Morgan Hansen Hair and Makeup Artistry Reviews

12 | Portland, ME
See photos, pricing and details

12 Reviews for Morgan Hansen Hair and Makeup Artistry

Recommended by 95%

12
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.8

2 User photos

Morgan Hansen Hair and Makeup Artistry 1
Morgan Hansen Hair and Makeup Artistry 2
Sort by:
  • J

    Jamie Dimarino · Married on 07/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect Hair and Make Up!

    Morgan was awesome! My hair and make up came out exactly the way that I wanted it! So many people came up to my bridesmaids and I telling us how much they loved our makeup! We asked for more natural as most of us do not wear alot of make up and Morgan and her team made us look amazing! Our make up and hair stay perfect all night even in the rain. I recommend Morgan to all that have their weddings in Maine!

    Sent on 07/22/2019

    Morgan Hansen Hair and Makeup Artistry's reply:

    Thank you so much for the kind words Jamie! You all looked so beautiful, and were so much fun to work with!
  • E

    Erin · Married on 11/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Easy to work with, fantastic style

    Morgan was flexible and easy to work with. Everything went well during the hair & make-up trial, but afterwards I realized I wanted a few changes. I communicated these to Morgan ahead of time, and she nailed it on the day of. I had airbrushed make-up and an up-do. I got about 3 hours of sleep the night before my wedding, and Morgan succeeded in hiding the bags under my eyes, and making me look radiant. My make-up remained flawless all day. The wind was unreal on our wedding day, very strong- it took down some tree limbs. Even after taking photos outside, my hair and my bridesmaids' hair stayed perfect. We danced all night and a strand never fell out of place. I found her prices reasonable and she was very talented.

    Sent on 12/01/2018

    Morgan Hansen Hair and Makeup Artistry's reply:

    Thanks so much for the review Erin! It was so wonderful to work with you on your big day! You looked absolutely stunning!
  • J

    Julianne · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly recommend Morgan and her team for any hair and makeup needs!! Morgan, Marissa, and Gabby did hair and makeup for me and my 9 bridesmaids and we couldn't have been happier with the results! I usually don't wear a lot of makeup and Morgan worked with me to create a very natural look that I loved and still felt like me. I also really loved my hair. I was very indecisive about what to do with my hair initially. During my trial, I had Morgan try out a half-up, half-down look with various dried flower clips and hair vines, but ultimately decided to go for a low loose bohemian updo. Morgan patiently worked with me to create the perfect look. It looked very beachy and not too tight or stiff, but at the same time stayed in place the entire night even after hours of dancing. Morgan was very professional and easy to work with throughout the wedding planning process. She responded quickly, happily traveled all the way out to an island for my hair and makeup trial, and accommodated my request to hire an additional artist so that we could get the large bridal party done faster. On the wedding day, she came prepared with a schedule which helped the whole day go smoothly and we were done on time. Her pricing is very reasonable compared to many other hair and make-up artists in the New England area, especially as it includes a hair and makeup trial for the bride. We had so much fun getting ready with Morgan and her team and think they are an amazing choice for any wedding or event!

    Sent on 09/05/2018
  • M

    Meghan · Married on 08/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't recommend Morgan enough. She was amazing. My hair and makeup. For my wedding could not have been better.

    Sent on 08/29/2018
  • G

    Gina · Married on 07/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Morgan was a pleasure to work with! She was my hair and makeup artist for my wedding last month. She also did hair for my bridal party. Morgan came to my house to do my trial and was happy to work on location for my wedding day. She took her time with the trial and really listened to me and made sure I was happy with my decisions. On the day of my wedding, she made my bridal party look gorgeous! She really made sure each bridesmaid was happy with their choices as well! I received many compliments on my hair and makeup and they both lasted all night, even through dancing! Everything photographed beautifully!

    Morgan is a true professional and her prices are extremely reasonable for her high level of experience and the beautiful quality of her work!

    Sent on 08/11/2018
  • I

    Ixtla · Married on 07/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Morgan was a pleasure to work with. She was extremely flexible and responsive, and really took all my feedback after our trial. She helped me feel beautiful on my wedding day!

