Muckenthaler Mansion Reviews

41 | Fullerton, CA
See photos, pricing and details

41 Reviews for Muckenthaler Mansion

Recommended by 93%

41
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.5
Sort by:
  • D

    Debra · Married on 10/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I had our wedding at The Muck in October 2017. We couldn't have been happier with the venue. Duane was great to work with. Any question we had was answered quickly. He was accessible by phone or email. His staff made sure that any of our needs on the day of were taken care of. We didn't have to worry about anything. They all went above and beyond to make our day special. All of our guests loved the venue. It was a perfect setting for us.

    Sent on 01/04/2018
  • T

    Tiffany · Married on 08/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had 6 months to plan the wedding and the first and most important decision was the venue. After visiting many locations in OC and LA, we chose Colette's Catering and the Muckenthaler. Without a doubt, we know we made the best decision for us. The location was ideal - as it was central for our guests from all over Southern CA - (IE, OC, and LA). The venue itself is classic, beautiful and incredibly versatile. Its a true "all-in-one" venue to hold different wedding events, we moved our guests seamlessly to each new area - from the ceremony, cocktail hour, reception, to dancing. Also, my favorite, was working with Duane and his team. He was incredibly responsive, friendly, warm, and efficient - he has a ton of experience and made the usually stressful process, much more easier for us. He was accommodating to many of my requests and I was impressed that he replied to my emails personally and in a timely manner. Last, but not least - THE FOOD! It really was so delicious. Our guests enjoyed it all- I received compliments from the cake, the steak, the veggie sides, even the salad dressing! OH and the bartenders were amazing. They were incredibly generous and kept the drinks flowing, which made for a very festive time indeed! Overall, we had a great time working with Duane and his team. From the beautiful venue, the professionalism, the flexibility, and quality service and food, we are so thankful that we chose the Muckenthaler.

    Sent on 01/30/2018
  • G

    grace · Married on 04/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I got married at the Muckenthaler last Saturday and we couldn't have asked for a better venue, catering, or wait staff. Duane Greenleaf and Colettes Catering really helped make our dreams come true. Duane's personable approach to wedding planning and his sweet sweet heart made him and this venue stand out. We were living on the east coast, planning a wedding in Fullerton, where I grew up, and I was nervous at first but it was so doable! We got the gold package and added a fully hosted open bar for our guests and it was so delicious and affordable for our guests of about 150. In the last days prior to the wedding, when things felt super hectic and we were finalizing on numbers and details, Duane really put our relationship first and made us feel so special as he and his team were flexible and patient with us. You can't go wrong at the Muckenthaler!

    Sent on 05/01/2017
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 11/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had the pleasure of working with Duane and his team this November for our wedding at the Muckenthaler. We looked at about 5 venues (that we hated) before we stumbled across the Muckenthaler which we both instantly fell in love with. The outdoor space is absolutely stunning and was EXACTLY what we were looking for. We had around 150 guests which seemed perfect for both the spaces we chose.

    The food and cake provided by Colette's Catering was AMAZING! Everyone always says wedding food isn't the best but in our case IT WAS, it was seriously just as delicious as the first time we tasted it at the food tasting. We've had multiple people make comments to us both about how good the food was!

    All in all our wedding was absolutely perfect!

    Sent on 11/23/2016
  • C

    CJ · Married on 12/01/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married at the beginning of December 2014. Duane and his staff did an excellent job of making sure we were happy, everything was accomplished and delicious! The staff was very attentive... so much so, I did not even see them in the background taking care of logistics, etc. It was a challenge to coordinate a wedding from the other side of the US, but Duane and Collettes made it worth it and effortless! They were awesome! I cannot say enough great stuff about them. The bartender was funny and great as well. Duane was accessible by cell and e mail at all times and never once did I worry about the event not working out.

    Sent on 12/15/2014
  • L

    Lupe · Married on 10/24/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Duane Greenleaf and his staff are awesome! They did an excellent job for my sister's wedding. Always helpful, very professional and courteous. I would definitely use their services again and would refer Colette's to my friends and kin.

    Sent on 11/13/2014
  • Laura

    Laura · Married on 04/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were married at the Muckenthaler Cultural Center in Fullerton, CA. We absolutely fell in love with the place from the moment we stepped on the property. When we decided we wanted to get married there, we were referred to Duane at Colette's Catering. One of the things I loved most about Duane was that he was willing to work with any budget and still make the wedding absolutely beautiful. He is very easy going and extremely helpful.

    The food at our tasting was so amazing I wanted to come back for seconds. The best part was the food at our tasting was the same quality food we had at our wedding. It was delicious!

    We opted for a wedding coordinator for our rehearsal and day of wedding. Definitely worth it. Sara was very helpful and polite to my family and all of our guests. I didn't have an opportunity to talk to the wait staff, but I had wonderful compliments from my friends and family.

