Modern Day Floral and Events Reviews

56 | Grand Rapids, MI
See photos, pricing and details

56 Reviews for Modern Day Floral and Events

Recommended by 97%

56
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.7

3 User photos

Modern Day Floral and Events 1
Modern Day Floral and Events 2
Modern Day Floral and Events 3
Sort by:
  • Jill

    Jill · Married on 07/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Floral/ Design

    They were amazing! I planned my wedding in Grand Rapids from Arizona and they made this stressful planning process a lot more seamless. They did an amazing job on the flowers and decoration. They were always willing to change things if I wanted to amend something. My wedding was in July which is apparently the hardest month to get peonies - my favorite flower- and they were able to magically get some for my big day! They are pricier but they have high quality design and products which is worth it to me.
    (photo credit: Abbey Moore photography)

    Sent on 01/06/2019
    Modern Day Floral and Events 4
    Modern Day Floral and Events 5
    Modern Day Floral and Events 6
  • K

    Kristin · Married on 10/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Modern Day was instrumental in facilitating my wedding day. Amanda and her team were the epitome of professionalism, competence, and class. I worked with a particularly difficult venue, and Amanda and her team made sure that everything went off without a hitch. Amanda coordinated all of my vendors; I felt in the loop but never stressed. Modern Day was incredibly receptive to my vision and went through multiple 'drafts' of floral and decor details to give me (pardon the cliché) the wedding of my dreams. It was ideal. This company knows how to serve its customer -- it was absolutely worth the investment in the MD expertise to design and facilitate my wedding day. I can't tell you how many guests came up to me raving about the floral arrangements and decor at the reception. All credit goes straight to Modern Day. They are THE BEST value for your money on the most important day of your life. Period.

    Sent on 10/28/2016
  • User7743846 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff was amazing and the prices were beyond reasonable.

    Sent on 02/04/2017
  • L

    Libby · Married on 10/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Modern Day Floral's work speaks for itself - all you have to do is view a few photos of their stunning arrangements!

    Sent on 01/06/2014
  • K

    Karen · Married on 08/24/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jenn and Erin worked their magic for our daughter's outdoor wedding in Holland, Michigan. Jenn designed the flowers for both the church and reception and also the linens and table arrangements.

    We also decided to use Jenn for the day of event. She handled all of the vendors one month prior to event up to and including the day of the event.
    It was unbelievable how smoothly things ran the last week of the wedding and not to have to worry about a thing but to enjoy yourself.

    The bridal bouquets were outstanding. The colors and amounts of flower used to go into the bouquets were unbelievable.

    When we entered the outdoor tent for the reception, we were blown away by the beautiful arrangements with candlesticks. Jenn used a combination of a large rectangular arrangement inside old library box drawers with a combination of candles and simple, single vased flowers. The overall effect was mind blowing. It was simple, classy and better than we expected.

    Advise to brides, give Jenn your ideas and then let her run with them. She will provide an experience better than what you could have ever imagined.

    Th reception runned so smoothly with Jenn working with multiple vendors.
    So many of our guests said this was the most beautiful wedding they have ever gone to with the service outstanding.

    A special shout out to Erin who worked so hard for us. You were a joy to have at the event and can't thank you enough for making our daughter's wedding day the best.


    Sent on 09/22/2013
  • Jess

    Jessica · Married on 08/18/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Modern Day Floral was a very pleasant experience. I was very happy with their ideas for our wedding day that fit our classic, elegant theme. I would highly recommend choosing Modern Day Floral to anyone who is seeking to find a positive, customized experience. They gave such great ideas and useful opinions that helped us make decision-making easy!

    Sent on 11/28/2013
  • A

    Alex · Married on 08/03/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hiring Modern Day Floral was one of the easiest wedding decisions that we had to make. But it wasn’t the awesome website, numerous awards, amazing reviews, or beautiful flowers that sold me. Jenn’s personality, passion, dedication, and attention to detail is what spoke to me. Jennifer is phenomenal at what she does and I knew I had to hire her within five minutes of our first phone conversation. Simply put, we were on the same page so much that I felt like she could finish my sentences. She just understood me so well that it felt like she was an extension of my own style and creativity.

    The wedding was in St. Joseph MI and I live on the Detroit side. Jenn didn’t hesitate to drive from Grand Rapids to meet me at the wedding venue for our first meeting. She brought all kinds off goodies to showcase her design ideas and I was in awe. I held her hostage at a coffee shop for a couple of hours afterward so we could hash out all the exciting details of the day. This in and of itself impressed my family. She made me feel like my wedding was her highest priority every step of the way. This amazed me because I know how busy she is.