    Sent on 08/20/2018
    Morgan Hansen Hair and Makeup Artistry 3
    Morgan Hansen Hair and Makeup Artistry 4
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 06/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Morgan was absolutely amazing! She was so relaxed and flexible all morning - myself and bridesmaids were so happy with our hair and make up. I would recommend Morgan to anyone - she was able to make last minute changes and made it all seem so easy!

    Sent on 07/02/2018
  • M

    Megan · Married on 08/26/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Morgan made me feel and look so special for my big day. She gave me exactly what I was looking for and I have honesty never felt so beautiful. She traveled not only to my house for the trial but to my venue as well. We had a Jane Austen inspired wedding and she gave me the romantic look I was wanting. I couldn't be happier with how she made me look and feel. She was extremely professional and very flexible!

    Sent on 08/31/2017
  • B

    Brandy · Married on 08/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Morgan and Marisa did the hair and makeup for my bridal party, and we couldn't have been happier! Thank you so much for making us look fabulous for my special day, you both were a pleasure to work with! 100% Recommend! :)

    Sent on 08/13/2017
  • L

    Lily · Married on 08/20/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    wI'll always take the time to approach the look YOU want, instead of her own personal vision!

    Sent on 06/20/2016
  • K

    Kate · Married on 06/10/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very responsive and easy to work with

    Sent on 06/29/2017
  • Kylie

    Kylie Morris · Married on 04/13/2019

    2.0
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Really wanted to like this vendor but cannot recommend

    Like every other bride, I spent hours doing research, which is why I felt I needed to write a review. I am also typically the type of person who is skeptical to one negative review, but would like to share this information in the case that you are considering Morgan as your stylist.

    Morgan's skill in terms of makeup is excellent, I was very happy with how all of our makeup was done, but looking back on the overall experience, going with a different vendor would have eliminated a lot of pre-wedding and wedding day stress.

    Just under 2 months prior to the wedding, after I had paid the deposit and confirmed details, Morgan informed me that she would be bringing another stylist to assist with hair. This wasn't too surprising to me because we had 7 people who were having hair done. When Morgan finally sent the information about the other stylist, I felt skeptical of her ability due to the photos that were on her Facebook page and little to no other information. When I tried to get more information from Morgan and then had a delayed response, she became defensive and addressed that if I wanted to go with a different vendor, to refer to her contract. I had not brought anything up about going to a different vendor and unfortunately I wasn't even given information about the second stylist in time to have been able to get out of the contract if I had wanted to. I felt that if I mentioned anything else about feeling uncomfortable with this second stylist that it would be an uncomfortable wedding day, so I just gave in.

    The day of the wedding is really what made me feel that I had to write a review. The second stylist smelled like smoke when she arrived and Morgan was running so far behind schedule that my mother didn't have time to get her makeup done. Photos were supposed to start at 1pm (I had given this information to Morgan in advance) but it was 2:30pm before I was ready for photos. This obviously caused a lot of stress for me and my mother during the getting ready process and ultimately me and my husband didn't have much time to spend with guests because the majority of our photos had to be moved to a different time.

    Additionally, my hair only stayed in place for about an hour and 1/2. This was very surprising to me because this has never been an issue in the past when I've had my hair done for events.

    There was no apology from Morgan or offer to refund my mother's makeup. I eventually asked for the refund and the money was returned. Ultimately, I feel that Morgan's customer service skills could be greatly improved. I would not recommend because she added a lot of stress to the planning process and to my wedding day.

    Sent on 07/03/2019

    Morgan Hansen Hair and Makeup Artistry's reply:

    Hi Kylie. Very sorry to read this review. I understand your frustration with running over time. There were some unforeseen circumstances with the bridesmaids makeup that took up some extra time.
    I did sincerely apologize, and do so now again. I refunded the money for your mothers makeup without hesitation, and even did the mother of the grooms makeup for free.
    As far as your hair not staying in place, I have never had a complaint about that, so I am surprised to hear it.
    When it comes to the matter of the second stylist, she is a part of my team that I have been working with for over a year now. When you asked for more information, I provided it to you, yet you still did not seem satisfied. The reason I suggested you might want to look for another vendor is because I simply would not have been able to service your wedding without my second stylist.
    I am glad everyone was happy with how there makeup turned out. However, I really do my best to go above and beyond for my brides, so I am very disappointed to hear you were unhappy.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review