Skip to main content
Weddings

Mindful Ministry Reviews

Mindful Ministry View more information

68 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 68
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

8 User photos

  • LK Toohey
    Lk Toohey Married on 06/18/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful experience!

    Bill and Joanne were great to work with for our wedding! They helped us create our dream ceremony that encompassed our personalities and love for each other. I would definitely recommend!
  • James
    James B. Married on 05/29/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Thoughtful guidance.

    Bill and Joanne Mies got to know us on a spiritual and personal level, and carefully planned every detail of our ceremony. We are so happy with their guidance and professionalism. They provided helpful texts for selecting readings and helped us customize the ceremony to the needs of our family.
  • T
    Tb Married on 04/09/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Thoughtful Guidance

    Bill and Joanne were a pleasure to work with for our wedding! They helped us create memorable ceremony that encompassed our personalities and love for each other. I would definitely recommend!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • S
    Stephmoy1 Married on 01/20/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Reverend Mies was a pleasure to work with!

    Reverend Mies was a pleasure to work with! He made the whole process easy and smooth and we cannot have imagined a better wedding. We were very involved with the ceremony and his words so it made it feel very special and specific to us as a couple. Would highly recommend him to officiate your wedding!
  • E
    Evan L. Married on 09/25/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Professional and Helpful

    Working with Bill to create the perfect ceremony was very special for us. He provided us with great advice and suggestions for our ceremony and vows. Bill and his wife Joanne were dedicated to getting to know us and creating a personal and timely ceremony.
  • S
    Shannon U. Married on 06/07/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Could not have asked for a better ceremony

    My husband is Catholic and I am Presbyterian and we wanted to have our ceremony outdoors by someone who was ordained. We searched for weeks without any luck and finally found Rev. William Mies and his wife Joanne with Mindful Ministries. They were not only willing to help us build a religious ceremony for an outdoor location, but also drove 6 hours to West Virginia to do our ceremony!! We met with them via Zoom 4x and they helped us build the absolute perfect ceremony that my family/friends could not stop talking about for weeks. Very thankful to have found Rev. William and Joanne Mies!
  • K
    Kristin S. Married on 12/09/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    So grateful!!

    Bill and Joanne were so lovely to partner with. They truly care about each and every couple they work with. Bill spent so many hours via skype and zoom talking to my husband and I, helping us to craft our perfect ceremony. Our ceremony could not have gone any better and really highlighted our love. Thank you Bill and Joanne!
  • Angela
    Angela K. Married on 10/10/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Exactly the right fit for us

    When we were planning our wedding we were looking for a person who could work with and support our Catholic roots as well as the fact that this was a 2nd wedding for both of us. We looked and spoke to 3-4 people but as soon as we had a conversation with Bill we knew he was the RIGHT choice for us! His flexibility and understanding made it easy for us to work together! Bill provided so many ideas and resources to guide us and help us create the PERFECT wedding ...even in a pandemic!
  • Amanda
    Amanda H. Married on 09/19/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The perfect wedding ceremony by the perfect minister!

    Bill and his wife Joanne from mindful ministry were amazing! They walked us through writing our script for our ceremony. It made for a very intimate personal experience. They really helped us capture “us” in every detail. He took the time to get to know us and our story in the most genuine and humanly personal way, that lead to the authentic writing of our vows and planning of our ceremony. Bill’s friendly and professional demeanor made him a joy to work with. He is welcoming and open to all ideas of faith and beliefs. At the ceremony, Bill arrived in the same professional, friendly, and positive way that we have come to know him over the multiple meetings we had. He brought a calming and serene influence upon his arrival that carried through the entire ceremony. We couldn’t be happier, he was perfect fit!
  • R
    Rachel C. Married on 11/15/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly recommend!

    Reverend Bill and his wife Joanne were amazing to work with. They took the time to get to know my husband and I individually and as a couple. They strive to create a special, unique, and individualized ceremony for the couples they work with. We had several planning meetings to ensure things went smoothly and were exactly to our liking. Can’t recommend them enough!
  • Steffani
    Steffani Married on 11/03/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful ceremony

    My husband and I cannot say enough good things about bill and his wife Joanne. He married us in September 2019 at our dream wedding venue in the woods. He was able to give us a highly individualized ceremony that incorporated me and my husband's vlaues and spirituality perfectly. It was a beautiful ceremony that we all worked together to create. Bill helped us in calming our pre-wedding jitters, and had meaningful meetings with us prior to the ceremony to help decrease our anxieties about standing in front of a crowd on our wedding day. At each pre-marital session with bill and his wife we spent a few minutes in quiet reflection or meditation that helped bring us to a place where we were able to truly find what was important to us to share and bring families together on our big day. If I could give more than 5 stars I would. We highly recommend Bill and Joanne for your wedding ceremony.

