56 Reviews for Montfair Resort Farm

4.9
out of 5.0
User Photos
todo alt text
todo alt text
todo alt text
+25
Photos
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Uncovered Outdoor (15)
Accommodations (14)
Parking (9)
Indoor (7)
Covered Outdoor (6)
Pet Friendly (5)
Scenic Views (4)
Wireless Internet (4)
Chairs (4)
Tables (4)
Outside Vendors (3)
Altar/Arches (3)
Lighting (3)
Event Rentals (2)
Wheelchair Access (2)
Event Planning (1)
55 Montfair Resort Farm Reviews
Sort by:

5.0

Montfair was an incredible venue for our weekend wedding. We knew we wanted to have our wedding somewhere with a beautiful outdoor ceremony site that could also accommodate more than 150 guests. Montfair was the perfect solution for us and we were impressed from the beginning with the kind staff, gorgeous views, and value proposition of having chairs, tables, lawn games and two bonfires included in our wedding weekend. Our guests had an amazing time and are still telling us about how much they enjoyed the views and outdoor time together playing horseshoes, kayaking and walking the nature trail. Katie, the events coordinator, was communicative with us and our wedding planner from the beginning and even helped us with some planning tips and vendor suggestions before we found a planner. On the day of our wedding, our mandap (Indian style wedding awning/platform) blew over before our ceremony was going to start. Dave, a member of the Montfair team, went way above and beyond to help our families and planner get the mandap set up again in a far more secure way than the rental company had first set it up. He truly saved the day for us! If you love being outdoors, like looking at the mountains and are happy with a slightly rustic, you truly can't go wrong with Montfair.

Profile Picture Maya, 4/22/18, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Parking, Accommodations, Outside Vendors, Pet Friendly, Wireless Internet, Covered Outdoor, Indoor, Scenic Views, Uncovered Outdoor, Altar/Arches, Chairs, Tables
5.0

Montfair was hands down the BEST decision we made (besides getting married of course). It is one of those unique places that takes your breath away the moment you drive up to the venue. If you're the kind of bride who is looking for a place that is heartfelt, the people are kind, and the physical space is rustic and gorgeous and completely flexible to whatever you want - vendors, etc, Montfair IS IT.

My husband and I are laid back artist types and we wanted our wedding to be local (we're from Charlottesville) and focused on the bringing together of our families and unpretentious - and we knew from the beginning we wanted to do our own programming, catering (our families provided home made dishes), music (I created our entire wedding play lists start to finish and my husband brought in his own sound equipment), decorations (handmade garland, thrifted china plate settings, etc), and more importantly we wanted our dogs to be able to join us at the ceremony, and Montfair was amazing about accommodating every aspect of the DIY event. It's rare to find a wedding venue that does not restrict you with vendors, etc, and we truly appreciated how open they were to our vision.

The best part about this place was the AMAZING staff!! Katie was a true GEM - she was so kind, patient, and friendly, with every step of the planning process - she answered all of our questions and did so with wonderful grace and humor. The team at Montfair made us feel super supported the entire way. The fact that we never had to worry about the venue significantly cut back on our stress during planning.

I could write endlessly about how much I loved this place but the best thing you could do is just set up an appointment and go see the space yourself. When you know, you know, and with Montfair, we just knew.

Photo for Montfair Resort Farm Review - We opted to have our ceremony by the water.
Profile Picture Mai, 3/24/18, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Scenic Views, Uncovered Outdoor, Accommodations, Pet Friendly, Wireless Internet, Altar/Arches, Chairs, Lighting, Tables
5.0

This was the most beautiful place to get married. It has everything a bride and groom could want and more! The views are incredible! We wish we could relive it over and over again!

