Weddings

Maira Ortiz Makeup And Hair Artist Reviews

Maira Ortiz Makeup And Hair Artist

Maira Ortiz Makeup And Hair Artist

New York, NY
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 95 Reviews
View more information

95 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 95
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

4 User photos

Sort by:
  • Nikki
    Nikki N. Married on 09/18/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Experience with Maira Ortiz

    Maira can do it all. Not only did her hair and makeup exceed expectations, she really brings everything to the next level. She was on time, professional, friendly, and all around AMAZING. I honestly can't think of another hairstylist and makeup artist with a better personality and work ethic. She is everything you need for a special day.

    Maira Ortiz Makeup And Hair Artist's reply:

    Thank you Nikki for your glowing review. It was so much fun and excited to be working with you. You are a rock star!
  • M
    M Vk Married on 09/11/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful experience, beautiful makeup!

    Maira did a wonderful job with the makeup for my wedding! She did the makeup for me (the bride), my mother, and my two maids of honor. Many tears of joy were shed, and the makeup lasted through it all :)

    Maira Ortiz Makeup And Hair Artist's reply:

    Hi Maria, Thank you so much for your feedback and rating.
    I really appreciate it! It was such a pleasure working with you and your bridal party and I very happy to have met your expectations.
  • A
    Anna M. Married on 05/01/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Maira is amazing!

    I can’t say enough good things about Maira and her assistant, Devon. Through my engagement photo session, hair/makeup trial, and the day of my wedding, she made me incredibly comfortable, made me feel special, and listened to everything I said. She was excited to work with me on my full looks (paying attention to my outfits and helping to coordinate my hair) and took the time to understand exactly what I wanted and how we could best accomplish it. She worked with each woman on the day of the wedding to make her comfortable (from kids under 10 to the mothers of the bride) and everyone was incredibly happy with her speed and accuracy. We all looked great in person and in photos!

    On top of all this, she is a genuinely sweet and interesting person to chat with, and is above all a professional who is punctual and communicative. I had a lot of last minute changes--where we were getting ready, how many ladies were getting ready, etc, and she went with the flow at every step.

    Thank you so much, Maira!
  • Amanda
    Amanda N. Married on 09/25/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great experience!

    I had such a great experience with Maira Ortiz for my wedding. My husband and I ended up eloping and to still have my hair and make up done, truly made me feel like a bride. She executed exactly what I wanted and I couldn't be happier!

    Maira Ortiz Makeup And Hair Artist's reply:

    Hi Amanda,
    Thank you for taking the time and writing the review. I truly appreciate it. I enjoyed working with you! Congratulations!!!
  • E
    Esther Married on 02/29/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Maira made my hair look beautiful! So easy to work with!

    I highly recommend Maira for your wedding beauty needs. Maira did my hair (Bride) and MOH, mothers, sisters and friends. She was super easy to work with and during the trial made adjustments to the style I wanted to my updo. On the actually day, she was quick, calm and kept everything running smoothly. She even had time to squeeze in an extra girl at the end which just underscores that she is there to make the day about you, and really tries to make everyone happy. I was super happy with my hair, and it looked really polished the entire night. The updo held from the way she set it and pinned it, but didn't look rigid or stiff from too much hair spray. I still felt like myself. She's also good for any mix of bridal parties as easily transitioned between looks for mothers, and blowouts for friends. You will be super happy you booked Maira!
  • Steph
    Steph Married on 02/16/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing!! Highly reccomend!

    Maira is amazing. She seriously worked with me so much to make sure my vision came to life. We had the first trial and I was super honest with her about what I felt needed to be changed and during the second trial ended up completely changing my whole hairstyle and she made everything look so beautiful and better than I had imagined. The day of, her whole team was super efficient and got everyone finished so quickly and they all looked beautiful. Just tell her what you want, make edits, and she will make it happen!!

