Make U Up Reviews

41 | Astoria, NY
See photos, pricing and details

41 Reviews for Make U Up

Recommended by 100%

41
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

9 User Photos

Make U Up 1
Make U Up 2
Make U Up 3
Make U Up 4
Make U Up 5
Make U Up 6
Make U Up 7
+ 3
Sort by:
  • Kacie

    Kacie · Married on 10/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful experience

    Kristen was absolutely wonderful to work with. She did exactly what I wanted and it came out even better than I could have ever imagined! I would highly recommend her if you want someone who will help you make your day perfect!

  • C

    Christine · Married on 09/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristen is very talented and you can see she loves what she does ;) She is talented, friendly, and professional. My daughter was married outdoors on one of the hottest days this summer, but in the pictures we all look like its a cool crisp day ;) Make up and Hair stayed flawless all day into the night. Thanks to Kristen !!!

  • D

    Dana · Married on 05/19/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had my hair done as a bridesmaid and loved it so much I immediately booked Kristen for my own wedding. She did all of my bridesmaids and everyone looked picture perfect and stunning. We had an interfaith wedding, so we had two ceremonies and a very long day of celebrating. Everyone looked absolutely fantastic until the very end of the night. Not only was the hair and makeup perfect, Kristen and her team were a pleasure to be around and wonderful to work with. Her prices were fantastic too. Cannot recommend her more highly!! Thank you, Kristen!

    Make U Up 8
  • G

    Gloria · Married on 01/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was a bridesmaid in a wedding and Kristen did my hair and makeup. She did an AMAZING job, I've never felt so beautiful. The airbrush foundation, false eyelashes and smokey eye stayed on ALL day (and it was a long day). At 3am everyone kept telling me how my hair and makeup looked the same as it looked at 11am. I would definitely recommend Kristen and can't wait to get my hair and makeup done by her again at another wedding!

    Make U Up 9
    Make U Up 10
    Make U Up 11
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 10/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristen was amazing to work with for my wedding. I had never had my makeup professionally done before and she was friendly, prompt, and professional, and responsive to messages. She did my trial the day of my bridal shower and it came out amazing and I knew it would be amazing on the day of my wedding as well. She was super flexible and arrived at my house at 5am and was exactly on time. She was flexible when my maid of honor/sister was late because she was sick and still got everyone ready on time! She listened to what I wanted and the hair and makeup and it came out amazing. She adjusted the false lashes several times until they were completely comfortable for me! My hair lasted all day, even though it was raining. If I could do it all over again, I would! I wish I had her put my veil in my hair though because it kept falling out!

  • M

    Mollie · Married on 09/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have used Kristen 3 times in the past 6 months! Twice as a bridesmaid and once for my own wedding. My makeup was natural looking but still made me feel made up and look special. My hair has a tendency to never hold a curl and both times she did my hair it held in a full curl until the following day! I wouldn’t choose anyone else. Thanks Kristen!!

    Make U Up 12
    Make U Up 13
    Make U Up 14
    Make U Up 15
    Make U Up 16
  • H

    Holly · Married on 06/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristen and her team did the hair and make up for 9 of us at my wedding last weekend, and everyone loved how they looked. Kristen and team were so calm, relaxed and easy to chat to, whilst still getting everyone done in really good time! Everyone wanted different hairstyles and they all ended up looking fantastic, our make up stayed put all day and night. Our pictures look awesome! I definitely recommend hiring Kristen for your wedding or event, you wont regret it!

  • K

    Kathleen · Married on 12/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristen is terrific! She does hair and make up so it saves a ton of time on coordinating trials and scheduling multiple vendors the morning of the big day. I got ready at my parent's house and there was a lot of traffic so it was nice to be able to go to one of the bedrooms and not have to travel.

