Market Hall Reviews

35 | Raleigh, NC
See photos, pricing and details

35 Reviews for Market Hall

Recommended by 93%

35
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.6

6 User photos

Market Hall 1
Market Hall 2
Market Hall 3
Market Hall 4
Market Hall 5
Market Hall 6
Sort by:
  • M

    Mike Evans · Married on 12/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Could not have gone any better !!

    This Venue was perfect and well tended. We had guest from all over the country, so "flipping" the room work great. No one had to leave the building ! The cocktail hour while the room was being flipped was a great way for friends and family to catch up.
    Food was out of this world great ! Bridal Sweet upstairs was perfect for the Bride and her Bridesmaids.

    Sent on 12/06/2018
  • Tiffany

    Tiffany · Married on 10/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stunning Venue

    Market Hall was the perfect venue to bring my Rustic Glam wedding to life. The upgrades made to the venues were an added touch and the bridal suite was absolutely perfect! The natural lighting, the market lights, and overall industrial feel of the venue provided so much character to my day! I was blown away by the staff as they made sure I had everything I needed to ensure my day went smoothly! Thank you all again!!

    Sent on 10/19/2018
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 06/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a great experience working with Market Hall. They were very responsive and accommodating. The bartenders were great. Jessica even helped us out after we left something in the bridal suite and we got it back a couple weeks later.

    Sent on 07/29/2018
  • E

    Elizabete · Married on 06/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had my daughters reception at Market Hall. It is a beautiful venue that you can make look how ever you want. The lights are perfect and the cobble stone streets make it very pretty. Everyone was impressed with the way the venue look. Bar staff was great always ready with whatever the guests needed. Bride and groom were definitely impressed with the service they received. The only issue we had was June in North Carolina, the A/C did not keep up.

    Sent on 08/01/2018
  • P

    Paige · Married on 03/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved having our wedding at Martin Street! It is a beautiful venue with so much history behind it. It is difficult to find a venue in Raleigh that checks off so many boxes, wheelchair accessible, onsite catering, ceremony and reception at the same place, event staffing, an all-inclusive rental price, onsite event manager, etc. The location is truly walking distance from hotels downtown which was a huge bonus for us and our guests. It was also nice to have our ceremony and reception at the same place. If you are planning on having your wedding here and you are concerned about them flipping the room during the cocktail hour, don't be worried. The room flip was fast and quiet. They even have curtains that close so you cannot see the room being flipped. It is very discreet. Jessica also went through several drafts of event layouts with us as our guest count increased and then again decreased. If you are thinking about booking this venue, just go ahead and book it. Tour it, book it and be done. By the time you sit down and figure out the cost per guest and all of the perks that come with the location in comparison to other venues you might have missed out on a great opportunity.

    The bridal suite was a nice addition and it was nice not to worry about the travel aspect of getting ready. One less thing on your plate and a nice place to take photos!

    Jessica and her team really worked to make the event special for us and the guests all raved about the food and how beautiful the venue was. We were able to customize our menu, the bar, bring in our own decor, bring in our own cake, etc. Jessica coordinated with all of our other vendors and I felt reassured that everything would go smoothly. We also had two vegetarians and two individuals with shellfish allergies and each meal was made and delivered to those with dietary restrictions/allergies without an issue.

    I can't say enough nice things and I have nothing negative to say about our experience with this venue!

    Sent on 04/06/2018
    Market Hall 7
    Market Hall 8
    Market Hall 9
    Market Hall 10
  • A

    Amara · Married on 12/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Booking 214 Martin Street was absolutely the best wedding decision we made. Our day was perfect from start to finish, and Beth and the 214 Martin Street team played a large role in making that happen. Throughout our planning, Beth was a constant and patient help. She never got annoyed with any of my many questions, and answered them pretty much right away whenever I emailed. On our wedding day, Beth was there every step of the way making sure we had everything we needed. 214 is also a great value. The price of food and services can't be beat. Literally. It was the most reasonably-priced of all the venues we looked at in the Raleigh-Durham area. The food was absolutely delicious. Our guests raved about it. And the venue itself is so beautiful and has a lot of character, but not in a way that is overpowering. We were still able to add our own character and make the space our own through our decor choices. I loved having our wedding here, and I fully recommend this venue.

    Sent on 12/19/2017
  • C

    Cara · Married on 10/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Market Hall as our wedding venue. It was on a Friday in December. The trees were still beautiful fall colors! Everything just looked beautiful. The bartenders took care of our guests. Everyone was in awe of how beautiful the venue was. It was the perfect day!! Thank you everyone at Market Hall for being so accommodating and for working with us every step of the way.

