McCormick Home Ranch Reviews

27 | Camarillo, CA
See photos, pricing and details

27 Reviews for McCormick Home Ranch

Recommended by 93%

27
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.5
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.5
Sort by:
  • Robin

    Robin · Married on 10/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were married here October 2016 and since the wedding everyone has said it was the most beautiful wedding they had ever been to - their words, not mine =). We had a small unassuming 110 guests and they truly brought the vision for our wedding to life! This was the only venue we seriously considered and we booked the venue in July 2015 for an October 2016 wedding. We hired the on-site Ranch Coordinator who happens to be Sally's daughter-in-law Becky McCormick and she left no detail unplanned throughout our wedding planning process. There are so many options for you to utilize to customize your wedding. The property has so many rustic nooks and crannies for the most amazing photos and visual delights for your guests to enjoy. With such a small guest count, we had our hearts set on a food station format to encourage mingling and noshing as opposed to a buffet or sit-down meal. Though they never had a request for this format before, they were delighted to work with us and did an excellent job planning the layout for the optimal reception experience. All in all, I placed my trust in the venue and their team and everyone, including my husband and I were blown away by the quality, attention to detail and the personal touches to make our big day special. Thank you McCormick! Cannot recommend you enough!

    Sent on 01/18/2017
  • Lindsey

    Lindsey · Married on 09/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    McCormick Home Ranch is a hidden gem. We had our wedding there in September and our guests are still talking about how much they loved the venue! It's full of natural beauty with an intimate feel. We had 150 guests with plenty of room for more. Sally is great to work with and was very responsive to any questions along the way of planning.

    Sent on 12/09/2016
  • User4975510 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding here in May of 2016 and absolutely love this venue. Sally the owner is very kind, friendly and responds to emails and phone calls in a timely manner. The home and surrounding areas (such as the garden, back patio, front lawn and barn) are all gorgeous and well maintained. The venue has a large changing room for the bride and her bridesmaids and the groom and groomsmen, which was great for storing the bridal parties items the day of the wedding. There are three distinct areas for the ceremony, cocktail hour and reception which was a nice feature. You can bring in your own alcohol as long as a licensed bar tender serves it and you can choose your own catering company. It is very hard to find a venue that allows you to do both of those things and in the end this will help you save a ton of money. The venue had a very reasonable site fee compared to other venues in the area. This place is a hidden gem and all of our guests were in awe of the beauty of the venue and they loved it. The venue is all outdoors and the restrooms are the "fancy portable toilets" that do flush and have sinks in them. I would highly reccomend this venue to any future bride or groom.

    Sent on 06/28/2016
  • A

    Anatasia · Married on 07/29/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    McCormick Ranch was the perfect location for our reception! It was absolutely beautiful, and it was great working with Sally.

    Sent on 08/04/2014
  • User2144188 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was beautiful and this venue was a major part of that. It was so nice to be able to have the venue all day so we weren't rushed to set up. The venue is also pretty affordable compared to similar type venues and it was really convenient to be able to do our rentals through Sally, she even has decoration type rentals which is nice so you don't have to buy things that you're never going to use again.

    Sent on 09/26/2013
  • Katy

    Katy · Married on 05/04/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sally, the owner and operator, was spectacular. She was very laid back and allowed us to visit the venue on numerous occasions with little notice. There are a million different ways to decorate the place and the way it ended up was better than we ever could have hoped. Sally has a huge amount of rentals to choose from, but was not pushy about any of them.

    We used the 4 strings of overhead lights, with the votives all around the place and it was incredibly romantic, almost magical. Sally is honest about everything she offers and won't try to oversell you.

    I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxed, romantic atmosphere, an affordable price and a semi-early event (the party is closed down at 11pm).

    A+++

    Sent on 05/21/2013
  • Lily

    Lily · Married on 03/30/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is a hidden gem in Ventura County. We had a great time working with Sally and her team. Everything was well-planned out. We had the ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception there on the grounds. There is ample parking, and a wonderful atmosphere. All of the tables, chairs and linens must be rented through them, which is not included in the rental of the venue.