Photo for Montfair Resort Farm Review
Photo for Montfair Resort Farm Review
Photo for Montfair Resort Farm Review
Photo for Montfair Resort Farm Review
Photo for Montfair Resort Farm Review
Photo for Montfair Resort Farm Review
+4
Photos
Photo for Montfair Resort Farm Review
Photo for Montfair Resort Farm Review
Photo for Montfair Resort Farm Review
Photo for Montfair Resort Farm Review
Profile Picture Amber, 11/11/17, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Our experience with Montfair was fantastic! We loved working with the small staff and getting married in a location that was so special and remote. Everything about this place is just so intimate and original- just the way a wedding should feel! We even rented out the entire place for lodging so all of our family and wedding party could stay onsite. Thanks Montfair!

Photo for Montfair Resort Farm Review
Photo for Montfair Resort Farm Review
Photo for Montfair Resort Farm Review
Photo for Montfair Resort Farm Review
Photo for Montfair Resort Farm Review
Profile Picture Liz, 10/28/17, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Montfair Resort Farm is truly magical. Not just the stunning environment (rolling green hills, blue ridge mountains, perfectly picturesque lake!), but also the staff. There are plenty of pictures of the Montfair that speak for itself - which we can loudly and confidently confirm - but there's little physical evidence of how amazing everyone at Montfair is in helping you plan, envision, and recognize your ideal wedding. At the end of the weekend (because yes, you can have an entire wedding weekend at Montfair! not just a day), it was the "Yes" and "Can do" attitude of everyone at Montfair that made planning a joy and the wedding stress-free. When we dreamt of a vintage, mobile caravan to uniquely serve as our bar in two different locations, Montfair rolled up their sleeves and helped us and the vendor find a way to position themselves safely, securely, and in perfect sight for our guests. This was a first-time vendor at Montfair and could have easily been turned away because of size and complexity to move throughout the grounds (literally needed to be backed up in between two trees), but Montfair didn't even think about that option. They were willing to try and make everything work. That collaborative and supporting sentiment is truly unique for Montfair as a wedding venue. And this is just one story! There are tons more in which Montfair worked with us to have a wedding completely our own, not adhering to cookie cutter standards and rules.

It's hard to express everything that Montfair did for us into words, but when thinking about our wedding, we wanted a place that truly captured our personalities - nature-loving, intimate, relaxing, rustic, sophisticated, unique and personable.

Montfair is that place.

We couldn't recommend them enough!

Photo for Montfair Resort Farm Review
Photo for Montfair Resort Farm Review
Photo for Montfair Resort Farm Review
Photo for Montfair Resort Farm Review
Photo for Montfair Resort Farm Review
Photo for Montfair Resort Farm Review
+2
Photos
Photo for Montfair Resort Farm Review
Photo for Montfair Resort Farm Review
Profile Picture YooMi, 9/23/17, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue, Rehearsal Dinner Location
5.0

The team at Montfair was incredible to work with -- we really wanted our wedding to be a weekend experience, and to have our family and close friends with us. We were so thrilled when we found Montfair - it's an absolutely beautiful location with flexibility and options for ceremony and reception location. We even held our rehearsal dinner at the venue because it's so gorgeous. Thank you!! I would do it all over again.

Profile Picture Siobhain, 9/16/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Accommodations, Pet Friendly, Wireless Internet, Altar/Arches, Chairs, Lighting, Tables, Parking, Wheelchair Access, Covered Outdoor, Indoor, Scenic Views, Uncovered Outdoor
5.0

Choosing Montfair was the best decision we made while planning our wedding! The surroundings absolutely blew us away — from the beautiful mountain backdrop of our ceremony, to the magical cocktail hour setting of the lake and woods. The venue provided the perfect combination of a festive but relaxed atmosphere, which helped our guests celebrate without feeling like the events were too staged or constrained. At the cocktail hour, our guests appreciated the variety of activities available, from lawn games, to mingling on the deck, to taking the canoes out on the lake.

It was really important to us to take the opportunity of the wedding to spend time with friends and family, so the ability to rent the property + cabins for the whole weekend was truly special. Our wedding party stayed in the cabins, and had everything they needed to just relax and have a good time. Beauchamp House was a great spot for my bridesmaids and me to get ready. Besides giving us extra time with friends and family, renting the venue for the full weekend made it easy to plan events on Friday and Sunday and keep costs down. We had our rehearsal dinner down by the lake, and brought in a donut truck for Sunday brunch. Easy!

