Mindful Ministry Reviews

58 | Frederick, MD
See photos, pricing and details

58 Reviews for Mindful Ministry

Recommended by 99% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

58

1 User photo

Order by:
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 07/13/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    He was wonderful

    We are a mixed race, mixed faith family and randy helped us plan the perfect ceremony. We are beyond great full for all of his help. Our family and friends were very impressed by his words and his presentation. We highly recommend randy.

    Sent on 07/27/2019
  • Steffani

    Steffani · Married on 11/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful ceremony

    My husband and I cannot say enough good things about bill and his wife Joanne. He married us in September 2019 at our dream wedding venue in the woods. He was able to give us a highly individualized ceremony that incorporated me and my husband's vlaues and spirituality perfectly. It was a beautiful ceremony that we all worked together to create. Bill helped us in calming our pre-wedding jitters, and had meaningful meetings with us prior to the ceremony to help decrease our anxieties about standing in front of a crowd on our wedding day. At each pre-marital session with bill and his wife we spent a few minutes in quiet reflection or meditation that helped bring us to a place where we were able to truly find what was important to us to share and bring families together on our big day. If I could give more than 5 stars I would. We highly recommend Bill and Joanne for your wedding ceremony.

    Sent on 03/04/2020

    Mindful Ministry's reply:

    Thank you, Steffani and Justin, for your thoughtful and heartfelt review. This brings back to us many wonderful memories of our time working and celebrating together. We deeply appreciate your allowing us to be a part of your wedding experience.
    Bill and Joanne
  • T

    Talia · Married on 10/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing experience, all around!

    My husband and I were nervous about finding an officiant for our wedding--coming from different religious backgrounds and with our own unique senses of spirituality, we were worried that we would not find someone to conduct a ceremony that truly reflected our relationship and respected our backgrounds. However, our fears instantly subsided upon meeting Bill and Joanne. They approached the creation of our wedding ceremony with such warmth, openness and kindness, and truly guided us toward making thoughtful decisions that reflected our unique love and relationship. Bill officiated our wedding ceremony with grace, humor, and respect, and I really cannot imagine that anyone else could have done a better job. After the wedding, some guests told my husband and I that it was one of the most beautiful ceremonies they have ever attended. Maybe we're a little biased, but we agree :) Thank you Bill and Joanne for making our wedding ceremony so personal, heartfelt and memorable!

    Sent on 12/19/2018
  • Christina

    Christina · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dynamic Duo - Instant Acceptance

    William and his wife JoAnne were so accommodating to our crazy schedules as well as truly interested in getting to know us to make our wedding ceremony truly unique! We could not have asked for a better or more knowledgeable officiant, they even put our ceremony and vowels into a hard cover book along with our certificate as a gift at our reception. We are so grateful that we found them and that they work so well together that they are interchangeable incase one or the other could not be there which make any couple feel a bit safer when there is already a backup plan in place. They are the best and we truly consider them our friends that we plan on meeting up with around our anniversary times to catch up.

    Sent on 12/03/2018
  • S

    Samantha · Married on 06/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything We Could Have Hoped For!

    While searching for an officiant for our wedding last June, we came upon Bill and Joanne's profile on WeddingWire. We decided to contact them based upon previous reviews of their services, and all of them were very accurate! Bill and Joanne went above and beyond to get to know us on a personal level, walked us through every aspect of creating our own version of our wedding ceremony in addition to helping us coordinate the ceremony (seating arrangements for the first two rows, lineup of bridesmaid and groomsmen, etc.) They added the personal touches to our ceremony that we wanted and delivered it in such an exceptional manner - we still receive compliments on how lovely Bill's ceremony was! We highly recommend Bill and Joanne's services to everyone and are very thankful for all they did to make our wedding ceremony such a success.

    Sent on 02/07/2019
  • B

    Bryan and Emily Randall · Married on 04/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank You!

    Rev. Mise and his wife did an amazing job helping us craft the perfect wedding ceremony. We truly appreciated how they took the time to get to know us as people and helped guide us on this journey. Through their expertise we created a genuinely unique and custom ceremony that allowed us to properly celebrate our marriage. They listened to our needs and desires and provided a beautiful and memorable ceremony. Many of our favorite moments of planning the wedding came from the activities provided by Mindful Ministry, and we are truly thankful to have had them as part of our special day!

    Thank you so much Bill and Joanne!