    Maira Ortiz Makeup And Hair Artist's reply:

    Thank you so much Steph for your review and posting photos! It was a real pleasure working with you and your bridal party. I wish you all the best and blessings. 😘
  • K
    Kassandra Married on 08/09/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Working with Maira was such a wonderful experience. She was very professional and a lot of fun to be around. She was very accommodating and willing to work around your schedule. If you give her wiggle room to add her touch and ideas to your hair & makeup style, I promise you will be amazed and walk away with a style better than what you expected. The best part is that she is has on location service. Coming from LA and barely knowing how to move around NYC, it was one less thing for me to worry about. I guarantee she will deliver pure quality. I received lots of compliments for my hairdo and makeup. Lastly she is very friendly and makes the whole process very fun. I promise you, you will be glad you chose her, so just go ahead and call her up! Trust me she will blow your mind away!!!
  • User3588252 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Maira was my Wonder Woman for my wedding. For my destination wedding I had not found a makeup artist that made me excited and happy about the look I was going for. I was connected with Maira late in my planning phase. Maira looked at pictures and listened to what I was trying to describe as the look I was going for and she made herself available to do my makeup for the entire weekend event. She saved the day for me. She is amazing.
  • J
    Jenny Married on 09/10/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Maira did a great job making my bridesmaids look amazing. She and hair teammate Esther did hair and makeup for 4 bridesmaids plus the mother of the bride. Correspondence beforehand was clear. They arrived a few minutes early, and finished everyone on time. Everyone had a pretty, amplified natural look with gorgeous false lashes that photographed beautifully and lasted a very long day. (Still waiting on my professional photos to post with this review!)
  • E
    Erin Married on 04/29/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Maira is as talented as she is lovely! She gave me the perfect haircut. I just put myself in her more than capable hands and she immediately knew the perfect length and cut and went to work. Magic! She's a star.
  • M
    Milena Married on 03/21/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    It was the best decision ever to decide to book Maira for the wedding. She made an awesome work but more than this she always made me feel comfortable and relaxed. So also because of her it became one of the most beautiful days in my life. Thank you very much, Maira. You're great! Keep going! :)
  • L
    Lauren Married on 10/22/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I had a great experience with Maira for my wedding. First she came to my home for a hair and makeup trial. After doing my makeup and adjusted it till I was really happy with it we tried two different hairstyles; one up and one down. After each hairstyle, Maira took professional grade photos of me so I could take my time deciding which look I preferred and we could used the photos as a reference for my wedding day. My wedding was small and I was the only one getting hair and makeup done and she was accommodating of that. I’m sure she would also have been able to handle a much larger wedding with an assistant as she is very organized. I highly recommend her!
  • Margarita
    Margarita Married on 09/03/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I wanted to gift hair and makeup to my future mother-in-law the morning of my wedding but had a hard time finding someone who would travel to Queens (many companies only worked within Manhattan or Brooklyn). I found Maira Ortiz on Wedding Wire and was so thrilled that she was available to travel to my mother-in-law's house and do her hair and makeup. She answered me immediately and was kind and professional. I know things must have been very hectic at my in-laws' house, but my husband said everything went smoothly. My mother-in-law's hair and makeup turned out absolutely stunning! She looked elegant, sophisticated, and natural. Many thanks to Maira for giving my mother-in-law some much-needed pampering!
  • User2363598 Event on: 09/26/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Maira was amazing. Dependable, upbeat and extremely skilled. The hair and makeup was beyond what we hoped for and made the Bat Mitzvah girl look spectacular and feel very special. And as for me, the mom, I have never had such a good makeup job!
  • J
    Jenny Married on 09/12/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I really have no better way to describe Maira than to say she was amazing! Maira actually did the hair and makeup for one of my bridesmaids when she got married 2 years ago. I remember how great her makeup looked and she also highly recommended Maira's services (biggest selling point: the promise that my make up would never run or fade regardless of the amount of sweat/tears). During the vetting process, Maira was extremely responsive without being too pushy or putting an arbitrary timeline on my decision making like some of the other vendors did. Her approach and confidence (plus one of my closest friends vouching for her) made my selection a no brainer. My work schedule made it challenging to schedule the trial but Maira offered to come to my apt later in the afternoon to accomodate my schedule. During the trial, I felt extremely comfortable and instantly loved her upbeat energy. Knowing that i did not have much of a 'vision' for what i wanted exactly, she asked all the right questions to narrow down the looks. By the time my wedding day rolled around, I had not a single concern. Maira and her team were nothing but professional and helped me and my bridesmaids feel beautiful. I got so many compliments on my hair and makeup throughout the night, and despite some crying and lots of dancing, my makeup survived well past the reception. From the beginning to end, Maira exceeded my expectations and I am very happy that I was referred to her by my bridesmaid!
  • R
    Rachel Married on 09/05/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I am SO lucky to have found Maira Ortiz to do my makeup and hair for my wedding! I have never felt as beautiful as I did the day I got married! She also put together a whole amazing team for my bridal party of 14 people - each person was so talented and I have never seen my friends or family members look as gorgeous as they did on the day of the wedding. It was a pleasure working with Maira leading up to the wedding as well! I recommend Maira to anyone who wants to look beautiful on their wedding day! Thank you Maira!!!
  • User2294075 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Maira came highly recommended to me from several friends and far surpassed my expectations!! After a lengthy trial and still not being sure how I wanted my hair done on the big day, Maira kept me calm and confident on the morning of and listened to what I was really looking for. I could not have been happier with how my hair and makeup came out!! I felt sso beautiful and yet I also felt comfortable and like myself. The makeup and hair lasted all night, throughout lots of dancing and some tears!!! I am SO happy I went with Maira -- she really is the best!!! thank you thank you thank you!!
  • C
    Christen Married on 06/19/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Maira is the absolute best!! She is incredibly helpful, and friendly and an expert at what she does. She made our day so much fun and so stress free. It was a pleasure working with her. My hair and makeup, as well as, my bridesmaids hair and makeup was absolutely stunning and lasted ALL night with no touch ups. We couldn't have been happier!

