Skip to main content
Weddings

Megan Saul Photography Reviews

Megan Saul Photography

Megan Saul Photography

Chicago, IL
4.8 out of 5 rating, 21 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

4.8 out of 5 rating
4.8 out of 5 rating
21 Reviews
97% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

21
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • A
    Anja C. Sent on 02/22/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Megan is the best!!

    My husband and I were looking for a photographer to capture our raw, true love. We wanted something tangible to reflect back on and to feel the emotions we felt during the photoshoot. We found Megan and we were so happy we did! She gave us everything we wanted during the photo session and the photos are phenomenal. We requested a boudoir/lifestyle photoshoot and Megan listened to what we were looking for and she delivered! Megan made us feel super comfortable and made me feel confident and empowered. We love that Megan let us be us for these photos. We wanted more of a free flowing, less directional, photoshoot and Megan was so easy to work with and sprinkled in her magic throughout the shoot. We were beaming from ear to ear after the photoshoot. If you’re looking for more of a posed/directed photoshoot Megan is your girl as she is just a phenomenal photographer and can basically do anything you request! She does great work and we would recommend her over and over again! We can’t wait to work with her again!
  • D
    Danielle C. Sent on 06/12/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Blown away by Megan’s talent and love for her craft. Simply the best.

    I can’t even begin to say how spectacular Megan’s work is. She puts so much love into her craft and creates stunning photo stories for a variety of occasions. She is a great location scout and goes above and beyond to get unique and beautiful shots. My husband and I got married at the Salish Lodge at Snoqualmie Falls in Washington. We are huge Twin Peaks fans and live nearby. Megan came out to photograph our wedding and was an absolute dream to work with. We get so many compliments on how epic our photos are! If you want top quality and thoughtful work, go to Megan! She truly loves her craft and it shows.
  • Kstings
    Kate Sent on 04/04/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Professional and laid back boudoir shoot

    Megan was so great to work with! She helped me on a tight turnaround for a boudoir gift for my husband, and it turned out perfectly. On the day of the shoot, she made me feel at ease and like a total bad ass - but she was also honest when something didn’t look quite right. She’s a very laid back perfectionist! I’d highly recommend her for any photography needs.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • R
    Roni Sent on 02/16/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Megan has some serious talent and a natural eye for photography!! I used her for my boudoir shoot and was seriously in love with every single photo! She was quick, set me up with hair and makeup artist and got me my photos super fast! She had some great info to get you prepared for your boudoir session and contacted me right away once I reached out! It would definitely use her again for another photo shoot!
  • H
    Helga Sent on 09/28/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    There are not enough words to describe Megan's storytelling. She captured everything I could have ever dreamed of, and more, for my wedding. From the little details on my dress, to the tears running down my great grandmothers cheek, to the way the moon and the stars shined up above as we said our goodbyes to our guests... she caught it all. Megan is a storyteller, she is a dream maker, your very own genie-in-a-bottle. Work with Megan, tell her your ideas, let her tell you hers... and watch magic happen. Thank You, Megan, for capturing these moments for my family, for my childrens childrens children. You are a blessing.
  • M
    Camila Sent on 01/23/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Megan was truly awesome! She is assertive and will get things done. She listens to what you want the day to look like and what you would like for her to document and she delivers that and more! Do not hesitate to contact her and book her, our pictures are a dream come true! A bonus was that she loved my kitties and took amazing pictures of them :)
  • E
    Emma Sent on 07/30/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I have been photographed by Megan several times, and each time has been a blast! When my husband and I decided to get married, there was no one else we even considered asking. We had a smail outdoor ceremony in Door County, Wisconsin with our immediate families only, and photography was the one thing we stretched our budget for. I am so glad we did! Megan was super accommodating and got along with our families well. She went along with all of our weird ideas, and we felt comfortable giving her the freedom to be creative throughout the day. Some of my favorite photos are ones she insisted on taking - "in the moment" photos that we never could have planned for.

    One thing I especially appreciate about Megan is that she's a genuine person. She'll tell you if something isn't working, or if there's something glaring in your photos that might have been embarrassing later on. I am blown away at the quality of our wedding photos, and how she captured all the little moments that may have been forgotten over the years. It's such a treat to look back on them, and each time I do I can't help but tear up.