    Sent on 12/28/2018
  • E

    Erin · Married on 09/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bill & Joanne, Thank you for an unforgettable experience. If you are looking for a wedding officiant, look no further! Bill was fantastic. We were able to create the perfect ceremony that matched our needs. We desperately wanted to have an outdoor wedding but did not want to lose the religious aspect of our big day. Bill did a fantastic job including our faith and personalizing our ceremony. Our guests raved about our ceremony and our officiant. Couldn't have asked for a better experience. Thank you, Bill! -E&R

    Sent on 10/02/2017
  • M

    Margi · Married on 06/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joanne was great! She was very easy to work with. She truly wanted to make our wedding ceremony memorable for us as well as our guests. Still receiving compliments about our wedding service.

    Sent on 07/03/2017
  • S

    Sabrina · Married on 05/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Joanne Marshall-Mies was exactly what we needed. Although, it was an impromptu ceremony she maintained her very calm, open and kind demeanor throughout the entire process. You would think she would've felt pressured as well but she never showed any angst. There was a meditation exercise before we began which put us in a very calming centered space. She was amazing. Rev. Joanne Marshall-Mies is very detailed which was another plus for us. All deadlines were met and we were more than pleased! I can go on forever about this amazing woman, but you would have to experience her for yourself! She was the perfect fit and we feel like we've known her for years. KUDOS to her!!!! Thank you Rev. Joanne Marshall-Mies

    Sent on 05/11/2017
  • N

    nina · Married on 05/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There would be No regrets!!! Mrs.Joanne is absolutely amazing. For us she was God sent!!! We received her husbands name off a vendors list ( the last name on there ) one week before our ceremony and he was unavailable and referred us to our ideal Officiant, his Wife. They both have a calming and loving spirit and excepted us and the love we share for one another. She will be part of The Sequel in December and the rest of our lives.... She has become family.... We Thank you and Love You Mrs. Joanne

    Sent on 05/11/2017
  • E

    Erin · Married on 10/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joanne was very flexible with price and meeting times as well as giving us full control over our ceremony. We had it go exactly how we wanted even with our special requests to include our bridal party to be involved with the hand ceremony. I loved the books and materials that were included with her service so that we could research and build our custom wedding. We couldn't have asked for a better wedding all thanks to Joanne!!!

    Sent on 10/31/2016
  • Lyndsey

    Lyndsey · Married on 09/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Bill and his wife Joann really made our wedding ceremony ours and we could not be happier about how it turned out! My now husband and I really enjoyed the mindfulness aspect of Bill's services and were very excited to work with him after meeting with him! He is not just in it for the money. He truly care about you as a couple and each of your sessions with him as you develop your ceremony is a growth experience, personally and for you as a couple. John and I immensely enjoyed the time we spent with Bill because it allowed us to explore and create a ceremony that was 100% us. It used our words, our beliefs, and our story. We loved being able to choose every aspect of the ceremony. Working on it helped us grow closer during our engagement which made that time all the more special. We had so many compliments from our guests about how touching, personal and unique the ceremony was. Bill and Joann were incredible to work with. They made the process easy and are just the most lovely people! Bill and Joann, John and I cannot thank you enough for helping us to make our wedding ceremony so incredible special. We loved getting to know you both feel truly blessed to have gotten to work with you! You far exceeded our expectations and for that we are eternally grateful!

    Sent on 12/23/2016
  • L

    Laura · Married on 09/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I got married on September 10th 2016 in Annapolis. I found Bill and his wife Joanne on wedding wire about a year and a half ago. They were both very responsive to everything we needed for our ceremony. They did a great job at personalizing our ceremony and really making it our own even without writing our own vows. We attended four meetings with Bill, they are at least a couple of hours long each time so I would make sure you do not plan anything right after. Bill is also very flexible, there were a couple instances where I had to change the date or the time last minute and he was very flexible with allowing us to change out meeting time. I highly recommend Bill to anyone who wants a great officiant and someone who is friendly and also professional! :)

    Sent on 10/17/2016
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 08/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a wonderful experience preparing and prepping for our wedding with Rev. Bill and his wife Joanne. We wanted to stay away from a cookie-cutter ceremony where we were just going through the motions. With Rev. Bill and Joannne, we were able to personally craft our own ceremony to make it extremely meaningful to us. We also appreciated that before each session, we took a few minutes of meditation to help get us in the right headspace to think exactly what we wanted to say in front of all of our family and loved ones.
    Many people told us afterwards that it was one of the most poignant ceremony they have ever witnessed and the love between us was so evident.