    Sent on 12/26/2017
  • V

    vickie · Married on 03/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just loved this venue and their staff. We used Beth Early as our wedding coordinator and she was awesome. She was very efficient and prompt to answer phone calls and emails. We usually had a return message within hours or early the next day. This took away a lot of anxiety and our event rolled out perfectly. The space has an urban yet modern feel. The food was excellent and the bar service was quick and friendly. I can't think of anything that I would change or offer up as something to do better. It was just a wonderful time and our guests truly enjoyed themselves.

    Sent on 03/25/2017
  • N

    nichole · Married on 12/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Market Hall is beautiful and the staff, especially Brenda and Kara are amazing! They are great to work with and quick to response to any questions. I had my wedding there and everything was perfect! The cobblestone and brick make for a great background for pictures. I would definitely recommend Market Hall! Thank you Kara and Brenda for being so awesome!

    Sent on 01/04/2017
  • C

    Carolyn · Married on 12/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We LOVED having our wedding reception at 214! Beth was so incredibly helpful throughout the whole process, including helping us get all our decorations set up because there was an event the night before and our reception started at 11 a.m. the next day. We have received rave reviews from friends on the food (it was a brunch menu), and we loved it too! We have gluten free family members, and vegetarians, and they were incredibly accommodating to help us make sure all our guests would be able to eat. The sound acoustics in the space were great, and you don't need much in terms of decorating because the space is clean and classic. We definitely recommend this space!

    Sent on 12/22/2016
  • A

    Abigail · Married on 11/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As soon as I walked in to Market Hall, I knew it was the perfect place for our wedding ceremony and reception! The staff were super easy to work with, easy to get in contact with, and very helpful figuring out the layout of everything. It's a beautiful venue, you won't be disappointed! Compared to some of the other venues around, it's a great place for brides on a budget!

    Sent on 12/01/2016
  • R

    Renu · Married on 11/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    214 Martin Street was wonderful to work with! Beth was so responsive and accommodating to everything we requested. We utilized their catering services at a venue in Hillsborough, NC and were very happy with the results. We received many compliments on the food and particular compliments about the ice cream sundae bar, which was very popular! It was definitely worth it--Howling Cow ice cream is delicious. I would highly recommend working with this company for your catering needs--and definitely also schedule a tasting with them beforehand.

    Sent on 11/22/2016
  • B

    Brooke · Married on 02/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    214 Martin helped make our wedding better than we had envisioned. The staff was very helpful throughout the planning and day of preparation. The food was phenomenal. We've had so many guest say it was one of the nicest & classiest weddings they've attended. Much thanks to 214 Martin and all of the wonderful staff.

    Sent on 02/20/2016
  • User6373174 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    LOVED working with 214 Martin Street for our wedding! We had ceremony/cocktail hour/sit-down dinner/reception for 160 guests. Both Beth from 214 Martin and Brea from Showtime (who they work with for extra furniture, draping, inside market lighting, etc.) were great to work with, very responsive and flexible, everything went exactly as planned. The flip between ceremony and reception went very smoothly.

    Food was AWESOME, had great feedback all around on our entree choices - filet, salmon, chicken. More than half our guests requested the filet and each one was a perfect medium rare. Super happy with how quickly everyone was served, not a huge wait from the first to last tables as can sometimes be the case at weddings. Recommend the ham biscuit and bacon-wrapped scallop hors d'oeuvres. Catering is in-house, chef did an amazing job!

    The venue itself has lots of personality, made for great pictures inside & out! Inside there is a 2nd-floor area which was great for the men to hang out in before the ceremony and then for a 2nd bar area for the rest of the evening. The streets surrounding the building are cobblestone with market lighting above.

    A couple things to consider -

    214 Martin shares it's back wall and bathrooms with another venue, Market Hall. There was an event going on in the other space on the night of our wedding. We didn't have any issues at all with the bathroom sharing although a couple guests who were seated along the back wall for dinner said they did hear music from the other event.

    There is only the 2nd-floor area that can be used for either bride or groom getting ready (if having ceremony there) and there are a lot of windows in the venue - which we loved! - but these factors require some logistics for bride and groom arriving, getting pictures and not seeing one another before the ceremony.

    We loved 214 Martin and could not have asked for a more perfect night at this cool, downtown Raleigh venue!

    Sent on 02/17/2016
  • User5592225 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful Venue! We loved having our reception here. It was a hit. We added the globe lights to mirror the ones outside in the cobblestone streets and it was perfect.

