Skip to main content
Weddings

Makeover Artistry Reviews

Makeover Artistry View more information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
195 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating
99% Recommended by couples

Awards

195
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

77 User photos

  • C
    Cathy C. Sent on 02/15/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Donna is my long standing hairdresser and makeup artist. I receive many compliments on my hair and makeup as I travel throughout the U.S. and internat

    Donna is honest and has a great eye for fashion and current trends. She is professional and she will make sure you leave her looking fabulous!
  • M
    Manasa N. Sent on 10/22/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Found the perfect one for my wedding day!!

    Donna is so professional and she did a wonderful job. I was looking for a perfect make up artist for my skin and when I did the trial with her it was perfect, she did the make up accordingly to my face. On the wedding day, my bridal make up was so beautiful. Everyone loved it!!!! She is the best!!!
  • E
    Emily H. Sent on 01/30/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    10 out of 10

    Donna and Krystal did our hair and make up for my wedding and they were fabulous! You can tell they are knowledgeable in the field and fun to get ready with! We had so many compliments on the hair and makeup all throughout the night. Both Donna and Krystal did an amazing job of enhancing our natural features without over doing it. 10/10 would recommend again!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • J
    Jamie Sent on 10/01/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Donna is THE BEST!!!!

    Donna has done my makeup throughout my whole wedding process. The engagement session, all the trials, etc. she was always so sweet and always on time! She is very communicative and flexible. She and her crew had 11 girls to do the day of my wedding and they came at the time they said they would be there and were done in the time they said they would be. She and her crew made everyone look and feel absolutely beautiful. We received so many compliments and the makeup and hair lasted throughout the night into the next day. Donna recently did my hair/makeup for a wedding I was attending as a guest and she did such an amazing job. Whether you’re getting married or just need your makeup done for an event, Donna is your go-to! 10/10 the best in makeup/hair/personality/professionalism/promptness!!!! Thank you so much ❤️
  • Kk OC
    Kk Oc Sent on 12/27/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    10/10 would recommend

    On my wedding day, I wanted to be elegant and only enhance my natural features. Coming from someone who has not always been confident in my look, Donna was able to deliver exactly what I wanted while also making feel the most beautiful I have ever felt! While maintaining and actually improving the health of my skin, delivered a natural make up look while enhancing all my features. Donna is a firecracker and there is never a dull moment with her. She will make you feel like you have known her your whole life and always have your best interest at heart. She has an amazing team behind her as well to help her out on the big day. Our hair dresser Tina was nothing short of amazing. While she works fast, she was able to recreate all my bridesmaids’ hair inspirations and put her own personal twist on it. I will be continuing to be a client in the future for hair as she does an amazing job herself. Thank you so much Donna for giving me the wedding look of my dreams ❤️
  • M
    Millie Sent on 10/19/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Donna is outstanding!

    As the mother of the bride, I am eternally grateful Donna Sousa was available for my daughter’s wedding. This is the first wedding for my family and as my only daughter, I wanted this part to be very special and memorable for her. After scrolling through many bridal stylist sites and leaving messages and actually making an appointment for a trial, something made me scroll through the Wedding Wire and Knot sites again. Donna’s website popped up for the first time and after seeing all her work experiences, accolades, and excellent reviews, I called Donna with every fingers crossed. What a relief when she told me not only is she available, but she will be providing the service!! From the first phone call to the day of the wedding, Donna was very professional, calm, communicative, down to earth, open to ideas, accommodating, and very supportive, and understanding. It was one aspect of the wedding my daughter and I didn’t worry about at all. When we went for our make up and hair trials, my daughter and I had such a fun time. Donna knew the shades of make up to use based on our skin tones and even used the airbrush which is new to us. Tina created a masterpiece with our hair blending styles from pictures and respecting our expectations. With my thinning hair, Tina added hair extensions which was a surprise and created such an amazing and intricate hairstyle that I have never seen and imagine having for the wedding. My trial make up even stayed on beyond 24 hrs as Donna bragged which was so true because I didn’t reapply when my husband and I went to our anniversary dinner the next day. After our trial experiences, my daughter and I knew we were very lucky to have Donna and Tina as our bridal hair and make up artists!
    Besides being our professional artist, Donna was a life saver when I needed to find a seamstress for my mom’s and my dress (which needed a lot of adjustments). Everyone I called was all booked and I was in complete panic! She connected me with one which she had highly recommended and miraculously was available. Is there anything Donna can’t do??? Nope!!
    The morning of the wedding, Donna and Tina worked very well together and were completely organized getting 10 ladies ready for the big day. The bridesmaids were happy that they didn’t have to do their own make up and hair since they don’t normally wear a lot of make up and style their hair mostly in pony tails (as pharmacists). My mom and mother in law felt so special as well like they were the “queens of the ball”! When everyone was done and we were all dressed, we all looked so radiant and gorgeous! My daughter had a huge smile on her face and was so elated which is all I ever wished for on her wedding day. She was the most beautiful bride in the whole world! We received many compliments from the guests…even the word “hot” was used! Donna and Tina are 2 precious people that will make every bride’s dream come true…to feel and look like a princess bride on her special day!
  • Ashton
    Ashton D. Sent on 11/10/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Loved my wedding look!

