McGrath Clambakes & Catering Reviews

132 | Newport, RI
See photos, pricing and details

132 Reviews for McGrath Clambakes & Catering

Recommended by 100%

132
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0
132 McGrath Clambakes & Catering Reviews
Sort by:
  • M

    Mary Ann · Married on 07/22/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    McGrath Clambakes & Caterers were fantastic. They were patient and helpful during the planning of my event and the staff was friendly and professional at the party. Plus the food was delicious so everyone was happy. I whole heartedly recommend them and would happily use them again for future parties and events.

  • B

    BarbRa · Married on 06/23/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stacey and Mc Grath Clambakes did an outstanding job in every way possible. Wonderful to work with; always available to meet or talk; flexible regarding changes; very professional and and experts at what they do. I highly recommend Stacy and Mc Grath Clambakes!

  • N

    Nona · Married on 06/22/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    McGrath catered our rehearsal dinner for 60 people outdoors under a tent which we had to plan from out of state. We made many special requests for table settings, wine and beer and menu and all were responded to quickly and positively. Melissa McGrath helped coach us through many decisions..I would be embarrassed to count all the emails that I sent to her with new questions and thoughts over the 10 months of planning! Food was delicious and beautifully presented and service was always there and pleasant but never obtrusive. The site coordinator the day of the event seemed to know my questions and concerns before I could ask them! I would absolutely recommend them and I would trust their judgement on issues from wine to menu selections to service schedules, etc.

  • J

    joyce · Married on 06/08/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was perfect! The food was great and the staff was great! Stacy was so helpful , she made it all seem simple!

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 06/02/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved working with Stacy and the team at McGraths. They went the extra mile and made sure my husband and I had everything we needed. Highly reccomend this company.

  • K

    Katie · Married on 10/14/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Alexis was the most amazing caterer. She made us feel so at ease. She truly took care of everything and our family couldn’t do anything other than rave about her! She saved the day on more than one instance as our venue manager left immediately after the ceremony. Alexis picked up the slack and beyond. She took care of everything I truly can’t think of anything she missed or could’ve done better.

    Alexis, thank you for everything! You killed it!!

  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 09/30/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough about TR McGrath and the McGrath Clambakes team. I highly recommend their services to all looking for a full service caterer. Had them cater my daughters wedding in September. Each time we run into guest who were there we receive compliments on the service and food. Really makes you happy when others were as satisfied as we were.

  • D

    Donald T · Married on 09/23/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the privilege of having McGrath's cater our daughter's wedding celebration. They were attentive to every detail and very flexible. The food was outstanding and still talked about.

    McGrath Clambakes & Catering 1
    McGrath Clambakes & Catering 2
  • H

    Helen · Married on 09/09/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stacy was amazing! She really made the whole day come together. So much more than just a catering service and our guests say it was the best food at a wedding they have had!

  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 09/08/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We still are getting compliments about how good the food was at the wedding!!

  • A

    Ariel · Married on 08/19/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Alexis and McGrath's was wonderful! They let us customize our Rehearsal Dinner menu, were so flexible and friendly, and were just a genuine pleasure to work with! The food was delicious and the clambake reveal was a real highlight of our wedding weekend!

  • N

    Nick · Married on 08/11/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very flexible and responsive to requests on a short time frame. Day of event very attentive. In and out, took care of everything and the food was great. Everyone enjoyed it.

    Review wants a wedding date. It was not a wedding.

  • L

    Laura · Married on 07/28/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Alexis and her team were incredible! They went way above and beyond our expectations. We held a rehearsal/ welcome party for 180 and McGraths catered it flawlessly! Planning something that big ( especially from Denver) could not have been easier! And they’re a lot of fun too!! Thanks Alexis Radkovich!!❤️

  • K

    kurt · Married on 07/14/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a rather tight timeframe - 2 months to be exact - between when we first met with the McGrath team, to our wedding date. From the first phone conversation I was impressed with Stacy's enthusiasm, professionalism and willingness to accommodate our requests. She always offered options and suggestions that were consistent with our vision. The day of the wedding she worked with our decorations and her team to fully realize what we had envisioned. Following the ceremony she was always there with a drink, and appetizer or a smile ! We recommend the McGrath team without hesitation!

