Mohonk Mountain House Reviews

18 | New Paltz, NY
See photos, pricing and details

18 Reviews for Mohonk Mountain House

Recommended by 95% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.6

Awards

18
Order by:
  • Lori

    Lori and Keith Plumstead · Married on 06/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Keith and Lori’s Wedding

    There are no words to express how beautiful and magical our wedding and this venue is. You must experience it for yourself. Our wedding planners were fun, relaxed and had it all under control. We just enjoyed our magical day! Mohonk Mountain House has something for everyone and the service is outstanding. You will not regret going!

    Sent on 10/28/2018
  • R

    Rosemary · Married on 09/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I got married at Mohonk on September 30, 2017 and we do not have enough great things to say about it! We had a small wedding (56 people) and it was great that they were able to hold such a small wedding. Many other venues require a specific number of guests, and if you don't have that number, they charge you for it anyway. NOT MOHONK! Everyone loved our wedding; the views are amazing, the food is excellent. We were planning to have it outside but the weather wasn't that great, so we switched it to inside 2 hours prior to the ceremony and the staff (Aimee Ciarimboli) was SO accommodating and understanding (and trust us, it was JUST as beautiful inside!) Aimee took the stress out of wedding planning. For every email I wrote her, she responded back and had a solution to every question or issue I could think of. She does not cut corners. She has everything covered and really makes you feel like you can relax and she has everything under control, cause she does ! Everyone also commented on how nice and accommodating the servers were at our wedding- we personally think this is a very important factor in choosing a wedding venue... the servers literally catered to all of my vegetarian in-law's needs, and made sure they were served all the vegetarian hors d'oeuvres they wanted. They really made it a special day for us and made us feel so important. The best part of getting married at Mohonk is that it is not like it's just a catering hall where you are treated as just another customer; and you can go back every year to celebrate your anniversary! It was a wonderful wedding, and we owe it all to Aimee and the rest of the staff at Mohonk. THANK YOU!

    Sent on 10/18/2017
  • C

    Cindy · Married on 08/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an amazing experience with having Mohonk Mountain House as our wedding venue. We were surprised at the value of having a wedding there. We had a garden ceremony - mountain side, cocktail hour on the balcony and reception in the pavilion in August 2017. The pavilion was so beautiful at night and they even accommodated us wanting a sparkler send off at the end of the night. I have not enough good things to say about our coordinator, aimee. She is a take charge, organized, CALM and supportive planner- the perfect person you have to have by your side on your big day!! I was so nervous about the weather, but she never swayed from keeping me calm and continued to have faith the rain would hold out - which is did!! And then when it did rain it was during the reception so it sounded beautiful in the pavilion, magical even! Then she provided umbrellas and carts for everyone when they left, but it winded up stopping before the majority left. The food was also amazing! Our cake was perfect - we did a lemon and blueberry mix nice for the summer, recommended by one of the wedding coordinators. We are also so happy to have a venue we can go back to for our anniversary!

    Sent on 03/17/2018
  • F

    Ferve · Married on 05/28/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had our wedding at the Mohonk Mountain House on Memorial Day weekend 2016 and we can’t gush about it enough. It was magical; the Mohonk staff went way above-and-beyond to make our wedding vision come true and everything blew my expectations when it came together.

    After months of searching, we tried Mohonk at my husband’s suggestion and immediately fell in love. We worked with Mohonk wedding coordinator Aimee Ciarimboli and after many, many emails and calls over almost one year, I can say without reservations that she is a consummate professional, a problem-solver, creative thinker, and detailed-oriented, attentive, and a stalwart advocate for us. She makes things happen; when we wanted to decorate the railing around the rink, we brainstormed a solution. We worked together to find bands that would meet the sound restrictions and still have a hopping dance floor. She is responsive and a planner; her careful planning helped the day go smoothly. On the day of, she regularly checked in and took care of us and our family like her own. She effectively communicated and there were no surprises the day of. She accommodated our work schedule to meet us and be available by phone after hours. Being a long-time member of the weddings department, she knew the Mohonk inside out and had tips for us on every detail. Having spoken to a few wedding planners before coming to Mohonk, we could easily tell the difference. She takes ownership. And she is also a very cool and fun person and shared our joy on our special day.