    Mindful Ministry's reply:

    Thank you, Steffani and Justin, for your thoughtful and heartfelt review. This brings back to us many wonderful memories of our time working and celebrating together. We deeply appreciate your allowing us to be a part of your wedding experience.
    Bill and Joanne
  • T
    Talia Married on 10/20/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing experience, all around!

    My husband and I were nervous about finding an officiant for our wedding--coming from different religious backgrounds and with our own unique senses of spirituality, we were worried that we would not find someone to conduct a ceremony that truly reflected our relationship and respected our backgrounds. However, our fears instantly subsided upon meeting Bill and Joanne. They approached the creation of our wedding ceremony with such warmth, openness and kindness, and truly guided us toward making thoughtful decisions that reflected our unique love and relationship. Bill officiated our wedding ceremony with grace, humor, and respect, and I really cannot imagine that anyone else could have done a better job. After the wedding, some guests told my husband and I that it was one of the most beautiful ceremonies they have ever attended. Maybe we're a little biased, but we agree :) Thank you Bill and Joanne for making our wedding ceremony so personal, heartfelt and memorable!
  • Christina
    Christina Married on 08/25/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dynamic Duo - Instant Acceptance

    William and his wife JoAnne were so accommodating to our crazy schedules as well as truly interested in getting to know us to make our wedding ceremony truly unique! We could not have asked for a better or more knowledgeable officiant, they even put our ceremony and vowels into a hard cover book along with our certificate as a gift at our reception. We are so grateful that we found them and that they work so well together that they are interchangeable incase one or the other could not be there which make any couple feel a bit safer when there is already a backup plan in place. They are the best and we truly consider them our friends that we plan on meeting up with around our anniversary times to catch up.
  • S
    Samantha Married on 06/23/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Everything We Could Have Hoped For!

    While searching for an officiant for our wedding last June, we came upon Bill and Joanne's profile on WeddingWire. We decided to contact them based upon previous reviews of their services, and all of them were very accurate! Bill and Joanne went above and beyond to get to know us on a personal level, walked us through every aspect of creating our own version of our wedding ceremony in addition to helping us coordinate the ceremony (seating arrangements for the first two rows, lineup of bridesmaid and groomsmen, etc.) They added the personal touches to our ceremony that we wanted and delivered it in such an exceptional manner - we still receive compliments on how lovely Bill's ceremony was! We highly recommend Bill and Joanne's services to everyone and are very thankful for all they did to make our wedding ceremony such a success.
  • B
    Bryan A. Married on 04/14/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Thank You!

    Rev. Mise and his wife did an amazing job helping us craft the perfect wedding ceremony. We truly appreciated how they took the time to get to know us as people and helped guide us on this journey. Through their expertise we created a genuinely unique and custom ceremony that allowed us to properly celebrate our marriage. They listened to our needs and desires and provided a beautiful and memorable ceremony. Many of our favorite moments of planning the wedding came from the activities provided by Mindful Ministry, and we are truly thankful to have had them as part of our special day!

