Mark Nelson Photography Reviews

14 | Phoenix, AZ
See photos, pricing and details

14 Reviews for Mark Nelson Photography

Recommended by 99% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

14

2 User photos

Mark Nelson Photography 1
Mark Nelson Photography 2
Order by:
  • Elisa

    Elisa Talavera · Married on 11/09/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great experience! Excellent photographer

    Mark Nelson is a great new Yorker and his photos are amazing! He made our ceremony and reception photo shoot go smoothly.., I’ve never been in front of a camera for so many hours but he made us feel free and didn’t put any pressure on us for poses.... thank you Mark for your quality job and we loved our photos

    Mark Nelson Photography 3
    Sent on 11/20/2019
  • Sarah

    Sarah Mcgregor · Married on 09/14/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One of a kind artist - nothing compares to film

    Mark is a one of a kind photographer - almost literally. As soon as I found out he still shoots film I was intrigued, but after working with him for my wedding on 9/14 I have nothing but wonderful things to say about him and his work. The film style gives every photo it's own unique vibe that could not be captured with a digital camera and his eye for fine art is clear in every photo. Even though it ended up pouring rain on our outdoor wedding and things were chaotic for a bit Mark was able to quickly adapt and capture unique shots in the midst of the craziness. He was always extremely professional and took the time prior to and after the wedding to go over details. I'm in love with every photo and look forward to reliving my wedding through them for years to come.

    Mark Nelson Photography 4
    Sent on 09/24/2019
  • G

    Gail · Married on 01/19/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    An extraordinary artist

    When looking for a wedding photographer, we focused on finding someone extraordinary. After seeing Mark’s work on his website, we were intrigued. After speaking to Mark, we felt that he had something very special to offer. Then, after working with him and seeing the pictures of our wedding day, our instincts has been confirmed! Mark is an artist. You will notice Mark references Ansel Adams on his website. In our opinion he represents one of the famous quotes of Mr. Adams “ You don’t take a good photograph, you make it.” Mark made our day and our photographs, extraordinary, just like he is.

    Sent on 01/31/2019
  • J

    Jason · Married on 12/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mark did an excellent job with our wedding. He was early to the venue, was stylish and professional while being very discrete during the event. He was friendly and very patient with a brief delay on our part. He did a combination of B/W and color- both of which were excellent. Don't be afraid to do the B/W series, they are very timeless and poignant. Though we didn't meet before the wedding, we connected easily and we felt confident in his experience and abilities. Mark does a great job and provides excellent value.

    Sent on 01/18/2018
  • C

    Curt · Married on 09/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had originally contracted with Arizona Wedding Photographers, (arizonaweddingphotogrphers.com) who were vendors for the venue we had chosen. As the wedding drew near, I became more and more uncomfortable with the conversations I was having with them. I know the technical end of digital photography and know when someone doesn’t. They were very uncooperative and basically indicated that I would take what they gave me.
    As the wedding drew near, I became so concerned of what I might get that I went on thumbtack to see if I could find someone to replace them.
    Mark Nelson responded quickly and indicated he was available on the date I required. After a 40 minute phone conversation with him I felt my troubles were over. He was professional, knowledgeable, experienced and……..cooperative.
    He told me he had done hundreds of weddings and his photographs bear witness to that.
    I received them promptly and they were all I could hope for. I truly believe he saved my daughters memories.
    I HIGHLY recommend Mark to anyone wanting a truly professional photographer for their event or family portraits. He will receive all of my family’s future business.

    Sent on 11/22/2017
  • K

    Kimberly · Married on 07/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mark was great at taking photos at our wedding, he was very professional, kind, great to work with, and we got our photos back in a very short amount of time. above all we love the photos of the candid moments that he notices when no one else is watching! I recommend Mark Nelson Photography and will definitely look forward to using his services again. Thank you Mark.

    Sent on 07/17/2016
  • D

    Drew · Married on 04/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Overall Mark was fantastic to work with. He shot our engagement session and our wedding day. Talented, creative, insightful and reliable describe him as a professional photographer, but honestly his photos really speak for themselves.

    What separates Mark from the rest is that he prefers to shoot on film! For people who understand (or remember) what that means, then you are in for a unique experience that you won't get with your "run of the mill" digital wedding photographer. If you want wedding pictures that have an artsy, vintage, retro, classic or timeless look, then Mark is your guy.

    His artistic black and white photography is without compare and while the photos are captured on film, Mark provides very high quality digital scans that you can print or share as you need. Mark exceeded our expectations and we couldn't be happier with the results!

