Mikado Weddings Reviews

19 | Quincy, MA
See photos, pricing and details

19 Reviews for Mikado Weddings

Recommended by 100%

19
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • T

    Tabitha · Getting married on 07/11/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I will start by saying this is the BEST wedding company ever. My wedding planner was Lian she helped me through everything she also had 2 assistants Katie and Diana. They were awesome as well. Lian is very awesome at the things she do. She is very trustworthy if she said she will do something on a certain day at a certain time believe it because its true. I couldn't have asked for a better wedding planner. Lian made a deal with us due to the fact that my wife and I was from Louisiana and didn't need everything a normal wedding required. She went shopping for us. Lian and her fiance went to different vacation homes 1.5 hours away from her house to take pictures, videos of the inside and speak with the owner to insure it was something we were interested in. If you need someone to make sure you have all the things you need to make your wedding day the best this company is the BEST one to chose. I wouldn't recommend any other company but this one. The quality of service was beyond awesome, she is very responsible, very professional and more flexible than anyone I know. Lian also contacted me even after my wedding to make sure we received our marriage license. I interviewed several different wedding planners and Lian was the best she made sure everything was on time and she had everything together before she even contacted me. She was able to answer all my questions right away if she didn't know she got the answer to me by the same day. She done so much for us I could write a book. I also thought we may be judged because we were a lesbian couple but i was wrong. She didn't judge us one bit. She made us feel very welcome. If you chose this company you wont be sorry.

    Thanks so much Lian, Diana and Katie your services was greatly appreciated.

    Sincerely,
    Tabitha & Brittney

    Sent on 06/03/2012
  • E

    Emily · Married on 09/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When my husband and I get engaged last year, we envisioned a wedding weekend with family and friends getting to know each other in a casual and fun setting. We decided to rent out a summer camp in the Berkshires for a weekend. The weekend portion would be fun and casual. A BBQ welcome dinner, kayaking, water trampolining, basketball... followed by a romantic and rustic wedding ceremony and reception. I began collecting brass candlesticks and vintage frames and soon my Pinterest board was overflowing with ideas. But soon, I began having nightmares about how everything would come together. The summer camp was set on the most beautiful property, but they were not the most experienced wedding venue and there were a lot of DIY elements. We began looking for a day-of event coordinator, but I had serious sticker shock by the prices that many coordinators were asking for to help coordinate one day!

    I found Mikado Weddings and asked them if they might be able to accommodate our budget! And they did! That's how we met Liz Halwadjian - and boy did we luck out! Liz was not just a day-of event coordinator. She met with us in the fall to go over our wedding vision, then continued to communicate with us throughout the winter and spring. In June, she even came out with us to the Camp (2.5 hours away from Boston) to tour the venue and get to know the place. Then she met with me twice more in the summer (all while having a baby in the middle!!!). She even came to my house to look at all the supplies that I had acquired for the wedding.

    On our wedding weekend, she and her sister, Marisa, helped coordinate our rehearsal, and then boy did they deliver on our wedding day. There were so many elements to our wedding. Garlands, brass candlesticks, votives, pallets, signs, picture frames... you name it! It was the most perfect weekend and Liz was tremendous! My husband and I are so grateful for Liz and Marisa and will be recommending her to everyone we know!!!

    Sent on 09/11/2018
  • Y

    Ying · Married on 10/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lucky to have Lian as my wedding planner. Actually I went to another big company, and due to my small wedding plan, they referred to Lian. And I am so glad we made the right decision! She recommended a fascinating DJ and wonderful photo booth vendor to us! Really out of our expectation. And she also got the discount from photographers for us! And those guys worked so hard and gave us amazing pictures. Because of Lian, I save a lot of time, money and energy, so I can focus on my other issues. And the wedding day she was so thoughtful to prepare the candles for the welcome table, drove me to the hair stylist and arranged the lunch for my parents and me. At last, after the wedding, she also followed up with the vendors with unsolved problems.
    Love her! Would definitely recommended her to my friends!

    Sent on 10/21/2015
  • H

    Heng · Married on 10/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are very happy to have Lian as our wedding planner. She is very helpful through the entire process, from developing a budget, finding vendors to wedding day. On the wedding day, she did a great job coordinating every thing. We didn't have to worry about anything and could just enjoyed the party! Highly recommended.

    Sent on 10/21/2015
  • User4358875 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lian was professional, flexible, hard-working and made you feel like you were in experienced, knowledgeable hands. We hired Lian as a day of event coordinator, but she attended several meetings with the venue coordinator before the wedding day and also met with us a few times beforehand and responded promptly to our multiple emails. She is highly responsive and respectful of your wishes. She provided timelines, organized lists, and timely reminders to make decisions or meet with a vendor. On the day of, she came early with an assistant (no extra charge) and helped execute our plans. We couldn't have made it through the planning and executing of the day without her; we are grateful and satisfied with her service.

