Skip to main content
Weddings

Melvin's DJ Service Reviews

Melvin's DJ Service

Melvin's DJ Service

Vancouver, WA
4.9 out of 5 rating, 22 Reviews
View more information

22 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 98% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

22
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner

7 User photos

  • Ashley
    Ashley Married on 08/20/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The absolute best!

    DJ Melvin was awesome! Great energy and a lot of fun to work with. He also was a great Master of Ceremonies! My husband and I were so happy to have him involved in our wedding day! Highly recommend
  • J
    Jennifer R. Married on 08/13/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Melvin is the best!!

    DJ Melvin is the absolute best DJ service my husband and I could have asked for on our wedding day. He helped us solidify our timeline, kept us on our timeline day of, and was an overall incredible master of ceremonies. Melvin met with us multiple times before our wedding to look over timelines, song lists, and did a wonderful job of helping us determine what we wanted our wedding night to be like. He played every song we asked for, but also did a great job of keeping the party going. I would highly recommend DJ Melvin for any event! He is professional, thorough, and an all around amazing vendor to work with.
  • T
    Tonya K. Married on 08/05/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Energetic and fun DJ!

    Can't recommend Melvin enough! He was awesome at our daughter's wedding. He played such great music, made sure everything ran smoothly with announcements, etc. He's full of energy and a positive/happy person to be around. What a fabulous experience we had!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • N
    Natalie P. Married on 07/01/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    If you don't hire this man to be your DJ, you are making a mistake.

    I have been to a handful of weddings, and DJ Melvin is by far the best DJ/MC I have ever experienced. He has the experience and confidence to bring a crowd together! My wedding party and I absolutely loved him. He is worth every penny. He is professional, on time, prepared, confident, and knows what he is doing. If I have another big life event, I would hire him again for it!
  • K
    Kayli E. Married on 06/25/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    He was fantastic!

    Our amazing family and friends came from near and far ready to celebrate our wedding and Melvin brought the party! He was easy to work with, had seamless transitions, and brought everyone to the dance floor all night long. We had so much fun!
  • K
    Katrina C. Married on 06/02/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Decision We Made

    Amazing. There are no words that can describe how PERFECT Melvin was at wedding! You will not regret choosing this DJ. TRUST ME, I went through lost of DJ interviews before I was lead to him. Do you want to have the best wedding? Choose Melvin, boom. Done.
  • M
    Melissa P. Married on 05/21/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Look no further…

    Melvin was helpful and informative from the very beginning. He knows what he’s doing and it showed at our wedding. For our ceremony he listened and executed everything exactly how we asked/ needed. We had some live musicians that he was able to handle beautifully! At the reception he was so fun, played great music, and kept the party going! He was professional the whole time and we couldn’t be happier with our selection in DJ!
  • Amanda
    Amanda R. Married on 12/10/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    An amazing DJ!

    Melvin was super friendly, he knew exactly what he was doing and was very easy to communicate with. He listened to my requests and what I wanted done and I was absolutely thrilled when we were doing the Cupid shuffle and he joined in!

    He did an AMAZING job at my wedding in all aspects, all my guests loved him, I’m very thankful he was apart of it :)
  • Alithea
    Alithea D. Married on 11/06/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great dj/mc

    A fun, charismatic DJ. We were fortunate that Melvin stuck with us through multiple date changes due to the pandemic. As our wedding dj and mc he set the mood nicely for cocktail hour and dinner, kept people dancing, and even had some fun with us on the dance floor. We got to make a song list and he took requests during the reception. Melvin was also really good at reading the crowd, and my husband said he made eye contact with him a few times to ask for volume to be lowered or a song change - to which he quickly responded. Our reception flowed nicely and we give him a lot of credit for that. I highly recommend him for your event. He was friendly, easy going, fun, and professional.
  • Nadene
    Demi S. Married on 10/14/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Weber Wedding

    DJ Melvin! Thank you for everything, we had so much fun! Melvin is amazing to work week, super easy going, helpful, and the sweetest guy ever. He definitely got the party going with him busting out some moves on the dance floor and getting everyone up and out of their seats! Melvin is awesome, I highly recommend him for any event and suggest picking his brain… he’s the expert and knows what he’s doing!

    Thank you Melvin!

    Best,

    Mr. & Mrs. Weber
  • J
    Jessica Married on 09/04/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    DJ Melvin was the perfect choice!

    Melvin made our wedding ceremony and reception so special. He is an awesome, fun DJ who played great music and kept our event running smoothly all night. Everyone had a blast! He was so easy to work with and was super flexible with us and our quick planning timeline as we were planning our wedding from overseas and during the pandemic! With our situation, we didn't have much time to give him very much instruction or guidance beforehand, but we trusted him and he exceeded our expectations completely! Highly recommend!
  • S
    Samantha F. Married on 08/13/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best DJ ever!

    DJ Melvin did such a great job from providing the audio for our ceremony, to keeping our guests dancing all night long. It was everyone's favourite part of the night! Highly recommend DJ Melvin!
  • A
    Alison Married on 07/17/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Wedding DJ!

