Skip to main content
Weddings

Mankin Mansion Weddings & Events Reviews

Mankin Mansion Weddings & Events

Mankin Mansion Weddings & Events

Richmond, VA
4.9 out of 5 rating, 112 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

4.9 out of 5 rating
112 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating
98% Recommended by couples

Awards

112
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

106 User photos

  • D
    Danika W. Sent on 12/16/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Could not recommend enough!!! Truly the best!

    My husband and I visited Mankin Mansion and we instantly knew that it was the perfect venue for us! We worked with Gillian over the next 2 (ish) years to create the perfect wedding and timeline for us. We loved how much was included in the packages and how easy they made everything. Gillian and her assistant Emily truly make you feel so cared about during the entire process. On our day it did rain but the team were absolute pros and made the whole transition inside so easy and didn’t ask or “bother” my husband or I with any detail related questions about any of the decor they had to find a new layout for. It was so nice being able to trust that they would be able to handle the new plan without stressing either one of us out. We absolutely love Mankin and would recommend it to anyone!! They are the experts and treat you like family!

    Mankin Mansion Weddings & Events's reply:

    Danika, thank you so much for your wonderful words and for posting some photos from your gorgeous day! We are OBSESSED!!! They are stunning and everything for your day was equally stunning! We are so glad to hear that we earned your trust and that you had a wonderful wedding day. It was such an honor to host your special day and we wish you and Jarrett all the happiness in the world! The Mankin Mansion Planning Team
  • M
    Mary K. Sent on 02/27/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    RUN (don’t walk) to book this place!!!

    Booking Historic Mankin Mansion was without a doubt the BEST wedding planning decision we made!!! This venue was seriously worth every penny. If you’re having hesitations or second-guessing it, this is your sign to go for it.

    The staff was so easy to work with and the venue itself is so beautiful!! Leah was the most incredible wedding planner and was so nice, considerate, and thoughtful throughout the whole process. She and the rest of the staff made everything so easy and were willing to work with us on any idea we had! They have so many helpful resources to offer and make the whole wedding planning process a breeze.

    All of our guests kept saying they could see and feel how relaxed, happy, and calm my husband and I were on our wedding day! And we largely attribute that to the staff at HMM for being so wonderful and capable, and making us feel so confident that we didn’t have to worry for a second on our big day!

    Mankin Mansion Weddings & Events's reply:

    Mary K, thank you so much for your lovely and wonderful words! We are thrilled to hear that we were easy to work with and that your ideas felt heard and validated during the planning process! Our biggest goal on wedding days is that our couples can sit back and relax knowing that we have the behind the scenes details covered. We are so happy to hear that was your experience! We wish you and Brian all the happiness in the world! The Mankin Mansion Planning Team
  • T
    Tori E. Sent on 11/01/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A magical experience from start to finish

    I had a feeling about HMM from the start, and when we visited back in May 2021 during the venue search I knew it was the place for our wedding. Their package is unbeatable in terms of what it includes, and Leah, the planner who comes with the venue is a dream. I wouldn't have been able to keep everything moving and organized without her, and she was essential on the day of when it came to sticking to our packed schedule and wrangling two huge families. Martin, the owner of the venue, DJ'd our reception and did an amazing job keeping the party going all night. If you want a truly magical venue with a seamless planning experience, look no further than Mankin Mansion!

    Mankin Mansion Weddings & Events's reply:

    Tori, thank you so much for these incredibly kind words! Your wedding day was so fun and exciting, we thought the perfect color palette for fall and that you and Ryan absolutely nailed it! We are so glad to hear how big of a help Leah was at staying on top of things, she is awesome. We wish all the best to you and Ryan, The HMM Planning Team
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • C
    Cati G. Sent on 08/26/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Couldn't be happier

    I cannot rave enough about Mankin. There is so much included with their package that it was a no brainer, and they really care about their couples. We had to delay twice because of Covid and they were incredibly generous and considerate given how difficult of a time it must have been for the business. On the actual wedding day I felt like I did not have to worry about a single thing. Our wedding planner Leah that came with the venue was on top of every detail and made sure the whole day was everything we hoped it would be. Martin, one of the owners, also DJed for our wedding which was included in the package and did a fantastic job. 10/10 no regrets