    If you're looking for authentic, quality photography and appreciate artistic expression, I highly recommend you do what it takes to book Megan Saul Photography for your wedding day.
  • J
    Jessica Sent on 08/10/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We used Megan Saul Photography for our wedding last fall and are so happy we did! After doing quite a bit of research we came across Megan's work and were instantly impressed. We didn't want to spend our wedding day posing but wanted moments captured organically and naturally.
    All our photos convey the excitement and feelings of that day so beautifully. We are so grateful and will cherish them forever.
  • K
    Kasi Sent on 05/10/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    If I had a dime for all of the photographers that came up as options for our wedding, I would be rich. There are SO many photographers to choose from nowadays that it can be quite overwhelming to decide on "the one" for a wedding. After doing a substantial amount of research and interviews, we stumbled upon Megan Saul due to a mutual friend we had in common. They say everything happens for a reason.. well it sure did! Instantly, my husband and I connected with Megan-- after getting a feel for who Megan Saul Photography was, we immediately understood that photography wasn't her job, it was her passion... which CLEARLY shows in her work. Additionally, Megan made us feel comfortable which results in even better photos :)

    From month 10 to the day off, Megan was responsive, helpful and insightful. I often times found myself leaning on her for overall wedding advice, because, let's face it, she could also consider herself a "wedding expert" due to the sheer amount of weddings she's attended as a photographer. She knows what works best for photo ops (I've heard horror stories of friends who have gotten married and stated that their photographer was asking them what poses and shots they wanted next... WHAT!), is creative beyond belief and is patient, oh so VERY patient.

    If you want an EXPERIENCED-world traveler (don't let that scare you, my wedding was in the middle of nowhere in Wisconsin and she was excited to shoot there!) photographer who can capture candid-emotional-beautiful-breath taking photos, Megan is your girl. You will NOT be disappointed.
  • V
    Vasilia Sent on 06/20/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We loved our wedding photos by Megan Saul Photography! They captured our wedding day in such authentic and artistic ways. What an eye these women have! I loved how Megan and her team sat down and got to know us over coffee before our wedding in order to understand what was important to us. Jillian and Brittany photographed our wedding day, and they had such calm and warm personalities. They made my husband and me (who never have professional photos taken!) feel totally comfortable and in our own skin -- we honestly had fun! My husband and I really wanted our wedding day to be easygoing and joyful (not overpacked and stressed) and Megan and her team were exactly that, easygoing and encouraging yet also clearly experienced and prepared. Our family and friends wrote to us, after seeing our photos, about how much they truly captured the spirit of the evening and our personalities. They really did capture our favorite memories in the sweetest ways :) My husband and I were hoping to get some outdoorsy shots, some time together just the two of us, before our ceremony, and we were stunned by how beautiful these scenic photos turned out! Best of all, though, were the beautiful family portraits they took before our reception. The one of my family and my husband’s family all together is one that will be close to my heart forever. I’d recommend Megan Saul Photography to anyone!
  • S
    Sarah Sent on 07/30/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Megan was everything you want in a wedding photographer! She is easy to work with, very responsive, has great ideas and of course, takes amazing photos! We were so lucky to find her and ecstatic with how our photos turned out. I would recommend her to anyone.
  • L
    Leah Sent on 10/19/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Megan & Josh are truly amazing! My husband and I were so lucky to have them as our wedding photographers. They are so down to earth, easy to work with, fun, creative, and most importantly, extremely talented. The way they captured our love on our wedding day brings me to tears. Thank you guys for giving us these lasting and beautiful memories!

    Xo,

    David & Leah F.
  • C
    Christina Sent on 01/29/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I saw Megan's work through a mutual friend and contacted her regarding our upcoming wedding. At the time, my fiance and I had moved from Chicago and were residing in Florida. Megan was very accommodating to our requests and was quick to respond. Because we were in different states, we set up skype dates to discuss pricing and what we both wanted to get out of the photos. We instantly clicked and I was ecstatic to have her photograph our big day.

    Additionally, Megan also met with us while we were in town for the holidays and she was even able to squeeze in an engagement session prior to our big date that following summer. Both the engagement session and Wedding day photos were everything we wanted AND MORE.

    I already recommend her to everyone that I know and I want to spread the word that she is worth it. She was great with capturing every moment and every individual. Going through the photos just now brings tears to my eyes. Thank you Megan!
  • M
    Mandy Sent on 07/28/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Megan is an incredible photographer. Working with her felt like working with a friend not just a professional. She was easy to work and laugh with which meant my husband and I were able to feel 100% relaxed and comfortable. Our photos came out amazing and she trully captured our day in a special way.
  • C
    Courtney Sent on 11/06/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Megan Saul is truly amazing! I found Megan on Google. I submitted several inquiries to a few different photographers, but Megan responded immediately! It took several weeks to hear back from anyone else! She was super professional, but so down to earth and I find that is really important to me in finding a photographer. I wanted someone I was comfortable with. She was extremely helpful too! We had our engagement photo session in the museum campus. She made the whole experience so fun! We spoke regularly about the wedding details leading up to the wedding; it was so comforting to have her care so much! I wanted to surprise my husband on our wedding day with a set of boudoir photos, and Megan helped me find a location, got a hairstylist and makeup artist, and brought a bottle of wine and music to the session. It was seriously so fun! And to top it off, she put together the photos and brought them to the wedding for me. And! She had an allergic reaction to one of the elements of my surprise and was in the ER the whole night before my wedding! All for me! Talk about someone who goes way above and beyond! Even though she was up all night, she arrived on time and took endless amounts of amazing photos. My friends and family raved about her personality and adore her work as much as I do. Beautiful work that I now have plastered all over our condo walls! STUNNING! I still get goose bumps when I look at them! And I truly believe no other photographer would have been able to give me such incredible photos! Megan will always be our photographer and a close friend. Over a year later, she was one of the first people I went running to when I found out that my husband and I were expecting. Her happiness for us has been overwhelming and I continue to be blown away by her caring self. I seriously cannot rave about her enough!!
  • Halie
    Halie Sent on 09/26/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Megan took some honeymoon photos of my husband and I while we were exploring New Zealand. I am typically superrrr shy in front of the camera, but Megan's approach made me feel very comfortable. It felt like a close friend was photographing me. We did a sunrise session and my husband is NOT a morning person, but he said it was so worth it. Can't wait to have Megan photograph us again.
  • A
    Andrea Sent on 10/21/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Megan has been a dear friend of mine for quite some time.

