Skip to main content
Weddings

Multicultural Arts Center Reviews

Multicultural Arts Center

Multicultural Arts Center

Cambridge, MA
Rating 4.7 out of 5, 13 Reviews
View more information

13 Reviews

Rated
4.7
out of 5.0
Recommended by 95% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.6 out of 5

Awards

  • 13
  • W
    Willa Married on 08/21/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful Space

    We had an amazing experience with the Multicultural Arts Center. Adria was always responsive and helpful. The space is stunning. The restrictions are completely reasonable for a historic venue. With covid going on they were always incredibly communicative about changing rules.
  • Krysia
    Krysia W. Married on 10/13/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful Venue in the City

    The staff at the Multicultural Arts Center set us up for success from the start with an awesome list of local caterers, and they continued to be responsive and helpful throughout the year it took us to plan our wedding. Day of, the staff on site helped our coordinator (definitely recommend getting a day-of coordinator for the space!) and caterer make sure set up, lighting, and breakdown all proceeded without a hitch.

    The theater space itself is so lovely and distinctive, and it's a perfect size for a medium wedding. The option to use the park outside for the ceremony and the gallery for extra cocktail space provides variety and convenience all in one. An unforgettable spot for a wedding in Cambridge!
  • User2302073 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This venue is absolutely beautiful. We were struck by both the courtyard, where we had our ceremony, and the theater, where dinner was served. The theater itself is so beautiful that, other than table linens and flowers, we did not decorate it at all because the architecture, marble, and ceiling are so striking. We also used the standard lighting and did not need any extra lights.

    CMAC gives you a list of approved caterers, so it narrows your options a bit (which was good for us, since we needed a place to start) and will rent tables and chairs to you. We also rented a piano for dinner, and all of these items come out of your deposit. The location is great in that it is close to the T and a parking garage; we walked to a boat near the Cambridgeside Galleria for our coffee and cake, which we would not have been able to do at another location. It was just perfect for us!!!

    One thing that was absolutely amazing was the event manager. Jeff completely took care of us and helped us by giving suggestions and being really flexible around rehearsal and event times. He even let us lock up items after the wedding and come back the next day for them. He was awesome! THANK YOU, JEFF!
  • User1932439 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We held our wedding at the Multicultural Arts Center in Cambridge and it was the most beautiful, intimate, old-world-Boston setting for a wedding!

    We got married in late October and were fortunate enough to get a sunny, mid-60s day. The brick outside is absolutely beautiful, but the space inside is just take-your-breath-away lovely! We had ~115 people attend our wedding and had more than enough room for a dance floor with a DJ. We even had a Bulgarian Dance Group come in and do a performance and there was enough space.

    We worked primarily with Jeff R. at the CMAC who was amazing! He was extremely helpful throughout the entire process (even on the day of the wedding itself - he was there until long after the event ended). He even recommended an uplighting vendor who was great as well and he added all of these mini touches that made the entire experience special (like focusing a light on us as we made our big entrance down the staircase as husband & wife).

