Massachusetts Justice of the Peace Stoddard H. Melhado Reviews

383 | Littleton, MA
See photos, pricing and details

383 Reviews for Massachusetts Justice of the Peace Stoddard H. Melhado

Recommended by 100%

383
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

34 User photos

Massachusetts Justice of the Peace Stoddard H. Melhado 1
Massachusetts Justice of the Peace Stoddard H. Melhado 2
Massachusetts Justice of the Peace Stoddard H. Melhado 3
Massachusetts Justice of the Peace Stoddard H. Melhado 4
Massachusetts Justice of the Peace Stoddard H. Melhado 5
Massachusetts Justice of the Peace Stoddard H. Melhado 6
Massachusetts Justice of the Peace Stoddard H. Melhado 7
+ 28
Sort by:
  • Adriana

    Adriana · Married on 07/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stoddard was the perfect choice to officiant our intimate ceremony! We met with Stoddard at his lovely home, where he took the time to get to know us and what we wanted out of our marriage ceremony. We were able to customize all the readings and vows to fit our unique relationship and vision for our day. Stoddard guided us as we wrote our vows separately and made sure to keep them a secret until the day of the ceremony. He brings his own microphone and speaker system, which guaranteed all our guests heard every word of our ceremony - the best part was that he read our vows to us quietly as we spoke into the microphone! No memorization on our parts and it allowed appropriate pauses so our guests could really absorb each vow! Many guests came up to us and told us how different and special this was, and our photographer appreciated capturing our faces sans note-cards. We loved having Stoddard a part of our day and are so thankful he created a warm, intimate environment for us as we became husband and wife.

    Sent on 09/10/2018
    Massachusetts Justice of the Peace Stoddard H. Melhado 8
    Massachusetts Justice of the Peace Stoddard H. Melhado 9
    Massachusetts Justice of the Peace Stoddard H. Melhado 10
    Massachusetts Justice of the Peace Stoddard H. Melhado 11
  • Whitney

    Whitney · Married on 07/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A wonderful experience with an attentive and caring officiant

    If you are looking for a wedding officiant who truly cares about your love story, wants to get to know your personalities and is willing to put great time and effort into creating a ceremony that will suit you perfectly; you’ve found that in Stoddard Melhado. When we first started planning our wedding (we were married at The Barn at Gibbet Hill in July 2018) one of the first vendors we looked into was an officiant. Stoddard stood out to us when browsing online because he seemed very detail oriented and was also willing to do the ceremony any way that a couple wanted. We were the first of our friends to get married and neither of us had been to many weddings in the past, so we felt pretty clueless on what we wanted in the ceremony and didn’t even really know what included/ what order things would be happening. When we reached out to Stoddard he responded quickly with details on his services and pricing and told us that the first step in the process would be to have a meeting at his house so that he could get to know the two of us and learn about what we wanted the ceremony to be like. During the meeting, Stoddard walked us through the entire timeline and was patient and informative, taking time to answer all our questions and explain all the options we had in different ways to go about the ceremony. He also asked lots of questions about who we are as people, as a couple and what our love story has been like. By the end of the meeting we felt he really understood us and what we were looking for and were excited to hear what he would put together for us. He communicated wonderfully throughout the planning process and sent us drafts of the ceremony as well as sample vows and passages that we could include if we wanted. We felt involved in each decision and could tell how much he cared about the words having a personal touch. During the actual ceremony we were blown away by how beautiful everything he had to say was, especially the preface that he began with. He starts by talking about who you are as a couple and the road you have travelled to get to this place (of getting married!). His speech was hilarious and also very touching. Both us and our guests were moved by it, and it was especially exciting because we had not been able to hear that part of the ceremony until the wedding day! Stoddard made the ceremony better than we ever imagined it would be, and you definitely will not be disappointed if you decide to use him as your officiant.