    Mankin Mansion Weddings & Events's reply:

    Cati, we were over the moon on your wedding day that we finally got to celebrate you and Harrison!! It was such a beautiful day, you were a stunning bride and we are so happy that you did not have to worry about anything, especially after worrying about covid. You're amazing and we wish nothing but happiness in this next super exciting chapter of your lives, The HMM Planning Team
  • L
    Lorna E. Sent on 08/13/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A Wedding Oasis

    The space, the people, the peace of mind. My fiancé and I were planning our Richmond wedding from afar. As many of you know, there are a thousand details, and it can be difficult to just trust your team with so much, but Mankin went above and beyond to ensure that our wedding was nothing short of magical. I was a bride with them in April of 2022, our rehearsal marked the second time that I had ever stepped foot at our venue. That is how much you can trust them, and how incredible a team they are. The grounds have so much to offer. One of the reasons we chose the location is because of the privacy. We had the entire grounds just for us and our wedding guests. Our guests commented that there was something for everyone. We had lawn games, the hedge maze was a huge hit, as was the fire pit. I cannot commend Leah highly enough. She worked seamlessly with all of our vendors and the rest of our team.

    Mankin Mansion Weddings & Events's reply:

    Lorna, thank you so much for this amazing review! Thank you for trusting us with your special day, we agree it was truly magical! We are so honored that you and Terry chose us for your wedding and could not be happier to hear that you had an incredible experience with our venue and our team. We wish you nothing but happiness, The HMM Planning Team
  • C
    Chantel W. Sent on 04/14/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Wedding Venue In RVA

    My husband made the BEST choice ever by choosing HMM as our wedding venue. There is so many wonderful things to say about how our day was extra special due to the kindness, professionalism, and organization of this planning team. Let's start with the planning team. Gillian is absolutely amazing. She made sure that my husband and I lead the decisions with her expert lens right beside us the entire time. For someone who was more on the "organizational/type A" ish type of bride, she was excellent at making sure our details and big picture were captured. When it was time to select wedding vendors she provided a great resource list, and made sure to stay in contact with them as well to make sure everyone was on the same page. We were matched perfectly with a DJ there, and even the financial department was incredibly nice and professional. Next is the venue itself....wow...there is so much to say. This venue is stunning. There are so many hidden gems throughout the venue that are perfect eye catchers for you and your guest, and for pictures. We decided to use the indoor ceremony space and again it was beautiful. I love that they have several complimentary accessory packages that way most main wedding things you may need, they probably already have (i.e., candle holders, easels, welcome signs, seating chart easel, votives, fireworks, chargers, linens, cake/cupcake stands, getaway car etc). Lastly, the customer service was amazing. Every time we had a meeting at the venue we were met with amazing customer service that left my husband and I feeling amazing and excited each time. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

    Mankin Mansion Weddings & Events's reply:

    Chantel, thank you so much for this wonderful review! We appreciate that you mentioned so many aspects of our venue and are so glad that you felt welcomed, supported and that you made the decisions about your wedding day. We are always here to help your vision come to life! We are so happy you had a great experience with our team and that you and Cris had such a special wedding day! ~ The HMM Planning Team
  • Emily
    Emily B. Sent on 02/13/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Wedding Venue in VA

    Getting married at Mankin Mansion was the best choice I made in the entire wedding planning process. The space is beautiful, the planning team is incredible, and they made our day run so perfectly.

    We picked Mankin because we wanted an all in one experience, to make our lives easier, and to make it easy for our guests, and they delivered. From the first meeting to our grand exit, as a bride, I knew the entire time that our special day was in great hands.

    First of all, Mankin Mansion is simply beautiful. The grounds are amazing, and beautiful year round. And they fully customized our ceremony and reception in the gallery and tent to make it really come together. And the BRIDAL SUITE is to die for. Having a beautiful private space to get ready with my mom and bridesmaids made me feel like a queen. Pictures do not do this venue justice.

