Mayfair Jewelers Reviews

24 | Latham, NY
See photos, pricing and details

24 Reviews for Mayfair Jewelers

Recommended by 88% of couples

4.4 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.3
  • Professionalism 4.3
  • Flexibility 4.5
  • Value 4.3
  • Average response time 4.4

Awards

24

5 User photos

Order by:
  • Tarra

    Tarra · Married on 10/25/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    October 25, 2019

    Mayfair was amazing through the entire wedding process. From helping us pick out engagement rings (together and separately), and then wedding bands, everyone there was extremely helpful! Thank you! We can’t wait to wear these rings for years to come!

    Sent on 10/28/2019
  • Sarah

    Sarah · Married on 08/24/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly recommend

    We love the pieces that Mayfair in Scotia made for us. John was truly a pleasure to work with!

    Sent on 11/14/2019

    Mayfair Jewelers's reply:

    Thank you Sarah! We love making beautiful jewelry for our wonderful friends. It is exciting to combine the art of design and the technical skill to execute the design. We are blessed to have creative and highly skilled jewelers and designers.
  • J

    Julie · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    professional, knowledgeable, beautiful selection

    We worked with Dave at Mayfair Jewelers in Latham, NY to select our wedding ring sets. All of the people at Mayfair are welcoming professionals who have a wealth of knowledge and an amazing selection of styles and designers. Dave helped us find rings we will love forever.

    Sent on 10/29/2018
  • K

    Kelsey · Married on 04/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My fiancé and I were referred to John at Mayfair Jewelers in Scotia, NY by my fiance's boss, an former classmate of Jon's. My fiancé had bought me a beautiful engagement ring through a different jeweler and we were having trouble finding a wedding band that would complement it and still be practical for me to wear in my profession as a registered nurse. John was extremely professional and took the time to talk to me about ring designs I liked and disliked and to look at pictures of engraved bands that I had brought with me. He came up with the idea of a gently curved band that could be worn with my engagement ring or by itself, and he even sketched a leaf pattern that could be engraved onto the tiny band. John also helped my fiancé (who had not liked any ring designs up to that point) find a simple platinum band at a very fair price. The turnover time was remarkable...my fiance's ring was ready two weeks later and my ring was done within a month, and John even resized my engagement ring and engraved the inside of my fiance's band as part of our service. My new husband and I were thankful to have such lovely wedding bands to exchange on our wedding day and we will always be grateful to John and the Mayfair Jewelers' staff for treating us with such care and attention to detail.

    Sent on 05/25/2016
  • M

    Molly · Married on 12/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't even begin to express my happiness that I was referred to Mayfair to have some custom work done on my ring. I worked with Chris in the Glenville location. He is the most patient, professional and thoughtful jeweler I have ever worked with. He worked with me to figure out an option for my ring to secure the stone and also keep the integrity of the original piece. It turned out better than I ever could have imagined, and at a price anyone could afford. I will go to Chris and Mayfair for any custom work I need done in the future for sure. Thanks again for the wonderful professional service you provide to our area.

    Sent on 06/01/2016
  • Hannah

    Hannah · Married on 08/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mayfair Jewelers is absolutely fantastic!! My fiance and mom had a wonderful experience picking out my engagement ring here. They had no problem with me coming back to get my ring sized down after he had proposed. We also chose my wedding band here and they gave us a nice discount because we had also bought the engagement ring here. They allowed us to make a down payment on the ring, and continue to pay it off until the wedding. We always just stop in to make a payment which is really awesome. They always offer to clean my rings which is really nice. We get everything here now! They make us feel so welcome and are always accommodating to all of our needs. I would definitely suggest for anyone to come here. Local businesses are the best to work with!! :)

    Sent on 08/22/2014
  • User4090427 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This review is written for the Scotia store. John, Caroline and their ring maker at the Scotia store custom made my fiancee wedding band. They also repaired and improved my Grandmother's engagement ring, which i gave my fiancee in August of 2013.

    The engagement ring was worn by my grandmother for 49 years and 11 months. The repairs and improvements they made to the ring, made it look bran-new and more brilliant than ever. It was redone in 14k white gold. I'm still at a loss of words for how good these people were to us. John and his team of professionals also designed a beautiful alternating sapphire and diamond channel wedding band in 14k white gold for my fiancee, far above our expectations. The Mayfair ring maker who produced the wedding band is nothing less than a master craftsman and artist.

    I work in the U.S. Foreign Service as a Diplomat and have had dealing with jewelers from around the world and across the United States. Mayfair jewelers work is high quality, their prices are very reasonable, they are professional, punctual and their final products are worth every penny.

