Skip to main content
Weddings

MacGregor Downs Country Club Reviews

MacGregor Downs Country Club

MacGregor Downs Country Club

Cary, NC
4.7 out of 5 rating, 42 Reviews
View more information

42 Reviews

Rated
4.7
out of 5.0
Recommended by 94% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.7 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 42
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

19 User photos

  • Mary
    Mary Married on 04/28/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful venue

    Beautiful place for any occasion. We had our wedding here and Victoria was so helpful and very efficient. She communicates and gets things done. She worked with Us through this whole process. With the all inclusive package They do everything and you just show up for your event. Food was so delicious we still get compliments on how good the food was. You have the choice to be inside or use the beautiful tent outside. We had a beautiful wedding, thanks to Macgregor Downs country club and Victoria.
    Mary and Lee Wilson.
  • J
    Jessica M. Married on 04/02/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Seamless planning, beautiful wedding day, stunning venue

    We’re really glad we chose MacGregor Downs Country Club as our venue. Most things are provided on-site, even including some decorations, and I didn’t have to worry about anything. The food was delicious, and the golf course and lake made a beautiful backdrop for photos. There is no real bridal suite per se but they did a really good job setting up the Highlands/Islay room–right next to a couple single-occupancy restrooms–with mirrors and chairs and a garment rack, and even had muffins and mimosas for us when we arrived. The deck off the Lakeside room was even perfect to get some air as the party raged on inside. My only complaint is that the contact changed several times, but each person was incredibly friendly and knowledgeable; we had no issues.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • N
    Nicole B. Married on 03/25/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    We absolutely loved it, it was beautiful and felt so welcomed touring

    The vendor was beautiful, it was very spacious and had many options to choose from
  • I
    Idana W. Married on 10/24/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding October 2020

    Taylor and her staff did a great job with our daughters October wedding! She made the whole day so easy for us to enjoy.
  • Hannah
    Hannah Married on 10/10/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful venue

    Beautiful venue and wonderful people. They made the whole night go smoothly and perfect. Everyone raved about the food and how wonderful the venue was.
  • K
    Kayla C. Married on 09/27/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best day!! Thanks to the best coordinator and staff at MDCC

    Our day at MDCC was absolutely perfect and Taylor was THE BEST to work with!! Her calm personality is perfect for the wedding industry! We can not thank her and MDCC enough for everything they did to make sure our day went off without a hitch. Highly recommended!
  • C
    Carolyn M. Married on 08/08/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Our wedding reception/ dinner was well done by the staff at MacGregor.

    Every aspect of our reception/dinner was exceptionally done by Emery. However, we felt the kitchen staff could have provided more appetizers on the buffet table.
    We will definitely use this facility again.
  • Lisa
    Lisa M. Married on 10/19/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful experience! Highly recommend!

    We were so very pleased with Nicole, Victoria, and the rest of the team at MacGregor Downs country club. My daughter's wedding was beyond what we hoped for. I fully recommend MDCC for your wedding or any event. So many of our guests could not get over the amazing food. My daughter and son and law were so very happy with everything!
  • Rebecca
    Rebecca D. Married on 09/28/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Decision We Made!

    We had our wedding reception at the MacGregor Downs Country Club and it was such a wonderful experience! All of our guests raved about the food, and the staff was incredibly professional and catered to our every want and need! Nicole Moore, the catering coordinator, was fantastic. She helped us with so many decisions leading up to the party and she made everything we wanted happened with ease! Having Nicole was so helpful and saved us on having to hire a day-of-coordinator. She handled the schedule of events, menu, flower deliveries, rental deliveries, and band set-up. I cannot say enough wonderful things about Nicole and the MacGregor Downs staff. Having MacGregor Downs host our reception was the best decision we made! Also, you would assume having a country-club wedding would be very expensive, but it was very competitive priced. We looked at other venues and realized very quickly that MacGregor Downs was an excellent deal. You get the venue space, linens, chairs/tables, wait staff, a day-of-coordinator, and a huge selection of food for one flat rate which was very reasonably priced. I highly recommend this venue! Thank you MacGregor downs for such a wonderful experience!
  • Janey
    Janey K. Married on 08/24/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding at MacGregor

    I want to start off by saying if you don’t get married at MacGregor Downs, you're making a mistake. Hear me out. I don't even know if I can adequately put into words how blown away I was by the way they seamlessly helped plan and pull off my wedding day, but I will try my best.

    I think one of the most surprising things to me was that, even though I was told I would have a day-of coordinator, I had no idea what a vital part Victoria would play in the entire wedding planning process. She helped me nail down every detail during the 10 months leading up to my wedding. Seriously, no matter what wild idea I threw out there she was immediately on it and executing it flawlessly. She even researched and had a customized tee flag made with our initials embroidered on it. She helped me draw out a completely customized ceremony and reception layout and guided me through every detail of the decision process – from the linens to the ceremony arch to where each chair and table was placed.

    The day of the wedding, she took care of every single item I brought with me (table numbers and decorations, guest book, welcome sign, cake topper) and made sure I was relaxed and taken care of all day. She even coordinated with the other vendors (DJ, florist, photographer, cake) to make sure everything ran smoothly. The ceremony was originally supposed to be outside, but because of rain it had to be moved indoors. Victoria and her team created the most beautiful, intimate indoor ceremony I have ever seen and honestly made that even more perfect than the outdoor ceremony I had always imagined. When it came time to take the pictures after the ceremony, Victoria tracked down a cart (the normal golf carts had been put away due to the weather) and drove us IN THE RAIN to the bridge we desperately wanted a photo taken at.

    My wedding truly could not have been less stressful or more beautiful – and it was all thanks to Victoria and the rest of the team. She and Nicole worked from 8 am till (at least) midnight (probably much later) to make my day flawless and there are really no words that come close to thanking them enough for that. The two of them were professional and courteous and worked tirelessly through the whole day and night.