    I will never forget the moment I saw the reception space in full bloom. It took my breath away and I couldn’t help but think, “My gosh this is like a David Tutera TV moment.” My jaw dropped and I stood there speechless for several minutes. The space was gorgeous. After the sun had set I looked around the room at the abundance of blooms and twinkling candlelight and smiled to myself. It was such a beautiful moment. I stood there completely relaxed and content and let the memory sink in. It felt like a dream. I keep using the word “fairytale” whenever I describe the wedding and in reality I’m describing the work of Modern Day Floral.

    Thank you Jenn for putting your heart into your work. Thank you for your time, dedication, attention to detail, and patience. Thank you for making our special day unforgettable.

    Sent on 09/05/2013
  • M

    Mieka · Married on 07/20/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I don't even know where to begin! Jenn and her team went above and beyond what we expected! After our first meeting I knew she "got" me and what we wanted for our big day. I felt comfortable and knew we were in the best hands possible. She took all of our ideas and pulled them together into something amazing!! To see it all come together on our wedding day... SIMPLY STUNNING!!! We LOVED every single detail and how they still kept it personal to us. Amongst all the beautiful touches there were little things that had meaning to us as a couple. Which is exactly what we wanted. We have had SO many compliments on our flowers and decor... We truly could not have asked for anything else! It was absolutely perfect.

    Sent on 07/28/2013
  • M

    Maggie · Married on 07/06/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    LOVE LOVEd everything for our wedding. Jenn did an amazing Job at designing for us. We gave her our vision and she took it to the next level. And when I saw our room, I about fell over in love. I can not express how appreciative I am to have had her in charge of our event design. You won't be disappointed!

    Sent on 07/19/2013
  • User3067288 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Just Perfect!!! They went all out to make our flowers more than we dreamed of. We had a Celtic wedding, Scottish & Irish blended & they found native flowers from both homelands and put together stunning arrangements for us. The flowers themselves were truly exceptional, huge and fresh and just gorgeous. Everyone we spoke to was kind, professional, and even excited by the challanges we presented with our order. I would recommend them highly.

    Sent on 08/19/2013
  • Erica

    Erica · Married on 07/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with the team at Modern Day Floral was amazing. Jenn was very engaged with our vision. She was fun, honest and a very hard worker. Her staff was attentive to our needs and everyone was friendly with a consistent smile on their faces. When had our initial meeting in January at the JW Marriott until the day of the event, I never had a doubt in my mind that our day wouldn't be perfect.

    Her creativity really helped create the wedding of our dreams. And for us to be a destination wedding for us- through her leadership & knowledge we were calm and confident in the execution of the event.

    If you make into Grand Rapids, you must visit her beautiful NEW boutique at the Amway Grand Hotel! Her new venue reflects perfectly what Jenn & her team at MDF are capable of producing in event coordination!

    Sent on 08/06/2012
  • M

    Mandolynn · Married on 07/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jenn is the most amazing person in the wedding industry that you will ever meet. I met Jenn two years before our wedding and started planning. I wouldn’t say I am the easiest person to plan with, but she was SO good with me. I changed my look, colors, design, venue, and flowers a few times and she stuck through it all! She ended up becoming not only our event designer but really our wedding planner. We were so lucky to have Jenn to lean on for support and guide us through the wedding planning process. Our day was beyond our wildest dreams. Everything I wanted she got me; from peonies from Holland because they were out of season here, to a few days before when I decided I wanted Gardena’s in my bouquet, she followed through on everything. Jenn and her team should review nothing but 5/5 for each and every review. Her heart and soul is in her work and she is 100% dedicated to her clients. Even though she has ten other brides she may be working with all at once, she makes you feel like you are the only one. She did COUNTLESS meetings, phone calls, even when she was on vacation in Costa Rica she skyped us to check in! I would strongly suggest using Jenn for more than just flowers and rentals on your big day. The additional planning services she offers will not disappoint! We not only used Modern Day Floral for our wedding day, but for our rehearsal/dinner too. Jenn was there with her team early in the morning the day of the wedding, timeline in hand and the day ran SO smooth because of her. The design of our ceremony and reception spaces was gorgeous! I would recommend Modern Day Floral and Events in a heartbeat! Jen made us feel so relaxed and stress free on our big day, and went above and beyto make us happy. Even in the 104 degree heat she was throwing over 700 cushions off the church benches for us just because I didn’t like the color. I will be use them on many future birthdays, dinner parties, baby showers, you name it Modern Day Floral will be involved! XO

    Sent on 11/01/2012
  • L

    Leslie · Married on 04/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough good things about Modern Day! They did all the flowers for our wedding this past weekend at the Grand Rapids Art Museum and they were magnificent. I loved my bouquet...it was so fresh and pretty. I really recommend giving them the latitude to do their thing - they are experts in all things floral and, hey, that's what you hire them for, right? They knew generally what I liked, my budget and colors and the results far exceeded my expectations.