    Basically, I wouldn't change a thing about the Muckenthaler or Colette's Catering. I was told several times by many guests that it was the best wedding they had ever been to and that the venue was simply gorgeous.

    Everyone should get married here!

    Sent on 05/11/2014
  • A

    Amber · Married on 03/22/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have nothing but rave reviews for Colette's Evennts and their staff! I was married at the Muckenthaler in March of 2014, and booked my wedding through Colette’s Events. Duane and Sara of Colette’s Events helped me through the entire planning process and on the day of my wedding. They were friendly, professional, and made my whole experience perfect. The food was amazing and the staff at the wedding was friendly and efficient. I will never forget all the things Colette’s Events did to make my wedding day seamless and perfect. I highly recommend their services to anyone looking for a dream wedding!

    Sent on 04/19/2014
  • L

    Leah · Married on 11/16/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It is hard to start this review because words cannot express how grateful I am to Duane for all his help. My wedding was held at Muckenthaler Mansion in Fullerton just over 2 weeks ago and my husband and I are still in aww of how magical our wedding was. Duane was put on this earth to keep brides calm and to make these events everything and more than hoped for.

    I personally wanted to elope but being an only child (a girl) from a very large crazy Italian family that wasn’t an option but, Duane made the experience of planning the wedding so much easier to get through. He responded to my emails in a timely manner and if there was something he needed to find out he had an answer within a few days… even in the middle of busy season (June-August) he still made time for me even though my wedding was in November.

    His staff was polite and helpful and honest… in fact one of my guests lost a gold hoop earring with diamonds front and back and the next morning one of his staff members called my guest and returned the earring. Another favorite moment was right as dinner was served and guests were making their way to the buffet, his staff brought over two plates with everything on it for my husband and I.

    I have to give a special thank you to Duane and Sarah for making one of my visions a reality… I have always thought that if I had a big wedding I would serve homemade cannolis to everyone instead of cake but the only problem is cannolis can’t sit more than about 45 minutes or they get soggy… Duane and Sarah were in the back piping cannolis as they were being served covered in powdered sugar and filling! Thank you both for making that special request come true!

    Leah and Spencer I.

    Sent on 12/03/2013
  • User3613856 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    All was handled professionally both prior to and on the day of the wedding. Duane was receptive to some changes within a week or so of the event and available on the wedding day to make sure both bride and groom sides were taken care of as well as the vendors. People commented that the food was great at which they were obviously surprised as it seems wedding meals these days are not highly thought of by many. Parking is close by and plentiful. I highly recommend The Muck for both wedding ceremony and reception!

    Sent on 10/18/2013
  • B

    Becky · Married on 05/26/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot give enough positive praise for the Muckenthaler Mansion and Colette's Catering! The Muckenthaler is a BEAUTIFUL historic home and garden in the Fullerton, CA area. It was the perfect setting for our wedding when we were looking for a unique place where we could host both our ceremony and reception. The ceremony was in the garden and which was simply lovely. For the cocktail hour our guests were able to explore the grounds or go inside the Muckenthaler house where they could view the art display and gallery. The reception and dancing were held on the side patio with lovely bistor lights hung above. The venue was absolutely perfect with a touch of a vintage feel and lovely outdoor or indoor setting. Colette's Catering manages events at the Muckenthaler and they were a dream to work with! Duane Greenleaf was our coordinator and he was always responsive and so very helpful. He was simply wonderful to work with! The food and cake were delicious-- honestly better than other wedding food I've had before! Other positives for the Muckenthaler/Colette's--there is plenty of parking on site, they have chairs, tables and many linen options to choose from, they have great connections to other local vendors. The serving staff at our event were outstanding! They were all so polite and so attentive! Honestly I could go on and on about how pleased I am that we chose the Muckenthaler for our wedding but I will end and say that I HIGHLY recommend the Muckenthaler and Colette's Catering! They were a dream to work with!!

    Sent on 06/10/2013
  • B

    Becky · Married on 05/26/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot give enough positive praise for the Muckenthaler Mansion and Colette's Catering! The Muckenthaler is a BEAUTIFUL historic home and garden in the Fullerton, CA area. It was the perfect setting for our wedding when we were looking for a unique place where we could host both our ceremony and reception. The ceremony was in the garden and which was simply lovely. For the cocktail hour our guests were able to explore the grounds or go inside the Muckenthaler house where they could view the art display and gallery. The reception and dancing were held on the side patio with lovely bistor lights hung above. The venue was absolutely perfect with a touch of a vintage feel and lovely outdoor or indoor setting. Colette's Catering manages events at the Muckenthaler and they were a dream to work with! Duane Greenleaf was our coordinator and he was always responsive and so very helpful. He was simply wonderful to work with! The food and cake were delicious-- honestly better than other wedding food I've had before! Other positives for the Muckenthaler/Colette's--there is plenty of parking on site, they have chairs, tables and many linen options to choose from, they have great connections to other local vendors. The serving staff at our event were outstanding! They were all so polite and so attentive! Honestly I could go on and on about how pleased I am that we chose the Muckenthaler for our wedding but I will end and say that I HIGHLY recommend the Muckenthaler and Colette's Catering! They were a dream to work with!!

