Weddings

Metal Museum Reviews

Metal Museum View more information

12 Reviews

Rated
4.6
out of 5.0
Recommended by 91% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.2 out of 5

Awards

  • 12

15 User photos

Sort by:
  • Kelly
    Kelly F. Married on 03/09/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Sunset Wedding on the Bluff

    When my daughter got engaged and we were talking about venues, her fiancé said he'd like to get married outside by water and she and I exchanged glances. We knew the Metal Museum would be the perfect spot. We live in Nashville now but she grew up in Memphis and we'd often go 'cardboard sledding' on the Indian mound across the museum. We've always admired the views from that particular bluff and the Mississippi River is so special to us. The old buildings on the museum grounds and the majestic oak tree on the lawn suggested the perfect spot for a wedding. She chose just before sunset so that guests could enjoy the views after the ceremony. Her friends from Nashville were excited to be by the river and I noticed many of the guests were taking advantage of the photo ops at the gazebo or with the historic bridges in the background.
    As far as value goes, we chose the Metal Museum for the reasons I just mentioned but as we got into the process, we realized what a value the venue is too. I'd recommend the Metal Museum as the perfect place for any sort of celebration but you can't beat the romance of the river, the old trees, and the perfect sunset for a wedding. Our guests still talk about the perfect party that took place that night.
  • Taylor
    Taylor W. Married on 06/19/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fantastic spot! No decor needed, the scenery speaks for itself.

    We planned a daytime ceremony at the Metal Museum (an affordable $600 for 3 hours). As per the venue, we had to wait until 3 months out to book. We reached out almost a year in advance. Very nice people--we toured the place, fell in love, and they placed us on their calendar to hold our spot. The communication along the way was very open and clear. While it was nerve-wracking to wait until 3 months out, it was WELL worth the wait. We got married in the gazebo overlooking the river--no decor needed. We showed up the day of the wedding dressed to the nines with fresh flowers--that was all we needed to make the photos breathtaking. The river in the background made the day incredibly special. The staff made themselves known and available, but trusted us to let us be. It was a small, happily tearful, intimate ceremony--and since that day, people have told me it was "the best wedding they have ever been to." I also received some comments: "how did you find this place?" and "I want to have my vows renewed here!" I honestly couldn't imagine the day going any better. I highly recommend this location.
  • A
    Alexa T. Married on 09/10/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Wedding Venue!

    We are so grateful we got to work with the Metal Museum team for our big day. Everything was perfect and they were extremely helpful and responsive to our needs especially with associated vendors. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a beautiful outdoor setting for your next event.
    Thanks again!
  • C
    Carolina Married on 04/21/2018
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Still on cloud nine from our reception at the Museum over the weekend! And guests are still raving! The Museum is a hidden gem amongst the usual venues you hear about in Memphis. The grounds were blooming and the view of the river is priceless. We worked with Katie throughout the planning process and she was always very responsive and we appreciated how flexible and accommodating she was to our delivery and setup requests. We went off of the preferred catering list (extra fee) and used local food trucks and our guests LOVED it, not to mention it got our guests out and about to enjoy the grounds. I'd suggest this additional fee be waived when catering is self sufficient coming out of a truck. The additional fee to use the library I think is a bit much, but otherwise there was only 1 bathroom location so we wanted to make sure that we had options based on our guest count. Despite the additional fees here and there, it was worth the investment for how much fun we and our guests had. Thank you Katie and Museum staff for being so kind and flexible, it's a night we'll never forget!
  • Lillian
    Lillian F. Getting married on 03/03/2023
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5

    Great events coordinator, easy to work with!

    The Metal Museum was a dream, I've always wanted an outdoor wedding and even though it rained a bit on the day-of, it was still magical to take pictures in the gazebo and around the grassy courtyard. We also used Draper's catering and loved them, they work well with the Metal Museum team.
  • J
    Jessica C. Married on 10/11/2019
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5

    Great experience.

    Our daughter was married at the Metal Museum in October of 2019. We worked with Maddy Miller who was very professional, responded to emails quickly, and answered any and every question that cane up knowledgeably and graciously. We were allowed access to grounds to figure out set up and even met with our florists on the grounds.
    The wedding photos were phenomenal thanks to the best sunsets/ river views in Memphis at the Metal Museum. Our guests had a blast too. I highly recommend the Metal Museum for a wedding or any event that could be held outdoors.
  • A
    Anna C. Married on 10/26/2019
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5

    Fall Wedding

    MMM was great in accommodating us for my wedding in Oct 2019. Its a fabulous space with a white tent and views of the river & bridge. I feel it’s a great value for space you're provided with. Madison was responsive and easy to work with. Just a small thing to remember- The museum is open on Saturdays. There was a class going on in the library until 430pm and ceremony started at 5 pm. So there really isn’t where for the wedding party to hangout if it’s bad weather. You can rent the white library for more space and bathrooms, but you only get it after it closes at 5pm. Otherwise everything was fabulous.
  • R
    Jaime Married on 04/10/2010
    Rating 4.3 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    This venue is in the perfect location - right on the Mississippi and it is gorgeous. Communication was a bit difficult at times and the fact that we had to use a certain rental vendor made the cost seem a bit excessive. It is great for outdoor weddings but be aware that there really isn't a place for a plan B in case it rains.
  • Omi
    Omi T. Married on 04/27/2019
    Rating 4.2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5

    Amazing location!

    This place was perfect for my Spring wedding! The grounds were beautiful and flowers were in full bloom. My guests loved the view of the Mississippi River. It was perfect for pictures! We had an evening wedding so we got a stunning view of sunset on the Mississippi. I highly recommend this venue, especially at sunset! It’s totally worth it.
  • E
    Eleanor Married on 04/26/2008
    Rating 3.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    Beautiful site above the Mississippi River. Come prepared to book fast and early! I was pushed back a week because someone booked the weekend I originally wanted. The concrete slab they have for the tent is key because the cost of laying a full floor is enormous. April weather is perfect for this site.
  • M
    Erin Married on 05/23/2009
    Rating 3.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    Our guests loved this venue! It was a perfect location for a spring wedding - the breeze came in off the river and made for a fantastic party location. The bathrooms are a little rustic. They ended up losing our deposit check but made it right by knocking down the fee when we wrote them a new check. Our wedding planner ran into some logistical issues with the staff. It was great because we could bring in our own liquor and caterer which saved us a bunch of money. A great spot - would highly recommend it.