    Sent on 04/24/2012
  • C

    Mandi · Married on 09/10/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I worked with Jen and Erin to create the bouquets, boutineers, and corsages for our wedding. They did a fabulous job of bringing my vision to life. Perfect!

    Sent on 01/20/2012
  • E

    Liz · Married on 09/03/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jenn Ederer and the Modern Day team have planned and provided flowers for both of my daughters' weddings. Her taste is exceptional, the venues were stunning, and the events were perfectly planned. She works tirelessly to please and is a pleasure to team with. I highly recommend Modern Day Floral.

    Sent on 08/15/2012
  • C

    colleen · Married on 08/20/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Modern Day Floral did an amazing job on our wedding day on August 20, 2011 at Bay Pointe Inn. Everything was flawless - the the flowers, decorations, linens... we LOVED everything. Jenn and Erin are one of a kind. They really listen to your ideas and execute them to the 10th degree. Thank you so much Modern Day Floral. Highly recommended!

    Sent on 09/06/2011
  • L

    Lucia · Married on 07/23/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic-agreed to do the flowers for wedding on very short notice.
    Everything was beautiful-Jen is fantastic!
    the patelt family

    Sent on 08/08/2011
  • M

    Marie · Married on 08/20/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Modern Day Floral created absolutely gorgeous wedding flowers for my wedding day. I had a pretty clear vision of what I wanted my tables to look like and my expectations were met... and were definitely exceeded.

    The entire process, the consultation to tearing down my wedding, the Modern Day Floral Staff made me feel important. Not to mention the level of professionalism... my husband and our families were incredibly impressed.

    If you're looking for flowers in Grand Rapids, or anywhere for that matter, I definitely recommend meeting with Modern Day!

    Sent on 01/12/2011
  • C

    Nili · Married on 08/20/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am a planner from California. I discovered Moder Day Floral in a magazine and gave Jeniffer Ederer a call. From the moment she answered my call I knew she was listening to me.

    Since the wedding was in Michigan and I was in California we were faced with challenges upfront. That did not stop Jennifer, on our first meeting she came with samples and a big note pad ready and willing to help me get my wedding together.

    We spent a total of three meetings face to face and numerous calls back and forth and ultimatly designed a stunning event.
    I found her and her staff hard working,warm and willing to do whatever it took to get the job done.

    If Jennifer were here in California I would be a very happy woman, but since she is not I will have to settle knowing I worked with best Grand Rapids had to offer. Thank you the Modern Day Floral team !!!

    Sent on 03/05/2011
  • L

    Lorri · Married on 10/31/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Modern Day Floral was so amazing to work with. They were able to take the vision in my head and create it for my special day! They made me feel like my requests and concerns were important and top priority. Loved their creativity and attention to detail. Wish I could get married again and do it all over!

    Sent on 01/20/2010
  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 09/26/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jenn and her staff are absolutely FANTASTIC. She was so helpful in so many ways, and really made the reception gorgeous. She is so good at taking care of little touches and listening to what you want! My bouquet was so perfect and unique, I couldn't have asked for anything more. MDF gets only my highest recommendations!!!

    Sent on 10/18/2009
  • T

    Tammy · Married on 09/26/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I are both type A designers, so when it came to hiring a Florist we were very selective. We wanted a contemporary style that separated itself from the standard in wedding floral designs. Jenn and her staff got to know us as a couple, our design style and our vision. Our floral designs pushed the limits in style and sophicitation.

    Sent on 02/01/2010
  • P

    Pamela · Married on 09/05/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jenn and her team at Modern Day did an AMAZING job with the flowers for our wedding! They created just the right atmosphere for our event! They were a pleasure to work with. They took my initial input and ran with it and created something even more amazing than I had pictured.

    Sent on 01/22/2010
  • P

    Cairn · Married on 09/01/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jen and the team at Modern Day is so wonderful. They were all so flexable with some last minute changes due to a job loss. Modern Day created my dream bouquet. When it was delivered to me I couldn't belive this was my bouquet. Everyone at Modern Day is so sweet and really wants to be able to make your special day the best it can be!

    Sent on 09/22/2009
  • J

    JENNIFER · Married on 08/29/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jenn at Modern Day Floral is AMAZING. I gave her an idea of what I was thinking, and she ran with it. She made my wedding day more beautiful than I could have ever imagined. There were so many unique flower arrangements that all went together so perfectly.
    Jenn is truly an artist when it comes to arranging flowers, and she is a doll to work with. I would highly recommend using Modern Day Floral for any special event!!

    Sent on 12/11/2009

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review