    Sent on 06/10/2013
  • User3148590 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue with a lot of different options for location of the reception on the facility grounds.

    Sent on 03/21/2013
  • A

    Amy · Married on 10/20/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our ceremony and reception at the Muckenthaler Mansion and it was absolutely beautiful -- it was everything I wanted, but better. We were on a pretty set (moderate) budget and I knew I wanted an outdoor venue, so I'll admit I didn't look at too many places. But when I saw The Muck, I just knew it was the perfect place.

    The staff was wonderful to work with, very helpful and accommodating, and all of our guests commented on how great the food was, especially the cake, and how beautiful the venue was. Duane helped us plan the perfect menu and Kristen, who we hired as our day-of coordinator, was wonderful. We had a lot of special touches, like baskets of goodies for the bathrooms and a particular goblet to use in the ceremony, plus favors that needed a little extra TLC -- they were small potted herbs that we were also using as namecards/table assignments. We just kind of dumped that all on Kristen and she made sense of it and set everything up in the most beautiful way.

    I would recommend the Muckenthaler to anyone without hesitation. The only drawback was that there's a hard out time of 10pm, but we had a small after-party at our hotel and it worked out great.

    If you're looking for a gorgeous, green, outdoor place to get married and celebrate, this is it.

    Sent on 10/28/2012
  • D

    Deborah · Married on 08/03/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Duane and his staff at Colette's Catering were amazing. They were warm and professional, flexible and hard working, always willing to help in any way they could. That was not only my opinion (mother of the bride) but also the opinion of my wedding decorator and my wedding coordinator. The food was incredible...plentiful and deliciously flavorful and fresh. Due to budget constraints, we selected their most modest buffet, hors d oeuvres and cake. I assumed that the quality would proportionately be lesser but that was not the case. Everything was the absolute best...the food was delicious, hot and fresh, the cake was among the best wedding cake I have had and the champagne for the toast was even a quality champagne! I would highly recommend Colette's to anyone looking for a wedding venue/caterer.

    Sent on 08/07/2012
  • K

    Kendra · Married on 07/14/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had the most wonderful experience with Colette's Events at the Muckenthaler Mansion. As soon as I stepped on the property I knew it was the ideal venue for our wedding. We decided to have a late evening wedding and an all dessert reception with a barrista (instead of a bar tender), which is something they hadn't done before. Our coordinator, Kristen, was amazing and worked so hard to accomodate our unique requests. She not only understood my vision, but was responsive and made the entire wedding planning process completey enjoyable and stress free. I was blown away on our wedding day when everything looked (and tasted) exactly like we pictured! If you are looking for a goregous outdoor venue with amazing food, I highly reccommend Colette's and the Muckenthaler Manison

    Sent on 08/13/2012
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 03/17/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were married at the Muckenthaler back in March. From the moment I stepped onto the premises, both of us knew that we HAD to get married here. It was the first and only location we looked at and couldn't imagine getting married and celebrating anywhere else. The location is vast and wide with multiple areas to choose from for your ceremony and reception. Originally, we were planning on having the ceremony in the garden section and reception on the patio; however, rain cancelled that idea and so both took place inside the mansion and was just as gorgeous as it would have been outside. The mansion has a very vintage vibe to it and always has exhibits showcasing so before and after the ceremony, guests have the opportunity to browse inside and check it out. The interior is magnificent and the landscape outside is to DIE FOR!!! You have multiple areas where a bad photo can't be shot. Whether you're looking to have a small (ours was 85 ppl) or big wedding, the Mansion is a great location. There's lots of parking (and it's free), they only have one event per day so your wedding day will be all about you and well, it's gorgeous! Guest after guest kept complimenting how awesome the mansion was and enjoyed exploring the ins and outs of not just the exhibit but the mansion itself. Colette's Catering handles the event/wedding processes and covers catering so basically all you have to worry about is photography, floral and entertainment. I can't list enough positive traits about the mansion. It holds such a special place in my heart and to know that my friends and family loved it, feels pretty awesome.

    Sent on 04/13/2012
  • A

    Amity · Married on 01/27/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Muckenthaler Mansion could not be a more perfect venue to have both ceremony and reception! The mansion is gorgeous, I have a hard time picking my favorite spot! We had our ceremony in the italian garden and the reception inside the mansion, our 100 guests fit perfectly, with room to spare. The patio provided the perfect atmosphere for drinks and dancing. I cant say enough about the Muck!