    McCormick Ranch House made our wedding so memorable!

    Sent on 07/24/2013
  • Alisa

    Alisa · Married on 07/04/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was the BEST place to get married. It felt like home and it was so lovely. We had so many guests come up to us during and after our wedding and say how much they loved it and wished they could live there! It is a gorgeous setting and the perfect size and had such a warm welcoming celebratory vibe. Sally was so easy to work with and a terrific person as well--very down to earth! The Ranch itself is the perfect place for a wedding--it is so nice because it feels like yours for the wedding--no other weddings, etc. Sally was really flexible and it was wonderful to be able to come visit the ranch beforehand when we needed to to get a feel for the layout, etc. She was also extremely helpful. We also had our rehearsal there with no problems. She takes immaculate care of the gardens and grounds and it really shows. There are lots of lovely bonuses like the animals, flowers, avocado groves (which someone told us at our wedding is supposed to be good luck if you get married near avocado groves!) If you are looking for a rustic or country down home feel type of wedding this is definitely the place! It is such a treasure and we are so grateful that we were able to have or wedding here.

    Sent on 07/15/2010
  • User6207252 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    McCormick was the perfect venue for our special day. I would do it there again in a heartbeat. I recommend them to everyone I know.

    Sent on 01/14/2016
  • M

    Jazmin · Married on 04/16/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    This outdoor venue is absolutely beautiful. My husband and I are so glad that we chose to have our wedding here. There are different sections to have your ceremony, cocktail hour and reception. The ceremony area is surrounded by trees, roses, etc. which make for great pictures. Rentals are directly through her which could get a little pricey compared to other rental vendors but it is not that much more expensive to throw a fit over. The plus side is that you have the freedom to book the rest of your vendors that you want and not the venue's. Everything about this venue is gorgeous. I highly recommend it.

    Sent on 05/13/2016
  • B

    Brianna · Married on 09/02/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    A beautiful venue sets the tone for the whole wedding and this place is the perfect laid-back garden location.

    Sent on 10/02/2012
  • V

    Viviana · Married on 11/14/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding here a couple of weeks ago, and even though I have been to the location multiple times, including over the course of our wedding planning, the beauty of it never ceases to amaze me. There is not a more romantic, beautiful place to have your wedding. Sally was great and always answered my emails right away. The only downside is that it's a strict music off at 10:30 and lights out at 11 PM, but I think this is pretty standard for outdoor weddings.

    Sent on 12/11/2015
  • N

    Tiffany · Married on 09/11/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    This location is amazing! We did not need to have alot of decor or flowers because the owner ,Sally, keeps the grounds and flowers beautiful. It has alot of character and our guests loved the location and how easy it was to find. Sally is very helpful and does a great job. You really get what you pay for here.

    Sent on 09/29/2011
  • jeffandfabi

    Jeff · Married on 01/01/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had only a couple of months to plan and find a place and Sally had no problem committing only 3 months in advance. Her place is naturally beautiful and does not need a lot of additional decor. Her site is very organized as many weddings have been performed there and she offers a lot of optional equipment like tables, dance floor, etc.

    Sent on 10/01/2008
  • A

    Alexis · Married on 09/04/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    McCormick Home Ranch is a hidden gem. This is the thing everyone is still talking about after our wedding. I can not tell you how many people came up to me and asked where we found this venue because its so gorgeous. We were told it looked like a wedding straight out of Pinterest, and this is all thanks to McCormick's natural beauty and cute rentals that match the setting. I would 100% recommend hiring Becky McCormick through Red Door Events. She helped us pick the rentals we needed while keeping our costs down, and she was very flexible with us. The venue is so gorgeous on its own that you don't need much in the way of decorations. They were also one of the very few So Cal venues we found that would let us bring in any catering company and not just a preferred vendor. This was hugely important as we had a Kosher wedding and found it very hard to find outdoor venues that could accommodate that. There are a few drawbacks worth mentioning. First are the portable restrooms. They are pretty fancy, but still they are portable restrooms. Second is all of the gravel can make it difficult for elderly or disabled guest. We had issues with a few guests being able to get to the restrooms easily with all of the gravel (they do have a handicap restroom though). Lastly is that everything needs to be rented a la carte (nothing is included). This even includes a rental kitchen since this is an outdoor only venue. Overall though, we loved that we could customize this venue to exactly what we wanted and it was truly gorgeous. Sally was also a breeze to work with.