    Sent on 10/24/2018
    Massachusetts Justice of the Peace Stoddard H. Melhado 12
    Massachusetts Justice of the Peace Stoddard H. Melhado 13
    Massachusetts Justice of the Peace Stoddard H. Melhado 14
    Massachusetts Justice of the Peace Stoddard H. Melhado 15
    Massachusetts Justice of the Peace Stoddard H. Melhado 16
    Massachusetts Justice of the Peace Stoddard H. Melhado 17
    Massachusetts Justice of the Peace Stoddard H. Melhado 18
  • M

    mark · Married on 07/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stoddard was the absolute best! He took the time to answer all our questions and walked us through the process step by step. The day of the wedding he was a complete professional and really helped us keep our cool. I couldn't recommend him enough.

    Sent on 07/15/2018
  • M

    Mark · Married on 07/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stoddard was amazing. From the start of the process, Stoddard took the time to answer all our questions and walk us through the ceremony process. On the day of the wedding he kept us organized and made us feel comfortable and confident through every step. He did a fantastic job, he’s a real pro!

    Sent on 07/27/2018
  • K

    Kathryn · Married on 06/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stoddard was an absolute pleasure to work with! He made sure to make our ceremony about us and our story. As we were building our ceremony Stoddard was so helpful offering ideas and suggestions to help us create something perfect for us! During our reception so many of our friends and family commented on how perfect they thought it was. If you are looking for a Justice of the Peace, look no further!

    Sent on 07/27/2018
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 06/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stoddard was amazing. From our first instance in meeting him in person, to our rehearsal at the venue, to the moments before walking down the isle he was always caring, prompt and prepared. He made our ceremony so special for us and all of our guests. He's a class act, Look no further!

    Sent on 07/02/2018
  • Sam

    Sam · Married on 06/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stoddard was a pleasure to work with! He really went above and beyond to make sure that our ceremony was exactly what we wanted. I loved that he did a little story of our relationship and engagement. It felt very personal and special. He was very helpful and understanding of what we wanted to include in our ceremony. I would highly recommend Stoddard to help make your ceremony so special.

    Sent on 07/11/2018
  • E

    Ericka · Married on 06/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were married by Stoddard in June 2018 and we are so happy we chose him! We met with a few JP's in the area which were all good, but once we met with Stoddard we knew we found "the one". He is so sweet and truly wanted to get to know us. He was extremely professional and provided all of the necessary information we needed to structure our ceremony how we wanted, with many samples of readings, blessings, and vows. At our rehearsal, Stoddard was efficient and great at giving direction to our large wedding party. We loved that he listened to our story the first time we met him and incorporated a short reading about our relationship during our ceremony. Many of our family members told us that they loved hearing "the story of us". We highly recommend Stoddard!

    Sent on 07/16/2018
  • M

    Maura · Married on 06/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I got married on June 9th and there honestly aren’t enough good things we can say about Stoddard! You should look no further if you want a ceremony that is memorable, personal, and well put together! Stoddard was great from the start. He was informative and welcoming during our first meeting with him – telling us everything we needed to know about how he conducts ceremonies as well as taking the time to get to know us and our story. In the few months prior to the wedding, he sent us a draft of our ceremony and clearly marked the places where we could make it more personal with readings, vows, blessings, and other elements (he provided many options for each part). Stoddard made the process easy and seamless and he was always quick to respond to emails. The weekend of the wedding, he was on time for everything, showed up prepared, and provided the direction we needed to make sure the ceremony went well. Not only is Stoddard a great officiant, but he is a kind and friendly person. You can tell he really loves what he does. During our reception, we had more people than we could count tell us how much they loved the ceremony. Someone even told us it was the best ceremony he has ever witnessed! We couldn’t agree more! Thank you to Stoddard for helping to make our wedding day perfect and for giving us a ceremony we will never forget!