    Sent on 08/28/2014
  • User3177741 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with Lian for Day of Coordination for our Spring wedding. She and her assistant Kelsey, did an incredible job on the day of. Everything went perfectly. We had a lot of DIY at our wedding - we did all the table settings ourselves (including flowers and about 20 pieces per table), created the guest favors, ordered components from several different vendors for set up, all the elements for the dessert bar and arranged all the table cards ourselves. We also had two different venues (ceremony and reception), a photographer, caterer, serving company, bartenders, rental company, separate rental company for the dance floor, officiant, ceremony musicians, reception band... the list goes one. Lian seamlessly worked with everyone - if there were issues on the day of (which I know there were) she handled everything and I had no idea. They even had a wheelchair accessible taxis waiting for grandparents when they were ready to go home (which seemed to appear at exactly the perfect time) and left to get one of our guests (who was a tired new mom) a diet coke for some caffeine since we didn't have soda at our wedding. Lian was an invaluable asset and I'm honestly not sure what we would have done without her!

    Sent on 06/28/2014
  • User3532728 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I both agree that Mikado Weddings was one of our top wedding vendors and a fantastic value overall. We were excited to hold our reception in a unique space but were beginning to feel overwhelmed by the sheer amount of logistics involved. Fortunately, Lian came to our rescue! Her positive attitude and can-do spirit immediately reassured us. She was excited to figure out practical ways to implement our creative vision, and her attention to detail instilled great confidence. Even our caterer was impressed by her preparedness and professionalism. Lian went above and beyond our expectations for a "day-of" coordinator, responding quickly to our emails and accompanying us to multiple vendor meetings and walkthroughs. She was great at anticipating possible issues (e.g. site access for wedding day photography) and triaging any that arose (e.g. helping us purchase a replacement aisle runner the night before the wedding). On our wedding day, we were able to relax and enjoy the whole day, because we knew Lian and her team would have everything under control. Don't hesitate to hire Mikado Weddings - you won't regret it!

    Sent on 09/14/2013
  • D

    Della · Married on 06/16/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lian was wonderful. She understood what we needed. Because of her my husband and i were able to enjoy our daughters wedding. She took all the stress out of the day.

    Sent on 07/26/2013
  • S

    stephanie · Married on 06/15/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Would you like your wedding day to go as smoothly as possible, the months before to have every detail thought of and planned? Then Lian and her team are the perfect team for you! Lian is AMAZING at her job she is extremely organized and keeps everyone aware of tasks that need to be completed and on track. I cannot sing Lian’s praises enough, she worked perfectly with our venue and vendors, and I felt completely relaxed on my wedding day as did my family. We were able to enjoy every moment rather than worried about the timing of a vendor or delivery. If you have the opportunity to work with Lian and her team, jump at it because she will make everything about your day work perfectly!

    Sent on 08/14/2013
  • S

    Sambath · Married on 05/04/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot express enough the value of the service that I received from Mikado Weddings. They made my night memorable. Lian and Katie are true professionals who got the job done. I only truly understood the value of their service when it came to looking over contracts language and costs and most importantly to get a partial refund on one particular vendor. They allowed me to be a bride considering that I had a huge traditional Cambodian wedding reception with 600+ guests. I keep on looking back to my wedding and thinking, "It was a blast. I had so much fun. Too bad it went by too fast."

    Sent on 05/21/2013
  • E

    Elaine · Married on 07/28/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Katie O'Neil from Mikado Weddings as our wedding planner, and I honestly don't think we could have pulled off this wedding without her help. Katie was absolutely on the mark from our first meeting to the day-of.

    At our initial meeting, Katie was 100% prepared. She had definitely done her homework, and had already gathered the names of our wedding party members, and some of our vendors without even asking us for them. She came with this very detailed timeline for us, which we were so impressed by. Before the wedding, Katie was always ready with advice and help on everything from what kind of pens to use for the guestbook, to helping me find a slip to fix a dress emergency.

    On the day of the wedding, Katie arrived early, and had everything set up at the venue before we showed up. One concern that I had brought up with her prior to the wedding was that I had been to several weddings at the same venue before, where the waiters had not done the best job at cutting the wedding cake. Our cake was a very expensive Konditor Meister cake, and it was very important to me that the cake was not butchered by the waiters. Katie came to me when I arrived at the venue and told me that she asked the waiters to be careful when cutting the cake. The waiters apparently said that they would try their best. Katie's response was "no, you won't try your best, you WILL cut the cake nicely". Later in the night, I walked by the corner of the venue, and I noticed Katie standing there - cutting the cake herself! I was blown away by this commitment to ensuring that everything would go perfectly on that day. I cannot say enough wonderful things about Katie. She worked with all of our vendors to make sure that everything worked seamlessly on our wedding day. I didn't have to worry about anything at all, and I am so grateful for that. Katie's help was absolutely priceless and I couldn't be happier with all of her hard work.

    Sent on 07/31/2012
  • K

    Katy · Married on 06/30/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I hired Lian and her team to provide assistance on my wedding day - they exceeded my expectations! Mikado's attention to detail, professionalism, flexibility and responsiveness were first class. Lian was also so easy to get along with - during this special time in my life, she was someone with whom I could share ideas, concerns and excitement! Mikado made me feel as if I was there only priority from start to finish. I highly recommend using Mikado Weddings for your event - I truly felt so special and so important and not once, on my wedding day, did I worry or wonder if everything was ready to go (being a type A personality, it is very difficult for me to let go and not be in charge, but I never once had to worry - it was the best feeling and a feeling every bride should have on their special day!)