    Recommend the CMAC highly if you're considering holding a wedding in Boston!
  • E
    Emma Married on 06/23/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    A truly perfect spot for a wedding reception. The space is just so lovely, but also unique. The layout - an art gallery for the bar, an old courtroom for the dinner - is ideal. I got many compliments on the venue. Plus, the price is totally reasonable.
  • User841733 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    What a hidden gem!! The location and space will exceed your expectations. Amanda was so accommodating and we really can't picture having our reception in any other space.
  • C
    Carrie Married on 10/30/2010
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I am so happy we chose the Cambridge Multicultural Arts Center (CMAC) for our wedding ceremony and reception venue. We worked with Amanda and Tori (now since departed) for the planning and set-up and with Jeff who was on-site on the wedding day itself. They were complete professionals and made the rental and planning experience very easy. Jeff coordinated with our band and DJ and helped them set up for an amazing night of music and dancing. The site speaks for itself – its gorgeous. We got married outside in Centanni Way Park surrounded by historic, brick buildings. The ceiling in the theater space is breathtaking and our entrance down the stairway inside was unforgettable. We used the upstairs gallery for our cocktail hour. The variety of spaces and sites all within the CMAC was really appealing to us and made for an unforgettable event.
  • J
    Joy Married on 07/12/2014
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had our wedding at the multicultural arts center in July. It was an absolutely beautiful day, and everything went perfectly. They were very flexible with allowing us to drop things off the day before our wedding, and kept a room cold for our flowers (we did our own centerpieces). The process was really stress-free for us, and for the location/ aesthetics vs. price ratio, you really can't beat this venue.
  • A
    Amanda Married on 05/05/2012
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    We held our wedding reception at CMAC and worked with Amanda to figure out all of the details. We loved the charm of the space and were glad to be supporting an arts non-profit with our wedding dollars. The Upper Gallery where our cocktail hour was held was bright and fun. We particularly fell in love with the main Theatre space where the reception happened. The dramatic windows, ceiling and balcony provided a great backdrop for our event. The venue offers basic lighting as part of the rental fee, which was a real added value. While we were disappointed to learn that construction would be occurring on the building's main entrance, diminishing the look of the exterior on our wedding day, we appreciated the professionalism exhibited by Amanda in handling the situation. Amanda was always thorough and timely in her responses to our questions and provided some great suggestions throughout the process!
  • A
    Amie Married on 06/11/2011
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    We couldn't have found a better ceremony & reception location! It's such a hidden gem... close enough to the city but still has a certain unique charm about it. Amanda was so helpful in the venue rental process, as well as answering any questions we had and coordinating with our vendors. We intended to have our ceremony outdoors in the courtyard, but it was rainy the day of our wedding. I was nervous about having the ceremony setup in the ballroom (with tables moved temporarily behind a partition), but entering the room to walk down the aisle totally put me at ease. It looked amazing, and their setup / transition was seamless. We used the gallery space across the hall for our cocktail hour and it was great! It was just different/artsy enough, which was exactly what we were looking for. Such a great find!
  • User1571998 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    Having considered many venues, we decided that CMAC was our best option, given the reasonable (as of 2010) price, the gorgeous interior, and central location (no driving for guests required!). The staff worked with us in all aspects of the ceremony/reception, and everything went without a hitch. We had a Jewish wedding with Kosher catering, and this venue, while not having a Kosher kitchen, was flexible enough to ensure that dinner was made and served on the premises. They also allowed us to have a full bar, with last call at midnight. The music had to wind down by about 1am, which is fairly standard these days. In all, everyone had a fantastic time. This is truly one of the best small-to-medium wedding reception/ceremony spots in Boston&Cambridge urban area.
  • Claire
    Claire P. Married on 09/09/2021
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5

    Amazing venue

    We loved the Cambridge Multicultural Arts Center as soon as we saw it and it ended up being the perfect venue for us! We had about 100 guests in attendance and everyone loved the setting of the ceremony in the classic Cantabridgian brick courtyard, cocktail hour in the gallery with gorgeous art, and the amazing ceilings of the main hall. Many of our guests stayed nearby in Kendall square and got to explore the city the days before and after the wedding, which was a big bonus given that we had a lot of folks visiting from far away. Adria and Jonathan were very easy to work with, responsive to my many questions throughout the process of planning and executed everything perfectly. They worked well with our other vendors so that things happened seemlessly. We also loved the mission of CMAC and to get to celebrate in a place that is both beautiful and doing something positive for our local community was extra special. The cool lighting on the dance floor was an added bonus!
  • L
    Lindsey Married on 10/13/2012
    Rating 2.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    My wedding day was perfect, and in every way CMAC pulled through day of and was beautiful. However, the time leading up to it was more stressful than I would have cared for. There were a few flexibility and communication issues, but the prime complaint I have is that their extremely misleading statements about their capacity. Their website clearly states that their capacity is 150 (to quote: "[Q]Is your capacity really 150 people? [A] If you want all of your guests to sit in the same room, at tables, and would still like room for a dance floor, then yes."). Well, I had originally planned on about 140, but come to find out, that would not have fit without breaking down 3-4 tables. We trimmed some more, and had more declines than anticipated and ended up with 103 people spread over 11 tables with a 6 piece band (no bar in the room or stations). We could have maybe fit 1 more table without breaking tables down for dancing (which was not something I wanted to do considering I wanted family such as grandparents in the front, and I was paying a ton for the rentals/flowers and didn't want to take down a bunch of them right after dinner). I was thrilled with most of my vendors, and felt most of them went above and beyond, so CMAC kind of just sticks out as ho-hum. I felt like the wedding business is a side gig they have to make money to fund their mission of community arts, and isn't really valued to them beyond that.