    Although so much of wedding planning is stressful, I really appreciated that the work with Rev. Bill and Joanne as a great reminder of why were getting married in the first place and what truly mattered- the two of us.

    Sent on 10/10/2016
  • C

    Charles and Jeannine · Married on 08/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank you for making our wedding special, Joanne. You were our guiding force. We really appreciated your openness, kindness and patience with us during the ceremony planning sessions, wedding rehearsal, and wedding ceremony. You are the best and we highly recommend you to any couple seeking a wedding officiant to preside over their wedding ceremony. Charles and Jeannine

    Sent on 08/30/2016
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 07/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bill and Joanne helped us create a beautiful and personalized wedding ceremony that reflected us and our relationship. We loved the ceremony planning process, which included meeting with Bill and Joanne four times before our wedding day. This allowed us to get to know each other better and discuss exactly what we wanted in our ceremony. My husband is in medical school and lived out of state during the wedding planning process. Bill was so flexible with our crazy schedules and allowed us Skype for one of the meetings. His flexibility saved us from a tremendous amount of stress and we couldn't be more thankful. Our wedding guests complemented us multiple times on the uniqueness of our vows and reflection letters. Bill and Joanne are an amazing team and we are so thankful to have met them!

    Sent on 09/11/2016
  • User6793453 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Bill Mies and his wife, Joanne, helped us create a beautiful, meaningful, and personalized wedding ceremony. Due to unexpected circumstances, we needed to find a new officiant just three weeks before our wedding. We were in panic mode. After the first telephone conversation, Rev. Bill put us at complete ease. He and his wife, Rev. Joanne Mies of Swan Ministries, worked as a team, with us. We met a few times before the wedding. In our first meeting, we shared personal stories and got to know each other. They asked questions that helped us learn about ourselves and each other. They were genuinely caring and professional. Each meeting had a purpose and left us feeling even better about our relationship and the ceremony we were planning. They thought of everything as they guided us through the process of creating the ceremony we envisioned. They helped us remain focused on each other and enjoy the present moment. They alleviated our stress. The result was a beautiful, meaningful, memorable ceremony. Our wedding was amazing thanks to these two. We really cannot thank them enough!

    Sent on 06/05/2016
  • E

    Elisa · Married on 03/26/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Reverend Mies and his lovely wife, Joann were so accommodating, friendly and professional. Rev Mies officiated our March 26, 2016 wedding. We found him less than two months prior to our wedding and he were able to accommodate us into his busy schedule and worked with us to make our wedding ceremony nothing short of unforgettable! Rev. Mies and Joann meet with us several times and took the time to get to really know who we are as individuals and as a couple. They helped us plan out our wedding ceremony in a way that only experienced professionals could. Until now, my guests are still talking about how beautiful the ceremony was. I appreciate everything Rev. Mies and Joann did for us and I would recommend them for anyone looking for a ceremony they will remember for a lifetime!

    Sent on 08/28/2016
  • A

    Andrew · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joanne was wonderful! Her preparation and attention to detail were second to none. No stones were left unturned, and as a result, everything went smoothly). We were able to plan our wedding ceremony the way that we wanted it to be. Our ceremony had to be in English and Spanish and she was able to seamlessly incorporate both languages into what was said. When the big day came, everything went perfectly!

    Sent on 10/24/2015
  • C

    carly · Married on 09/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We cannot say enough about both Bill and his wife, Joanne. When we got engaged, I was set on getting married by the Catholic Church but we ended up finding a separate venue that really spoke to us and felt special to us as a couple. After months of trying to work with the the Church on how we could get married outside while still having it be considered Catholic we found ourselves at a dead end. We did not want to sacrifice our vision but found the Church was also not willing to work with us.

    When we found Bill, we thought it was a shot in the dark that we would work together. Our first meeting changed everything. Before even talking about money, Bill took the time to listen to who we were and what we wanted out of our marriage ceremony. After our first meeting we both knew we'd found the person we would want to help us celebrate.

