Skip to main content
Weddings

McCarthy Tents & Events Reviews

McCarthy Tents & Events

McCarthy Tents & Events

Rochester, NY
4.8 out of 5 rating, 54 Reviews
View more information

54 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 97% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.8 out of 5 rating

Awards

54
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

10 User photos

  • Adriana
    Adriana A. Married on 07/03/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Backyard Wedding Success

    McCarthys tents and events elevated my backyard wedding to look like a Pinterest dream! All of the staff were super helpful with all my questions and knowing what kind of look I was aiming to create. We rented a few large tents with bistro lighting and lanterns, farm tables, a dance floor/stage, and chiavari chairs. We also ended up renting the luxury mobile restrooms which were a huge hit with our guests! The team who came for setup were really awesome and helpful as well!
    **will upload photos when they are done!
  • S
    Susan T. Married on 05/22/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding Event

    McCarthy Tents is the place to go. Very helpful and professional. I am a mom who used them for our daughters wedding. They worked with me up until the day of the event. From the person who answers the phone to the guys that delivered, All were professional, courteous and kind. Can not recommend them enough
    Sue T
  • N
    Navpreet S. Married on 05/07/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Team!

    We booked McCarthy's to set up for both, our Wedding & Reception. They were willing to set up our tents 3-4 days in advance, which allowed our wedding planners more time to design the spaces. Furthermore, they ran out of pile wood, which was our choice of flooring for our Wedding; however, they upgraded the flooring to Grey Pickle wood, which is significantly more expensive, without extra charge. They have a VAST collection to pick from to create your very own venue and we greatly appreciated their hard work & generosity. Highly Recommend!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Steffi
    Steffi Married on 09/26/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    It was great

    Through all things pandemic and having to downsize our wedding from 120 guests to 55 guests we decided to splurge with gold Chiavari Chairs and two wine barrels for our wedding. When we postponed McCarthy Tents and Events were so helpful through the postponement process. They even told us they would work with us with whatever date we had chosen for our next date. They worked so well with our venue that we did not need to contact them on the day of our wedding and everything went so seamless.
  • User5308889 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best rental company in Rochester!

    We rented all our wedding weekend accoutrements with McCarthy and they were absolutely fabulous to work with. Beautiful, reasonably priced linens, tables and chairs. They were responsive, professional and flexible. When the forecast called for rain a few days before my outdoor wedding they worked with me to update my contract quickly, change all the seating, add tents and lighting, etc. I don't recommend that, but they had inventory available at the last minute due to covid, thank goodness! I especially enjoyed working with Jeff and Megan, who calmly handled my many questions and changes. I called the owner, Sean, after hours on his cell when we had a small hiccup with delivery and he could not have been more gracious and fixed the issue right away. The delivery crews were efficient and very nice, making sure I knew how to operate the lights, etc. This is a top notch team of pros. I would never use any other company in the Rochester area.

    McCarthy Tents & Events's reply:

    We are so happy you had an amazing wedding weekend! Thank you for having McCarthy Tents & Events be a small part in your special day. Congratulations!!
  • Hannah
    Hannah Married on 10/12/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Bistro Lighting Ambiance

    I went to McCarthy Tents & Events to add bistro lighting for a little ambiance under the reception tent and they did not disappoint! Their lights gave the extra oomph the tent needed to have that romantic ambiance you want for a wedding :) The entire staff was friendly and easy to get in touch with, and the person installing the lights sent me pictures to make sure it was what I envisioned!
  • Olivia
    Olivia Married on 09/21/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great customer service, amazing products!

    McCarthy Tents & Events was so wonderful to work with :) We rented out dance floor and chairs from them and they were absolutely fantastic!
  • Magdalene
    Maggie Married on 07/27/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    They had exactly what I envisioned for the chairs!

    We rented chairs from here. They were gorgeous, set up perfectly, and delivered in a timely manner to our venue.
  • P
    Pam T. Married on 06/22/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Our Beautiful Wedding!

    My daughter's wedding was spectacular, thanks in part to McCarthy! All went well, starting with the weather. McCarthy's wonderful crew set up the tents in the POURING RAIN 2 days in advance. It kept the ground underneath somewhat drier, and thus was completely dry by Saturday.

    The service was awesome - the staff always provided prompt answers to my many questions over 6 months, and had great flexibility near the end with my additions and subtractions. I was quite impressed with how spacious the 40'x100' tent was with 200+ people inside it! I highly recommend McCarthy's for any event!

