Skip to main content
Weddings

Marie Selby Botanical Gardens Reviews

Marie Selby Botanical Gardens

Marie Selby Botanical Gardens

Sarasota, FL
4.7 out of 5 rating, 58 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

Your trust is our goal. Our community relies on honest reviews to help you make those big decisions with ease.
4.7 out of 5 rating
4.7 out of 5 rating
58 Reviews
94% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.8 out of 5 rating

Awards

58
Weddingwire
4.7/5 58 reviews
Google
4.7/5 5293 reviews
  • Christiana
    Christiana C. Sent on 07/18/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Venue

    Although Selby wasn’t our first choice, they should have been. We were trying to have a wedding as things were reopening from Covid. They were able to accommodate our 70 guest with plenty of social distancing space. The venue is gorgeous and made for wonderful pictures. All of the guest loved going on the patio to take sunset pictures. I’m so glad we had our wedding at Selby. Very conveniently located near all the hotels as well.
  • Amy
    Amy Sent on 11/07/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best wedding venue!

    From day one visiting this beautiful venue, we knew this place was the one! We recently got married here and loved every minute of it!! The staff here are so welcoming and accommodating! Can’t wait to see our professional photography at this beautiful venue!
  • J
    Jenna Sent on 06/05/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We absolutely loved having our wedding ceremony and reception at Marie Selby Gardens. The backdrop of the North Lawn and the reception hall were amazing. Amy Donnellan was amazing to work with throughout the entire process and made wedding planning from afar that much easier. Our guests keep commenting on the beauty of the gardens and the FOOD! Michael's on East was an amazing caterer for our cocktail hour and reception. Dan was super gracious in driving my husband, myself and our wedding party around the gardens for photos and providing knowledge about the gardens along the way. The waitstaff and bartenders were amazing as well. I can't recommend this venue enough!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • M
    Maggie Sent on 02/28/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our wedding at Selby Gardens was absolutely magical. Our dream-like ceremony was under the oak tree on the north lawn, our gorgeous cocktail hour was held at sunset on the bay lawn, and our impeccable reception took place in Michael's on the Bay. The grounds were beautiful, picturesque, and well-maintained. The service was prompt, professional, and smooth. The food was phenomenal and memorable. Thank you for everything -- from the initial coordination to the final execution. I highly recommend having your wedding at Selby Gardens!
  • E
    Erin Sent on 02/14/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Marie Selby is beautiful and I am so happy I selected it for my wedding. They know how to host an event and work with the best caterer in town, Michaels on East. They recently renovated the great room and it is stunning. I know people want to have their wedding outside, but I get to have everything by hosting my ceremony outside and the party inside.
  • C
    Christina Sent on 08/16/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Absolutely beautiful venue. Dan was so amazingly helpful.

