Skip to main content
Weddings

Monica Caplan Makeup Reviews

Monica Caplan Makeup

Monica Caplan Makeup

Clinton, NY
View more information

10 Reviews

Rated
4.4
out of 5.0
Recommended by 88% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.3 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.5 out of 5

Awards

  • 10
  • K
    Kelly Married on 03/19/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I am reviewing my service from Monica Caplan Makeup artistry for my wedding makeup and my 8 bridesmaids. She came highly recommended from my friend at work and I am thankful I found her. I had a practice run with her and with some small tweaking she created a work of art out of my face. I have substantial scarring from acne as a teen and my pores are gigantic! (I think) whatever she used under my makeup was like sparkling for your skin and my face looked like healthy flawless skin. My friends and family all were very impressed with how I looked and I felt the prettiest I ever have like a bride should feel on her wedding day. She was very sensitive to my insecurities about my scarring and great with my daughters who were enamoured with the amount of makeup she had. I would recommend her to anyone looking for high quality makeup ART. I am planning on hiring her for any event I'm the future where I need makeup. She is not the quickest at responding to emails (took a couple days sometimes) but always did and allowed plenty of time for all of us to have makeup done. Thank you Monica!
  • T
    Taylor Married on 02/13/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I hired Monica after having a trial with her in December. My mother, a bridesmaid and myself all went to her studio for the trial which was decorated so cute, it had a very chic, "boutiquey" and elegant feel to it. I have had my makeup done before and had a reaction once so I told her about it, she reassured me all of her tools and brushes were clean and that she would use only makeup that would not make my skin break out. I explained the look I was going for and it was like she read my mind because once I looked at myself I knew that was exactly how I was going to look on my wedding day. My mom also wanted a trial and I didn't know if that was unusual, but she said plenty of moms get them, although my mom was tougher; "lighter here, darker here, etc" Monica made her feel comfortable with the changes and told her the most important thing is that "the client is happy" and that she would rather know than not know so she can make it right. It was easy to be honest and open with her about what we wanted. She is the kind of person you don't have to feel bad asking for something different because you can tell she loves her work and takes a lot of pride in making you happy. I didn't have a reaction to any of the makeup she used. (thank God!) My wedding day went great and she brought the chart that she wrote all the details on from December because I was worried she couldn't remember, but she did! Not all of my bridesmaids had their makeup done, but the ones who did really liked her work as well and they all looked very polished and flawless, the others later wished they too had their makeup done. I felt glowing on my wedding day, The finishing spray she used made my skin look luminescent and radiant, somehow like I was naturally flawless which is what I was going for. I am 100% sure I made the right decision to use Monica as my makeup artist and hope I have an excuse to use her again in the future. I just want to keep her in my pocket everyday!
  • M
    Mary Married on 03/31/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Monica has done my make up for multiple weddings and a work event. She is incredibly kind, thoughtful, always on time and gets the job done beautifully! I have always been so pleased with the makeup - always looks natural but still stunning!

    She has also done fake eyelashes that last for over a month! I loved them!

    Monica is the best around and very reasonably priced! Book her while you can - you won't regret it! She will absolutely be the makeup artist at my wedding :)
  • User1578137 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Monica was fabulous! Very professional and my makeup looked beautiful. She comes highly recommended.
  • D
    Danielle Married on 09/22/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    When I was planning my wedding, I was very apprehensive to getting my make-up done professionally. Anytime I have had it professionally done, I have come out not looking natural or like myself.

    A former classmate had raved about how Monica did her make-up for her wedding on Facebook—since I have known Monica for years and loved what I saw online, I reached out to her.

    I explained that on the day of my wedding, I wanted to not only feel relaxed and not burdened with doing my own make-up, but also I wanted to look like the best version of myself.

    She did exactly what I asked for in my trial—but we quickly realized what I thought I wanted wasn’t for me. We found a perfect balance of what I look like every day and how I wanted to be enhanced for my wedding day.

