25 Reviews for Mon Ami Catering

4.9
out of 5.0
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Buffet (6)
Hors d'oeuvres (5)
Vegetarian (5)
Cocktail Reception (3)
Gluten Free (3)
Bartender(s) (3)
Family Style (2)
Organic (2)
Vegan (2)
Champagne Toast (2)
American (1)
Asian (1)
Mediterranean (1)
Mexican (1)
Lactose Free (1)
Nut Free (1)
23 Mon Ami Catering Reviews
Sort by:

4.8

We used Mona and Mon Ami Catering for our recent wedding in Kona. The food was incredible! Mona did an excellent job helping us plan our meal for 40 guests. She was incredibly responsive to our questions and always did what she could to address our concerns. The day-of, everything went as expected. Mona and her team showed up on time and prepared an exceptional meal. Her staff were very polite and professional and everyone commented on how great the service and food was. She even contacted us the next day to check if we needed any additional help with the cleanup (even though she left the kitchen spotless the night before)!

Mona, thank you very much for being such an integral part of our special day. We truly appreciate all your help!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Isaac, 5/23/17, 1 Review
Category: Catering
5.0

We had an AMAZING experience with Mona's catering service on our wedding day. If you are looking for a cater with fresh food, great service, and incredible attention to detail, she is the one! Everyone at the reception said it was the one of the best meals they have ever had (and this was after a week of being on the Big Island, experiencing amazing food). To top it off, her staff was a delight to be around. We all know that event staff can sometimes be dry, too much to handle, or even crabby. Her staff was the complete opposite; they were so much fun and made the whole night. Everyone adored them. The staff were especially attentive to my husband and I. They even saved us some of the appetizers as we were so busy with pictures and greeting guests that we didn't get a chance to try any.

One of the best things about Mona was she went the extra yard when we needed it the most. Being from MN and having a wedding in Hawaii (at a blank slate venue) got to be a little overwhelming/difficult at times, especially trying to understand all the small details that need to be figured out. Mona walked us threw everything prior to us leaving MN and let us know if we needed once we got there to just let her know. She even advised us on the weather :). We also ran into some last minute issues with the venue not being able to have her cook onsite which completely threw us off guard. Mona flew right in to save the day and worked directly with the venue to figure it out. In the end, everything worked out, better than we ever expected.

We are BEYOND HAPPY we picked Mona to be our cater. Thank you, Mona, you were honestly the best!! You and your team deserve a 1000 stars! :)

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Giavanna, 2/16/17, 4 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

I cannot say enough nice things about Mona at Mon Ami Catering. I had a DIY wedding and Mona was beyond accommodating and patient with me. The food was AMAZING and the staff was so friendly and professional. Everyone raved about the food after the wedding. Thank you so much, Mona for being so patient and sweet with me. We loved every last drop of the food!

I highly recommend Mon Ami Catering. I promise, you will not be disappointed!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Jill, 10/23/16, 1 Review
Category: Catering
5.0

Mona at Mon Ami Catering was amazing to work with and I would recommend her to anyone! She catered my wedding and created a beautiful menu that was well within our budget. Her food was absolutely delicious and all of the guests raved about it. We had a cocktail hour with pupus and a buffet dinner. In addition to how delicious the food was, it was also presented beautifully. All of the food Mona can source locally, she does, which was exactly what we were looking for. She always responded quickly to my emails and was very helpful. She went above and beyond what was expected and even organised a bartender for us. I would work with her again in a heartbeat for any event!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Danielle, 9/8/16, 5 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

Advice to anyone looking for a caterer on the Big Island (or alternatively considering a "hotel" wedding and using their food services): look no more. Mon Ami catering is awesome. Technically NOT a wedding review (I was married 9 years ago) but my wife and I threw my 50th birthday party on the Big Island (roughly 20 people). Mon Ami was on time, more than friendly, accommodating and professional, and the food was AMAZING. To be clear, and give context, I live in Washington, DC, travel for a living (approx. 60 trips/year), and eat out for business and pleasure quite often. Mon Ami was easily one of the top 3, 2?, maybe THE BEST, catered meal I have had in a 25 year professional career. From the pupus (appetizers), to the entrees, to the rum cake dessert. AND there were leftovers (I ate well for another 2 days). All at a very reasonable price. Take my word for it -- you'd be making a mistake to go with anyone else.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture David, 7/21/16, 1 Review
Category: Catering
5.0

Mona at Mon Ami Catering worked with us for months to ensure that our menu reflected our style and taste and would fit with our wedding design and budget. All of this communication definitely paid off -- our food was delicious, lovely, and received more compliments than any other part of our wedding. I can't recommend Mon Ami Catering highly enough!

