Mess Hall Reviews

14 | Washington, DC
See photos, pricing and details

14 Reviews for Mess Hall

Recommended by 98% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

14

12 User photos

Mess Hall 1
Mess Hall 2
Mess Hall 3
Mess Hall 4
Mess Hall 5
+ 8
Order by:
  • N

    Neil F · Married on 07/13/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Space, Great Team, Great Price, Great Wedding

    Mess Hall was the perfect location for our wedding, and we’re so pleased with how the event went. The space is both hip and classy and easily accommodated our 70-person reception. Plenty of space to sit and to dance. The wine/beer package was good quality and reasonably priced. Mess Hall also set us up with a partner caterer, Sloppy Mama’s, which served mind-numbingly delicious barbecue. We’re very happy to have chosen Mess Hall for our wedding. Al and his team are honest, flexible, and professional. It was a pleasure working with them on the event. Highly recommended!

    Sent on 07/24/2019
  • T

    Tyler Castle · Married on 11/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful space and friendly service

    The space is unique, beautiful, warm, and inviting. Perfect for a relatively casual event. And the staff was personable and very helpful.

    Sent on 11/14/2018
  • C

    Cyd Eaton · Married on 10/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly recommend Mess Hall!

    We had our wedding reception at Mess Hall in October and could not have been happier with our experience! We worked directly with Al and Ann (who are both wonderful) to plan the reception. Mess Hall is such a unique space with a nice amount of flexibility that helps to really personalize your event. By having our reception at Mess Hall, we were able to connect with our caterers, Qui Qui Catering, who were absolutely amazing (also highly recommended) and already familiar with the space as members of the community. We appreciated that Mess Hall had bar packages to add on and found a phenomenal bartender for our day. We were extremely happy with the package we selected, which included local beers and liquors and three curated wines. As others have mentioned, the space itself is already visually appealing and does not require a ton of decorations to look great. The main space was naturally set up for cocktails, dinner, and our DJ and dance floor while giving guests enough space to mingle.
    Mess Hall was by far the best value of any other locations we researched in the DC-area. Throughout the planning process, we were consistently amazed at how we were able to have the event we wanted and stay within budget. Our guests all commented on what a fun and memorable location it was and we all had an absolute blast! We still talk about how fun the evening was and how we need another reason to throw an event at Mess Hall :) My husband and I highly recommend Mess Hall for your event.

    Sent on 11/16/2018
  • Faith

    Faith · Married on 10/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved the mess hall dc!

    My name is Faith Klaus and I own Smashingly Events. I recently planned a wedding reception at the Mess Hall DC. If you are looking for an ultra cool event space [not your cookie cutter ballroom], then Mess Hall Dc is your place! Al Goldberg and his team at the Mess Hall were fabulous to work with. They were always available to answer questions and help us in any way with the process. They were flexible and helpful. You can transform the Mess Hall into anything that you dream. The wedding reception was so much fun and people were commenting on how fabulous the space was. We would highly recommend checking out the Mess Hall for your next event. As an event planner, it is so nice when you find a venue and team that is top notch! Thank you Al and Ann!!!! You made the process so easy. Faith

    Sent on 11/15/2018
  • R

    Ray · Married on 09/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bottom line, the Mess Hall is a stunning venue with top notch customer care! We had our wedding there about 1 week ago and had been in contact with Al pretty regularly for approximately 8 months through the planning process. He was always responsive to inquiries almost immediately and sometimes even at hours we expected him to not be available. What's more, he was even helpful with topics that were seemingly otherwise not associated with the venue itself simply based on his experience. If we were having problems finding vendors from cakes to rental furniture, he had a plethora for us to choose from and that he trusted with such an important event. Based on our interaction with him and gleaning information from his expertise, we were able to have the reception we both dreamed of!

    Sent on 09/23/2018
  • J

    Jenny · Married on 06/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding party at Mess Hall, and we could not have asked for a better experience. From the get-go, Al was extremely helpful and communicative, and made excellent suggestions to help us figure out our vision. We wanted something non-traditional that would match our casual, urban lifestyle, but still have some cool design elements and touch of elegance. Mess Hall filled that bill perfectly. From the bar to the lights to the beer selection to the food, Al, Hannah and the Mess Hall team really came through. We hired a caterer (and an ice cream vendor!) from the Mess Hall community (Creative Catering), and in addition to delicious food, they turned an already cool space into something even cooler and more celebratory. All of our guests love the space and had a fantastic time. I highly recommend Mess Hall if you're looking for something different for your event. These folks rock so hard.