    Donna and her stylists who were on site at my wedding (Marianne for hair and Alana for makeup) were absolutely fantastic from the trial through the wedding! They are clearly experts - I was struggling to figure out how the timing of everything should work, but I didn't need to worry, they had everything under control - they were even able to add the flower girls at the last minute. My hair turned out far and away beyond my wildest dreams, even after all of the time I spent on Instagram and Pinterest looking at different styles - she got exactly what I wanted and made it even better - and seemed just as excited about it as I was! Makeup was also fantastic, I especially loved my eyes. I would absolutely recommend Makeover Artistry for your wedding or other special event!
  • D
    Deborah A. Sent on 08/29/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Makeover Artistry

    Donna and her team did the wedding of my son and his partner this past weekend in providence -12 attendants plus a groom for hair and makeup! Everyone looked beautiful and Donna even did 2 guest last minute without complaint! I highly recommend her!
  • Lauren
    Lauren M. Sent on 09/14/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Don't hesitate -- hire Donna! Above and beyond for her clients

    Donna Sousa was an absolute dream to have as our wedding hair and makeup artist. From the moment we connected, she made me feel incredibly comfortable and at ease, which is precisely what every bride needs on their special day. Donna's artistry truly shone as she worked her magic on not just me but also our large bridal group, crafting unique and stunning looks that perfectly complemented each of our individual styles. Her responsiveness, helpfulness, and kindness throughout the entire process were remarkable. What sets Donna apart is her unwavering dedication to ensuring her brides look and feel their absolute best. She proved this when she accompanied us to the venue for touch-ups and saved the day after an unexpected bout of rain threatened our hair. In addition to her exceptional talent and service, Donna offers tremendous value for money, making her an absolute steal compared to others in the industry. I can't recommend Donna enough; she is an absolute joy to work with and made our wedding day truly special. THANK YOU DONNA
  • T
    Tessa B. Sent on 07/05/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great experience

    Had a great experience with Donna and Tina. My airbrush makeup held up all night through the endless dancing! My curled hair held up well through my indoor ceremony, but once we stepped foot in Newport humidity my curls mostly came out. That's the risk of wearing an all down style in RI humidity! No fault to the stylist, that's just how my hair works and I knew that going into it. It still looked great in most of my pictures! Both the mothers and my bridesmaids loved their makeup and hair as well!
  • Anika
    Anika P. Sent on 10/27/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Experience

    Donna and Ratina (hair) were INCREDIBLE for my sister's wedding in Newport. The day was gloomy and they were so upbeat and happy to be part of the occasion. It was an Indian wedding and Donna has about 8 people to do. They came on time and stayed after for touch ups. The airbrush was beautiful, it lasted very long. Donna took her time to put on eyelashes, match our skin tones to the makeup and make sure we felt truly beautiful. They worked extremely hard, have great communication and made the whole experience perfect for everyone involved. They were able to stay and schedule as well which was a huge plus. I recommend them for anyone who is planning a wedding!! I got several compliments on my maid of honor hair and makeup which photographed beautifully.

    Thank you so much Donna and team. You are all insanely talented!
  • S
    Savannah A. Sent on 06/16/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Gorgeous work and professionalism at its finest

    Donna is an incredible artist who is easy to talk to, a great listener, and willing to take feedback about your wedding makeup wants and needs. Since I don't wear makeup everyday, Donna worked with me to plan an additional bridal trial to modify the makeup she had done from the first round, so I had a better understanding of the process and what colors/looks were the best for my skin and dress. After recommending a hydrating skin facial, I followed her advice and my makeup went on even better the day of the wedding! She is the epitome of professionalism and skill. As for hair, I worked with Ratina, an incredible hair stylist. After a few Pintrest photos, she was able to make my wedding hair vision even better than I expected! If she recommends hair extensions (she'll put them in for you and dye them to your hair color), DO IT! You keep them afterwards, but my thin hair could not hold a curl and the extensions were critical for holding the curl and making the look complete. I cannot thank Donna and Ratina enough for making me feel comfortable and beautiful on my wedding day! Their work ethic and attention to detail is second to none; you will not be disappointed.
  • G
    Gina W. Sent on 08/26/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Long Lasting Beauty

    My stepdaughter hired Donna and she did an amazing job! I was skeptical that my makeup would stay that long as she had a lot of girls in her wedding party. Not only was it spectacular but it stayed on perfectly well after midnight. Donna spends time with each person in order to create the perfect look and we all had our own style. I would definitely recommend hiring Donna.
  • J
    Jennifer R. Sent on 12/26/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful Hair and Makeup

    Donna Sousa's team was wonderful to work with. Donna was very quick to respond to email and phone. Annie and McKenzie did an amazing job on hair and makeup for me (the bride) and all of my girls. They exceeded my expectations- I absolutely loved how I looked in every picture, and lasted the whole night!
  • K
    Kimberly R. Sent on 11/15/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding day

    Donna she’s very professional very accommodating and very talented with her work as a make up artist. On time on the wedding day and well prepared. Was able to get all bridal party done in a timely manner.
  • J
    Juliana L. Sent on 11/15/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing & professional