    We could not be more grateful to Aimee and the entire Mohonk staff for blowing away our expectations for a dream wedding weekend. I recommend Mohonk without reservation for a wedding. Please read my full review on TripAdvisor for all the delicious details: https://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g48245-d99001-Reviews-Mohonk_Mountain_House-New_Paltz_New_York.

    Sent on 06/14/2016
  • User5489048 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our Mohonk Mountain House wedding consultant was Christina. She guided us through the entire process, from ceremony through reception. Her calm support was essential to our planning process, and on the wedding day she was there for our daughter and the entire wedding party/guests. Mohonk is a gorgeous site for a wedding. The ceremony was held outside by the flower gardens. The cocktail hour was on the porch parlor overlooking the lake. The reception was in the West Dining Room. Food and drink at the cocktail hour and reception were excellent. We had a buffet for the reception, and it worked perfectly, with ample choices for our guests. People raved about the setting, the food, the service from all the Mohonk staff. We highly recommend Mohonk Mountain House and their staff.

    Sent on 10/02/2015
  • User5303737 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding at Mohonk was just perfect! Aimee was our coordinator and she did an exceptional job! Once the wedding started, we did not have to worry about anything, everything was taken care of. The wedding went smooth, just like planned.
    During planning process Aimee was very accommodating and executed everything we asked for. During the initial stage of the planning it took a bit to get a response back (they seem very busy over there) but once the wedding was getting closer, it took less time to get a response. And right before the wedding, Aimee was always available.
    Every detail during the wedding was thought through. After the wedding, Mohonk gave us a memorable gift that will keep bringing sweet memories of our time at Mohonk. It was an excellent experience. We loved it and could not ask for a better venue!

    Sent on 07/30/2015
  • User4067256 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved having our reception at Mohonk Mountain House. Aimee was absolutely wonderful in assisting us and making our wedding day as smooth and effortless as possible. She and her team were kind, patient and answered all of our many questions. They took care of decorating our reception house, which was a task I did not want to do. They made the room into exactly what we wanted - a warm, genuine, welcoming place to celebrate with our friends and family. The wait staff was genuinely kind and did an excellent job of being always available but never intruding. Our captain steward, Steven, was magnificent and put both us of at complete ease and comfort. Aimee went above and beyond in our eyes in the pre-day planning and meetings. She took two hours with us and our photographer to walk the grounds and find our "photo spots." She met regularly with both us and my parents to answer questions and assist us. She, and the entire Mohonk staff, made our event breathtaking and magical and we will be always grateful.

    Sent on 05/27/2015
  • Melanie

    Melanie · Married on 09/28/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding at Mohonk this past September was an absolute fairytale. From the picturesque scenery, complete with a victorian castle resort nestled in the mountains...to the wonderful staff who made sure that everything was perfect for my special weekend...I could not have dreamed that my wedding could have been as magical as it was. Christina Latvatalo, Mohonk's wedding coordinator, was an absolute pleasure to work with and very accommodating. My family spent the entire weekend at Mohonk. We enjoyed lunch on Friday before the rehearsal which took place in the gardens. Our rehearsal dinner hosted by my in-laws took place at the Guilded Otter (wonderful upstairs area), and afterwards had a Meet and Greet with guests in the bar area. The wedding day itself was spectacular. Guests have told me that mine was the best wedding they have ever attended. We had an outdoor ceremony in the gardens. My bridesmaids and I got ready in the bridal suite which we had use of all day to store our belongings, and we arrived via horse and carriage to the ceremony. I truly felt like a princess. The cocktail hour was on the covered porch with beautiful views of Mohonk Lake. It was truly breathtaking. My band supplied a piantist to play music during this time. It was very classy and old-world feeling. The reception took place in the West Dining Hall which has panoramic mountain views. The reception is 3 hours instead of 4 like most venues, which they tell you up front. Some of my wedding guests who werent spending the night at Mohonk actually hiked up the mountain after the wedding before the after-party on Sat evening in carriage lounge and later Lake Lounge where a live band happened to be playing. Some then headed to the Hilton where we had a room block. On Sunday, my fam hiked up to Skytop and the views were just spectacular. We then enjoyed a lovely picnic lunch (bbq at The Granary) which I would highly recommend and also went canoeing (even Grandma!). Mohonk is pure magic.

