Marriott East Lansing at University Place Reviews

10 | East Lansing, MI
See photos, pricing and details

10 Reviews for Marriott East Lansing at University Place

Recommended by 97% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

10
Order by:
  • J

    Julie · Married on 06/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Marriott, and Diane Ferich, were amazing to work with. Diane took our (sometimes unique) ideas and helped make our wedding day amazing. She was incredibly responsive to all of our questions, and helped guide us through all of the decisions. The food was amazing, and they customized a menu for us so we could serve our guests an amazing breakfast for dinner buffet. The day-of staff was fantastic as well, and we and our guests loved seeing the servers, chefs, and bartenders having fun - the atmosphere was the big party we were looking for! Our ceremony in the Beaumont Room was also beautiful, and it was so convenient having everything in the same spot, including being able to spend the night. We strongly recommend the East Lansing Marriott for any couple!

    Sent on 09/10/2018
  • M

    Maria · Married on 08/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Overall, a wonderful experience. Especially after the remodel of the Beaumont Room and the ballroom. They treated us with the utmost respect and like any other couple getting married!

    Sent on 03/16/2017
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 05/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Diane Ferich will go above and beyond to help plan your reception. She was always very flexible and very friendly. Sam and Jerry are terrific at executing the plan that you and Diane come up with. My guests were so impressed with the service! 2 thumbs up to Michael who was our bartender for the evening. Everyone at the Marriott was spectacular - can I go back and do it over?

    Sent on 05/23/2016

    Marriott East Lansing at University Place's reply:

    Thank you for the feedback Stephanie. It was truly a pleasure working with you and Josh. We would love to see you in the future, possibly to celebrate your first anniversary next year! Thank you again and I wish you all the best!
  • C

    Chelsea · Married on 08/15/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We chose to stay at the Marriott as we were getting married on MSU's campus and it was right across the street. The staff was very attentive, prices weren't too bad ($150/room), and rooms were great (they ended up upgrading our room so that we had a balcony!). The drain in our shower stopped working the night of our wedding which was kind of a bummer, but they left us a bottle of champagne so we won't complain too much :)

    Sent on 09/13/2015
  • C

    Christine · Married on 07/06/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing, Diane (The wedding coordinator) made this day so special and unbelievable!

    Everything that I asked for or requested, they made happen!

    They were flexible and professional at all times!

    I loved how beautiful the ballroom was and loved everything about the Marriott.

    It made our day so very special and unforgettable!

    Sent on 07/16/2013
  • User2249172 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Diane was great to work with! She and the rest of the staff at the Marriott did a great job making sure all 80 of our guests were comfortable and provided for!

    Sent on 03/17/2013
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 09/27/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Diane is amazing. She was a pleasure to work with. Everything went beautifully.

    Sent on 03/24/2009
  • C

    Christine · Married on 07/06/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic location! Beautiful, great to work with. I loved how easy and flexible and professional Diane was and how helpful and responsive to any questions I had!

    Sent on 07/26/2013
  • A

    Allison · Married on 12/31/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Diane was so wonderful to work with on our 12/31/09 wedding - so accommodating, incredibly flexible, and very client-focused. She had great ideas when we were stumped, took every concern we had seriously, and is very reliable with her follow-through. The food was excellent, and guests seemed happy not only with the entire reception, but also with their hotel rooms. The East Lansing Marriott met or surpassed every one of our expectations!

    Sent on 03/02/2010
  • M

    Marcee · Married on 06/11/2016

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We held our wedding room block at the EL Marriott. The hotel is gorgeous and recently renovated. However, it was really pricey compared to other downtown Marriott's that I've stayed at. We were upgraded to the Executive Suite during our wedding weekend and had chocolate covered strawberries and champagne delivered on our wedding night which was lovely and an unexpected treat. Claudia and team are very responsive. However, they won't let you know when your room block is full or becoming full. I had to hear from the guests that (1) the room block was full and (2) the reservations staff was redirecting them to another hotel! That was exceptionally frustrating. So we had to scramble to add additional rooms - then we find out that the Marriott is actually sold out that night. Then, we had to find another room block at a different hotel. It was a logistical nightmare because we also paid for transportation to pick up our guests... so then we had to pay more from transportation and find out a way to let the guests know that there is another hotel. On top of that, the Marriott ended up having some cancellations and we had a free open spots. That was great but they decided not to award the room block rate and charge close to $200 per night for a room for those open spots. One of our guests actually checked the week of the wedding and decided to cancel the $200 per night room and get the $140 per night room rate instead. So it is like why not award the room block rate in the first place?! Anyhoo, I expected better communication but it was a nice place to stay for the wedding. The guests loved the hotel.

    Sent on 06/25/2016