    Sent on 07/06/2018
  • A

    Andrea · Married on 06/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stoddard Melhado went above and beyond what we ever expected, and we could not have been happier with our choice. We eloped with our two dogs, and he made our day feel special and truly memorable. Although we only met in person twice, he took the time to get to know us and our story; we felt like he knew us by the end, and he could tailor his own part of the ceremony for us. He even welcomed us into his home to meet his 6 dogs! He guided us and provided the right amount of support so that we could realize what we wanted and ensure we had the ceremony of our dreams. Stoddard is a genuinely caring and welcoming person, and we would highly recommend him as Justice of the Peace.

    Sent on 07/02/2018
    Massachusetts Justice of the Peace Stoddard H. Melhado 19
  • K

    Kathryn · Married on 06/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mr. Melhado provided a thoughtful and personalized ceremony and everyone commented on how wonderful our ceremony was. We would recommend him to anyone!

    Sent on 06/12/2018
  • J

    Julia · Married on 05/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stoddard provided us with the most beautiful and personalized ceremony. Throughout the process he was responsive and worked with me to really understand what I was looking for. The end result was just perfect. I cannot say enough about him.

    Sent on 06/11/2018
  • O

    Olivia · Married on 05/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stoddard officiated our wedding in May and we by far chose the best officiant! Stoddard is a top notch professional in every aspect of what he does. Our first meeting with him was at his home when we discovered right away, he was going to be the perfect officiant. He took the time to get to know us during our meeting, he made our ceremony extra special and touching by telling a story about us that he told us he would not share until our wedding day. The day of our wedding he came to visit me in the bridal suite to ensure I was doing ok, this meant so much to me. After the ceremony, he pulled me and my husband aside to give us additional words of wisdom. He is a truly special person, not just a 'JP'. He did all of the work in getting our marriage certificate documents in order and submitted. We feel we gained a treasured friend as soon as we met him. Lastly, so many of our guests commented on how amazing he was! Olivia and Kyle Brand

    Sent on 07/02/2018
    Massachusetts Justice of the Peace Stoddard H. Melhado 20
    Massachusetts Justice of the Peace Stoddard H. Melhado 21

    Massachusetts Justice of the Peace Stoddard H. Melhado's reply:

    Thank you for the kind words, Olivia. I had a wonderful time working with Kyle and you and am happy that your wedding was everything you hoped it would be.
  • Marina

    Marina · Married on 05/19/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stoddard made our ceremony so special and unforgettable. He is reliable, professional, and flexible, and easy to communicate. He learned about our relationship during our initial consultation, and he incorporated those anecdotes into our ceremony. We received lots of compliments from our guests that our ceremony was very touching and beautiful. The ceremony was the most memorable part of the whole night! Thank you, Stoddard! :)

    Sent on 05/23/2018
  • C

    Cassandra · Married on 05/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stoddard was absolutely amazing! He did everything to make our special day memorable. I would recommend him to my friends who are planning on getting married!

    Sent on 11/28/2017
  • B

    Brittany · Married on 05/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stoddard made our ceremony for our spring wedding unforgettable. He tailored the ceremony to be personal and unique to us. Throughout the entire planning process, Stoddard was very responsive to emails and was a calming presence on our wedding day. He made sure we were comfortable and that everything went smoothly. We highly recommend him!

    Sent on 05/22/2018
  • M

    Matthew · Married on 05/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I cannot say enough good things about the experience we had with Stoddard. From the initial meeting at his house, we immediately knew we made the right decision. He welcomed us into his home and made us feel extremely comfortable from the first minute. It was really easy talking with him about our relationship, providing him with details that he would use for our ceremony. The rehearsal and ceremony were no different. He put us at ease immediately, handling the logistics, wedding licenses, etc. The story he told of our relationship had the perfect combination of sincerity and humor that was well received by both us and the audience. We were also pleasantly surprised to hear that Stoddard was even able to recall all the destinations we have traveled to. We couldn’t have been happier with the decision we made. Thank you, Stoddard!