    Second, the planning team is unmatched. Leah is outstanding. She made it all come together perfectly. She kept me on track with planning, coordinated between all of the vendors to make sure everyone knew just what to do, She made me feel like I was the only wedding she was planning the entire time! And on the day of the wedding, she seamlessly maintained the flow of the day. She even bustled my dress for me outside in 20 degree weather. I wish I had a Leah for real life.

    Plus, having the music team available through the venue was so great because it was just one less thing to worry about. All the equipment is there, and they are fully involved in the ceremony and reception planning, so there was no hiccups or confusion.

    There just aren’t enough words to describe how happy I am with how perfect our wedding turned out and it is all thanks to the team at HMM. They made sure every detail was handled and made it so that my husband and I were fully present with our friends and family on the happiest days of our lives.

    I cannot say enough amazing things about the beautiful venue, but it’s really the team that makes Mankin so special. They are MORE than impressive. They are the ne plus ultra of the wedding industry. They are like family to my husband and I. I am so thankful for all that they did and the amazing memories I will get to cherish forever as a result of their hard work.

    Mankin Mansion Weddings & Events's reply:

    Emily, thank you for your spectacular and detailed words about our HMM Team and Venue! We all wish we had a Leah for real life haha! We are just so thrilled that you had the perfect wedding day. We love you and Daniel so much and could not be more honored that you celebrated your love at the mansion! We LOVE the pictures your included! ~ The HMM Planning Team
  • Aaron
    Aaron J. Sent on 11/17/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Perfect Venue to Celebrate Love

    We knew from the moment we first visited the Historic Mankin Mansion that this was "our venue." HMM's grounds are gorgeous year-round and is constantly maintained to ensure it is photogenic from every angle. To be honest, it does not feel like you're in Richmond or Virginia when you're there—that's the best part! Historic Mankin Mansion is so unique as a venue, especially for weddings in Virginia where so many couples get married at the vineyards over and over again. HMM is special and was the best to work with. The team is small AND mighty! The owners, Paula and Martin, are with you throughout the process and know how to plan for and execute weddings. Their planners are just as amazing! We worked with Gillian and Lauren and they made us feel loved and respected and cared for throughout the many months we spent planning for our wedding... IT WAS PERFECT! We knew that our wedding was "a dream wedding" and now that we're married, we look back and can still say it was a dream that came true. The entire team is detail-oriented and cares about every moment. As a well experienced team, they share such wonderful insight and ideas for you and are candid—which meant a lot to us. Trust us when we say you want to work with a team that cares about you enough to give you candid feedback and suggestions ... they are experts at what they do!

    We truly enjoyed every moment of the process and could not be happier with how our wedding weekend went at HMM. Everything was perfect! Our family and friends are still raving about everything weeks later and continue to share how much they loved our venue, the team, the grounds, and how much fun we had celebrating together. We will cherish our memories at HMM for decades to come and proudly tell our family and friends about the venue that perfectly celebrated our love.

    Mankin Mansion Weddings & Events's reply:

    Aaron, thank you so much for these incredible words about our HMM Team and Venue! We absolutely loved celebrating you and Tim and your wedding weekend was truly a dream! It was so much fun to work with you both and see your perfect wedding come to life surrounded by the most amazing friends and family. We love you both and wish you all the happiness with your next huge life moments! We LOVE all of the pictures you included, they are so wonderful! ~ The HMM Planning Team
  • P
    Paige Sent on 09/14/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The perfect venue