    DJ Melvin was such a fun addition to our wedding celebrations! We first got connected with him through another friend’s wedding and had booked his DJ services for our October 2020 festivities. Then COVID hit and we had to scramble to reschedule everything. Rebooking with DJ Melvin was a breeze; he communicated quickly and was always willing to meet up in person (when we could safely do that again) and talk through all our questions and visions for the big day.

    We ended up upgrading our service package with him for our rescheduled July 2021 event and it was so worth it! He kept us on track with our timeline, read the energy of the room, and even got out and led our guests through dances! Super personable, very good at what he does, and flexible and accommodating when it comes to the playlist and day of schedule. You can tell DJ Melvin has a true passion for what he does, and he is TOTALLY worth booking for your event!
  • S
    Sarina C. Married on 07/13/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fantastic DJ

    He was my wedding DJ and he was absolutely great to work with! He played the perfect music at the right times and that definitely made a huge impact on our night!! I would definitely recommend him!!
  • Cathy
    Cathy G. Married on 11/07/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful to Work with

    Melvin was awesome to work with. He was punctual he followed through he went above and beyond I don’t know how you could want anything more in a DJ. He took very good care of us I will definitely have him back again.
  • M
    Megan A. Married on 01/08/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Wedding DJ in PDX!!

    Melvin kept the party going all night long at our farm wedding in August of 2020. He not only served as our DJ, but also took over the wedding day of planning for us as well. He played wedding classics and took requests from the guest, which in turn kept my guest on the dance floor. My biggest worry with a wedding during covid was that we would not get the after party we always wanted, but having Melvin DJ for us was no problem at all.

    Not to mention due to covid restrictions we ended up moving our wedding 7 hours away 5 weeks prior to the wedding. He did not hesitate to offer to drive to the new location north of Spokane from Portland. He was super easy to work with and helped us plan fun activities throughout the reception.
  • M
    Macy Z. Married on 11/03/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best wedding DJ

    It was the easiest decision we made as soon as the first meeting we knew DJ Melvin is the one. He is a very easy going person and such a talented DJ that made my guests dancing up until we wrapped up our party! Highly Recommended!!!
  • C
    Caryn W. Married on 09/11/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly Recommend!

    Melvin was great! He was professional, communicated, and did exactly what I needed. He was more than happy to offer advice and meet up as many times as needed.
  • S
    Savannah I. Married on 08/10/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dancing the Night Away

    DJ Melvin was the best! He was super helpful and responsive in the lead up to the wedding, and he kept everyone dancing ALL NIGHT! Despite some last minute organizations changes (on our end) he rolled with the punches, and was very professional.

    Would definitely recommend him!
  • A
    Andrew D. Married on 10/27/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Extremely professional and easy to work with

    Melvin is fantastic and professional. He made our wedding an amazing experience and had our dance floor packed from the first song through the last. He was incredibly responsive to our requests and came prepared with all of the necessary equipment. I will highly recommend him to anyone looking for a wedding or event DJ.
  • Marcy
    Marcy Married on 08/11/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Melvin did amazing at our wedding!! He was so upbeat and helped the flow of our day so well. We had quite a few questions throughout the planning process, but he gladly met with us multiple times and stayed in constant communication so I was never left guessing. VERY fair pricing for what he offers. I couldn't of asked for a better DJ for our wedding and would recommend him to anybody searching!
  • Ann
    Ann S. Married on 09/02/2022
    2.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Plays all the wrong songs & at the wrong times

    Everyone knows a DJ can make or break an event. Unfortunately I was more than disappointed with my service. There was clear instructions on 3 songs to play for my bridal party to walk down the aisle to as well as myself (bride). Instead DJ Melvin played the mother/son dance song as my bridal party walked down and then began playing the song I (bride)walked down to before I began walking and then restarted the song when it was my turn. When we met at the top of the alter there was a long high pitch noise coming from the microphone which interrupted the ceremony and we had to stop and wait for it to end. Later in the night my husband and I went outside for golden hour photos and as we arrived back to the venue we were told my multiple guests that an Aunt had asked the dj to only play 70's music which was not on track with any of the 50+ songs I provided for him to play. Nor did I say that guests could request songs. The dance floor was empty and I was embarrassed and frustrated I had to be taken away from my guests to go and solve this issue. I will never get to walk down the aisle again, I spent hours and hours hand picking each song. I do not recommend his service to anyone. What is even worse is I had all the confidence he would provide a great night so I already gave my tips to my wedding coordinator to give to him.

    Melvin's DJ Service's reply:

    Ann,

    My deepest apologies about how the ceremony went. When I was working with your coordinator, she And I did not have a clear signal for when to start the music. I thought, when she gave me the thumbs up, that meant start the music. I felt terrible about how it went. And I am sorry.

    I'm sorry about the song list as well. I really wanted to stick to your songs, and I had several older people who would not leave my booth, and insisted that I only play older music. I really wanted to stick to your list, but I could not get them to leave me alone.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message