    Sent on 05/22/2018
  • A

    Amiliah · Married on 03/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0


    Stoddard is an amazing, incredible wedding officiant. As a couple living in London, but getting married in Boston, he was very flexible with our needs and was able to create such a lovely and funny anecdote about us from just meeting us in person the day before the wedding! I highly recommend him as he was so kind in what can be a stressful day, and had our guests in fits of laughter and tears of joy throughout the ceremony.

    Sent on 04/16/2018
  • E

    Eva · Married on 03/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stoddard was simply outstanding and orchestrated a beautiful wedding ceremony. He was professional, reliable, prompt, and very flexible in ensuring the ceremony was exactly what we wanted. From our initial consultation he learned about our relationship and incorporated anecdotes into the ceremony which made for a unique and personalized ceremony. We would recommend Stoddard to any one of our friends.

    Sent on 03/07/2018
  • O

    Olivia · Married on 02/24/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stoddard made the ceremony planning process wonderful. He allowed us to create exactly what we wanted and guided us along the way. Our goal was to keep the ceremony under 30 minutes and he made sure to fit in everything in 25! We actually had guests telling us that it was the best ceremony they had ever witnessed, because it fit our personalities so perfectly. I did not expect to receive so many compliments on the ceremony!

    Sent on 07/29/2018
    Massachusetts Justice of the Peace Stoddard H. Melhado 22
  • D

    Dawn · Married on 02/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a JP that had to back out at the last minute and we contacted Stoddard and at first I was nervous because we had found someone we loved but to my surprise he was amazing!! From the moment we started communicating he was professional and friendly. But the best part was his service and the things he wrote up on his own. I love him and highly recommend him!!!

    Sent on 03/01/2018
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 02/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I thought long and hard about who we wanted to officiate our wedding but we wanted to make sure it was done professionally and smoothly, therefore we wanted somebody experienced. I looked for JP’s who had some of the highest reviews and most experience, and Stoddard Melhado was at the top of the list. What sealed the deal for hiring Stoddard, was when we visited his website we learned he was an avid dog lover (and rescuer) as well as a retired educator (specifically, school counselor like myself!). We went to meet Stoddard at his home back in October and were blown away with his attention to detail, specific options we were able to choose from, and of course, adorable grey hound dogs we got to meet after our meeting. Stoddard personalized our entire ceremony and made sure it was exactly what we wanted for our wedding day.

    Sent on 03/13/2018
    Massachusetts Justice of the Peace Stoddard H. Melhado 23
  • J

    Jonathan · Married on 02/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I felt it most important that our ceremony felt personal and intimate. Family, close friends, and a private environment were sure to meet our expectations. Who we chose to officiate our wedding was just as important. From the minute we met Stoddard, we knew that he would accommodate our personal style.

    We could tell immediately that Stoddard was genuine and dedicated to his expertise. We were offered plenty of information and suggestions to guide us through the ceremonial process. Furthermore, Stoddard was communicative and personable thgouhout the weeks approaching the ceremony.

    His performance on the day of was exactly what we could have hoped for. We heard nothing but good comments from our guest regarding his delivery and presentation.

    We couldn't have been happier with our choice and would recommend Stoddard to any of our friends and family in the future!

    Sent on 02/11/2018
  • B

    Brianna · Married on 01/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stoddard made our wedding ceremony more beautiful than I thought it could ever be. He invited us into his home and got to know us which he then shared during our ceremony. This was such a wonderful personal touch and a surprise to us! I emailed back and forth with Stoddard to get his opinion on things such as what to write on the programs and he was happy to help. Stoddard also helped me write a beautiful statement to my new stepdaughter. There was not a dry eye. I highly recommend working with Stoddard!

    Sent on 02/01/2018
  • B

    Becky · Married on 12/31/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stoddard was amazing. I got married on NYE this year and people are still telling me how awesome he was and how the ceremony was so personalized. He goes above and beyond and I would recommend him to anyone!!

    Sent on 01/11/2018

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review