Profile Picture User7097386, 2+ years ago, 2 Reviews
Category: Catering
4.8

The food was delicious and plentiful. Mona was very easy to work with, always tried to please. Her staff was pleasant and capable. Mona and her staff made the dinner party of the wedding fantastic. My grandson ended up eating the fish off the platter saying he had never tasted anything so good. I highly recommend Mon Ami Catering.

Profile Picture Cay, 4/30/16, 1 Review
Category: Catering
Services Used: Champagne Toast, Family Style, Hors d'oeuvres, Gluten Free, Organic, Vegetarian
5.0

Working with Mona was one of the best decisions we made. Her food, effort, thoughtfulness, team and everything is amazing. Our wedding was an international-destination wedding. It is stressful enough planning a wedding and adding international time zones certainly added stress. But working with Mona, I knew showing up for our events I didn't have to worry about a thing. She had everything covered. More than that, her food was absolutely amazing. Our guests still keep telling us how wonderful the food was.

Mona worked incredibly well with our Wedding Planner, Sara at Jots of Thoughts. The two had an incredible working relationship which helped immensely in handing over the day of to them without any fear. I highly highly recommend Mona from MonAmi Catering.

Profile Picture Lauren, 4/14/16, 2 Reviews
Category: Catering
Services Used: Gluten Free, Nut Free, Organic, Vegetarian, Bartender(s), Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Hors d'oeuvres
5.0

My family and I have been using Mona and her team for the last 6 years to cater a Hawaiian dinner. It is now part of our annual tradition when we visit Kona. The food couldn't taste any better and you can tell that Mona loves what she does by the passion she puts into each of her dishes. The first time we used Mona we were beyond impressed. She uses the freshest local ingredients and the presentation is just as thought out as the dishes themselves. It’s also great to hear her description of each dish and how they are meaningful to Hawaii. We wouldn’t think of using anyone else for a catered event in Kona and look forward to tasting her food again next year.

Profile Picture Lindsey, 1/26/16, 1 Review
Category: Catering
Services Used: Buffet, Family Style, Vegetarian
5.0

Food was delicious!!! presentation was beautiful! I ordered the tacos and everyone loved it! so many toppings to choose from and the appetizers were delicious as well.
So happy with Mon Ami Catering!

Profile Picture Leah , 1/2/16, 4 Reviews
Category: Catering
Services Used: Vegan, Vegetarian, Buffet, Hors d'oeuvres, Mexican
5.0

Mona and her team catered our backyard wedding in Puako, HI.

Mona was so professional, diligent, and easy to talk to. She and her team exceeded all expectations in flavor combinations, presentation, and service!

I highly recommend Mon Ami Catering!

Profile Picture Laura, 11/23/15, 2 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

Mon Ami Catering provided all of the catering for my daughter's wedding in Kona, Hawaii, including the cocktail service, meal, bar tending and clean up. Mona worked with us to develop the service, meal and presentation that was exceptional - and within our budget. The execution was flawless, and we, and our guests, were delighted with Mon Ami's significant contribution to the success of the event. We highly recommend Mon Ami Catering.

Profile Picture Lorraine, 9/24/15, 2 Reviews
Category: Catering
Services Used: Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Hors d'oeuvres, Bartender(s), Champagne Toast
5.0

Mona and her catering team were fantastic! We booked Mona for our destination wedding without being able to taste test. Mona was so easy to work with and let us customize our menu and just made the planning process so easy. The food on our wedding day was absolutely delicious and our guests kept commenting on it! The fish with tropical salsa was outstanding - highly recommend. The food presentation was lovely, everything looked like a piece of art. Mona and her catering team were also incredibly kind and professional.

Profile Picture User5554825, 2+ years ago, 2 Reviews
Category: Catering
Services Used: Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Hors d'oeuvres, American, Asian, Mediterranean, Vegan, Vegetarian, Bartender(s)
4.9

Mona is an excellent chef!
She creates delicious flavors and was very flexible to different ideas - such as the fish taco bar we ended up with! It worked great for our guests with food intolerance as they were able to participate with the rest of the group.
When working within our budget she had great ideas on how to stay within our price without losing quality.
She was also great in working within our delayed eating time.
I highly recommend Mon Ami Catering when on the Big Island of Hawaii!

Profile Picture Carley , 6/17/15, 2 Reviews
Category: Catering
Services Used: Buffet, Gluten Free, Lactose Free
3.4

First off let me say that the food, and the value for the food, was phenomenal. In that sense Mona is a great caterer. However, I have to say that the experience of working with her was by far the most frustrating part of our entire wedding. She is extremely unresponsive, and is extremely casual in her approach to fee schedules which makes it very difficult to determine what you are getting and what you might want to get from her. I tried many times to request an itemized cost list or invoice from her, but her idea of an itemized invoice is: Wedding, 1, cost XXXX. This made it very frustrating to try and figure out how to chose what services to get from her and what we could source elsewhere. She was very flexible in working with us, for example we wanted to provide all the pupus to help keep costs down and she worked that in very well. The day of the event she asked for $1000 more than the what she quoted us as her absolute maximum price, even though our guest count was 15 people under that price quote. When we told her that was ridiculous she told us to refer to the non-existent invoice. The final thing I would have to relate is that her attitude toward the event and all our conversations carried an odd air. It was like she felt she was doing us a favor catering our wedding, rather than being a service we were paying for. Often her opinion was more important than what we wanted.