    Mayfair will make your dreams true... Thank you.

    Sent on 05/08/2014
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 06/07/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They designed my gorgeous engagement ring and then made my wedding band and my husband's band. They are gorgeous and sparkly and I love them!

    Sent on 07/14/2013
  • B

    Bethany · Married on 08/26/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had my engagement ring made, using diamonds from his mother's ring. They cut us a great deal and did a fantastic job on the ring. It is a beautiful ring. So we had my wedding band custom made there also. Again, they did a wonderful job. I'm very satisfied. Thank you!!

    Sent on 09/14/2012
  • E

    Brian · Married on 09/03/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Purchased engagement ring and wedding rings from the Mayfair store in Latham. We now shop there for all of our jewelry.

    Sent on 10/23/2011
  • J

    Joann · Married on 06/25/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I love Mayfair Jewelers!!! If it wasn't for them I wouldn't have such a beautiful ring. The staff are all wonderful but I mainly dealt with Victor (one of the owners), Amy, and Jennifer, but no matter who u go with u can't go wrong they are all great :) The quality and beauty of their merchandise is phenomenal. I would recommend Mayfair Jewelers to everyone!!!

    Sent on 07/26/2011
  • Julie

    Julie · Married on 09/18/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with John one of the owners and he was just great. My husband purchased my engagement band with Mayfair and we went back for my wedding band. My father also purchased his wife's engagment at Mayfair after our great experience.

    Sent on 07/20/2011
  • S

    Carolyn · Married on 10/17/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful to work with...very creative! They made my wedding band custom and it is beautiful! It matches perfectly and they were wonderful and professional!

    Sent on 11/03/2009
  • J

    Jamie · event on: 12/17/1999

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The service my husband and I received from Mayfair and the quality of my engagement ring and our wedding rings is stellar! Over almost 14 years, we have had no problems with our jewelry. We are so pleased to have "our jewelry store" despite being a military family and moving frequently.

    Sent on 09/24/2013
  • E

    Erin · Married on 07/08/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    This review is for the Scotia store- Chris designed and made our engagement ring from my grandmother's ring. He was so sweet and willing to make any changes we asked for. He also was very patient in explaining things about jewelry to us (we are very far from being experts). We also had a lot of time to dedicate to this task, as we were in no rush, but I would say everyone should be flexible if you are going there during busy times. It was a very personal experience though, and Chris texted me pictures when he had completed each step. The only less than perfect experience we had is when we showed up for an appointment and he had forgotten to tell us that he wasn't ready (we had driven half an hour from Albany). It was an honest mistake though, and I would still highly recommend this store to anyone looking for a personal experience.

    Sent on 12/14/2015
  • S

    Sara · Married on 09/04/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Before being engaged, my then-boyfriend and I looked around at various jewelers to get an idea for what I liked. Mayfair had an amazing selection (both at their Scotia & Latham locations). We picked out a ring at the Latham location and brough it to Scotia to meet with their jewelry designer. My boyfriend worked with the designer in changing a few things on the ring to his liking. He says they were very helpful and provided excellent service. Needless to say, the engagement ring was BEAUTIFUL!! They were very helpful with anything I needed. I also had them custom design a wedding band to match my engagement ring and they by far exceeded our expectations! The work was shown to us along each step of the process to make sure we liked it before they continued. The price was very reasonable. I can't say enough positive things about their work!! The wedding band and the engagement ring fit perfectly together and I couldn't be happier!! Their service is one of a kind! I definitely recommend checking them out for any jewelry needs!

    Sent on 09/26/2010
  • A

    Audrey · Married on 10/08/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    My review is written mainly for the Scotia location...as my experience was best there. My husband and I worked with Chris (jewelery designer - based in the Scotia location) for both my engagement ring and our wedding bands -- all three were custom made.

    Chris was EXCELLENT - he called to keep us up-to-date on the progress of our wedding bands, met with us several times to make sure we were on the same page with our design ideas, and has since polished our rings and fixed any little imperfections (from wear and tear) since we have gotten married. Even in the initial design phase when we had questions, he was ready with several answers/options and helped us make the best decision on our bands. Any time I walked in to the store he would wave hello and come to see if I needed any help with the ring/bands. He has remembered my name each time - what wonderful customer service!!

    Our wedding bands were a great value, especially considering the price of gold currently. I would not hesitate to return to Mayfair again for any other jewelry I'd be interested in purchasing.

