Skip to main content
Weddings

Moonstone Studio Reviews

Moonstone Studio

Moonstone Studio

Brooklyn, NY
5.0 out of 5 rating, 19 Reviews
View more information

19 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 19
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

38 User photos

  • Tara
    Tara Married on 06/05/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Decision We Made

    My husband and I often say that booking Jenica was the best decision we made for our wedding. She did our engagement photos, photography for our small Covid church wedding, and both photo and video for our delayed large wedding celebration. Each time we received work from her, I thought she couldn’t possibly top herself—but she always did!! Our photos from each event are somehow curated, bespoke, perfect, and bright—while also looking real and representative of us. I was so worried to have wedding photos that looked cheesy or that didn’t feel like me, like so many of my friends had. But somehow Jenica managed to capture the essence of our relationship and personalities to a tee, while also making it look like journalistic art! Our wedding video brings me and my family to tears every time we watch it—I had been iffy on a wedding trailer but Jenica made me realize it was some of the best money I spent. She went above and beyond to include snippets from our small Covid wedding as well as our big celebration. Not to mention—Jenica and any team she brings along are always a delight to work with. When we parted ways after our third time working together, I truly felt we had built a friendship. She was a comforting presence to me on every big stressful day she photographed—I felt I could look to her for leveling and support. Through many adjusted timelines and events, she was always flexible and kind in a sea of pandemic wedding planning chaos. I could not recommend Jenica more highly to anyone who is considering—I continue to recommend her to all my friends and hope to continue to work with her for years to come!
  • Jillian
    Jillian S. Married on 01/07/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Expertise, authenticity, magic – I recommend Jenica to everyone!

    Jenica expertly and thoughtfully captured the vision we put together for our wedding – If you want more than your average wedding photographer, hire Jenica, she is truly an artist. We had our wedding on a rooftop in Boston in 2019 with all outdoor events. I had my heart set on perfect, authentic, documentary style photos; we were beyond thrilled with how our photos turned out!
    I had dozens of questions about timing, pricing, videography and photobooks – Jenica knows it all, was patient with all of my questions, and made us feel 100% confident about how our wedding would be captured. Our the wedding day and entire process was so much fun & Jenica was the calming voice we needed to hear through all of the hubbub. She guided us through each pose using her trained, artistic eye – every shot was gorgeous and emotive. I can feel the joy of the day radiating from each photo every time I look at them. We are still getting compliments on them months later.
    I recommend Jenica to everyone, she is such a cool person and what she does with photos is absolute magic.
  • N
    Ngoc Married on 09/07/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Jenica was lovely!

    We loved working with Jenica! She was always responsive, trustworthy, sweet, and patient. She arrived early the day of to help scope out picture spots. She was flexible with our schedule and really helped us to manage our time throughout the day despite all the delays we encountered. She was the calming presence through a very chaotic and stressful day. Also, having natural & candid pictures were important to us and so Jenica was a perfect fit for us. I couldn't have asked for a better photographer. Thanks Jenica!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • A
    Andrew W. Married on 09/07/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent!

    A dream to work with, so much fun at or engagement and wedding photos. Would really recommend!
  • Elena
    Elena Married on 06/29/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing photographer

    We absolutely loved working with Jenica and would 100% recommend her to anyone. Our pictures are stunning, and very natural (which was important to us). She also caught all of the important moments without being obtrusive during the event. Truly we couldn't have asked for a better photographer. Thank you Jenica!
  • Michele
    Michele Married on 06/08/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Jenica is the best!

    Jenica was fantastic throughout our engagement session and our wedding. She was a pro from the beginning and all of our experiences with her from the get-to-know-you call, emails, engagement session, and wedding were great. For both the engagement session and the wedding day, she scouted out locations in advance and had a clear plan in mind which both took us to some really cool locations in Lower Manhattan/Brooklyn. Throughout the wedding, she found a way to be everywhere without being obvious. Our guests even noted how wonderful she was and how clearly yet kindly she gave us directions.