    Thank you so much Bill and Joanne!
  • E
    Erin Married on 09/23/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Bill & Joanne, Thank you for an unforgettable experience. If you are looking for a wedding officiant, look no further! Bill was fantastic. We were able to create the perfect ceremony that matched our needs. We desperately wanted to have an outdoor wedding but did not want to lose the religious aspect of our big day. Bill did a fantastic job including our faith and personalizing our ceremony. Our guests raved about our ceremony and our officiant. Couldn't have asked for a better experience. Thank you, Bill! -E&R
  • M
    Margi Married on 06/10/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Joanne was great! She was very easy to work with. She truly wanted to make our wedding ceremony memorable for us as well as our guests. Still receiving compliments about our wedding service.
  • S
    Sabrina Married on 05/08/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Rev. Joanne Marshall-Mies was exactly what we needed. Although, it was an impromptu ceremony she maintained her very calm, open and kind demeanor throughout the entire process. You would think she would've felt pressured as well but she never showed any angst. There was a meditation exercise before we began which put us in a very calming centered space. She was amazing. Rev. Joanne Marshall-Mies is very detailed which was another plus for us. All deadlines were met and we were more than pleased! I can go on forever about this amazing woman, but you would have to experience her for yourself! She was the perfect fit and we feel like we've known her for years. KUDOS to her!!!! Thank you Rev. Joanne Marshall-Mies
  • N
    Nina Married on 05/08/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    There would be No regrets!!! Mrs.Joanne is absolutely amazing. For us she was God sent!!! We received her husbands name off a vendors list ( the last name on there ) one week before our ceremony and he was unavailable and referred us to our ideal Officiant, his Wife. They both have a calming and loving spirit and excepted us and the love we share for one another. She will be part of The Sequel in December and the rest of our lives.... She has become family.... We Thank you and Love You Mrs. Joanne
  • E
    Erin Married on 10/02/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Joanne was very flexible with price and meeting times as well as giving us full control over our ceremony. We had it go exactly how we wanted even with our special requests to include our bridal party to be involved with the hand ceremony. I loved the books and materials that were included with her service so that we could research and build our custom wedding. We couldn't have asked for a better wedding all thanks to Joanne!!!
  • Lyndsey
    Lyndsey Married on 09/24/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Working with Bill and his wife Joann really made our wedding ceremony ours and we could not be happier about how it turned out! My now husband and I really enjoyed the mindfulness aspect of Bill's services and were very excited to work with him after meeting with him! He is not just in it for the money. He truly care about you as a couple and each of your sessions with him as you develop your ceremony is a growth experience, personally and for you as a couple. John and I immensely enjoyed the time we spent with Bill because it allowed us to explore and create a ceremony that was 100% us. It used our words, our beliefs, and our story. We loved being able to choose every aspect of the ceremony. Working on it helped us grow closer during our engagement which made that time all the more special. We had so many compliments from our guests about how touching, personal and unique the ceremony was. Bill and Joann were incredible to work with. They made the process easy and are just the most lovely people! Bill and Joann, John and I cannot thank you enough for helping us to make our wedding ceremony so incredible special. We loved getting to know you both feel truly blessed to have gotten to work with you! You far exceeded our expectations and for that we are eternally grateful!
  • L
    Laura Married on 09/10/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I got married on September 10th 2016 in Annapolis. I found Bill and his wife Joanne on wedding wire about a year and a half ago. They were both very responsive to everything we needed for our ceremony. They did a great job at personalizing our ceremony and really making it our own even without writing our own vows. We attended four meetings with Bill, they are at least a couple of hours long each time so I would make sure you do not plan anything right after. Bill is also very flexible, there were a couple instances where I had to change the date or the time last minute and he was very flexible with allowing us to change out meeting time. I highly recommend Bill to anyone who wants a great officiant and someone who is friendly and also professional! :)
  • S
    Sarah Married on 08/27/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had a wonderful experience preparing and prepping for our wedding with Rev. Bill and his wife Joanne. We wanted to stay away from a cookie-cutter ceremony where we were just going through the motions. With Rev. Bill and Joannne, we were able to personally craft our own ceremony to make it extremely meaningful to us. We also appreciated that before each session, we took a few minutes of meditation to help get us in the right headspace to think exactly what we wanted to say in front of all of our family and loved ones.
    Many people told us afterwards that it was one of the most poignant ceremony they have ever witnessed and the love between us was so evident.

    Although so much of wedding planning is stressful, I really appreciated that the work with Rev. Bill and Joanne as a great reminder of why were getting married in the first place and what truly mattered- the two of us.
  • C
    Charles A. Married on 08/06/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Thank you for making our wedding special, Joanne. You were our guiding force. We really appreciated your openness, kindness and patience with us during the ceremony planning sessions, wedding rehearsal, and wedding ceremony. You are the best and we highly recommend you to any couple seeking a wedding officiant to preside over their wedding ceremony. Charles and Jeannine
  • N
    Nicole Married on 07/09/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Bill and Joanne helped us create a beautiful and personalized wedding ceremony that reflected us and our relationship. We loved the ceremony planning process, which included meeting with Bill and Joanne four times before our wedding day. This allowed us to get to know each other better and discuss exactly what we wanted in our ceremony. My husband is in medical school and lived out of state during the wedding planning process. Bill was so flexible with our crazy schedules and allowed us Skype for one of the meetings. His flexibility saved us from a tremendous amount of stress and we couldn't be more thankful. Our wedding guests complemented us multiple times on the uniqueness of our vows and reflection letters. Bill and Joanne are an amazing team and we are so thankful to have met them!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message