    Sent on 09/26/2016
  • A

    Abby · Married on 10/16/2011

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    The venue is absolutely beautiful. It is well maintained and does not require lots of decorations and flowers because of the natural beauty. Sally (owner) is great at going through every detail with you, and handles most of the rentals for you. She is incredibly flexible about the other details, like the catering, and was able to make last minute changes the week before the wedding for us. She is very responsive to emails and phone calls.
    The only downside is that because she does all of the rentals, you don't get all of the options or competitive prices that large rental companies offer. It's worth it though because she sets all of the tables, chairs, and linens up and takes them down at the end of the night.
    Overall this is an amazing place to get married!!!

    Sent on 11/01/2011
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 08/08/2009

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    McCormick Home Ranch is a beautiful venue for a wedding. Sally was responsive and her rentals and space use were very flexible. She allows you to customize your wedding with few rules and a lot of great advice. The gardens were perfect for pictures and we were able to obtain shots in many different locales including one with the farms pet sheep!! Setup of the rentals was completed on time even though I forgot to give Sally the seating chart until the day of the wedding!! Thank you McCormick Home Ranch for making my wedding wonderful.

    Sent on 08/21/2009
  • Megan

    Megan · Married on 06/18/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    McCormick Home Ranch is absolutely the most perfect venue for a wedding! We had our wedding here in June 2017, and it was beyond anything I could have ever imagined. We received so many compliments on how beautiful it was. Sally and Becky are friendly and easy to work with.

    Pros: Again, the most beautiful venue of all time. Secluded and private, so it feels like you wedding is in its own world. Lot's of parking. Easy access for vendors. Weather is always great in Camarillo.

    Cons: All outdoors - including bathrooms. The portable bathrooms are nice, but they are still portable bathrooms.

    Sent on 07/16/2017
  • P

    Ceri · Married on 09/16/2016

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Beautiful outdoor venue. Ceremony, cocktail hour and reception all have their own separate areas/gardens to take place in. The grounds are absolutely stunning! The house was built by their family, whom still lives in in to this day. They have a beautiful green barn that backs up to the picturesque mountainscape and lemon groves. Wonderful for pictures! There are subtle drops of light placed throughout all the trees within the venue, which add that perfect amount of romance. We are so excited to get married on this beautiful property and know it will create wonderful memories for years to come!

    Required to use their rentals, which is both a good and bad thing. It can get very pricey and you get nickel and dimed for everything. Even down to napkin folding at $1 per linen. They offer setup and clean up at $180, but that only includes major items rented (excludes linens).

    Sent on 04/04/2016
  • User2854414 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    This venue is absolutely gorgeous, and was the most affordable option for my fiance and I. There are jacaranda trees everywhere, fountains, streams, monkey trees, and rose bushes lining every walkway and filling up every spare corner. The house is an old-style Victorian estate, complete with an orchard, barn, and lots of quaint gardens. Sally (the owner) is a sweet woman who made sure everything I asked for was delivered on time the day of, and while she had some complications with her internet the week of my wedding, we were still able to communicate well enough to have the wedding come off beautifully!