    Almost immediately after we got out of our car to tour the space, we knew Historic Mankin Mansion was the perfect venue for us. Our coordinator, Gillian Zehr, was just astonishing – she is personable and friendly, but SO on top of every detail (both big and small) that made our ceremony and reception special. We’ve been receiving nonstop compliments from our friends and family about how gorgeous the venue was. The grounds are meticulously landscaped and well maintained and provided us with so many options for taking photos. On a more practical note, Mankin provided all the tables and chairs needed for both a ceremony and reception and offers a huge inventory of miscellaneous décor – table numbers, cake stands and cutters, etc. We opted to also rent tablecloths through them at a very reasonable charge. Planning a wedding during a global pandemic was not easy, but Gillian and the rest of the Mankin team were phenomenal to work with! We truly just had to show up and everything was taken care of. Martin (the venue owner and DJ) did a fantastic job with the music selection during the reception – the dance floor was packed, and everyone had a blast. From start to finish, they were incredibly responsive to emails and calls throughout our planning process and made every moment of planning enjoyable and stress free. We truly cannot imagine what our wedding day would’ve been like without their hard work and assistance and I cannot recommend them highly enough!

    Mankin Mansion Weddings & Events's reply:

    Paige, thank you so much for this lovely review! Our goal is definitely to have you show up and not have to do anything! We still dream about your perfect September wedding day and wish you and Kyle all the best! ~ The HMM Planning Team
  • Jennifer
    Jennifer P. Sent on 09/07/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dream venue!

    Historic Mankin Mansion was a dream venue and we highly recommend it! Every time we visited for a planning meeting, we were in awe of its beauty, especially the gardens. If I had to summarize the vibe of the venue, I would say garden party, with Great Gatsby glamor. We initially heard about HMM in our search for a wedding venue that allowed dogs to be a part of your wedding, which, they do! It made our day so much more special and fun to have our dogs there. The most amazing aspect about this venue, however, is all that is included: a wedding coordinator/planner, DJ, tent, dancefloor, all the tables/chairs, and lots of décor, to name some of the bigger things. These are all huge items on your planning checklist that you get to cross off all at once. Additionally, packages include a hotel block (the hotel is only five mins away) with a free shuttle to/from the hotel. To not have to worry about guests drinking and driving is massive. Also, the bridal party getting ready room is stunning, and the groomsmen getting ready room has TVs, a pool table, foosball, and other games, which is a nice/fun touch for your day. This is a maybe silly detail but was important to me- another thing I absolutely loved about HMM is that you do not have to settle for a yucky backup space if you have rainy weather because their indoor ceremony space is just as stunning as the gardens. The entire HMM team was delightful to work with and the planning team thinks of EVERY detail in the planning process- you can just show up the day of your wedding, know that everything is well taken care of, and savor the day!!

    Mankin Mansion Weddings & Events's reply:

    Jenn, thank you so much for this awesome review! We appreciate the details you took the time to list about our spaces and all that we include. You and Ben were incredible to work with and we loved hosting your gorgeous wedding at the Mansion, we would do it all over again! We LOVE the pictures of your fur babies!!!
  • Jasmine
    Jasmine F. Sent on 09/09/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Look no further

    HMM is the most perfect venue you can find in Richmond. All of my guest were impressed with the area and some even mentioned how they were shocked the tent had AC/ Heat and real doors.
    It also rained on my wedding day and the fact that there's an indoor option that's equally as beautiful as outside is amazing.

    My overall experience was amazing and if I had to do it over again I would still choose HMM. A lot of praise goes to Gillian though, she is an amazing person and made my planning so easy; especially since I was planning from out of state. She was accommodating and was on top of EVERYTHING. I honestly feel like I didn't do much work.

    Mankin Mansion Weddings & Events's reply:

    Jasmine, thank you so much for this review! We agree, we love the AC in the tent! You and Eric are wonderful and we enjoyed celebrating your wedding day with you so much! We would absolutely do it all over again
  • John
    John N. Sent on 08/18/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Best Kept Secret in the Commonwelth!!

    The Historic Mankin Mansion is the best kept secret in the Commonwealth!! From the first time that I arrived unannounced to look at the venue in anticipation of our daughter's wedding, Gillian Zehr (who became our wedding coordinator) treated me with kindness and answered my every question. Martin and his team have built an amazing all inclusive wedding venue, but as good as the grounds and physical plant are, the staff and team are the stars of the show. Our wedding coordinator, Gillian Zehr, was an angel sent from heaven. This lady is an absolute professional in every way. She was ultra responsive and communicative, she literally thought of everything, she is kind, a good listener, and nothing rattles her. This lady took so much much pressure and stress off of our family, because we knew that she always had everything under control. I have been in the business world for over 30 years, and Gillian is one of the best that I have ever dealt with. Book this venue NOW, because their calendar fills up fast....and now I know why!! Bravo and thank you so much!!