    Sent on 02/14/2012
  • C

    Charlotte · Married on 06/03/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I very much enjoyed having "The Muck" as our wedding location. We primarily worked with Dwayne and he was amazing! They really take into account your personal ideas and schedule. The site is gorgeous. All of our guests loved it. Colette's Catering, which is the food company they work with, was also worth every single penny we spent. Overall, everything was fantastic. We would definitely recommend this venue to anyone looking to have a vintage, elegant, organized, and beautiful wedding.

    Sent on 04/12/2012
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 01/19/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Muckenthaler was an amazing setting for my wedding. Everyone talked about it after. Gina was amazing help and I could not have done this without her. She helped my day go smoothly.

    Sent on 07/07/2008
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 11/20/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    My husband and I were married at The Muckenthaler in November of 2016. The mansion and grounds are beautifully kept and provided a romantic background to our wedding. The team at The Muckenthaler helped us coordinate the ceremony and the reception, even making last minute changes when it rained. One of the reasons we chose The Muckenthaler, other than the history and beauty, was the capability to move inside if it rained. Although we didn't have the ceremony and reception in the beautiful Italian garden with dancing under the romantic lights of the patio, the end result was even more romantic and our guests were happy in the gorgeous art gallery with dancing in front of a beautiful fireplace. I was very happy that the team worked to move the wedding inside without my having to direct them, they reassured me that all would be done and beautiful when I arrived. I had complete confidence in them and I was very happy with the end result. Our wedding was completely different than what we had expected and planned for but the changes were better than I could have imagined and the wedding was perfect, intimate, and beautifully romantic. Duane and Jennifer worked magic and I highly recommend this venue to anyone looking for a romantic location. Collette's Catering created a delicious menu for us and the Wedding Cake was beautiful and delicious. Every step of the planning and the wedding was perfect due to the hard-working staff of The Muckenthaler, they truly live this venue and do all they can to make your day special and perfect.

    Sent on 01/01/2017
  • M

    Melanie · Married on 06/15/2008

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful site. We had the cocktail hour in the art gallery and around the Mansion grounds. The dancing was on the courtyard with lights strung over, very pretty. The dinner was on the lawn with a delicious buffet provided by their exclusive caterer, Colette's Catering, which was also excellent and covered in a different review. Duane, the coordinator, was very fun to work with and was great at being flexible and helping us pull everything together. Our ceremony was at the Fullerton First United Methodist Church (across the street from the Fullerton train station) so the architecture was similar and they were a great pair for our wedding day. I highly recommend the Muckenthaler, especially as an ideal location for that "Old Town Fullerton" feel/a romantic and unique location your guests will remember.

    Sent on 08/04/2008
  • User7079881 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We chose the Muckenthaler for our July 2016 wedding, all outdoors and on the lawn. The greenery and historic mansion made for divine pictures and the overall experience of the day was elegant yet a relaxed and FUN reception! Colette's Catering did an amazing job wowing our guests with delicious, beautiful food and impeccable service! If you're looking for a "classic" feel for your wedding and ease of set-up and planning, this is your venue! Our expectations were exceeded and our wedding day was perfection!!

    Sent on 08/12/2016
  • S

    stephanie · Married on 03/19/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    I loved my wedding at the muck!! They whole process was so easy with them! So many things are included and they are such a well oiled machine. Seriously the process couldn't have been easier with them! They only bummer was at the rehearsal we were waiting around for someone to show up.. I was a little surprised at the lack of communication when they whole rest of the process was so smooth. But on the day of it was perfect !

    Sent on 03/20/2017
  • R

    Rebekah · Married on 08/07/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I LOVED the Muck and the team at Colette's Catering. I booked with Duane, who was obviously born to do what he does and is great at it. He answered so many long emails of questions from me when I was in the early planning/brainstorming stages, and also checked in at our tastings and the day of. I got a great vibe from him from our very first meeting, and he continued to exceed expectations and provide amazing customer service. Sara was our event ops manager, so she handled food, logistics day of, and any payments/contract changes. She was very sweet and accommodating, and also quick to answer emails, especially in the days right before which is when it's most important! Andrea was my day of coordinator, and I have to admit I was not very confident in her at first, only talking over email. But she also exceeded expectations at our rehearsal, corralling a crazy family with ease and making sure we had everything we wanted exactly how I envisioned! It can be scary entrusting your year of planning to someone else, but she was more than qualified. The mansion itself is gorgeous, there's so many spaces to make use of and all of our guests loved the art gallery during cocktail hour. The reception on the patio under the bistro lights what exactly what I'd been dreaming of. Everyone warned me that something always goes wrong at a wedding, but it was literally perfect. If you love the look of the Muck, don't hesitate entrusting Colette's with your dream wedding.

    Sent on 08/16/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review