The Montfair staff was a dream to work with. Katie Teel answered all our questions and stayed on top of every detail. During the wedding weekend, Aila set up a gorgeous bonfire and made sure we had everything we needed.

We can’t recommend Montfair highly enough, and are hoping to return in future years to stay in a cabin and relive the magic!

Profile Picture Betsy, 9/9/17, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Beautiful venue and awesome, laid back staff made this perfect wedding weekend. It was so great to be able to have the majority of the wedding guests stay at the site so we could party all weekend!

Profile Picture Andrea, 7/29/17, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue, Rehearsal Dinner Location, Wedding Planning
5.0

Absolutely gorgeous rustic outdoor wedding. Our guests still talk about how beautiful our venue was. One guest even commented that would consider returning to Montfair for a weekend retreat from northern VA. It was great to see our younger guests enjoy roasting marshmallows at the firepit and canoeing on the lake. Forget the [pricey] vineyard wedding and consider Montfair Resort Farm, where you'll get similarly amazing panoramic views of mountains and rolling hills, not to mention the beautiful rustic cabins. Highly recommend!

Photo for Montfair Resort Farm Review
Photo for Montfair Resort Farm Review
Photo for Montfair Resort Farm Review
Profile Picture Thuy, 6/17/17, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Chairs, Lighting, Tables, Parking, Wheelchair Access, Accommodations, Outside Vendors, Event Rentals, Pet Friendly
5.0

Montfair was a beautiful venue for our wedding. The ceremony site offers breathtaking views of the mountains behind it and the reception area offers a woodsy and intimate feel. Katie was extremely responsive to all questions and requests. She made us feel at home and we could not be happier with our choice.

Profile Picture Meagan, 5/27/17, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Going into our venue search, we knew we wanted to get married somewhere that was laid back but also somewhere that showcased Virginia's beauty. After we visited Montfair for the first time, we canceled all of our other venue tours and booked our wedding weekend right away as it had everything we wanted and more. The location was perfect for our families and friends and with the package we chose, we were able to have our entire wedding party stay in the cabins that are located on site the whole weekend. We got very lucky with the weather clearing up and were able to have the ceremony at the ceremony field with the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains in the backdrop. Even if the weather hadn't cleared up, we had peace of mind knowing that we had a back-up ceremony location at the lodge on the covered deck. The reception at the lodge could not have turned out better. Everything about Montfair is already so naturally beautiful that we only had to add details that enhanced the beauty. Everyone we worked with at Montfair was so helpful and nice. It truly is a DIY venue so if you are the creative type and love to incorporate nature into your crafts, then this is the venue for you. One good and bad thing about the location is there is very little cell phone service. This was good for our guests because it kind of forced it to be a technology free wedding. If you want to avoid any communication issues, a tip would be to purchase/rent/borrow walkie talkies. We purchased enough for the wedding party and wedding planner and they helped us out immensely since the resort is pretty spread out. Another tip would be to rent golf carts. We rented a 2, 4 and 6 seater GEM/golf carts and they were used all weekend to help zip around the resort quickly and to also escort guests to and from the ceremony field from the parking lot/lodge. If you are a laid back, casual bride and groom that want to have a laid back, casual wedding at a beautiful setting, then Montfair is the venue for you.

Profile Picture Courtney, 10/1/16, 11 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue, Rehearsal Dinner Location
Services Used: Parking, Uncovered Outdoor
5.0

This place was AMAZING. We were looking for a nature-oriented venue that had either a mountain or water feature and were so pleased that this had both. It is so convenient having friends/family stay in the on-site cottages and the venue itself is so pretty and tucked away that all of my guests were impressed that we even found such a gem! It truly was a destination wedding as we decided to do a 2 day destination package which gave us use of the facilities for 2 days. Working with the venue was amazing - everybody was so helpful and friendly. While it is a more rustic venue we were able to make our party very elegant and fun and using the rustic vibe to highlight the nature element. It really was quite perfect. You may want to note that rental of this venue is just the venue with tables and chairs. Arrangement of items and things like plates, linen, glassware etc. is not included but most of the catering places we found offered to assist with those items.