    If you don't want to worry and want professionalism and expertise work with Maira. (She even brings her own professional camera and professional lighting so she can photograph you and you will know exactly how you will look for pictures!!)
  • User2367289 Event on: 05/30/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Maira was lovely, efficient, and is extremely talented. I highly recommend her.
  • User2381776 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Maira did a great job on my wedding hair and makeup. She arrived on time and was a pleasure to be around. The first day we met in person was my wedding day, which made me nervous that we only had one shot to get things right. She made my hair look amazing and matched the makeup look I was aiming for. I would highly recommend Maira as a one stop shop for all your wedding day beauty needs.
  • E
    Emily Married on 07/26/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I used Maira for my wedding hair and makeup, and for my bridal party. She was a dream to work with. She has a very good energy and put me at ease. My bridal hair and makeup looked even better than our trial run, which I didn't think was possible. I would highly recommend airbrush makeup. She blends the tones and makes it look very natural. There were a few times during the trial that I was picky about my hair, but we re-worked it and her patience was amazing and the end product was great. She was very responsive and easy to work with. I would highly recommend using Maira and her team.
  • User1590785 Event on: 04/10/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Great job. People said I had never looked better. :)
  • A
    Arianna Event on: 04/04/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Maira is an awesome stylist who listens to your opinion in what you want done. She's a great stylist who is flexible, talented, and experienced.
  • Yu
    Yu Married on 11/16/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Maira and her assistant were both very professional and personable. They know their craft well and they made me (the bride), my mom, my mom-in-law, and 3 bridesmaids look absolutely stunning! They were required to travel and do all of our hair/make-up in less than 4 hours and they did just that and what a great job they did. Maira is very attentive to details and she knows what looks good and what doesn't (even if you don't really know what looks good on you). I just told her what type of look I was going for roughly and we figured it out during our trial and on the day of the wedding, I didn't have to stress at all over hair/make-up since I had so much other things to worry about! She played awesome music, too, and kept our nerves calm. She's fun and super personable, you will feel very comfortable with her. I was really happy with her services and would recommend her to anyone. Wish her the best.
  • daniela
    Daniela Married on 09/21/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Maira is the best! Not only did she make me feel like a princess the day of my wedding but my make-up and hair lasted all day. She did hair and make-up for my sister's wedding back in 2009 and I knew right away I wanted her to be a part of my special day. She is kind, patient and has a heart of gold. If you chose Maria, you WILL NOT be disappointed.