Again I donʻt want to underrate the fact that in the end, she delivered an amazing meal at a reasonable price, but the process of getting there was a very frustrating one. I will also say that I am an educator and am a hard grader, so my star values can be taken as a harsh criticism.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture User5309899, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Catering
5.0

Mona was great to work with. We had an idea for out wedding that was not on her website. She came up with exactly what we wanted! I love someone that will be creative and try something new!! The food was delicious and service was incredible!!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Bryn, 5/24/15, 1 Review
Category: Catering
4.6

Mon Ami catering was taking over for our original caterer (Color Catering) who essentially handed us off to Mon Ami Catering with little explanation. Mona was very responsive and helpful with our destination wedding. The food was very good, fresh, and local and overall they did a great job and were very helpful.

Profile Picture Meagan, 5/15/15, 1 Review
Category: Catering
5.0

Mona is amazing! She and her staff were incredibly kind, thoughtful, creative, and considerate. Mona was flexible and patient with us throughout the entire process- in working out the menu, the budget, and making changes along the way. Her food was incredible, and she seems to really love her art. It was pretty clear to us that she puts all that love into each dish as well. Our guests were in awe of the beautiful plates and the overall delicious meal. It was a joy to work with her, and the more excited she got about the food, the more excited we were as well. I would recommend her again and again, and if we lived nearby I would utilize her for other events or gatherings. Thanks again, Mona. We are so grateful you were able to share your gifts with us on our special day.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Michelle, 5/9/15, 3 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

We're so thrilled Mon Ami Catering was able to accommodate our wedding on 12/13/14!!! Mona was so easy to work with while planning our wedding. We didn't sample any of the food on our menu prior to the wedding but we weren't worried because we heard nothing but wonderful things from other vendors and friends. & she didn't disappoint! The presentation of the food was so beautiful but more importantly sooooo delicious!!! Family and friends are still raving about how amazing it was! Some favorites were the poke, tiger prawns and the beef tenderloin. We wanted a variety of food that our friends and family from the mainland would enjoy and still be able to try some local favorites.
Some of the larger catering companies try to dominate and dictate prices and choices. Working with Mona personally, she was so flexible, open minded and kept the costs within our budget. that's why we were lucky to find her and support local small business. Her expertise and passion for cooking shined!! Thanks so much for all your help and for serving the most amazing food we could have ever imagined!!!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Rachel, 12/13/14, 1 Review
Category: Catering
5.0

Mona from Mon Ami catering was so helpful from our first meeting throughout the months leading up to our daughter's wedding. Through countless emails, we came up with a very unique menu. Mona was happy to accommodate any request we had. On wedding day, she came through with everything promised and more. The pupus were incredible, dinner was amazing and our guests were raving. One guest said it was the best meal they had experienced in Hawaii and by far the best meal at a wedding EVER!
If you are looking for a caterer who will think outside the box, serve fresh, locally grown, delicious foo, look no further than Mona at Mon Ami!

Profile Picture User4601756, 2+ years ago, 2 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

Mona and her team were amazing! The food for our wedding was incredible - she worked with us extensively to come up with the perfect menu and I was blown away by how great everything was. She used fresh, local ingredients in everything she prepared and my wedding guests were commenting for weeks on how good the food at our wedding was! Mona was easy to work with, well organized on the day of the event, timely, and very helpful. I would recommend Mon Ami catering to anyone looking to cater an event!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Malia, 8/15/14, 1 Review
Category: Catering
5.0

Mona was a delight to work with. She provided delicious, real food, beautifully displayed and plenty of it. Her poke was out of this world, served with fried wantons. The tiger prawns were so amazing everyone wanted to know how she made them. Friends still talk about how great the food at the wedding was a year later. I can't speak highly enough of Mona and her catering.

Profile Picture User5336954, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Catering
5.0

I was referred to Mon Ami by another catering company since they were already booked for my wedding day. I'm so happy I went with Mona! Our families are all for organic foods. The flavors of all the different foods we had at our wedding were incredibly delicious. No complaints from anyone. We had a few leftovers that my husband ended up devouring hours after the wedding. I highly recommend Mona and her team. I was planning a wedding from Florida and Mona was very professional in assisting by phone and e-mails. She is so sweet! I highly recommend her services at your event. One year later, we still talk about how good the food was. Thanks again, Mona!

Profile Picture Deanna, 7/19/14, 2 Reviews
Category: Catering