B. was awesome and we will definitely be recommending him to other friends and family and for events we’ll have in the future. THANKS AGAIN, FREDDIE B.!

    Musical DJs & Event Lighting 16
    Sent on 10/03/2018
  • M

    Megan · Married on 07/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    These DJs know exactly what they're doing, down to the beats per minute! They were very knowledgeable, accessible, and professional right from the start. DJ Jeremy James played the songs I requested at the right times for ceremony and reception and made them flow so smoothly and effortlessly. He was also great at making announcements and being flexible with the timing of things during the actual wedding (because some things take longer than you think they will!). I highly recommend this DJ service - very friendly and kind people to work with!

    Sent on 07/24/2018
  • V

    Vivian · Married on 07/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ FREDDIE you are a life saver!!! You made planning 1,000 times easier. The breakdown of all of the times, and helping plan the flow of the whole wedding made planning feel not so stressful. You were even making sure that my husband and I ate! When I found out that someone else wanted to do a speech 5 minutes before speeches, you were not even phased. You made the wedding into a CELEBRATION, with your passion and energy. Thank you sooooo very much.

    Sent on 08/28/2018
  • G

    Grant · Married on 07/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jeremy was awesome and was more than accommodating! Not only did they have several meetings with us to ensure they had our music set up properly, but took recommendations during the ceremony to keep the party going! He was extremely lively and gave our reception a great vibe!

    Sent on 08/26/2018
  • S

    Sarahbeth · Married on 07/04/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John- Marc recently DJ our neighborhood 4th of July party and from the moment he showed up, he was amazing!
    He was on time, professional and was so patient with the kids! John- Marc not only played every single son on our song list but he gave a welcome opener and a closer! The best part is, he asked our party guests for any additional requests, who does that? I am so happy we chose Musical DJs &Event Lighting, we will use them again given the opportunity. John-Marc is very talented and has a bright future ahead of himself! Thank you!

    Sent on 07/17/2018
  • J

    Josh · Married on 06/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jeremy could not have a been a better match for our wedding. I am particularly picky with my music and he couldn't have chosen any better songs. His professionalism, knowledge, and ability to keep the crowd going was top notch. I would reccomend him for anyone without hesitation. He took our reception to a level so high that people were talking about the music days after !

    Sent on 07/17/2018

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review