    Sent on 11/06/2015
  • C

    catherine · Married on 09/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    214 Martin and Beth were great to work with! The space looked better than I thought it would on the day of the wedding and the wait staff was extremely attentive and professional. I had guests comment on how quickly things were served and the high level of attention they recieved.

    Sent on 10/14/2015

    Market Hall's reply:

    Thank you for the kind words Catherine! We were so happy to help and be apart of your big day.
    Please keep in touch!

    Beth
  • User5402571 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Market Hall is a lovely place to have ANY event! Kara and Caroline are attentive, flexible, and eager to please! Historic City Market is walking distance to everything in downtown Raleigh and has a unique and romantic feel. I've already recommended this space to several brides and will continue to sing its praises!

    Sent on 09/02/2015
  • S

    Sara · Married on 04/22/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    214 Martin Street was the perfect place to have our wedding reception! Beth was so, so accommodating with when we could use the Mezzaine and different changes that were made. She responded quickly to emails and made the whole thing flow smoothly.
    We had a small issue with some of the kegs running out towards the end of the night, but there were still plenty of alcohol for guests to enjoy. They say that the venue can fit 180. We had 135 and felt that it was the perfect amount. It can definitely fit the full 180, it would just be a tight squeeze.
    Overall, the venue was beautiful, the location was exceptional, and the staff was so great! The food was tasty as well!

    Sent on 05/08/2017
  • User5417592 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Market Hall was a perfect place for our wedding. We love the old country feel of this space and City Market in general. Our photos are amazing:) We did rent some market lights to make it a bit cozier inside---which Kara and Caroline loved so much they told us they planned to buy some to have for all of the brides. It was super reasonable---we were on a budget so we decided to use their tables and chairs--which were new and nice. If you want a wedding downtown--this is the best possible space...our guests were able to walk from the Marriott and it was wonderful. These guys are great to work with!

    Sent on 09/08/2015
  • M

    Michael · Married on 05/25/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing wedding and planning

    These guys and girls rocked our wedding night. They seriously made sure everything went smoothly and it would not have been the same without them. I cant speak highly enough of Kristen Leen and the team that she's working with! Thank you all soo much for everything you did.

    Sent on 05/17/2019
    Market Hall 11
    Market Hall 12
  • R

    Roxie · Married on 12/31/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was a terrific venue! We used half the room for the wedding (100 guests) and had the other side of the room completely set up for the reception. It was both convenient and comfortable for our guests. The cobblestones and historic buildings in the area made a beautiful backdrop for pictures. The staff was easy to work with and really put in extra efforts to make the day perfect! (Thank you, Brenda!)

    Sent on 01/03/2017
  • Meaghan

    Meaghan · Married on 10/22/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I wanted a reception venue that had great bones, but was more of a blank slate -- something that was 'our style' while at the same time allowing us to shape the space into whatever theme/scene/idea we wanted, and we found that with Market Hall. I'll be honest and say that the string lights scattered throughout the inside of the space really won us over, too. The Market Hall team were great to work with -- Kara even made sure that we knew about a sudden opening on our preferred date the moment it became available! During the planning process, we worked mostly with Brenda -- she was very kind, had some great ideas and suggestions for the space, and was on top of the logistical needs for the day-of. The space was clean and ready to go when we arrived to set up the day of the wedding. The bathrooms are spacious and nicely redone, WiFi was free and available to all, and the staff in attendance in the day of were very helpful! Donnie was our day-of contact and was punctual, kind, and very helpful in getting decor set up in the reception space. The bar staff slung great drinks all night (thanks, guys!) and were a pleasure to work with. As we had rented Market Hall before the completion of the bridal suite upstairs, it was included in our rental and was not an extra cost for us (otherwise I may not have opted for it from the beginning). I will say though, that this bridal suite was awesome! Very well-decorated with tons of natural light -- a GREAT space for applying makeup, etc. There's plenty of room to move around without feeling crowded. I highly recommend this space for any couple wanting a space they feel they can make their own, and especially for couples with a large guest list!

    Sent on 11/16/2016
  • M

    Mallory · Married on 12/13/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had to last-minute change our venue for our wedding and I could not be more happy how things worked out. Switching venues weeks before our big day was stressful enough but 214 Martin really helped make the process worry-free. They were able to accommodate our needs, meet our budget, and allow for set-up time. I really appreciate all that they did for us and highly recommend them as a wedding venue. The space is clean, recently updated, and a perfect size for a 120+ person event!

    Sent on 02/04/2015
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 05/13/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beth is great to work with, we loved this venue. It was perfect for us.

    Sent on 06/05/2017

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review