    It's a strange line when you are hiring a friend to take your pictures so you can get a feel of them for your wedding photography. You never know how the end result will be or if your style will clash with theirs.

    Fortunately, Megan puts all nerves at ease with her effortless way of capturing couples and making them feel completely comfortable.

    From our engagement photos to our wedding photography, Megan wanted to make sure that we were comfortable and were going to get amazing shots. Megan is incredibly passionate about her work and it shows in her photography. She really takes the time to think about all of the shots and what the end product will be.

    If you are looking for a great photographer, please give Megan a call. Her work is beautiful and she is really easy to work with!
  • E
    Ezra Sent on 09/25/2017
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I am so thankful we had Megan for our day. Her and her second photographer went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable. She listened to our suggestions, gave us a list of kickass vendors to help our day run smoothly, and overall just helped tie any loose ends we found ourselves stumped on. We have so many photographs to choose from for our album. Thank you so much Megan + Jillian! You two captured us perfectly.

  • A
    Amanda Sent on 12/08/2014
    4.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I can't take credit for discovering Megan. My husband, Dan, did all the research for our wedding photographer because he is a photographer and a designer. When he showed me Megan's work, I immediately said: YES, let's sign her up. We met with Megan and I definitely felt at ease that she would be great to work with for the wedding. I was totally right because on my wedding day, Megan was a ROCK for me. I'm a pretty laid back easy going person, but as my timeline was not working our perfectly and we needed to speed things up to get to our first look photos, I started to stress out. My best friend was there to help me calm down, but as I got into my dress for photos and put on my lace jacket to walk out the door, a few buttons on my jacket popped off. I felt like I would melt down. We were already running late and now this happened. Megan took charge right away and said: Who has a needle and thread? My mom produced the goods and Megan went to town. She totally sewed me back into my lace jacket and in the process, she soothed my nerves. I feel like this is a bonus, because she takes such BEAUTIFUL GORGEOUS PHOTOS! Our wedding photos don't look like everyone else's photos. They show our souls. It may sound corny, but it's true. I can't recommend Megan enough. She's a petite ball of awesome fire who has true artistic talent.
  • L
    Lisa Sent on 10/04/2015
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I loved working with Megan & Josh! On the day of our wedding it was almost as if our good friends were photographing us, instead of one of those cheesy, stereotypical wedding photographers. We wanted our wedding photos to be creative, artistic and tell the story of our day and that is exactly what they provided. Each time we look at the collection of our wedding photos, it's almost as if we are watching a video of the day. For lack of better words, the pictures just seem like "us". Megan & Josh captured the raw emotion of not only my husband and I, but of the wedding party and guests as well. Some of our favorite photos are the natural and unstaged pictures of people laughing, crying, etc. We would recommend Megan and Josh to anyone looking for great photographers, and hopefully we will have the opportunity to work with them both in the future!
  • User2086456 Sent on 04/03/2015
    2.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      2.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      2.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    I hired Megan Saul Photography for my Fall wedding. My husband & I REALLY love Megan & Josh's artistic style and shot variety, but unfortunately I did not find this company easy to work with. Customer service was rough throughout the entire process. Megan was difficult to get in touch with and I felt like I had to work to keep things moving along. The most disheartening part of communication was that she would inconsistently communicate with me, but when I referred her to a friend she suddenly began reaching out to me consistently to find out if my friend was going to hire her. There was also many empty promises of communication during our contractual time (eg: 'I'll email you once all the photos have been uploaded," or 'I'll send you the tracking number for your package.') All of which never happened, causing me to either have to constantly check our uploading site or reach out to Megan again about the status of a shipment. Editing was also slightly disappointing. Lots of off-center family photos, pieces of hair in my face, dress flaws & missed background blunders. Sadly, my husband asked Megan if she had a 'final summary questionnaire' or preferred method of review and we never received a response. Overall, we are happy with the style & variety of our photos, but just felt that Megan Saul Photography did not value us as customers.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message