    Donna and her team are exceptional! They provided their services in a professional manner. My hair and make up lasted all night into the next day! I opted for false lashes and was a bit apprehensive at first. Once the glue dried, I could not feel them at all and they stayed on all night. I would.highly recommend Donna and her team for your wedding or special event.
  • J
    Jenny Sent on 11/01/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Outstanding

    All I can say is that Donna is amazing!!!! I needed my makeup done for my wedding and I feel so lucky to have connected with her. I found her on her website and when I spoke to her, she made me feel very special and was interested in every detail so I could look and feel my best for the day. Her skills and expertise are unparalleled and she transformed me into a true queen for the day. I will be going to her for my hair and makeup needs from this day forward. If you want to look your best, go to Donna, she won’t disappoint.
  • K
    Kimberly O. Sent on 10/23/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding day makeup and hair!

    Such an amazing experience. We all felt beautiful. We all loved how everything came out and our makeup didn’t move.
  • J
    Jazmyne M. Sent on 10/26/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing experience with Donna and her team

    10/10 would recommend. Donna made the whole experience amazing. Ratina and Anna were absolutely amazing to work with and my entire wedding party received multiple compliments from not only the guests but from the other vendors. I am completely satisfied with my experience and my hair and makeup look flawless in my sneak peak photos!
  • K
    Karen M. Sent on 10/17/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Above and beyond!

    We hired Donna and her team to do the hair and makeup for my daughter’s wedding. The trial went so well, and my daughter spoke so glowingly of Donna, that I couldn’t wait to meet her on wedding morning. She did not disappoint!! She arrived bight and early, exactly as she promised, and did makeup for me, my daughter, and 6 bridesmaids. When asked that morning to add an additional family member, Donna graciously and happily agreed. She was so warm and personable and clearly so very talented. The makeup for each and every one of us was flawless! I received more compliments at the reception than I can count! She even came to the venue to ensure that our hair and makeup stayed perfect. She was our angel! As a mother, you want your daughter’s wedding day to be the most perfect day of her life. For us it was - and Donna played an important part in that. Brides - you will LOVE working with her. And mothers of brides - you will rest easy knowing your daughter will look and feel her absolute beautiful best on her special day!!!


  • Jess
    Jess M. Sent on 10/17/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Simply the best

    Donna and her team are beyond phenomenal. From the initial inquiry, lead up to trial, trial, and entire wedding day, Donna and her team made everything seamless, fun, and extremely memorable for myself, my family, and bridesmaids. Donna is amazing at what she does and takes her work very seriously. Everyone was floored with their makeup- she does exquisite work while still making you feel like yourself. She stayed throughout our first look and came to the ceremony for touch ups which is absolutely above and beyond. She’s also a joy to be around and feels like family. I felt like a true queen on my wedding day and will call Donna whenever I have a special event. We had a total blast with Donna and team and cannot recommend her more highly!!

    Makeover Artistry's reply:

    I am so honored and blessed to have met you and your beautiful family! We give 100% to all of our brides whether it is myself the day of or my amazing talented team. 👩‍🦳🙏🏻🥰💄💋
  • A
    Alexa Sent on 12/14/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Look No Further - Highly Recommended!

    Donna provided my bride tribe and I with the most amazing artist and quality makeup. Until now, I never liked getting mine done. Makeover Artistry has changed my outlook, and are who I will be contacting for any event moving forward. The makeup matched my aesthetic and color scheme, made me feel bright and beautiful, and was the perfect amount of glitz and glam. All the girls looked so stunning thanks to Christina, Donna and her amazing team. Look no further - highly recommended to make your day just that much more special!
  • E
    Emily B. Sent on 10/26/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing experience!

    Donna is really wonderful at what she does!! She did makeup for myself and my bridal party for my wedding on 10/08/2022 and everyone was so happy with how they looked all night. The airbrush technique Donna uses really makes you look flawless! The duo of Donna and Ratina for hair was just perfect. I am so appreciative of both of them for working so hard to make the morning of the wedding so enjoyable! Highly recommend.
  • M
    Mary B. Sent on 10/09/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Flawless Airbrush Makeup

    Donna did makeup for my wedding on 10-01-22 and my bridal party and I looked flawless all day and night! We received so many compliments. I have had airbrush done in the past that I was unhappy with but Donna knows what she’s doing! She and Maureen (hair stylist) were prompt and got through all of the girls who needed hair and makeup without a hitch. So grateful she had an opening to accommodate us. If you’re looking for someone who knows their stuff, look no further.
  • Riva
    Riva Sent on 11/02/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely Amazing!

    I was blown away with Donna's amazing talents at my makeup trial, and I was so excited to have her at the wedding! Donna did the makeup for my bridesmaids, mum and mother-in law and everyone absolutely loved their makeup! Donna also did my makeup for my welcome party, and it was absolutely stunning! She stayed the entire day of the wedding making sure she did touchups throughout the day and some makeup tweaks for the reception. Ratina was our lovely hair artist for the day and did a fabulous job!!!! I couldn't recommend them more! Thank you both so much!!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours