Skip to main content
Weddings

Music In Motion Reviews

Music In Motion View more information

206 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 206
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

19 User photos

  • N
    Nikki G. Married on 06/04/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Hire Music in Motion!

    We loved working with Music in Motion! Tim was super helpful with explaining the process and laying out a typical timeline. The booking process was easy, Tim stayed in communication with us periodically throughout the year after booking leading up to our wedding which made me feel at ease, and then JD (the DJ for our wedding) was AMAZING! He was so nice and did an awesome job. I don't think the dance floor was ever empty. We were very happy. We highly recommend them!
  • Edward
    Edward P. Married on 04/30/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Shav was the man!

    Shav was not only prepared, but great at reading the room, being flexible, and going with the flow. Very good guy and would easily recommend him/Music in Motion.
  • Alyssa
    Alyssa F. Married on 12/11/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent DJ

    Tim was incredible to work with! He was in contact with us months leading up to the wedding and was very organized. I have gotten so many complements for our DJ! Cannot recommend enough!
  • Kate
    Kate O. Married on 11/06/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Kept the dance floor full all night long

    AMAZING!!! I don’t even know where to start. My fiancé had very few opinions on the wedding, but one of the things he cared about was the DJ and the music played at the wedding. After “interviewing” a couple of DJ companies we decided to go with Music in Motion, who we thought was a great value for the price. The owner Tim Hicks, checked in with us every couple months during wedding planning offering assistance when needed, and was above and beyond accommodating when we postponed our wedding due to the pandemic. Our DJ, the day of the event, Jeff, was amazing. He listened to all of our song requests and provided a sense of humor and energy to the event. He was able to do this without being cheesy too! One thing that we were completely amazed by was how he was able to mix the songs to keep all generations on the dance floor most of the night! He even added some personal touches by playing “Back in Black” since the Iowa Hawkeyes (the brides alma matter), won their game the night of the wedding, and announcing the celebration of the parents of the groom 40th anniversary the week prior during a slow song. We have received so many compliments already on our DJ and music selections. Thank you for making our special day AMAZING Jeff!
  • K
    Kailey J. Married on 10/23/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Experience

    Tim was an amazing DJ to use for our event! We used him for both our ceremony and our reception. He was attentive throughout the entire planning process, helped us with song choices and requests, and even let us make last minute-requests/changes, which I greatly appreciated. Tim was able to keep our dance floor full the entire night, which was one of my main priorities (people having fun!). After our wedding, people have been telling us how much fun they had at our wedding, and how awesome the DJ was. I will always recommend MIM for any event that needs a DJ. Thank you to MIM & Tim!
  • James
    James P. Married on 10/02/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing DJs!

    Tim and Bryan were absolutely amazing to work with. Tim would check in regularly and created a lot of confidence with Claire and I leading up to the wedding. Super nice guy. Bryan did an outstanding job during the ceremony and reception. We were very particular with our song choices and Bryan absolutely nailed it in terms of timing and pacing of the music. He was super accommodating to our requests and did an outstanding job at “reading the room”. We received a lot of compliments throughout the evening on how great the DJ and music was.
  • K
    Kayla G. Married on 10/02/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely Amazing!!!

    Tim was the absolute best to work with. He was flexible when we needed to shift our date due to covid, and stayed in touch throughout the whole process. He rolled with some last minute changes and kept the dance floor packed. We had an amazing time! Music in Motion is definitely the way to go for all of your event entertainment needs.
  • Anthony
    Anthony C. Married on 09/18/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fabulous, Amazing, Wonderful

    MIM provided us with a great wedding atmosphere during both our ceremony and during the reception. Our DJ, JD was extremely professional and completely ran the show by staying in constant communication with my wife and I and all of the vendors. His music selection was perfect and allowed for some great requests from the crowd. I have received a multitude of compliments about the idea to play other people's first dance songs during dinner. I think that may have been the most talked about thing at our wedding and the crowd really seemed to enjoy it. It was a unique and great idea. Thanks again to JD and MIM for the great addition to our wedding!
  • Amanda
    Amanda M. Married on 06/18/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wedding Celebrations with Shav with MIM

    Tim Hicks was amazing and kept open communication with us throughout the entire wedding process. He is kind and incredibly helpful! The day of our wedding, Shav introduced himself a our DJ. He had such an amazing and outgoing personality. Our guests STILL talk about how amazing our music selection was and how much fun Shav was! He helped keep the dance floor going and everyone enjoyed their night! Thank you, again, to Tim and Shav!!!
  • Kelsey
    Kelsey C. Married on 05/30/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    We have nothing but good things to say!