    A note to future brides: If you are thinking of going the custom-band/e-ring route, I would visit the Scotia location so you can meet directly with Chris. He is the jewelry store's single designer -- when we first started at the Latham location, we had a lot of difficulty communicating with our salesperson and things fell (initially) behind schedule. Chris himself is prompt and professional - a top notch jeweler.

    Sent on 10/11/2011
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 05/21/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We brought in some other jewelery to help with the cost of the ring, along with my mother in law's engagement ring to take the diamond out of and put into the engagement ring we were creating. The woman we worked with was amazing, drew up exactly what we were looking for, talked about what kind of gems we would like in the ring and put all the information together. We were put completely at ease, and they worked with us so well. Put a down payment down, along with the credit for the jewelery we had brought in, and ordered the ring on the spot. The custom ring was ready 4 days earlier than they estimated, great customer service, and a wonderful family run company!

    Sent on 05/21/2014
  • P

    Paola · Married on 01/26/2008

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got my husband's ring there and they did a beautiful job!!!

    Sent on 05/19/2008
  • User2648395 · 2+ years ago

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    I am writing my review based on the overall experience at Mayfair Jewelers. However, if I was basing my experience on working with Chris at the Glenville store - I would give him a perfect rating of 5.0/5.0. Chris created a custom wedding band for me that is absolutely beautiful and exactly what I wanted. He was an absolutely pleasure to work with and I truly cannot say enough nice things about him! Speaking in terms of the rest of my experience at Mayfair's Glenville store, it was less than ideal. I felt that the staff was very "snooty" and I was talked down to on numerous occasions of going there. I was disappointed since I did give them a good deal of business. I would hope that all staff would learn how to treat all of their clients with respect.

    Sent on 09/10/2012
  • A

    Alise · Married on 09/13/2019

    3.0
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Adequate jewler

    At first it was all good. Then we received a call that we were over charged and that we had a credit on our account . Then we went to use the credit and there was no communication about this credit. The inside of the store is EXTREMELY DATED. It's hard to tell if the employees are angry at me or at their job. We ended up spending an average amount on rings. I don't know that we will be back.

    Sent on 10/10/2019

    Mayfair Jewelers's reply:

    So sorry about your experience. Did we resolve the credit? I really appreciate the feed back and I am mostly concerned that our people did not seem happy and motivated. I would happily discuss any concerns you may still have and again sorry we did not do an excellent job for you. Sincerely, Jon
  • E

    Erin · Married on 06/21/2013

    2.2
    • Quality of service:
      1.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    Their jewelry is beautiful, but the customer service is sub-par at best. The two brothers who own the place (Victor & John) are both great, as is their custom jewelry designer (Chris), but I am consistently disappointed by the female staff members. I am very rarely greeted by them when I enter the store. When leaving, I never hear a "thank you" or "have a nice day." One day, I left work early so I could show up ten minutes before closing to pick up my ring (which we had resized); Chris called me earlier that day to tell me it was ready, and gave me their hours for the day. I was first ignored as I stood in the doorway, and then greeted by another woman with a stern "Sorry, we're closing" and told to come back another time. Another time, when looking at wedding bands, I mentioned that my engagement ring was custom designed by Chris, and we'd be interested in having him do our wedding bands as well. For some reason, she started to question me about my ring ("Are you sure it was designed here? He may have just selected it from our case"), as if she didn't believe me. They have some wonderful jewelry and great talent, but I often feel as though I'm not worth their time. For the product, I recommend Mayfair. For the service, I don't.

    Sent on 06/24/2013
  • User2755060 · 2+ years ago

    1.6
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.5
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    Avoid! Usually I love to support local mom and pop shops but this one is really not worth it. My fiance presented me with a beautiful ring that he had custom made/designed at the Glenville store. Not long after I got it did the stone begin to rattle in the setting. We brought it in and they tightened it up. That same day it was loose again! We brought it to the store a second time and they told me that "all stone eventually come loose" and I "shouldn't worry because it absolutely will not fall out." I am no diamond expert but that doesn't seem logical so I brought it to the jeweler my parents use for another opinion. After inspection the jeweler indicated the setting needed to either be replaced completely or undergo serious modifications. The people at Mayfair should have known the setting they sold my fiance would not properly hold that size and cut of diamond. Mayfair is not worth the time or hassle.

    Sent on 11/05/2012
  • User3905806 · event on: 02/01/2014

    0.6
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      1.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Buyer beware. Professionalism way lacking. Rude. To state in writing that a client is "dumb" and "stupid" is a first grade mannerism not a store looking for business.

    Sent on 02/15/2014