    I couldn’t have been more pleased with her attention to detail, patience and honesty. I can truthfully say that I have never felt more beautiful than I did that day. Further, I am confident that while I may have felt ‘good’ if I had done my own make-up, Monica’s talent made the difference.

    I only wish I lived closer to her so she could work her magic when I attend special events.

    She is gifted, she is detail-oriented, she listens and hears what her clients are saying and is above all, passionate about her craft.
  • R
    Rebecca Married on 10/16/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Monica did an AMAZING job for my wedding! i couldn't have been happier with the service she provided. Quality work for a great price. Never felt more beautiful then i did on my wedding day!
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 08/03/2013
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Monica did a wonderful job at my wedding. Everyone was very happy with the way she did their makeup. I felt so beautiful on my wedding day! She is very talented and worth it!
  • T
    Lindsay Married on 05/26/2012
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I hired Monica for my wedding day. She did my makeup, the bridesmaids, my mother, and even a little on my flower girl. The makeup was gorgeous and lasted all day. Everyone looked beautiful but not over-done. Monica kept in mind how much makeup and what "look" each girl went with for everyday when doing the wedding makeup- we all just looked like the best possible version of ourselves! I was so incredibly happy with everything. She was on time, professional, kept checking time to make sure we were right on schedule, and was also personable, funny, and definitely helped me relax and enjoy my wedding day! I couldn't have had a better experience! Even when I did my trial- I brought 5 people with me and she was so accomodating. She provided wine for everyone and again, was so professional, but still someone I could see myself being friends with! My group actually stayed probably 30-45 minutes AFTER my makeup was done just talking with her! The only thing I would have changed was responsiveness- before the wedding. Sometimes I had to wait a while for an email response or had to send a second email before I heard back from her...and this may just be my need to be in complete control and desire to hear back as soon as I email. That is literally the ONLY problem I had at all- Monica was amazing and my wedding day was wonderful. I couldn't be happier with her services!!! I would and WILL recommend her to brides!
  • Meghan
    Meghan Married on 08/13/2016
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I found Monica via a friend on Facebook and I am so happy that I did. I did a trial with her and knew from that run that she was going to be great! The day of my wedding, she did a great job and I could not have been happier with how my make up looked. I don't wear a ton of make up as it is, and Monica was able to make me look all glammed up without it being too over the top. Never once did the make up look "cakey". She also uses this great setting spray which helps the make up not to melt, which was great, because it was hot, humid and rainy the day I got married and after dancing all night, my make up still was flawless. Thanks Monica!!
  • E
    Emily Married on 06/20/2015
    • Quality of service
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    I have never been so shocked by such a lack of professionalism in my entire life. 5 months ago I made an appointment with Monica based on the reviews here on Wedding wire. 5 days before the appointment, I confirmed with Monica the time and address of where we were meeting. I FLEW from Florida, woke up at 7am, and drove another 1.5 hours to her house in Clinton, NY. Not only did she not answer the door for 20 minutes, even after several phone calls, but when she finally DID answer, she was naked and either hung over, or still on a drug binge. I told her I was her 10:00 am appointment and her only words through half closed eyes were "I need to get dressed and figure out what's going on right now because I have no idea."

    I could not make this up if I tried. I was in complete shock and my bridesmaid and I left. I did NOT want to panic for the next year wondering if she would show up on my wedding day or not. I understand that people make mistakes, and crap happens, but she still, 2 weeks later, has not even called, emailed, texted... nothing to contact me. I truly am still rather speechless at the whole thing. I would NOT recommend Monica. She may have been good at some point, but she has CLEARLY gone downhill. Not to mention she promises hors d'oeuvres and wine at her studio for all make up trials, and instead I ended up at a rundown house with multiple drug addicts living downstairs (don't even get me started on her housemate that answered the door). I would NEVER write a negative review like this if I didn't truly want to help prevent someone else from going through this. Just stay away.