    Sent on 04/19/2014
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 06/20/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When my husband and I got engaged, we knew right away that The Mohonk Mountain House was where we wanted to get married. We had visited on a previous trip to NY, and fell in love with its whimsical nature, and all it had to offer. The Mohonk is beyond amazing: it’s like a fairytale come true right off the pages of some old story book! It is quite frankly an unbelievable location. Everyone who ventures there just can’t believe a place like this truly exists! However we figured it would be too expensive for us. But then we found out about the small wedding package and were head over heels that our dream might come true! I called up the weddings department, spoke with Amy Ciarimboli, and decided it was a done deal! We booked the venue and never looked back! Over the course of the year that we took to plan everything from 1,800 miles away; Aimee was amazing in helping to guide and plan every detail! She was friendly, on the ball, and more than accommodating! When our special day came: everything went off without a hitch! The Mohonk had it all set up for smooth sailing down to the last detail. It was truly our fairy tale come true! Between the people, the ambiance, the scenery, the activities, and the hotel it’s self: it’s was a complete success beyond my wildest dreams! I never imagined I’d be able to afford getting married in such luxurious style, but the Mohonk made sure that our special day was absolutely unforgettable. I will be forever thankful to Aimee, Christina, and the entire Mohonk staff and venue for making this ordinary girl’s wedding so very magical! My husband and I couldn’t have asked for a more romantic wedding. People are still talking about how wonderful it was! Some say it was the best wedding they've ever attended! For my husband and I and our families: it was a day of beauty that we will never forget!!

    Sent on 07/18/2013
  • User3227916 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There is nothing like the Mohonk Mt. House ... if you have not seen it personally, be sure to visit. A unique, historic site, and their staff are truly outstanding. They really set the bar high when it comes to "customer service."

    Sent on 04/29/2013
  • User2522091 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mohonk Mountain House is the absolute BEST location to have a wedding reception in the New Paltz region of NY. My husband and I had our reception there on June 9th and are still reminiscing about how beautiful and seamless everything was. Upon arrival your guests check in at the gate house (so not just anyone can come up), drive through the mountain houses gardens and then receive complementary valet parking. The guests are then directed inside and led up to a huge porch overlooking the lake, mountains, and gardens, for the cocktail hour. After that is the reception in the ballroom. All I can say is the food and staff were 10 star quality. Our guests had an appetizer, pear walnut salad, filet mignon/chicken breast, cake and house-made chocolates.

    I couldn't stress considering the Mountain House as a wedding reception location enough!! It's certainly on the pricier end, but you get what you pay for and much more. Christina, my wedding coordinator was amazing! Shes quick with responding to calls and emails, friendly, and just made the whole planning experience seamless. Whenever something random had to be done and she was available to do it she did. One example is that I decided not to get a florist and instead create my own floating candle center pieces of which Christina happily took care of setting up for me the morning of, I appreciated that so much!

    Sent on 07/05/2012
  • R

    rita · Married on 10/11/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mohonk is a spectacular place to have a wedding. You can have them cater and arrange the flowers for you. Our guests told us it is was the best wedding they have ever been to. It's also an unbelievable value.

    Sent on 01/10/2009
  • C

    Candice · Married on 09/10/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One could not find a more beautiful and elegant venue to have a wedding!!! Mohonk's gardens make a beautiful backdrop for photos and the ceremony, their porch fantastic for the cocktail hour and their west dining hall perfect for a reception. The food is absolutely delicious and they work with the packages to enable one to have the wedding that they want. it was worth every penny. Christina, the wedding coordinator, is amazing and wonderfully calm. The only slight downside is that Christina is so busy that it takes a bit to get ahold of her. She is best reached via email instead of telephone. My husband and I cannot wait to go back for our anniversaries.

    Sent on 10/06/2011
  • User4541635 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Even though Mohonk is a pricey place to stay overnight, as a wedding venue it was actually quite reasonable. The site fee was only $650, while other venues we looked at asked for upwards of $9,000, and then they had the same per-head cost on top of that, and didn't come with nearly as many benefits as Mohonk. We chose the mid-level "Edwardian Splendor" and opted to add quite a few other fun things, including an extra room for the groomsmen to get ready, open bar during the entire dinner reception, and a bonfire after-party with s'mores and hot apple cider. We really feel we got our money's worth, but you could also easily spend less by going with the less extravagant dinner and cocktail options and cutting out the extra features we opted for.