    Sent on 07/11/2013
  • Christa

    Christa · Married on 06/11/2010

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We weren't completely sure everything would turn out as we wanted it to, since we felt somewhat pressured through most of the decisions. In the end however, everything was beautiful and couldn't have been more perfect. You can't beat the location of the Ranch and its charming gardens. We got married in mid-June and the jacaranda trees were dropping purple flowers through our reception and it was beautiful! Lighting was great (we rented string lights), and heaters were available. Restrooms (port-a-potties) were surprisingly clean, with mirrors and side tables next to them. We were wary on the number of guests that could fit during the ceremony, but all seemed to work perfectly. Sally can be hard to get ahold of sometimes, but at others she's free in the spur of the moment. Parking is great, and lighting is available where ever people are.

    Sent on 07/16/2010
  • J

    Jaclyn · Married on 05/01/2010

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    I LOVED this venue! Sally was a gem to work with and the day turned out magical. The gardens were lush and people could not get over the beauty of the location. You need to get your rentals and linens direct but everything else can be outside vendors which really allows you to play around with your budget. I highly recommend this place!

    Sent on 05/20/2010
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 08/01/2004

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    The setting at the home is lovely and set the perfect ambiance for our wedding. They were professional and and dependable. Everything went smoothly the day of the wedding.

    Sent on 08/30/2008
  • D

    Diane · Married on 11/05/2011

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    First off I must say that the venue itself is gorgeous! It feels like a dream. We saw the venue in the spring when everything was blooming and it was just breathtaking, like the secret garden or something! BUT when my wedding came around, the last of the season in November, the grass where the reception was taking place was COMPLETELY dead, I mean we were just on plain dirt. Granted we knew in the fall that the flowers were not gonna be blooming, the grass might not be as green as before, but this was literally night and day difference from what we originally had seen. So take that into consideration if booking in the fall. It still looked great there, the rest of the place was very well maintained so that helped but it would have been nice to have a heads up from Sally that the grass was gone. Other than that the venue LOOK was beautiful. the lanterns were hung in the trees as well as the lights that lit up at night, those are there year round. The reason I gave lower scores for some areas was because I didn't find Sally to be the most personable person to work with. I had seen such great reviews about her and I found her to be kinda brash and when discussing different options so we could cut some of the costs that we were incurring, she made me feel like I was being cheap when I was merely trying not to be wasteful. Sally doesn't allow any outside vendors for the linens/tables chairs etc. and they are significantly higher priced. Yes she sets these up at "no cost" but she makes up for it in the more than double what I found outside vendors to charge. And if you don't use the double chair option, meaning you have to move the chairs from ceremony to reception site, she doesn't have people that help with this unless there is an additional charge. We asked if we could start setting up a half hour earlier than 11:00am since my planner was the one placing all the details and decorations and would love just a head start if possible. She replied very shortly with: Set-up time starts at 11:00am. She took $5 out of our security deposit for an ice tub we had borrowed, which $5, obviously I don't care but it was more the fact she felt the need to mention it in our return of our deposit check that said that she had to make the deduction. The ice Sally had "delivered" (there was an ice machine on site) for nearly $100 was all dirty and not able to be used for drinks, my bartenders had to go to the grocery store and buy new ice for cocktails but I didn't ask for my $100 bucks back yet she chinced me for a measly $5 ice tub. The place again was gorgeous, and I would have the wedding there again but I would have liked to go in knowing the things I mentioned above so there were no surprises. The rest of the place was awesome, great photo ops. And I can see the good things about Sally also, she was nice enough to let us bring in our trailer since we had to bring items from very far away and my mother in-law had offered to make our linens as she is very good on the sewing machine and Sally actually allowed it. And not to mention everyone loved our wedding and had tons of fun. So there was more good than bad for sure but my experience was that Sally didn't have the best customer service.

    Sent on 01/24/2012
  • A

    Ariane · Married on 08/21/2011

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The place could not be more beautiful.....Sally (the owner) was slightly disorganized, but the end result was perfect. However, there was an airshow that took place the day of our wedding at the nearby airport (just down the road in fact) and she told us nothing about it. I did not expect her to know about this way in advance, but I am certain she would have know about it in the weeks prior to the event (its a yearly event) and she gave us no warning.

    Sent on 09/16/2011

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review