    Mess Hall 6
    Mess Hall 7
    Mess Hall 8
    Mess Hall 9
    Mess Hall 10
    Sent on 07/25/2018
  • C

    Carolyn · Married on 04/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mess Hall is the GEM of the DC wedding scene. I'm so glad we found out about it! Here's why we picked them:
    1. Unique, unexpected space with SO MUCH INCLUDED: cocktail tables, chairs, uplighting, Sonos sound system, Apple TV, limitless decoration potential (or you can leave it blank--it's a gorgeous space on its own). We used their local bar package as well--awesome drinks, great prices! The space allows for almost anything--we set up connect four, Jenga, a word search, a polaroid camera area, and we hung photos on the display shelves. Our guests had an absolute blast!
    2. Flexibility: We booked a date in November of 2018. But then we decided to elope and we wanted to have a party in July 2018. Al found a date for us and we switched everything up without a hitch.
    3. Catering: Since Mess Hall is a food incubator, you have your pick of all the vendors who are part of the community. Al will give you a list and talk with you about each person and the food they offer. You can get crazy creative and hire a whole bunch of them--maybe have a food truck outside--or hire a full service caterer from Mess Hall. That's what we did, and it's such a relief to have a caterer who knows the space and doesn't have to charge you for deliveries (since the party is at their work space). And all the food is AMAZING!
    4. Value: Mess Hall was hands down the best value we found in the DC area and we looked for months. Where some venues might say "this is how we do things, please sign here" Al says, "here are some awesome things people have done, but what would you like to do? Do you need ideas? How can we make this party super fun?" It felt personal because it was personal.
    And when your guests are calling you the next day about how much fun they had, and how unique they thought the space was, you know you've done well :)

    Sent on 07/23/2018
  • K

    Keith · Married on 03/31/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you want something original, unexpected, and budget-friendly, Mess Hall is a great option in the District. We held our cocktail hour, ceremony, and dinner there in March, 2018. So many positives to share...

    Mess Hall is a blank canvas -- it has a modern, industrial look, but you can transform it however you like. We only used the indoor spaces, but they have an outdoor option available too. They give you freedom to decorate (DIY or through a professional vendor) and execute your vision.

    When you tell your guests your wedding is at DC's hub for local, independent food concepts, they'll expect great catering! Management here knows people in the DC restaurant scene and can help you navigate the options. (And they didn't hesitate to offer inside advice on menus, pricing, and quality of service -- a big plus!) A definite highlight is Mess Hall's open-concept kitchen, which makes food central to the guest experience.

    Mess Hall handles alcohol service, and they worked with us to provide a signature cocktail/mocktail that our guests really loved. Our guests also loved the bartender. Go figure.

    At the end of the day, we were happy and our guests were too. All through the process, we felt we were in good hands. We highly and happily recommend Mess Hall!

    PS -- Another plus: Mess Hall is locally owned.

    Sent on 05/15/2018
  • J

    j · Married on 03/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mess Hall is an awesome, affordable venue in DC. The staff are responsive, professional and direct (in a good way!) with communications. The space is cool, and it's nice to have different areas for people to mingle at the party. It's a nice blank slate space, where you can stick with minimal decor or totally create your own universe in it. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 03/05/2018
  • A

    aneesha · Married on 11/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough amazing things about mess hall! mess hall hosted our first (of 3!) wedding ceremonies, and every single aspect of the event was just wonderful. Al is nothing short of spectacular--work with him if you can!!--and everything was flexible and tuned to our preferences. Al was incredibly accommodating, and connected with us regularly to make sure everything was perfect. During the event, as happens with all events, there were some hiccups, but Al and the staff that were working with us came up with speedy solutions and our guests had just the best time. we had several wedding events, but the mess hall event was certainly the most memorable and the most "us"--and we felt like we've made friends for life with the folks we've met through our wedding planning experience. if you're looking for an intimate, special event that you won't forget, go with mess hall--you'll be so glad you did!

    Sent on 04/21/2018
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 07/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our daughter's bat mitzvah at Mess Hall and everything was awesome! Al and team were incredibly helpful and so much fun to work with. They bring an expertise in events that they match with your vision. The space is very cool and can be easily decorated Al seemingly knows everyone in the DC food scene and can connect you with top notch vendors ... formal and casual. Whatever you do, don't overlook the loading dock ... as odd as it sounds, it's a great space. Definitely a great space for unique events!

    Sent on 07/23/2016
  • M

    Megan · Married on 09/22/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful wedding venue.

    We had our wedding ceremony and reception in September at Mess Hall and we couldn't be happier with how it came out. Al was very pleasant to work with and he was receptive to our vision as it evolved. He was always very easy to get in touch with and always addressed our questions and concerns with a great attitude. The space was the perfect size for our 80 person wedding. We were very happy with how it turned out.

    Sent on 11/12/2018
  • D

    Debra · Married on 04/16/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A great space for less than 100 person wedding if you are looking for something usual. You have access to amazing food (and drink) vendors and the space is very flexible. We had the ceremony in the loading dock which had a cool industrial vibe and then the food and dancing inside and were able to create a seating space and a dance floor. Al and his team will work with you to create the event you want. Great food and great space!

    Sent on 07/25/2016
  • N

    Noelle · Married on 09/16/2017

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We recently had our daughter's Bat Mitzvah at Mess Hall and everything was fantastic! We wanted an unconventional space that was fun and unique but still had a sophisticated feel and that is exactly what we got. We used the main dining room for a variety of food stations, we utilized the loading dock for our DJ and dancing and then had food trucks pull up on the street. Al and Tara were amazing to work with. They helped with the many details of creating a space that worked for our party and guests. They also have a member list of many great food vendors, food trucks and caterers that are fantastic. From beginning to end, the entire experience was flawless. A perfect evening!!

    Mess Hall 11
    Mess Hall 12
    Mess Hall 13
    Mess Hall 14
    Mess Hall 15
    Mess Hall 16
    Mess Hall 17
    Sent on 03/13/2018

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review