    On another note, Jenica herself is just a great person and we were so happy to have someone that we could laugh with and who put us at ease on a potentially hectic and stressful day.

    Hire her for your wedding!
  • C
    Caitlin Married on 06/01/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fantastic Experience

    Jenica and her team were absolutely amazing. From our first conversation to the day itself she was a pleasure to work with - calm, capable, and with a fantastic eye for great photography. I would highly recommend her for any event - your day will be in great hands
  • Jesse
    Jesse F. Married on 09/22/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    highly recommend!

    We highly recommend this photographer! Not only is she a very talented photography, but she is also responsive, communicative, professional, creative, inventive and made us feel at ease. She was a joy to have there at our elopement and our pictures turned out better than we could've imagined!
  • Emily
    Emily Married on 08/26/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing photographer, amazing person

    We hired Jenica for our 165-guest same-sex wedding in Brooklyn. From the first conversation, she was so down to earth, zen, calm, professional, and genuinely interested in us and our love. When she took our (complimentary) engagement photos after we booked her, she was a joy to spend time with (we actually all grabbed a drink afterward!) and we felt totally comfortable with her. She's super dependable, communicative, prompt, and, on our wedding day, she was this magical combination of authoritative and SUPER STEALTHY. She cycled through group photos like a pro (no small feat as we both have insanely large families-- it was like herding cats) AND caught so many incredible moments throughout the day...yet somehow we barely saw her?? Her eye is incredible-- we first booked her because hers were the only wedding photos we saw that made us genuinely emotional. She combines her unique, intelligent documentary style and skill with the vibrancy, tenderness, and JOY she knows people want to see in their wedding photos. Because our wedding was large, she had a second shooter with her, who was just as incredibly kind and talented. We couldn't be happier with our photos. They totally capture our explosively joyful, love-filled, PARTY of a wedding, and we'd hire her again in a second. Jenica does not shoot for Instagram and is totally egoless-- she shoots honest, joyful images with skill and care. Book her. You will not regret it.
  • A
    Amanda Married on 06/09/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Moonstone Studio was the best choice for photographing my camp wedding. Jenica was willing to come and stay on location to make sure she got every part of my wedding day.

    Not only does Jenica have an excellent eye for details, she knows how to capture the intimacy and tenderness of a moment. As a slightly camera shy bride, Jenica caught me at my best and knew when to help provide some direction for some of our portraits.

    I had the best time at my wedding and it shows in our photos, I can also tell that all of our guests had a great time, too - that's the best memory to carry forward.

    Jenica was especially careful to check with me on any particular photos I was set on taking away from my wedding and she got so many additional photos that I didn't know I would want until I saw them. I can't fully express how much I appreciate having some of those photos because they are definitely some of my favorites.
  • E
    Ethan Married on 06/06/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Jenica was awesome! She is kind, honest, easy to work with, but most of all, dependable. She does what she says she'll do, for the price she says she'll do it for. She was sensitive to our budget, which I thought would translate into cutting corners, but the results were phenomenal! We could not have been more pleased. Because I'm a real stickler for efficiency, I was thoroughly impressed how efficiently she cycled through all of the groups (during the group photo portion). It was like herding cats but she did it. I know it wasn't her job to do this (we should have had a wedding planner), but when she sensed confusion at different points throughout the ceremony/reception, she quickly bailed us out. She has the wedding order of operations down (thank goodness) and was such a good sport about it.
  • L
    Lauren Married on 06/02/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Jenica was our videographer for our wedding in Germantown, NY in June, and we are so happy we chose her. She was friendly, flexible, and worked perfectly with our photographer. She was so unobtrusive during the wedding day, and yet, from the incredible highlight video she delivered, it was clear she was everywhere she needed to be. Jenica has an incredible eye for light and motion, and creates dreamy but modern work We're so lucky to have worked with her and highly recommend her to anyone who wants a perfect lookback at their wedding day.
  • M
    Marcia Married on 11/11/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I recently had the opportunity of catering a beautiful wedding and found myself working along side Jenica. I was very impressed by her calm demeanor(we felt a sense of peace in a place that had so much going on during the last few hours leading up to the wedding). Words cannot express how thankful I was to have her there-she is soft spoken, down to earth, charming, professional and a great photographer. A few weeks after the event, the bride sent me a copy of the photos taken by Jenica on her wedding day and I can't stop looking at them! Jenica is a true artist who has the ability to create timeless photographs that capture intimate, romantic and perfect moments. Her work is amazing, delicate , and beautiful. If you are in need of a photographer, look no further Jenica and Moonstone Studio will capture beautiful-perfect images on your special day!
  • I
    Isabel Married on 09/02/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Jenica is INCREDIBLE. She is abundant with talent, she is kind, professional and truly pure magic with her art.