    Mankin Mansion Weddings & Events's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind and lovely words about our HMM Team and Venue, John! It was beyond a pleasure to host Sophie and Isaac's wedding with you and your beautiful family. Our goal is to definitely take the stress off! We love you all and wish you the absolutely best
  • L
    Latrell E. Sent on 06/21/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Wedding Experience

    The venue sets the tone for your wedding. Mankin is classy and serene, well organized and professional from beginning to end. We had an absolutely perfect wedding day at Mankin Mansion. We really wanted a low stress experience and this venue made that possible. Working with Gillian was a JOY. She understood our vision and gave us numerous suggestions and advice to make things perfect. If we had to do it all over again, we'd pick Mankin every time. It was the best decision we made.

    Mankin Mansion Weddings & Events's reply:

    Latrell, thank you so much! It was such an honor and privilege to host your wedding at Mankin Mansion and we wish you and Arun all the happiness in the world! We are so happy to hear that you had a low stress and fantastic experience :) ~ The Planning Team at Historic Mankin Mansion
  • J
    Jessica V. Sent on 05/05/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Newly married couple at HMM

    We just celebrated our wedding at the Historic Mankin Mansion and we have to let everyone know how absolutely fabulous it was. Our coordinator, Gillian, was beyond amazing! She is so understanding, easy to work with, knowledgeable and sweet. They made the entire experience everything we hoped for and more!

    Mankin Mansion Weddings & Events's reply:

    Jess, thank you so much! It was so great to start out a fantastic season with your gorgeous wedding and are honored that we got to spend the day celebrating you and Brad!
  • L
    Lola A. Sent on 06/04/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    the best venue

    I LOVED having our wedding here. Gillian was absolutely amazing - I remember finishing the sparkler exit and her being there and I got really sad and said I'm really going to miss you! She was the absolute best - and made sure everything went great. A wedding is literally one of the best days of your life and you want people that truly care to be helping/around you. The venue is perfect as is - I could literally go on and on, because words doesn't even do the justice. Don't sleep on this venue it is absolutely the best & you will have the best people around you helping/preparing you for the big day!

    Mankin Mansion Weddings & Events's reply:

    Lola! Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! Our team cares tremendously about our couples and making sure their wedding day is one of the best in their life. We are so glad you felt cared for and helped throughout the process and especially on your special day!
  • Tri
    Trielle Sent on 02/26/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Best of Everything!

    I love this place & cant wait for it to be the backdrop to the most special day of my life!
  • T
    Tiffany F. Sent on 06/06/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Love, love, love!!!

    The staff is wonderful to work with...very nice and professional. The venue is absolutely beautiful and well kept. I can't wait to celebrate my special day there!
  • Holly
    Holly Sent on 08/07/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I don't even know where to start. How do you even begin to thank an entire venue for making your wedding day even happier, easier and more beautiful than you ever thought possible?

    The owner Paula thought of every detail so I didn't have to. She went above and beyond, even adding some gorgeous personal touches to the site to compliment the wedding look. Her heart is as beautiful as her smile!

    The owner/DJ Martin knew just the right song for every moment and got the guests dancing all night. The new lighting he brought in was gorgeous. Put simply, he rocks.

    And the coordinator Mary-Catherine was my angel. Every time I needed something, she was already standing next to me, as if by magic. She calmed me down with one look, and I knew I didn't have to worry about anything with her in charge. She even wore orange and green to match my colors! She made the day more than perfect.

    Thank you to all the Historic Mankin Mansion staff who made everything run seamlessly! I won't ever forget it!