    Sent on 07/18/2012
  • C

    C · Married on 10/08/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I've said it before and I'll say it again, I really want to get married all over again and hire Mikado Weddings to plan it again. They were beyond wonderful!

    Our wedding day went very smoothly. We had literally 3 events going on before the reception: (1) first look and pictures around Boston, (2) ceremony at the Cathedral and (3) post ceremony pictures. We were right on schedule and it really calmed my nerves having Lian or her associate, Diana, with us at those different moments because I knew they were keeping track of time and keeping us on schedule. The ceremony was supposed to start at 4:00, and we started right on time or literally 2 minutes past 4:00. I've never been to a wedding that started on time, so I was very surprised we were on schedule.

    The reception itself was unbelievable. I didn't get to see the space until our introductions and the ballroom was literally jaw dropping. All my guests have commented on how amazing everything looked. I am a micromanager and I had a vision of how I wanted everything to look and everything was how I wanted it.

    As far as any snags day-of, I didn't know of any because Lian made sure I wouldn't be bothered or stressed. I found out after about my husband forgetting our wedding bands and having to drive back from Boston to Braintree to get them, there were issues with vendor parking she took care of before the night ended, and I am having issues now with the hair and makeup team I hired that she is still taking care of for me, post-wedding. I had a photo booth at our wedding, but in all the craziness the week prior, I forgot to buy props, so Lian went and purchased props for me. And they were a hit! I'm sure the photo booth would have been fine without the props, but it's those little details that made it better and she took care of that for me.

    I've recommended Mikado Weddings to 2 coworkers (one married on 9/24, another will marry in 2012) and the 9/24 bride hired Mikado Weddings as day-of coordinator. I talked to the 9/24 bride when she came back from her honeymoon about her experience with Mikado Weddings and she said, verbatim, "Oh my god, Lian was amazing!"

    My husband and I are still on our wedding high and talking about our wedding weekend and all the little details about it, and he has said so many times how happy he is that I met Lian and hired her.

    Sent on 11/02/2011
  • F

    Francine · Married on 10/01/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lian at Mikado was a HUGE help for my day of planning services. Mostly everything was booked when I brought her on board and I handed it over to her with complete trust. She was on top of every detail and made the Day Of run smoothly without me having to worry about every single detail. She was super responsiveness, I never felt that I was chasing her down, which I felt with a few other vendors. I would recommend Lian and her team!

    Sent on 12/08/2011
  • T

    Tommy · Married on 06/12/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    All I have are good things to say about Mikado Weddings. Lian and Michelle were both extremely helpful with the planning of our wedding. We couldn't have done it without their help. They did everything from scheduling meetings with the vendors, ironing out the details with the vendors, and planning the the timeline of the wedding day and making sure we got everything done in a timely manner leading up the wedding day. Our ceremony was originally planned as an outdoor ceremony but with the rainy weather, the event could not be held outside to our dismay. We did have a backup plan to hold it inside the club house at the venue but we wanted to avoid that at all costs. However, when we arrived at the clubhouse the ballroom was decorated and setup beautifully. I would recommend Mikado Weddings to any of my friends and family, not only did they help plan the wedding but also were full of good ideas. Thanks Lian and Michelle!

    Sent on 07/09/2011
  • S

    Jerry · Married on 09/25/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Having a budget 400+, mixed cultural, and mixed religous marriage is never easy. Add into the mix that I have not even attended many weddings at all, makes planning much more difficult. Lian, Michelle, and Diana's expertise made all the small details, which ended up being the most important, wrapped everything up together perfectly.
    These girls mean business! Not only did the advise, plan and organize, but when the big day came, they got down & dirty and helped deliver/setup. What I needed desperately was someone by my side to remind me of everything. And trust me, theres a lot going on! Everytime time something came up that needed a decision to be made, I just pointed over to them and it got handled....All I had to do was enjoy my day.

    Did I mention they made decorations for us too?

    Thank you so much girls!

    Sent on 11/03/2010
  • S

    Stacie · Married on 09/18/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mikado weddings is extremely professional. They are detailed oriented and always checking up on you. Thank you for your great service!

    Sent on 11/12/2010
  • P

    Phiphi · Married on 09/12/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mikado Weddings was so helpful in organzing my wedding. I thought I could plan everything myself but until I had my first meeting with Mikado, I realized that I had so much more to think about and plan that I originally thought. Lian and Michelle of Mikado Weddings were so organized and creative in planning my wedding day. My husband and I will be forever thankful for their help. They truly did make our day unforgettable.

    Sent on 11/08/2010
  • E

    Liz · Married on 08/20/2011

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Lian and her team could not have done a better job handling my day-of coordinating. I was so blessed to have their services on my wedding day. Everything went smoothly and if it didn't, they handled it so I didn't know about it! Don't hesitate to use Mikado Weddings for your wedding planning!

    Sent on 08/28/2011

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review