Weddings

McGrath Clambakes & Catering Reviews

McGrath Clambakes & Catering

McGrath Clambakes & Catering

Newport, RI
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 150 Reviews
View more information

150 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 150
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

24 User photos

Sort by:
  • Liza
    Liza T. Married on 06/20/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Exceptional service, communication, and flexibility. An authentic New England experience.

    You can't go wrong with McGrath. This is the second time we've used them and they are fantastic in every way: accommodating, communicative, and friendly. Not only do they know lobster and seafood, they also go out of their way to make your experience memorable.
  • Olivia
    Olivia N. Married on 04/09/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fantastic staff and delicious food

    McGrath's was such a pleasure to work with! Everything from choosing the menu, tweaking it to how we wanted, the staff the day of, and our coordinator were so fantastic and the process was stress-free. The food was delicious and our guests couldn't stop raving about their meal! The poached pear and walnut salad with goat cheese was a hit. I would absolutely recommend McGrath's to anyone in RI or the surrounding areas as their caterer!

    McGrath Clambakes & Catering's reply:

    Hi Olivia,
    It was such an honor to be a part of your big day with Eric! Thank you for your kind words.

    Cheers,
    Gillian
  • V
    Vanessa F. Married on 09/19/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wouldn’t of had it any other way!

    From planning during a crazy year, to the day of, McGraths was nothing short of professional, poised, happy, and overall a joy to work with. It was everything my husband and I could have imagined and more. They completely understood the vision and made it come to life.

    Every. Single. Guest. told us how great the food and service was - most saying it was the best food they’d ever had at an event/wedding!

    McGrath Clambakes & Catering's reply:

    Hi Vanessa,
    Thank you so much for your kind words! It was a pleasure to work with you and we are thrilled to hear that you and your guests enjoyed the night. It was a crazy planning process but we did it! We appreciate your patience and confidence in us to make this day a reality! We wish you all the best and congratulations!
  • Diana
    Diana E. Married on 09/11/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing team to work with!

    We decided on an intimate family dinner for our wedding and the McGrath team helped execute an amazing event from start to finish. They were full service from helping us figure out what tables where best to use in our space to brining everything on site (including heaters!) and helping with a back up rain plan. During the event we had incredible service and the food was amazing! I really loved working with this team!!

    McGrath Clambakes & Catering's reply:

    Good morning Diana! Thank you so much for taking time to send along these kind words. It was such a pleasure to work with you and your family. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the night. We wish you all the best. Stay well and congratulations!
  • Jennifer
    Jennifer E. Married on 06/19/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Awesome experience

    McGraths was so easy to work with while planning our wedding. Our guests are still raving about how amazing the food was. No one went home hungry. We were not able to have a bar due to COVID-19 guidelines but McGraths had servers that made sure every guest was taken care of. We would recommend them for any wedding or special event!!

    McGrath Clambakes & Catering's reply:

    Hi Jennifer,
    Thank you so much for your kind words! It was our pleasure to be apart of your special day. We're thrilled to hear that everyone had a great time. We wish you and Dan all the best - stay well! Cheers,
    Alexis Radkovich & Melissa McGrath
  • JennieD
    Jennie Married on 06/18/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We received so many compliments on both the food and service - McGrath was outstanding in both areas. Recommended highly! They helped make our New England wedding just that much more amazing.
  • Cori
    Cori M. Married on 09/21/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfection from start to finish.

    Alexis and the team were fantastic during the pre-planning, on-site, and final execution. Could NOT have imagined my day without them. The food was so delicious and we are still getting compliments on how great everything was! Thank you McGrath's!

    McGrath Clambakes & Catering's reply:

    Thank you so much Cori! It was a pleasure to help you along this journey. We with you both all the best. Enjoy the holiday season!
    ~Alexis
  • A
    Alayna Married on 08/10/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best wedding caterers in NE

    McGraths catered our wedding on 8-10-19. We went with the clam bake—served. Our guests loved the food and people are still telling us, four months later, that it was the best wedding food they’d ever had. The clam chowder station was also a big hit. Alexis and the other office staff were great. She made sure we could get what we wanted within our budget and ran the show on our wedding night. Mcgraths isn’t cheap but it also isn’t as expensive as I would have expected. We looked into other caterers, and many of them were charging the same prices as mcgraths (or charging more) for typical wedding food; ie not lobster. Our guests also loved the experience of hearing the chefs talk about the clambake and watching the opening of the clambake. It felt like an added experience.