    From the first phone call we had, I was completely taken with Jenica. Her understanding, patience and guidance of all aspects of capturing our wedding were invaluable. During the process, our communications were heartfelt, professional and insightful.

    The wedding day was perfectly executed. Moonstone captured every moment, all while remaining in the background. I never once worried whether the day was being documented.

    Our wedding video and photos are proof well beyond words of the quality and caliber of work.

    We couldn’t be happier with the experience and the end result. If you’re getting married, look no further- Jenica is your girl.
  • N
    Nate Married on 08/04/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Working with Jenica was great! She made taking pictures fun and we're glad we trusted her as everything turned out amazing.
  • M
    Monica Married on 06/26/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This is not a review as much as it is a love letter to Jenica and her talent. Anyone who has her as a wedding photographer will know what I mean. She was responsive and a great listener. I bounced off ideas on when and how to take the pictures and she took into consideration everything we threw at her, her feedback was honest and positive. Our wedding took place outside in a beautiful location but it wasn't without challenges. Jenica came to scout it the day before to make sure we had some favorite spots and angles. I got some adorable pictures with my flower girl in the process. We mentioned that our relatives had made a big effort to fly in from very remote places so we'd like to minimize the amount of time spent posing and would prefer to document the event in a more casual style. We also started at noon with the family pictures and our 'first look' pictures and she made it work even with very challenging light conditions. She was accommodating, went above and beyond, and seemed to be there in the most discreet way to capture every moment with such an intimate gaze! Everyone in the family just loved her energy and personality and she was an amazing contribution to the energy of the day. I can't say enough good things of how quick her turnaround is, the quality of the pictures is amazing, she handed them over organized by event so we could skip to our favorite moments with ease. I can't believe we were lucky enough to have the day so beautifully captured, the spirit of our wedding is in every frame. I have to add that my husband and I are not big fans of taking pictures, we're a little awkward to put it mildly and shy away from the selfies, etc. With Jenica it never felt forced or fake, we were relaxed and at ease, she guided us without making us feel like we were on display. I will let the images speak for themselves. We love Moonstone Studio and I will answer any and all questions you have!
  • S
    Stephen Married on 06/04/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Jenica is amazing!!! We love our photos. Couldn't be happier. She was able to capture the most important candid moments and work with difficult family personalities to get the best of everyone's angle for the mother pleasing group portraits.
    Thank you!!!
  • L
    Lindsey Married on 03/12/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Jenica photographed my wedding in 2011. She was amazing! I wanted to have the wedding documented with both a dslr and film. There were not many photographers doing film wedding work at the time and she did such a fantastic job on both the film and the digital. She was very reasonably priced, and the quality of the photos were exactly what I pictured for my wedding. She traveled to photograph my wedding and everything was seamless. She was truly a pleasure to work with. I would hire her again in a heart beat!
  • C
    C Married on 10/11/2014
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    Jenica is a great photographer and was able to capture my wedding beautifully. Would hire her again for other events.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message