Profile Picture Buffy, 8/20/16, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue, Rehearsal Dinner Location
5.0

Montfair was the perfect place to host our wedding. The scenery is stunning, providing the perfect backdrop for our ceremony, and a wonderful setting to spend the weekend with our family and friends. The onsite lodging made for a perfect long weekend wedding, and actually gave us a chance to visit with our friends and family. The staff were so polite, courteous and responsive, and "on it" whenever we had questions. As we were leaving, they told us that they want people to feel "at home" at Montfair, and we certainly did.

Profile Picture Mary, 5/28/16, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue, Rehearsal Dinner Location
Services Used: Indoor, Uncovered Outdoor, Parking, Accommodations
5.0

My husband and I had our wedding at Montfair on 5/6/2016, and we couldn't have been happier. The ceremony site on the hilltop looking the mountains is absolutely stunning. We also loved the option of being near the water for our reception. Many sites have mountains or water, but Montfair has both! We loved that we could use our own selected vendors which helped us stay within our budget. The reception space is also beautiful, and we found that everyone had a fantastic time at our wedding - and felt so relaxed! Highly recommended.

Profile Picture Caitlin, 5/7/16, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue, Rehearsal Dinner Location
Services Used: Parking, Accommodations, Uncovered Outdoor
5.0

As soon as we toured Montfair, we knew it was the place for us. Montfair is such a beautiful location and provides a natural feel as it is nestled on the mountains in the woods. Something that we loved about Montfair was that they also have cabins that you can rent and use for the wedding weekend so that you don't have to leave the venue. There is also a big pond that you will have access to and a beautiful lodge with a fireplace and attached porch with tent. I had several of my guests comment afterwards on how they just loved the venue and thought it was so beautiful.

Profile Picture Hannah , 11/14/15, 3 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue, Rehearsal Dinner Location
5.0

Montfair is a breathtaking venue in the mountains of Crozet. I was married there on October 12th, 2015, and I think every single one of my guests told me how beautiful the scenery was, and how charming the venue was, too! I highly, highly recommend going to Montfair to view it in person. If it's the venue for you, you'll know right away - my wife and I knew the moment we saw it that we would be married there. Montfair doesn't provide all wedding services, so you'll have to do some hunting for your own caterers and other vendors, but it's intimate, cozy, and romantic - and to us, that was everything we needed in a wedding venue.

Profile Picture Lauren, 10/12/15, 9 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue, Rehearsal Dinner Location
Services Used: Accommodations, Covered Outdoor, Indoor
5.0

Absolutely outstanding venue and professional staff. Couldn't have asked for a better wedding spot. Bonfire was a huge hit for our guests! The cabins were fully furnished and heated. We will be staying here again whenever we need a weekend away from Northern Virginia!

Profile Picture Alexander, 10/11/15, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Uncovered Outdoor
5.0

I can't say enough about how happy we were to have our wedding at Montfair. It was the first and only venue we met with, and the choice was immediately obvious. First off, the location is just gorgeous, between the picture-perfect ceremony site on a hill, the wooded reception lodge and bonfire by the lake, and behind all of it, the stunning backdrop of the Blue Ridge mountains. It was perfectly suited for our bluegrass and BBQ wedding, but is really a blank slate for you to make your individual mark on.
The staff were exceptional as well. From the first meeting, through the planning process, to the day of the wedding, they were very responsive and flexible to our requests (whether for information, recommendations, photos, visits, etc.). Our other vendors had nothing but positive things to say about working with Montfair. And our guests are still talking about how great the venue was, especially those that stayed on the property. All in all, Montfair provides a unique alternative to the many vineyard venues in the region, at a significantly better value.