    Beyond pricing, the venue was absolutely stellar on the day-of. Our wedding coordinator, Christina Latvatalo, did a totally amazing job. Everything stayed on schedule and went perfectly smoothly. She worked well with all our vendors and had suggestions for us every step of the way. Our one complaint is that communication leading up to the wedding was rather slow. Sometimes it would be two weeks before we heard back from an email. Phone calls and voice mails seemed to elicit a quicker response, though. The other staff was also really sweet. Among their many gestures, they drove us up the mountain in a van so we could take wedding photos there, chauffered infirm guests to the ceremony space in a golf cart, and were so friendly and nice at every turn. They all seem to truly love their work, and it shows in the results. Lastly, it must be noted how absolutely beautiful Mohonk's property is. A lot of our guests had never been there before, so it was a real treat for them to come. Some attendees went hiking before or after the wedding, and many of them commented on how stunning the venue was. I could go on and on about how great the venue and its staff are. HIGHLY recommended!

    Sent on 11/24/2014
  • Patricia

    Patricia · Married on 06/26/2011

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Memories for a lifetime... You simply cannot beat Mohonk Mountain House for a wedding location! We instantly fell in love with its majestic setting, rich history and Victorian ambience and booked without reserve.

    Our late June ceremony took place in Mohonk's Victorian gardens (cocktail hour on the porch, reception inside). We went top of the line with all Mohonk's options- best food package, premium open bar, Mohonk gazebo ice sculpture. Our guests raved about everything, from my bridesmaids and my horse & carriage arrival for the garden ceremony, breathtaking views of the cliffs and lake from the porch during our cocktail hour, superb and plentiful food, custom cake (provided by Mohonk- incredibly delicious and just what I wanted), ceremony violinist & cellist, acoustic guitar setup for cocktail hour, and of course, the ideallic, fairytale setting. And we couldn't agree more! :)

    The only downside is that a Mohonk reception is an hour shorter than a typical wedding, but they tell you this upfront. We had such an amazing time that we wished we could have extended the fun, regardless- the only regret I could possibly voice. We're still receiving repeated compliments on our wedding and hearing that it was the best wedding our guests have ever attended. I'm in love with Mohonk- it will always have a special place in my heart and I can't wait to return to celebrate a birthday or anniversary. Mohonk is the place dreams are made of.

    Sent on 07/07/2011
  • B

    Kristin · Married on 06/21/2008

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Mohonk was an amazing place for our wedding. Although it was expensive, it was still a relative value for the NYC area, and for such a spectacular venue. The views were amazing, the weather was perfect, and our guests just loved it. The flowers were lovely & the food/cake were amazing! Christina and her team were also nice to work with.

    Sent on 04/10/2009
  • O

    Leslie · Married on 06/16/2012

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We had a beautiful wedding at Mohonk. The staff made it very memorable and made sure every detail was attended to. All our guests were in awe of the venue, how beautiful it was, how delicious the food was and how perfect everything seemed. Our wedding coordinator, Christina made the day effortless. She made us all feel at ease.

    Sent on 06/19/2012
  • Angela

    Angela Bova · Married on 12/18/2020

    2.6
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Beautiful location, sub par food

    My husband and I were thrilled when we arrived at Mohonk Mountain House. We drove all of the way up the mountain on a tiny road surrounded by trees and snow. We could see the beautiful mountains in the distance and finally the resort. The resort looked a dream, such wonderful architecture. It overlooked a large lake that was partially frozen. The trails were covered in snow but it was possible to hike them with snow shoes or skiis. There was an open air ice skating rink which looked very fun though we didn't get the chance the take part. The hotel itself is beautiful and was decorated for the holidays. The rooms were adequate, though a bit outdated. However, the view... My goodness the view from the window will be forever etched in my memory. That view alone was worth it. You could sit out on the porch on the rocking chairs and look out to this view as well or sit in the lounge by the fireplace with some coffee and enjoy the atmosphere. My only complaint was the food. My god the food was awful. It is not an exaggeration to say that it was about equivalent with airport food. Be warned that the food that is described in the menu is not what you will receive. For such an expensive tab, I was expecting much more. Also, during this time, expect to eat every meal in the dining room. There is no other choice and I wish there were. Also, you are required to have three course meals for lunch and dinner - which are mediocre at best. I would love to come back in the fall to hike the trails but I seriously have to consider this because of how bad the food is!

    Sent on 12/20/2020