    Thank you for everything!!!
  • Pauleen
    Pauleen Married on 03/02/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Rental Company In Rochester!

    I have worked with McCarthy on countless weddings and events. As an event planner, they are my go to rental company! We have done small linen orders to full wedding tents with all the fixings. They always deliver great products! When getting linens from McCarthy, they are always clean - which is not the case with every rental company. When using them for a tent, I always trust their team to do a great job with professionalism. And the in office staff is truly wonderful, always answering the many many questions I have on behalf of my clients. Thank you for all that you do Team McCarthy!

    McCarthy Tents & Events's reply:

    Thank YOU, Pauline - for your continued trust & partnership! We take our relationship seriously, and greatly appreciate your loyalty and praise!
  • J
    Jacquie Married on 09/08/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Working with McCarthy Tents & Events was an actual dream. Their team was magnificent to work with leading up to the event and on site. The structure they created was truly everything the bride and groom dreamed of. It was a wonderful experience working with them and we are so thankful for the part they played in the big day!

    McCarthy Tents & Events's reply:

    Awesome!!!! Thank you so much for your review. We work hard to wow you and your guests, and want nothing more than your 100% satisfaction!
  • T
    Tim Married on 07/07/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The team showed up earlier than expected to set everything up, which was a blessing. The men who did the tent setup were extremely attentive, smart, and professional and did their best to make sure everything was in keeping with our wishes for our wedding. The quality of the equipment was top notch, and everything was clean and neat, no stains or damage on the white tent, wedding-ready.

    We had a lot on our plate getting ready for this day, and McCarthy Tent & Event made our planning MUCH easier, couldn't have done it otherwise!
  • paigeyellen
    Paige Married on 07/07/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    McCarthy saved the day a couple of times when our items didn't arrive from other rental companies. Their staff are cheerful and professional and they have a reasonable selection!
  • R
    Ruth Married on 09/09/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The team at McCarthy Tents and Events really helped us out of a pinch when I mistakenly cancelled my ordered for a very large Car Show for our dealership (Van Bortel Chevrolet).
    They procured a tent, tables, chairs, popcorn machine all the day before the event and had their delivery team installing at 6:30 am that day!
    Thank you McCarthy Tents and Events for saving our Car Show!
    You guys are the best!
    Ruth Perrin

    McCarthy Tents & Events's reply:

    Thank you so much for this thoughtful review!!! We'd be your knights in shining armor any day! Thank you for your business.
  • G
    Gillian Married on 08/04/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great products and super helpful staff!

    We rented catering equipment, chairs and flatware from McCarthy for a July 2018 wedding and were thrilled with their services, and the quality of the items we rented. This is a very well-run, organized, and upstanding company to work with! Whenever we called, each person we spoke to was knowledgeable, patient, and helpful. The team allowed us to make changes to our order right up to the last minute, and were super responsive. We'd happily work with them again anytime!
  • Lori
    Lori Married on 07/02/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I used McCarthy for last minute outdoor ceremony chairs recommended by Gala Parties Inc who was doing my inside work. I am glad I took the recommendation as my guests ended up waiting a long time for my arrival. Service, quality and price were exceptional.

    McCarthy Tents & Events's reply:

    Thank you, Lori! We hope to have the opportunity to serve you and your family again! Congratulations!
  • A
    Ashley Married on 09/09/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I had an open air reception at my wedding a couple weeks ago with lighting done by McCarthy Tents. They did a fantastic job!! I can not say enough great things about how easy and fun it was to work with Mike. He checked in with me frequently and was ALWAYS available when I wanted to talk about plans or make changes. I also rented linens from them and they were perfect. Every part about working with McCarthy Tents was flawless. Highly recommend for all the brides out there who need someone to complete their vision!!

    McCarthy Tents & Events's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind and thoughtful review, but most of all, for your business! Please spread the word among friends as we try to build our Buffalo market up, Up, UP!
  • G
    Gary Married on 08/20/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    McCarthy Tents went way beyond what we expected to ensure the day went off without a hitch. Spent several hours with us when unexpected power problems arose. Can't thank them enough. And their tents are beautiful.

    McCarthy Tents & Events's reply:

    Thanks so much for the 5 star review, Gary! It's rare to see a male review, and we appreciate to taking the time to weigh in on our service. We have built this company from the ground up on the most solid values and principles we know, and it's always the greatest joy to hear that effort is being noticed. Thank you.
  • S
    Susan Married on 08/13/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had a few hiccups in our day (we chose a very popular weekend to get married!), however when it was brought to the owners attention he was very professional and prompt in addressing our concerns.