    You won't regret getting married here!
  • E
    Eric Sent on 02/07/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Absolutely beautiful location. Great service.
  • K
    Kara Sent on 12/08/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Selby Gardens was the perfect venue for our November wedding. The grounds are beautiful and my guests could not stop raving about the gorgeous landscaping and views. Dan Johnson was so helpful from start to finish, which made the experience that much better. I couldn't be happier with how perfect everything turned out! Thank you to everyone at Selby for making our day so wonderful!
  • O
    Olivia Sent on 09/22/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    the Gardens were an absolutely beautiful back drop for our wedding reception. With the remodel of the Great Room everything came together nicely! Dan was extremely helpful whenever I had any questions! My husband and I booked the Great Room and did a cocktail hour at the Mansion, and what a value! Not to mention the photographs were absolutely priceless! I highly recommend Marie Selby Botanical Gardens for anyone's special day :).
  • B
    Briana Sent on 04/08/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Marie Selby Gardens is the place dream weddings are held. I am serious, I felt like I was in a fairytale the entire day. There are so many beautiful places in the gardens that it is hard to choose where you want your ceremony and where you want your reception. No matter what you pick it will be beautiful! Barbara and Dan are so helpful and responsive in the planning process and you can tell they are passionate about the gardens. We got married at the big pavillion and had an outdoor wedding behind the mansion with the Great Room by the bay as our weather back up. By doing this, we had the entire gardens to ourselves and our guests that night. All of our guests said it was the most beautiful wedding they had ever attended!
  • K
    Katie Sent on 01/13/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I got married at Marie Selby on November 16, 2013.
    We booked the date about a year and a half out and dealt with Dan the entire year and a half leading up to the wedding. We had the ceremony at the Schimmel Pavilion and the reception on the lawn behind the mansion.
    Dan always made time to meet with us and to answer all of our questions.
    He gave us so many options about the set up of the day and many recommendations about vendors (like Grace Felice and Affairs in the Air - which were both amazing!).
    Dan was very flexible with things and since the child area by the banyons was not built when we signed our contract he gave us the option to even change our ceremony site.
    I loved Dan and felt very confident in all the people I worked with at Marie Selby - it was more than I could have imagined. It is a gorgeous site for a wedding!
  • User1438699 Sent on 11/15/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Marie Selby was the most beautiful place to get married. The staff (especially Dan) was extremely helpful throughout our entire planning process. The grounds are well kept and we had so many compliments on how breathtaking it was. We plan to go back and visit a few times a year just to see all the updates they keep adding to the gardens. I will never forget how amazing our wedding was here and how relaxed the staff made me feel that day!
  • E
    Elizabeth Sent on 11/17/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Selby Gardens is the most wonderful setting for an outdoor wedding! It really feels as though there is magic in the air in this space! We knew that it was the perfect location for our wedding the moment we set foot on their beautiful grounds! We would highly recommend Selby for any elegant outdoor event you may be planning!
  • D
    Dallas Sent on 10/02/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Dan & the staff at Selby were wonderful to work with. The setting was beautiful, and Dan was extremely helpful throughout. I was running a bit late for the ceremony (very stressful for a bride) and Dan completely put me at ease. I cannot praise them enough - beautiful place for a ceremony!
  • A
    Anne Sent on 06/03/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This venue went above and beyond! There was a very high rain chance so they had a back up indoor space just in case. Everyone running the event was so sweet and helpful, I felt so mat ease. It was perfect!
  • User957456 Sent on 10/03/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    What a beautiful location, Fresh scent of flowers in the air and such a tranquil scenery. I couldn't have asked for a better sunny day.
  • T
    Christina Sent on 09/17/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Dan was great. He's very laid back and very helpful. A very nice man. Selby gardens is a beautiful place to get married. We got married under the banyans and held the reception in the Great room. The first time I went to look at the gardens I knew that this was the place I was going to get married. When I saw the Great room I wasn't that excited.... Don't get fooled by what you see! It turned out absolutely beautiful. The guests loved it and the sunset was beautiful. I would do it there all over again. Thanks Dan for all you've done to get things set up. It was the best and most memorable night of my life!
  • L
    Lisa Sent on 09/12/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We were very pleased with Marie Selby Botanical Gardens for both our wedding ceremony and reception. Gorgeous property and the courtesy of the staff along with a good value made it an easy decision. We were thrilled with accommodations for both the bride and groom prior to the wedding, and the view overlooking the bay was incredible. We highly recommend Marie Selby Botanical Gardens.
  • K
    Kerry Sent on 05/27/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I love Selby! This is one of my favorite places in sarasota!
  • M
    Montana Sent on 06/21/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Selby Gardens was the most beautiful, romantic and picturesque location for our wedding ceremony. We could have been more thrilled with the facilities, staff and backdrop for our special day. Our wedding portraits taken throughout the property are stunning and unique. The banyan trees, bamboo, gazebos, koi pond and the mansion provided so many locations for our photos. Our guests have not stop raving about the setting and it's beauty. I highly recommend Selby Gardens as a location for any special event. We will be back for years and years as it will always be a special place for us. Thank you Dan & Barbara!
  • S
    Suzy Sent on 07/27/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The setting wzs perfect.... under the banyans trees and dancing on the patio. We ended with a greater number of guests; totally ok as we were seated outdoors and used mansion for buffet. Definately recommend
  • D
    Dan Sent on 12/09/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Selby Gardens was the most beautiful place we could have selected. It was the perfect place for our enchanted garden themed wedding. The ceremony was elegant and it was very pleasant hearing the leaves on the tree in the mild wind and we loved the beautiful backdrop that Marie Selby Botanical Gardens offered. Dan Johnson was amazing and was an absolute joy to work with. We thank them so much for all that they did for us.
  • T
    Tarah Sent on 11/13/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I knew as soon as I saw the gardens that it was where I wanted our wedding... So many thanks to Dan and the gardens staff for helping us have a perfect & beautiful wedding!
    The gardens was the 1st of the vendors we chose, so we had a lot of questions for Dan...but I'm glad we asked b/c he was so helpful and made me feel relaxed! Dan was great about working with us for all of those months of planning & in working with all of our vendors to make our day perfect!
  • C
    Cassidy Sent on 09/28/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This venue is absolutely breathtaking. We held our ceremony at the Pavilion and our reception at the Mansion. Also, because no one else booked an event at the Great Room for our date, we were able to use that facility for our rain plan (which we thankfully didn't need!). Dan, Selby's event coordinator, was very laid back and calming where other vendors overwhelmed me with details. All of our guests gushed over the setting, and and sunset over the Sarasota bay was incredible. Selby was a dream venue for a reasonable price -- I highly recommend!
  • G
    Gregory Sent on 05/05/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Selby, not to mention beautiful, took such good care of us. What ever we needed, they did there best to make it happen. Dan was unbelievable with communication during the whole process and deserves an award. We recommend Selby Gardens to anyone!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message