    For the next few months, Bill and Joanne were so flexible with us (meeting on Skype since we live in Boston). We really did get to know each other and by the time the wedding came around we felt like every word that was being spoke at our ceremony was one we had chosen. There are so many things that you could worry about on your wedding day but Bill and Joanne put us at ease that the ceremony wasn't going to be one of them. This was a big deal to us because, for us, this was the most important part.

    Joanne did a fabulous job helping us coordinate day of and Bill did a beautiful job of helping us become husband and wife. They are both worth every penny and more! We would highly recommend them for an incredibly person and special day.

    Sent on 12/14/2015
  • User5575238 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    (This is written by myself, the husband under the account my wife made) My Wife and I found Mindful Ministries / Bill and Joanne Mies after extensive research online. I was pleasantly surprised upon meeting Bill and his Wife at their home for our first meeting. Yes, meeting. Bill and Joanne have a very personable approach to working with you on your wedding. The initial meeting lasted several hours where we all collectively introduced ourselves and got to know eachother. Bill has an amazing way with words and does a great job of making you feel comfortable sharing this most important event with him.

    From the initial meeting forward; he made himself readily available for any questions we had on crafting the content of our wedding. Ceremony details, the songs we chose, the order our guests were seated, every last detail was important to Bill. He made it a point to encourage us to share our feelings with eachother to help strengthen our own bond leading up to the wedding. The activities he had us do reminded us of things we were thankful for and valued in one another.

    By the time the wedding day came, Bill and Joanne had become inseparable from our Big Day. We genuinely wanted to have them stay for the entirety of the wedding, thru the reception, which they gladly accepted. It meant a lot to us to share the experience with them by including them in our pictures, and watching them have fun on the dance floor.

    I can assure you that if you work with Bill and Joanne that you will feel a personable, genuine connection with them. Their attention to detail and the amount of time they spend helping you personalize your ceremony and vows was definitely worth the cost; which was fair and reasonable.

    I hope that this review will boost your confidence in choosing Mindful Ministries for your wedding and that your experience will be as positive as ours was.

    Sent on 01/19/2016
  • J

    Julia & Perry · Married on 09/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One year ago today, Rev. William Mies officiated our wedding in St. Michael’s, MD. As we look back on the day and remember the wonderful process of creating our ceremony, we are incredibly grateful to “Bill” for his calm guidance, deep compassion, and unwavering dedication to our vision.

    Bill’s passion for weddings and tremendous knowledge of the creative process shows through in his approach to working with couples. He truly took the time to understand our relationship and religious leanings, and guided us toward a ceremony that reflected our love and values.

    In the end, our family and friends were present for a genuine, engaging, and beautiful ceremony that wholeheartedly represented who we were as a couple. We are truly grateful and honored to have had Bill as our wedding officiant.

    Sent on 09/12/2016
  • R

    Rachael · Married on 09/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I really wanted to have a very personal ceremony. We were tired of hearing the same readings and vows at the weddings we were attending. We were looking for an officiant who could help us make our ceremony different and special. We heard about Joanne and her husband through a friend. We really liked the program they had developed to help couples create their own ceremony tailored to their personalities and relationship with each other. We met with Joanne a few times and felt very comfortable with her. She truly helped us create the perfect ceremony from start to finish, sharing the story of how we met and our love for eachother. We were able to share ourselves and our relationship to our family and friends. Our guests are still talking about how amazing and personal it was. I would definitely recommend Joanne!

    Sent on 10/02/2015
  • M

    Matt · Married on 07/31/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bill and his wife Joanne were a pleasure to work with and made our wedding preparation enjoyable and a very personal experience. They helped us to craft a ceremony that was both meaningful and unique for our special day. We looked forward to our meetings together and are grateful for the care Bill and Joanne took to make the wedding day just what we had envisioned it to be.

    Sent on 09/27/2015
  • K

    Katie · Married on 04/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bill and his wife Joanne were one of the most fantastic parts of our wedding. My husband Karl and I got married in April in Harford county and had the most magical time planning the ceremony and it was absolutely perfect and special. We met will Bill and Joanne four times in their home prior to our wedding day. The meetings were longer so plan to meet with them a few hours each time. Bill really spent a lot of time getting to know Karl and I which made our ceremony so personal because we felt like we had a great friend performing it for us! We chose each part of our ceremony and it was perfect for us. He helped us to enjoy the wedding process by becoming more mindful and present through wonderful exercises during our meetings. If you want a beautiful, personal ceremony, Bill Is your guy!

    Sent on 07/29/2015