    I couldn’t recommend them more.

    McGrath Clambakes & Catering's reply:

    Hi Alayna,
    Thank you so much for your kind words. We are thrilled to hear that you and your guests enjoyed the day. It was my pleasure to help you along this journey, it was an amazing night! We wish you and Jonathan all the best.
    Cheers,
    Alexis
  • S
    Susan L. Married on 07/19/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Spectacular Clambake Experience Beyond Expectations

    McGrath Clambakes exceeded all of our expectations for the rehearsal dinner of our son and his bride. Planned from 3000 miles away the dinner went off without a hitch. Guests were blown away by the reveal of the cooking process as well as the unbelievably delicious food. Of all our event planning for the evening, McGrath was truly the most wonderful to work with. Their communication and reassurance along with their professionalism and sincere kindness was 5 star! We recommend McGrath for any clambake plans you might have. You will be thrilled with the results and so will your guests!

    McGrath Clambakes & Catering's reply:

    Hi Susan and Louis,

    Thank you both so much for your kind words! It was such a pleasure to work with you both to kick off the big weekend for Nick and Allie. We're so happy you enjoyed the experience as much as we enjoyed providing it!

    - Gillian
  • A
    Aly P. Married on 06/15/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful people and delicious food

    Our guests raved about the food and experience of the clambake. The staff was unbelievably accommodating, friendly and professional. It was such a unique experience and added an element of fun that you don't typically get at a wedding. I could go on and on about McGrath!

    McGrath Clambakes & Catering's reply:

    Hi Aly,
    It was such an honor to be a part of your big day with Steve! Thank you for your kind words.
    -Gillian
  • K
    Kaelah Married on 06/08/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful Reception

    McGraths Clambakes & Catering went above & beyond our expectations for our outdoor reception. Everything (non-food related included) went off without a hitch thanks to McGraths (one of the caterers even helped fix our toddlers bow in her hair)! The food was delicious and people are still calling me to rave about it all, weeks later. We would highly recommend. Thank you, McGraths, for making our day spectacular!

    McGrath Clambakes & Catering's reply:

    Hi Kaelah,
    Thank you very much for your kind words. It was a pleasure to be a part of your day. We wish you and your family all the best!
    Enjoy the summer.
    Cheers,
    Alexis
  • FutureMrsPrescott
    Casey Married on 10/13/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    An Unparalleled Catering Experience

    Words can’t describe how grateful we are that we chose McGrath’s as our wedding caterer. They are simply amazing at what they do and the whole experience was perfection. Alexis helped craft exactly what I envisioned our wedding day to look and feel like and she helped me from losing my mind along the way. She tailored the menu to help us get the most for our money and make sure it was exactly what we wanted. She had fabric swatches mailed to our house to help choose linens and drew up floor plans to plan precisely how everything would be laid out. Alexis made sure that I was aware and confident in everything that was going on. When I ran into complications with our venue coordinator, Alexis immediately stepped up and offered to take over her responsibilities. I could not have asked for more in terms of personalized service and professionalism.

    Turning a museum into a wedding venue in a matter of hours is no small task, and McGrath’s did an unbelievable job. They set up all the props and signs we had dropped off at the venue, which freed up my mom to really enjoy the day. We had multiple guests arrive an hour early, guests switching tables at the last minute and guests who didn’t forewarn us about dietary restrictions. The team was able to roll with it like professionals. They truly went above and beyond. The presentation of the passed hors devours was beautiful, and there was more than enough to go around. The entree was seriously one of the best meals I’ve ever eaten and we still have guests telling us how impressed they were. The entire waitstaff was friendly, attentive and super efficient. At the end of the night they told us not to worry about anything and it was all ready for us to pick up in the morning. McGrath’s was so much better than we could have imagined, and we would hire them again in a heartbeat.
  • Christina
    Christina U. Married on 09/28/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fabulous Food and Guests LOVED It!