    Sent on 05/23/2016
  • User5361525 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mark has provided me with the best portraits and full shots I've ever had. He is wonderful to work with; allowing us to be participants in the process, rather than simply telling us what to do. The large format film camera he uses transports photography back to its origins — a true art form. The photographs he creates are timeless. I'd do it all again in a heartbeat.

    Sent on 08/19/2015
  • User5450958 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    WOW! Mark is unbelievably talented artist. I have had nothing but wonderful compliments on our wedding pictures and special treatment for me - exclusive classical film portrait pictures . From our first conversation on the phone to the last email I have enjoyed every interaction. Getting pictures taken with him was exciting and if it weren't for time schedules I would have loved to take more. Everyone looks fantastic in our pictures and he captured so many unexpected moments. I already recommended Mark to all my close friends and family. You would feel lucky and privileged to have him take pictures for you!

    Sent on 09/19/2015
  • User5363680 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mark Nelson has taken portraits of my husband and I and we were so happy with the results. I also recommended him to my sister and now have beautiful portraits of her as well. I am so pleased that we had the chance to have some very special photographs taken by such a talented artist. He takes a very thoughtful approach to finding the right location. His work is of such high quality and is so unique. It has been described as classic and elegant and I can't think of more perfect words for it. Mark is professional about his work and clearly puts his heart into every photograph he takes. You cannot go wrong by engaging him to photograph whatever special person or occasion you want to remember.

    Sent on 08/20/2015
  • K

    Kate · Married on 09/27/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Mark to shoot our wedding in NYC in September 2014, and couldn't have been happier. As a destination wedding, we were provided a list of recommended vendors by our wedding venue, and they highlighted Mark as one of their favorites. And I could see why - Mark managed to take a number of spectacular photos for us - from the staircase at the Plaza Hotel to posing in central park, nothing was too much trouble. Artistic, professional and honest.

    Sent on 10/07/2015
  • H

    Helen · Married on 03/31/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I hired Mark for our outdoor wedding at Cibola Vista Resort and Spa in Peoria about 6 months prior to the event. We spoke with him briefly over the phone before hiring him and were already impressed with his professionalism, thoughtful questions, and expertise. We were so confident after our phone call that we completely checked off "wedding photography" from our to-do list - we knew that we were going to be taken care of. We were even more impressed the day and night of the wedding. Prior to the wedding, Mark came to the resort and scouted out locations for various shots during our first look. When the time arrived for my wife and I to see each other, he carefully guided us through the resort and coached us throughout the shoot. The pictures turned out amazing. During the ceremony and reception, Mark and his assistant were constantly present to document but never intrusive. In fact, my wife and I had totally forgotten that they were even there during the event. When we received our photo collection (only ten days later!) we were amazed at all of the important memories that he had captured. It was as if he knew before taking each photo that these were the moments we wanted immortalized the most. The framing, composition, balance, and artistry of his work further impressed us. When we decided to look through the photographs and narrow the collection down to the ones we wanted to share with our guests, nearly two-thirds remained. If we could do it all over again, Mark would be the first person we would contact. Mark is a cut above other photographers in the Valley. He is a true artist who we would highly recommend to anyone looking to capture these special moments forever.

    Sent on 05/26/2018
  • P

    Natali · Married on 10/02/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mark you are an absolute artist! We had such an adventure with our photo shoot yesterday. Thanks for being such a trooper in lugging your camera equipment for that 60 min hike to get those perfect shots. So excited to see the film developed. I'm so happy I found you in such short notice in Sedona. I hope you settle in well with a new base of clientele after your move from New York! My family and Friends are already gushing over the Polaroid proofs! Will definitely recommend you to anyone that can understand photography is an art form that has many moving variables that requires adaptation, patience and a level of skill set that you just don't see much anymore. I hope u continue your art and will look forward to our developed images

    Sent on 04/18/2016
  • C

    Christina · Married on 06/27/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I currently live in Australia and planned an overseas wedding in my hometown of New York City. We decided to use Mark Nelson who came highly recommended by the Carlyle Hotel. I am so pleased with our decision to use his services. Mark always made himself available to discuss any questions I had regarding our on the day photography and worked seamlessly with his team to take candid shots that captured the beauty and joy of our wedding. Despite some rain, Mark found a way to capture some beautiful outside shots and we could not be happier with the photographs. Mark's photography is truly an art form, beautiful and timeless, he is one of the few photographers we have encountered that shoots film as well as digital.

    Sent on 08/20/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review