    McCarthy Tents & Events's reply:

    Thank you for the 5-star review, Susan! Every project has its inevitable challenges and hiccups, but we will NEVER leave a client high and dry... we always see the job through and everything always works out for the best in the end. You're the perfect example of that, and I greatly appreciate you shedding light on this in your review!
  • S
    Sarah Married on 06/25/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I connected with Mike from the Buffalo location to plan ALL of our rentals (tent, tables, chairs, lights, linens, dishware, ovens, grills, etc) for our backyard wedding and couldn't have been happier with the level of service I received from him and his team.

    Given that I was planning it from a distance I was so appreciative of the responsiveness and the amount of time that McCarthy's spent making sure I understood everything and that there were no surprises along the way.

    I had such a great experience with them that I recommended them to my cousin getting married in the Rochester area and she had nothing but positive things to say as well.

    With all the moving pieces to coordinate for an outdoor wedding, do yourself a favor and let McCarthy'a handle the rentals, they are simply the BEST!

    McCarthy Tents & Events's reply:

    Sarah, thank you so much for this awesome review of our service and dedication in both Buffalo and Rochester! It's SO refreshing when a customer recognizes all that goes into us pulling off 5-star events and making it look easy. You're right, there are literally hundreds of moving parts and logistics. But NONE of that is for our customers to worry about! McCarthy brides can sit back and relax and know they're in GREAT hands!
  • J
    Jillian Married on 01/23/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I recently worked with McCarthy Tents and Events for our Jan wedding and were absolutely blown away by Sean and his team. The space we had our wedding in was rather unique (Gro Moore Farms Greenhouse) and required a lot more work than originally planned and we also ran into a few unforeseen issues with power onsite, but that didn't stop McCarthy from delivering an outstanding level of service. The guys at McCarthy were attentive, responsive, and professional throughout the entire process and stuck with us until everything was perfect! Their product truly helped transform an industrial and somewhat ugly space into an absolutely stunning wedding!! Sean himself even came onsite at 7:30 am on our wedding day to help fix an issue. Our wedding was a dream come true and we couldn't have done it without the help of McCarthy Tents and Events. I will without a doubt recommend them to all my family and friends for all their rental and party planning needs!

    McCarthy Tents & Events's reply:

    Jillian this brings a tear to our eye! Thank you so much. It was an honor to serve you and your family, and another local small business! It's always fun (and very challenging) to transform new spaces, especially indoors, and your project was such a cool example of love and creativity and dedication in action! Thank you so much or entrusting McCarthy Tents & Events with this most special occasion for you and your family. We hope to serve you again.
  • User2607335 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We use McCarthy's for most of our events. They're always very flexible and quick to getting back to you. I highly recommend McCarthy's.

    McCarthy Tents & Events's reply:

    Thank you so much! Responsiveness is one of our key differentiating features. You can always expect very prompt (same day or sooner most of the time) from our team. We know you are exciting about planning, and we are too! Thank you for your business!
  • L
    Lisa M. Married on 08/29/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I really can't say enough good things about McCarthy Tents and Events. As a wedding planner, I am looking for partners that are great at what they do. McCarthy Tents and Events is a fantastic rental company. They have the inventory and the knowledge to make any ceremony or reception area stunning, no matter what challenges the space presents. They are responsive and proactive. I love working with this team and can't recommend them enough.

    McCarthy Tents & Events's reply:

    Thank you so much, Lisa. You're amazing to work with too!
  • C
    Cassandra Married on 07/18/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I scoured through the phone book looking for ceremony chair and arch rentals with availability on our wedding day. After calling and visiting several event rental companies, we finally stumbled upon McCarthy Tents & Events. They had everything we needed, and at an affordable price. We booked immediately that day and were very impressed with their set up and tear down. Thanks!

    McCarthy Tents & Events's reply:

    Well I'm sorry it took so long for you to find us, but we are sure glad you did! We hope to serve your family again in the future. Thank you very much for your business, and for taking the time to write a kind review.
  • K
    Kelly Married on 05/23/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We rented some flatware for our wedding. It really added to the whole day. McCarthy Tents and Events was easy to work with--no fuss! Did not have to worry about delivery/pick-up, etc. Everything went smoothly. Would recommend them to anyone (I already have!) and will use them again in the future!

    McCarthy Tents & Events's reply:

    Kelly, thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review, and, more importantly, for your business! We look forward to serving you and your family again in the future. We can so many exciting new products to share!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message