Profile Picture Nicole, 10/10/15, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Accommodations, Uncovered Outdoor
5.0

Montfair Farm Resort has been so wonderful to work with while planning our wedding. They have been quick responding and willing to work with our budget! They have very accommodating when my fiancé and I have wanted to meet caterers and go up for plans. It's a venue that will make you feel at home and very welcomed!

Profile Picture Hannah, 10/2/15, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

My husband and I loved working with Montfair to plan our wedding weekend. They were wonderful to work with and extremely helpful during each step. The staff was also great during on the weekend of the wedding.
We absolutely loved having our family and friends stay in the cabins. The bon fire after the rehearsal dinner and reception were perfect to keep the party going. The lodge was also perfect for a morning after brunch on Sunday.
Montfair truly was the perfect place for our wedding and we would not have wanted it anywhere else!

Profile Picture User6104524, 2+ years ago, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue, Rehearsal Dinner Location
Services Used: Uncovered Outdoor
5.0

Montfair is a magical place! My husband and I both love the outdoors, so we knew we wanted a venue that was rustic, inviting, and in the woods. The staff was warm and welcoming and treated us just like family. Right away, Montfair reminded us of being at camp, and we loved that our guests could tent camp and stay in cabins on site. The Beauchamp House was a perfect staging ground for a lot of the prep, and my husband and I loved staying in the A-frame and keeping an eye on everything. We had a food truck for our rehearsal dinner, and folks loved the extra time to hang out and catch up on site. On Friday night, the bonfire was a blast, and the stars were everywhere. It rained all of Saturday morning, but that just meant morning yoga on the deck was that much more soothing, and we had more help to decorate inside the lodge. We were so glad we rented a tent for the mulch area next to the lodge because it served as a cozy back-up space for our ceremony, and I ended up liking it even more than the field. The staff at Montfair was incredibly patient and helpful as we figured out our rain plan. The dance party on the deck at the end of the night was amazing! It was really cool to see how it all came together. Just a note, if you're getting married in the summer months, you should probably rent AC units inside the lodge. We lucked out that the rain cooled things off. Also, know that Montfair is super DIY, so you definitely get to put your stamp on things, but those details can add up! Having a venue for the whole weekend made it all worth it, though, and we were definitely able to transform the space for the low-key rehearsal dinner, elegant reception, and Sunday brunch. I can’t wait to visit again for many anniversaries to come!

Profile Picture Jen, 9/12/15, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue, Rehearsal Dinner Location
5.0

The setting for the ceremony was beautiful. We had 30 out of town guests that stayed on property.Our guests enjoyed the relaxed setting. We had formal wedding and reception. They facilities were clean and adequate for the caterers. The outdoor areas were great for our younger guests and the deck was perfect for our older guests. The staff were very helpful and accommodating
Thank You Montfair!.

Profile Picture User5425582, 2+ years ago, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

This venue is gorgeous, and every staff member with whom I worked was helpful and thoughtful. They communicated well and clearly wanted to help us get the most out of our day. The forecast was bleak, calling for thunderstorms all day and evening, but the staff did everything they could to compensate, and we even ended up getting to have our evening bonfire because the rain let up and the staff members had the foresight to cover the site and keep it nice and dry. Our guests loved the canoes and lawn games as well.

Profile Picture User5224705, 2+ years ago, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

We had our rehearsal dinner and wedding at Montfair on June 13th. 2015 and couldn't be happier with our choice. The staff were super professional, responsive, and friendly through the entire planning process and wedding weekend. Some of our guests rented out the cabins on grounds for the weekend allowing us to spend the whole weekend visiting with family and friends. Having our wedding at Montfair allowed us to have relaxed, customized, and meaningful celebration while surrounded by the beauty of nature. If you are looking for a cost efficient venue with a beautiful view and very few limitations on what you can do- Montfair is your place! We plan on visiting again for our 1 year anniversary!
Sincerely, The Harrigans

Profile Picture Jessica, 6/13/15, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue, Rehearsal Dinner Location