    Alexis helped us coordinate details every step of the way from menu selection to linen and tableware selection to venue set-up. She was incredibly patient with us and was readily available to meet with us as anytime in the office and even at the venue months beforehand. She offered suggestions to help us budget-wise and still provide a unique experience for our day...she even hooked us up with a fire-pit and cigar/whiskey bar which was a HUGE hit! Especially with the guests who weren't so into dancing but kept them feeling good and I swear that's why they stayed until the bitter end! Hahaha! Several guests left saying that it was the best wedding they've ever attended! The gentlemen setting up and cooking the clamebake were super personable and did a great job explaining their background and the process of cooking the food. And oh my god the lobster was the BEST lobster I've ever tasted! It was cooked peeerfectly.

    Overall, McGrath was able to offer a classy set-up but still provide that casual/fun/country vibe we were going for. It was top-notch, personalized service and my husband and I are incredibly grateful for all the work they put in for us. Thanks guys!!
  • M
    Mrg A. Married on 09/08/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best experience

    Gillian and the whole McGrath team was amaazing and went above our (high) expectations. They were easy-going and fun, but also extremely professional.

    McGrath Clambakes & Catering's reply:

    Madeleine! SO glad to hear you loved your experience with McGrath's. We had a wonderful time turning your family's space into your gorgeous wedding venue. All of our best to you and Andrew!
    -Gillian
  • Sarah
    Sarah T. Married on 09/08/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    McGrath is the best in the business!

    My experience working with McGrath was nothing short of perfect. They worked diligently with us in the months leading up to our wedding to craft an original menu that reflected exactly what we had always dreamed of serving at our wedding. They were incredibly creative and responsive throughout the entire process and the staff and service on the day of were flawless. I can't say enough good things about McGrath!
  • L
    Lisa Married on 08/04/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The clambake was what made our wedding so special and McGrath is simply the best!!

    If you are looking to have a clambake at your wedding, look no farther! McGrath’s sets the gold standard from start to finish. The presentation is amazing and the food is wonderful as well as all the support they give you through your entire planning process. Highly recommended!
  • M
    Mary A. Married on 07/22/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    McGrath Clambakes & Caterers were fantastic. They were patient and helpful during the planning of my event and the staff was friendly and professional at the party. Plus the food was delicious so everyone was happy. I whole heartedly recommend them and would happily use them again for future parties and events.
  • B
    Bailey Married on 07/02/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly recommended

    We used McGrath for two events, our wedding and a clambake! We had people from all over the world and every one kept on talking about how the food was amazing the next day! Alexis is extremely responsive and professional, we could not have asked for more!
  • B
    Barbra Married on 06/23/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Stacey and Mc Grath Clambakes did an outstanding job in every way possible. Wonderful to work with; always available to meet or talk; flexible regarding changes; very professional and and experts at what they do. I highly recommend Stacy and Mc Grath Clambakes!
  • N
    Nona Married on 06/22/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    McGrath catered our rehearsal dinner for 60 people outdoors under a tent which we had to plan from out of state. We made many special requests for table settings, wine and beer and menu and all were responded to quickly and positively. Melissa McGrath helped coach us through many decisions..I would be embarrassed to count all the emails that I sent to her with new questions and thoughts over the 10 months of planning! Food was delicious and beautifully presented and service was always there and pleasant but never obtrusive. The site coordinator the day of the event seemed to know my questions and concerns before I could ask them! I would absolutely recommend them and I would trust their judgement on issues from wine to menu selections to service schedules, etc.
  • J
    Jaime Event on: 06/12/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Everything was excellent!! Exceeded expectations.
  • J
    Joyce Married on 06/08/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    It was perfect! The food was great and the staff was great! Stacy was so helpful , she made it all seem simple!
  • S
    Sarah Married on 06/02/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Loved working with Stacy and the team at McGraths. They went the extra mile and made sure my husband and I had everything we needed. Highly reccomend this company.
  • K
    Katie Married on 10/14/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Alexis was the most amazing caterer. She made us feel so at ease. She truly took care of everything and our family couldn’t do anything other than rave about her! She saved the day on more than one instance as our venue manager left immediately after the ceremony. Alexis picked up the slack and beyond. She took care of everything I truly can’t think of anything she missed or could’ve done better.

    Alexis, thank you for everything! You killed it!!