    I had an idea of the up-do that I wanted but Kristen was able to make it even more glamorous and contemporary. She had terrific suggestions and was patient as we explored different modifications on the style so that I didn't look or feel like every other bride. I also don't wear a ton of makeup and I have oily skin. I knew it was important for photos to have my makeup done but I still wanted to look natural. Kristen probably spent an hour on my eyes. They were gorgeous and lasted all day (and well into the after party)!! And she solved my oily skin issue too so I only blotted a few times throughout the reception and re-applied the lipstick. Kristen also did my mom and aunt's makeup - and both of them are very particular. She was calm and professional as my aunt made some ridiculous demands. Another major help was that Kristen recommended her colleagues for my bridesmaids and future inlaws and her sisters. It was so much easier to go with someone you trust rather than shop around for multiple people. Everyone felt and looked beautiful and complimented their artists. Kristen definitely removed the stress from this part of the wedding process. I would highly, highly recommend her. I also thought her prices were reasonable considering some of the other vendors that I found. She was on time and finished early and even helped fix my flower girl's hair.

  • M

    Mindy · Married on 09/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't begin to say enough wonderful things about Kristen. She is exactly what every make up artist should be. She listens to exactly what you tell her, and makes great suggestions based off of her years of experience. She did my makeup and hair for my wedding as well as my bridesmaids, and my mother's makeup as well. Everyone was so happy and looked so beautiful. If you are looking for quality hair and makeup for a special occasion you will not be disappointed!! Thank you Kristen for helping make my day more beautiful!

  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 09/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristen did an amazing job with my makeup for my wedding this past Friday and for my bridesmaids. She was extremely sweet and professional to work with. I didn't even have a chance to have a trial so it was the first time she was dong my makeup and it came out perfect. I received numerous compliments. She listened to what I had to say, took her time, and made sure I was satisfied with the final product. I highly recommend using Kristen!!

  • A

    Alyssa · Married on 07/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could not be happier with the way that my hair and makeup came out for my wedding day! I used Kristen and her team for my hair and makeup along with my mom, grandmother and entire bridal party. They were extremely efficient, down to earth and made us look fabulous and natural! I would recommend Kristen's services to any bride that is looking for someone that is professional, responsive and will keep you calm on the morning of your wedding day!! Cannot thank her enough :)

  • L

    Lauren · Married on 07/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristen did an absolutely amazing job on my hair and makeup for my wedding! I could not have been happier with the results! My hair had voluminous, touchable, sexy curls, and my makeup was big, glamorous eyes, natural lips, and flawless skin. Kristen made me totally comfortable in expressing what I did and didn't like, and she did a great job of listening and delivering. Kristen is so meticulous with her work- you can tell that she genuinely cares and wants you to be as happy as possible on your special day! She also did one of my bridesmaids hair and makeup, who wanted a more natural look. Kristen made her look awesome too! Her skills are so versatile in hair and makeup that she can make you look bold and glamorous or subdued and natural. She will do an awesome job for any occasion that you might be celebrating! I will definitely be booking her again.

  • J

    Jill · Married on 06/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristen did mine and my bridal party's makeup for my wedding day and we all were thrilled! Couldn't have asked for a better job, thank you Kristen!

  • D

    Diana · Married on 05/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristen did hair for my best friend's wedding (where I was MoH) almost 4 years ago, and I LOVED my hair (I loved the Bride's too!) So when I got engaged three years later, I knew who I wanted for hair. I also had a good idea what I wanted, but Kristen even added a unique twist (literally) around the back of my head for my half-up, half-down style. I also got a hair clip last minute that was flawlessly worked into the style. I don't always love my hair but I did on my wedding day, and I looks and felt gorgeous, and I never once had to give my hair a touch-up. My bridesmaids' hair was gorgeous too, everyone went for something slightly different and everyone looked amazing. In addition to being great with hair, Kristen is also really personable and easy to work with, and very accommodating. She traveled pretty far to do our hair, and also had another affair she needed to attend later that day but she went above and beyond to work with me for my big day.

  • User5004350 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristen did an absolutely amazing job with my bridal makeup and all the ladies in my bridal party! She came to my house with an assistant was very flexible with scheduling and had everything finished in time. My makeup was so light and don't perfectly I didn't feel it all night and it was still perfect by the end! I would highly recommend Kristen for any bride looking for an artist who does an amazing job and has an awesome personality to help keep you calm on the big day!