    Mankin Mansion Weddings & Events's reply:

    It pleases us to no end when we can help make someone's Big Day the very best- thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. Every bride is important to us, so this means quite a bit!

    ~The Wedding Planning Team at Historic Mankin Mansion
  • Caroline
    Caroline W. Sent on 01/25/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding Planner/Bride Highest Recommendation

    I have been a professional wedding planner for several years now, and Mankin Mansion is by far one of the best venues I have had the pleasure to work with. I selected them as the venue for my own wedding because it is gorgeous, offers tremendous value, and has an incredible staff. All of our guests still tell me how beautiful it was! Martin and Gillian were incredibly professional, knowledgeable, and helpful. The overnight cottages for our guests were an incredible edition and really let guests enjoy the night to the fullest. The luxury getaway car was a great touch. Martin's son was our driver and he was delightful. It was the best wedding that I could have possibly planned because the team at Mankin Mansion are true industry professionals!

    Mankin Mansion Weddings & Events's reply:

    Caroline, thank you so much for this review! We are so glad you enjoyed to overnight accommodations. Your wedding day was gorgeous, we would celebrate you and Joe any day! Your pictures are stunning, we love the fireworks to end the most perfect night! ~ The HMM Planning Team
  • J
    Jessie S. Sent on 10/16/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The PERFECT Wedding Venue!

    The minute my (now) husband sent me photos from The Historic Mankin Mansion after we got engaged, I knew we HAD to get married there. The venue itself is absolutely gorgeous, the staff is super helpful, and our wedding experience was just perfect. They really take care of everything from start to finish so you can truly enjoy your special day. I can't recommend them enough!

    Mankin Mansion Weddings & Events's reply:

    Thank you so much Jess! We strive to give our couples stress-free and fun wedding days and we are so happy that we were able to do that for you! It was our pleasure! ~ The Planning Team at Historic Mankin Mansion
  • Rebecca
    Rebecca G. Sent on 05/18/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Venue with Great Staff

    Mankin Mansion was the perfect venue for our wedding, and I would recommend it ro anyone looking for a fun space and a great team. When we were looking for a space, we wanted a spot where we really felt we could host a celebration with all our friends and family. With its tent, patio, gardens, indoor area, and more, Mankin was that spot for a great time. It was the most expensive spot we looked at, but ulitimately we decided to book because we loved the venue and so many things like the DJ, coordinating services, and decorations were included. This was the right choice! Even though we paid more money upfront, we saved money in the long run with all the services Mankin provided. They also were so incredibly easy to work with and we avoided a lot of the nightmares other couples experienced due to COVID. We had to rebook twice, and the venue with so flexible and supportive as we tried to figure out our best options. Our coordinator Gillian was absolutely fantastic, along with the rest of the Mankin team who supported her day of, and she made everything flow so smoothly so we did not have to worry about the little details day of and just have fun. Their DJ also did a fantastic job. My husband has very particular tastes about music and was worried about whether or not the music would align with our vision, but Martin hit it out of the park. We had a beautiful wedding that everyone enjoyed thanks to the Mankin team.

    Mankin Mansion Weddings & Events's reply:

    Thank you so much Rebecca! We are so happy that we were your chosen venue and that we made your planning easier in the midst of COVID. It was so fun to dance the night away with you, Mykal and your awesome families and we will be sure to let our DJ know he killed it! ~ The Planning Team at Historic Mankin Mansion
  • Nichole
    Nichole Sent on 09/10/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    We love Mankin

    First of all, the venue itself is breath taking! This was the only place we went to due to falling in love with it the moment we stepped on the grounds. Words cannot express how wonderful they are to work with. The planner we worked with, Lauren, was such a huge help throughout the process! She was so responsive to any questions we had and made our day so perfect! I promise you will not regret working with Mankin Mansion for your wedding!!

    Mankin Mansion Weddings & Events's reply:

    Nichole, we are so happy we were your number 1 choice! It was so awesome to host your wedding at the Mansion and we wish you and Dominick the absolute best! ~ The Planning Team at Historic Mankin Mansion
  • Nrsang1
    Angie Sent on 06/22/2008
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Absolutely incredible site for a wedding weekend!!! My wedding was a fairytale and everyone at the mansion is fantastic to work with. It is wonderful that everything is right there for the entire event including the DJ and we were able to accomodate our wedding party on site in their accomodations. The location is absolutely beautiful!! I would highly recommend this site to everyone!!! :)

    Mankin Mansion Weddings & Events's reply:

    Thank you for your kind words and lovely review- it really is our pleasure! Wishing you the very best!

    ~The Wedding Planning Team at Historic Mankin Mansion
  • A
    Amy Sent on 03/02/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Could not have been more perfect!

    If you are looking for an "all-inclusive" wedding venue, look no further. The Historic Mankin Mansion was amazing and better than we could have ever dreamed for our fall wedding! We actually booked within two weeks of getting engaged because it really did seem like the best value in the Richmond area. I would recommend that you book ASAP if you are interested because the popular dates really do get snatched up quickly. We ended up getting married on the Sunday before Veterans Day and got lucky with a sunny, 65-degree day for our outdoor ceremony. It was perfect!

    Things that came in our package: personal coordinator (we love you Lauren!), Aisle Planner program with a full checklist and super easy option to create a seating chart, DJ, covered tent with French chandeliers and cool up lighting, tables, gold chiavari chairs, complimentary accessories (the coordinator literally made all but one of our signs), window frames with ribbon for easy table assignments, cake stand and serving tools, the Bentley getaway car ride, etc. I could keep going because we got so much from our investment at HMM and if you're on a budget like we were, it WILL save you money!

    The meetings we had with our coordinator were really well spaced out and helpful, so we were stayed on the same page. She did such a great job and many guests commented on how well our wedding flowed. We loved that HMM allowed us to customize our ceremony so much. Both our dogs (a smaller Maltipoo and a medium-sized Austrailian Cattle Dog) were both in the wedding and we had the latter pet trained to hit a bell that signaled the French doors to open for me to walk through & down the aisle with my dad. It was incredible.

    Another hit on our wedding night? Martin as our DJ! He even got my 85-year-old Vietnamese grandmother up and dancing. The way he mixed the music was genius. A bride-to-be at the wedding literally texted me the next morning and said, "The dance floor was LIT. I would love to see your playlist at some point." The best part was we only briefly discussed what genres of music we preferred and offered a few song suggestions, so Martin really did all of the work.

    When it got hot and sweaty on the dance floor, our guests had a great space to go outside to cool off. We opted to get fire pits (which HMM made sure to keep lit throughout the evening) and put candles along a wall outside. So it really did look magical.

    We also saved money on our open bar because we just got a day-of ABC license and all our alcohol in bulk at Costco (liquor at the store in Washington, DC). We ended up returning all of the alcohol that wasn't opened, which was like an unexpected bonus.

    Lastly, our night ended with a sparkler sendoff and such a fun ride in the Bentley with Paula to our hotel. We could not be more thankful to everyone at HMM who made sure we had the best day!

    Mankin Mansion Weddings & Events's reply:

    Amy, we cannot thank you enough for writing to us. We try to make the planning experience as seamless and fun as possible with all of our inclusions and accessories and to read that we achieved that for you is incredible! We so appreciate the time that it took to write this and for including all of the spectacular pictures with it!! ~ The Planning Team at Historic Mankin Mansion
  • Christina
    Christina Sent on 11/02/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing!!!

    This venue is amazing! There are so many little nooks to take great pictures and the landscaping is perfect 24/7. The staff is incredible. We met with Martin for our tour and were hooked! Madison, our planner, was amazing and so patient and accommodating during the planning process. We loved using the Aisle Planner tool that they provided to help us stay on track with planning. Amazing team. Amazing service. Amazing venue!

    Mankin Mansion Weddings & Events's reply:

    Thank you for your kind words Christina! We could not agree about all the nooks to take amazing pictures in. We are so happy you had an amazing experience! ~ The Planning Team at Historic Mankin Mansion
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message