  • E

    Emily · Married on 10/15/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    McGrath's did an incredible clambake & family style catering for our October wedding in Jamestown. We wanted high quality food but an environment that still felt casual and fun, and that was exactly what McGrath's delivered. They did a wonderful explanation of the clambake to our guests which we really enjoyed. Because we chose not to do a wedding cake, the traditional "ringing of the bell" for the clambake unveiling served as a replacement for the cake cutting, in a way that was much more authentic to us (and more fun, in our opinion). Very professional staff & very flexible. Highly recommend!

  • J

    Joseph · Married on 10/01/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Could not be more pleased with McGrath. A totally professional operation that I highly recommend. There was not a component of their service, tent and tables, or food prep that was not top notch.

  • K

    Kevin · Married on 10/01/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing food, exceptional service!

  • K

    Kristen · Married on 10/01/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    McGrath Clambakes was an amazing vendor to work with. Very responsive to emails and phone calls and very willing to help make your day run smoothly. The food was incredible! I still have guests telling me it was the best food they have ever had at a wedding. I highly recommend McGrath Clambakes!

  • J

    James · Married on 09/30/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Extremely pleased, very professional, excellent service and food was delicious and wonderful! Got a lot of feedback after event how much everyone loved it! Strongly recommend, you won't be disappointed.

  • P

    Patricia · Married on 09/30/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you're looking for authenticity, great food, and warm, friendly service, McGrath's is for you! Don't even hesitate to work with them. Their prices are fair and reasonable, they can refer you to other vendors and venues if you need them, and are happy to provide great suggestions to ensure your event is great. As out-of-towners planning a destination wedding in Newport, McGrath's made everything easy. Have confidence in them! Your guests will thank you.

  • L

    Leslie · Married on 09/24/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The clambake was magical!! We hired McGrath Clambakes to cater the Friday night welcome dinner for our guests and it was a HUGE hit. Most of our guests had never been to Rhode Island, let alone a clambake, so this was a perfect way to welcome them the real New England way. The “reveal” was such a great experience—our guests thought it was incredible! And, the food was delicious! Of course, the lobster was amazing, but the clams, the mussels, even the BBQ chicken were fantastic, too.

    Allie was organized and responsive during the entire planning process, and was very willing to accommodate tweaks here or there to make the experience easy for us. And, TR was charasmatic and take-charge leading the team on the day-of. These guys really know what they’re doing, and they do an extraordinary job.

    Thank you to the whole team at McGrath Clambakes for making our event so much fun (and so delicious). We couldn’t imagine a better Friday night welcome dinner for our wedding weekend!
    - Leslie & Mike

  • L

    Lauren · Married on 09/16/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Don't use Wedding Planner Jaime Nelson... She is terrible!! Doesn't work for McGraths, she is independent. But recommended me to them, and McGraths is what saved my wedding from being a disaster. Jaime did not give the florist the correct amount of tables therefore cost me extra money in addition to her already outrageous fee for doing nothing!!

    All in all use McGrath's!! Don't use Jaime Nelson!

  • C

    Candace · Married on 09/04/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My advice is to speak with someone personally at McGrath - you'll really get the sense them about how much they care and can help you personalize your big day or event!

  • K

    kristine · Married on 08/27/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    McGrath's is above-and-beyond the BEST caterer and event professionals. I was an event planner for a $28 billion firm and felt completely at ease letting go of the reigns... and that is a big vote of confidence! Allie is a tremendous professional and she will make your day wonderful. Thank you, thank you to McGrath's for making our wedding fabulous for us and for our guests.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review