  • C

    Christine · Married on 05/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristen did an absolute flawless job on BOTH my hair AND makeup on my wedding day. I felt and looked beautiful because of her work. Hair and makeup are two very important things to a bride so having someone like Kristen really made the day go perfectly. Kristen makes you feel completely comfortable telling her what you do and do not like and will make sure everything is exactly how you want it. I loved the way she does makeup so much that I have hired her for other occasions, she's truly a professional! She uses makeup products that are natural looking and long lasting, including air brush. Her style is modern in terms of hair which was super important to me. I didn't want Shirley Temple curls she she was stylish enough to understand that when many other hair dressers were insistent upon tight curls. She made my hair look natural, sexy, and beautiful all day! Hire her! For everything! You cannot go wrong!

  • B

    Bonnie · Married on 10/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristen did a fantastic job on everyone in my wedding, including myself (the bride!). Everyone felt so beautiful. She did 7 different people and each and every one was amazed. She even gave me a second trial when I panicked last minute that I needed a more dramatic look! I would (and have) recommended her for any occasion that you need to feel fabulous for!

  • A

    Annie · Married on 06/13/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristen did my hair and make-up for my wedding and I could not have been more pleased. When I went for my hair trial she did a gorgeous low bun. Her hair skills are amazing! After some thought, I pictured my hair down on my wedding day so on the day of my wedding she did my hair down and brushed back on one side. My hair came out stunning! Along with my beautiful hair was my beautiful make-up. I love make-up and I was nervous to have someone else do my makeup not knowing if they could convey the look I really wanted. Kristen was able to deliver exactly what I wanted and it looked so beautiful...and it lasted all night! Kristen was so nice and accommodating and I highly recommend her for both hair and make-up...she is very talented!

  • E

    Elisabeth · Married on 10/06/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristen did an absolutely amazing job with both my hair and makeup for my wedding day. I cannot say enough positive things about my experience with her from the start. She also did make up for my mother and sister and brought Renee to help with their hair (who also did a great job). I was very pleased after my trial when Kristen worked patiently on my makeup. On my wedding day, I opted for some different colors even after she was almost done with my eye makeup, and it was at this time that her professional, patience, & attention to detail truly shone through as she worked until everything was absolutely perfect! I could not have been happier with her services! I would highly recommend Kristen to anyone looking for a hair and makeup artist for their wedding day or any other special event. I would definitely use her services again in the future.

  • C

    Christina · Married on 09/27/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristen was AMAZING from start to finish. Her skills are flawless and so was my face haha. I recommend her to everyone!!!

  • User3661840 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I never knew I could look that great as what Kristen has made me. My make up was amazing and it was so natural looking. It also lasted for the entire day without any touch ups! Love Kristen!

  • N

    Noelle · Married on 08/16/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristen was amazing! All of my bridesmaids and my mother looked beautiful! She did an amazing job on my hair and makeup for my wedding! I love the way every thing looked that day and looking back on the pictures, I am so happy with the results. She listened to exactly what I wanted. She nailed the trial and the day if the wedding! I will definately be using her again!!!

  • B

    Bernadette · Married on 07/26/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I used Kristen for my makeup for my wedding and I absolutely LOVED her work!!!! She was amazing to work with, listened to everything I said while also giving her professional opinion. My airbrushed makeup remained FLAWLESS all day and the entire night. It was the end of July, and definitely hot, but it never melted, smudged, or wore off. My biggest concern the day of my wedding was looking "shiny" in the face from sweating, but it never happened. I received so many compliments on my makeup and I have recommended her to all my friends who have recently gotten engaged.
    The day of my wedding, Kristen also took the time to fix my hair! I used another person for my hair that day, and when I came back to my house from the salon, I wasn't totally happy with it. Kristen was able to see why I didn't like my hair and with a couple of bobby pins she completely transformed it into what I wanted. She definitely did not have to do this and I honestly feel like this saved my wedding day. I cannot possibly say enough amazing things about her and the work she does.
    She also did makeup for all my bridesmaids as well as my mother and everyone was ecstatic beyond belief with how their makeup came out.

  • J

    Jen · Married on 07/19/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristen was amazing! I've had my make up done by many for different occasions and no one compares to Kristen! My makeup was flawless and perfect ! Thank you Kristen for making me look beautiful on my special day!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review