    Tim Hicks with Music in Motion was absolutely awesome. He was so responsive and flexible prior to the event- even through our COVID wedding postponement. At the actual reception, the guests had a BLAST. Some of our guests said that it was the most fun dancing that they had experienced at a wedding. Tim was so on top of the details. He was energetic, engaging, and so helpful! We have nothing but good things to say about our experience.
  • J
    Josie L. Married on 05/29/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Packed Dance Floor All Night! Great DJ

    I hired Music in Motion for my wedding because I had read so many great reviews. Not only did they have a great price for their DJ package, but they had experience working at my venue before. Our DJ met with us a couple times to plan for our wedding, and he worked really well with our Day of Coordinator to make sure the schedule/music choices were just right. He listened to our "Do not play" and "must play" lists. Our dance floor was packed all night! Highly recommend.
  • Allie
    Allison P. Married on 05/22/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Look no further, hire tim! 🱯🯼

    This is going to be a long one. PLEASE READ ALL. If you are looking for a DJ, HIRE TIM. He was the best decision we made in our wedding planning process. When we had originally booked with him 3 years ago, he was super helpful and knowledgeable on something we knew little about. He was very professional and wrote us an email checking in and asking us what we needed throughout the ENTIRE 3 YEARS WE HAD HIM. It made me feel like he truly cared and was excited for our wedding, and he was. Tim is AMAZING as a DJ. To begin the day, he was especially professional and did everything he needed to right away and was prompt and ready. After filling out his planning forms online and being just an email away throughout the entire process, I was so confident in his abilities. He made the ceremony go FLAWLESS without ever meeting him. Then he absolutely KILLED IT during the dinner hours playing perfect music we requested. He made sure to talk to my husband and I throughout the night when he saw we had a chance to make sure it was everything we wanted. He was EXCELLENT at mixing music and EXCELLENT at reading our crowd of people. Our dance floor was filled the ENTIRE night of about 4.5 hours of dancing. People were afraid to leave the floor to use the bathroom because they were afraid of not getting a spot back on the floor or that they would miss a good song. He even created a mix so my brothers and I could slow dance AND make a choreographed dance!!! It was INCREDIBLE. If you are looking for a DJ, BOOK WITH TIM. It will be the BEST decision you will make in your wedding process.✨✨

    Music In Motion's reply:

    Congrats again to you guys - what an incredible group of family & friends! It was a pleasure and your kind words are appreciated more than you know! Keep in touch!
  • K
    Kristin A. Married on 05/15/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent!

    The DJ was super nice and friendly and very accommodating to whatever we wanted for the evening. Everything was great!!
  • Derick
    Derick K. Married on 04/17/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing company to do business with!

    I would like to start off by saying Tim Hicks with Music in Motion is an amazing company to do business with. Trying to plan a wedding during a Pandemic proved very difficult, but Tim and music in motion made it easy! He would check in with us as we continued planning, gave multiple options for a variety of issues, and just made a challenging experience easier to deal with. I do have to say Tim and Music in Motion are professional, easy to work with, and make your wedding memorable! 10/10 would recommend! Thank you again Tim! Book these guys!! they are the best!
  • Abi
    Abi D. Married on 10/23/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing service for our October 23 wedding!

    Tim was amazing to work with! From postponing from may -> October he was so great! We had a playlist full of T&B hip hop pop and he absolutely killed the music selection! We were out on the dance floor 90% of the evening! He was great with his interactions with the guests. Was lots of fun and overall did a wonderful job ❤️
  • S
    Shannon Married on 09/18/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Kept everyone dancing all night!

    Everyone enjoyed every minute of the reception and the music!
  • A
    Amy S. Married on 09/12/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Spectacular DJ!

    Tim Hicks with Music in Motion was GREAT! From the minute he walked in the door he was entertaining our guests. He had our guests on their feet and he never missed a beat! One thing I really appreciated from Tim is that when the timing of speeches clashed with our dinner, Tim took over and communicated with the banquet team on when to serve our food! This is something that meant so much to me because it kept the night flowing well! Chris and I could not have asked for a better DJ! I would recommend Tim and his staff 100 times over! Thank you!!
  • Elisa
    Elisa R. Married on 08/21/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing!

    Tim Hicks with music in motion was simply amazing!!! From ceremony to cocktail hour to reception, everything went perfect. He made sure to get all of my song requests and specific versions. He was flexible throughout the night making sure the everything ran smoothly. I got married on my sister's 40th birthday and he gave her a birthday shoutout and played a mix of her favorite songs. I cannot thank you enough for everything. Highly recommended!!!
  • J
    Jennette Married on 08/15/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fantastic DJ Services!

    Professional, fun, And kept everyone on the dance floor! Their process for events is super user-friendly and their communication is fantastic! Highly recommend for any and all events!
  • Mei-Lin
    Mei-Lin V. Married on 08/09/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly reliable, entertaining, engaging and top notch service

    We are very happy we've hired Music in Motion. The moment we spoke with Tim, we knew we wanted to entrust our wedding event with them. The day of the wedding, we worked with Rick and Kyle. Rick played a vital role in pivoting our wedding plans given current circumstances. On that note, in our eyes, he already delivered above and beyond even before the wedding event in itself. He has such keen eye on details and provided us with loads of meaningful insight, a lot of which are things that we have not considered or even thought about, which helped shape the event beyond what we would have dreamt it to be. Rick was also very accommodating and helpful in finding us a virtual producer that was the one missing piece in realizing our dream wedding prior to speaking with him. The day of the event, he kept us organized and on track. All our requests have been honored and we couldn't be any happier. On top of that, Rick ensured that we are engaging both our in person and virtual guests which we know was tough to accomplish. We had the virtual folks dancing along with us with Rick leading both groups. He constantly engaged our daughters in helping lead the dance which kept them engage throughout reception as well. He even made sure that we were able to eat. The agenda he put together was very well thought of. We wanted to say we made history as we executed this hybrid wedding and we owe a huge part of that success to Rick. He has been our lifeline. We had enormous amount of great feedback from our virtual guests about how much they have enjoyed the evening. Rick and Kyle had everyone dancing - in person or virtual, across all ages. They are true professionals who have mastered their craft and are very passionate about what they do. If we can give them 10 stars, we will. Our experience was priceless and our gratitude overflowing.
  • Sean
    Sean S. Married on 06/23/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Tim is the best, look no further!

    Tim Hicks is fantastic. We could not have been happier with him and the job he did. He kept the party rocking from start to finish, Had both young and old dancing throughout the night. So many of our guests said that it was the best wedding reception they had ever been to and Tim Hicks played a big part in that. Go Tim!
  • H
    Hayley M. Married on 02/29/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Music!

    We had Tim as the DJ for our wedding from Music in motion and he was THE BEST! He gave us everything we wanted and more. He rolled with all my crazy bridal moments day of, and he kept the party going all night long. He was simply a perfect fit for our ceremony and I would use him again in a heartbeat!
  • T
    Tanya Married on 12/28/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    effortless

    Everything from planning to execution was effortless. I am a meeting planner by trade and I was able to sit back and relax knowing everything was taken care of for our reception. Our guests had a BLAST -we didn't want to stop the party!
  • B
    Bethany W. Married on 12/28/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Music In Motion

    Our reception music and guest's time on the dance floor were two things we cared a lot about. We loved having JD Mason as our DJ and so appreciated the timely communication of Tim Hicks in the months leading up to our wedding. Guests complimented the music and had a blast on the dance floor. They went above and beyond to make sure all aspects of the sound, lighting and entertainment were exactly as we wanted them to be!
  • Jordan
    Jordan M. Married on 12/28/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best DJ for your money!

    We spoke with Tim throughout most of the planning process. He was amazing at keeping in touch and letting us know he didn’t forget about us. He made us feel like more than just another customer. The day of we had Jimmy as our DJ. He was dress perfectly for the event and made sure that all of our dances and speeches ran smoothly! Jimmy not only followed our music requests, he was able to read the crowd and make sure there were always people on the dance floor! We have heard from multiple guests how much fun they had at the wedding and most of that was because of Jimmy’s amazing DJ skills!