    Other thoughts on the day:
    • The food was incredible. My guests went back to the stations multiple times and raved about how delicious it was. Two months later, I am still hearing about the meal served at my wedding!
    • Every member of the auxiliary staff (servers, bartenders, etc.) was pleasant and beyond helpful. The event was appropriately staffed and no one had to wait long for food, drinks, hors d’oeuvres, etc.
    • Parking – adequate parking for guests, lot right next to building; many venues I visited downtown would require guests to park in decks or blocks away and walk. Having a lot adjacent to the venue, and a driveway where some guests can be driven right to the door, was extremely convenient.
    • Privacy – while MacGregor is a golf club, you still feel like the entire place belongs to you that day. Even with people playing the course, the areas designated for the wedding are set aside for you and your guests and you don’t even notice if there is any other activity going on.
    • Backdrop for pictures – this one is pretty self-explanatory but your pictures will be incredible. You have access to take pictures on the course (there are two bridges that make for excellent pictures), on the patio (lake/course backdrop), inside the building (lots of windows which help with pictures), around the corner of the club building with the blooming trees and shrubbery, we had pictures taken all over the place.
    • I am a Type-A crazy person who had a natural tendency to think I should periodically walk out of my reception and “clean things up.” Before I even had a chance to let my OCD get the best of me, Victoria and Nicole had all the items I brought (frames, cake cutting utensils, seating chart, etc.) neatly re-packed as the guests flowed from one room to the next. It sounds weird to say, but Victoria and Nicole functioned like two extremely helpful/knowledgeable/hardworking sisters that day in the way they cared for me and managed the event.

    I could honestly go on all day about all the details that made the day perfect, and I will sing Victoria, Nicole, Marielys (GM), and MacGregor Downs’ praises forever. I couldn’t imagine a more perfect wedding day and wedding, and I have a wonderful team of MacGregor ladies to thank for that.
  • Mallory
    Mallory Married on 07/06/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect wedding venue

    Getting married at MacGregor was the best wedding decision I made! The staff were attentive, flexible, and helpful every step of the way. I had a brunch wedding and the food was delicious. Nicole and her team took care of so many things the day before and the day of- I don’t know what I would have done without them!!
  • K
    Kalea Married on 10/07/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Nicole is awesome!

    Nicole and her team are awesome! They did an amazing job and made our day the best it could be! We highly recommend them!!
  • E
    Erin Married on 10/08/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We recently had our wedding at MacGregor Downs on Sat 10/8 during Hurricane Matthew. The power went out a few hours prior to the ceremony. Although we thought we may have to cancel our wedding, Linda and her staff kicked it into high gear and did everything they could to make sure we were still married. They found a generator so that the DJ could play music, they were still able to cook and serve the food despite the power outage, they moved the ceremony inside, lit every candle they had, and created us the most memorable, most romantic wedding we could have ever imagined! I can't thank them enough for everything they did. We will always remember that day thanks to MacGregor Downs and Hurricane Matthew. If you're looking for a wedding venue in Cary, I highly recommend the Country Club.
  • E
    Elise Married on 11/08/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I really wanted an outdoor ceremony for our November wedding but didn't want to worry about the possibility of rain. MacGregor Downs offered the perfect compromise by offering the use of a clear-top tent; the weather was gorgeous and the tent worked out beautifully! Another plus was the fact that all taxes and fees were included - there were absolutely no hidden costs! They offered two different chair options to choose from, as well as multiple table sizes, linens and candles for centerpieces. The venue itself is gorgeous - it has beautiful hardwood floors and the lakeside room has huge windows that provide a breathtaking view of the lake! The food was absolutely delicious, and the chef kindly adjusted the menu for my father and me so that we could have sweet potato with our dinner! We met with Linda, the manager/coordinator, and immediately felt relieved; she explained how flexible they are with everything, and took the time to walk us through a "day of schedule" and how it could be adjusted to fit our needs. Linda was a huge help throughout the entire planning process, and I don't think I could have managed any of this without her. On our big day, Linda made sure everything was taken care of; we didn't have to worry about anything other than enjoying our moment. We couldn't have been happier with the way everything turned out; the people we worked with were truly amazing and made our day a huge success! We would definitely recommend MacGregor Downs Country Club to anybody in need of a wedding venue! Linda, thank you for keeping me sane throughout this whole process and making sure our day ran smoothly! You're the best!!!

    MacGregor Downs Country Club's reply:

    Thank you so much for this wonderful review. It was such a pleasure to work with you and your Dad, he is so great!!

    Sincerely,
    Linda
  • User1721074 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We really wanted an indoor venue that wasn't too stuffy for our May wedding, and after searching far & wide, we found MacGregor Downs Country Club. The most appealing thing about it initially is that unlike other Country Clubs, they did not charge a "Taxable Service Fee" of 22%, All taxes and fees were included - there were no hidden costs at all! We met with their coordinator and were pleasantly surprised by how nice and welcoming they were. They made a point of making us aware of their flexibility with EVERYTHING, and they were very thorough explaining how they normally run weddings, again noting things that could be tailored to our liking. The venue is gorgeous - it has a lodge feel on the inside, with beautiful exposed beams and hardwoods. The windows are huge and really bring the outdoors inside. The dining room overlooking the lake was our favorite part - it was absolutely breathtaking! The team there was great at communicating by phone and e-mail, and were fine with us stopping by whenever we had anything to discuss with them. The food was amazing, and the chef kindly altered the menu slightly for specific allergy concerns for our guests. Linda, the manager, was outstanding at making sure everything was planned out before our big day, down to the little details. On the day of, they took care of everything. I mean... everything! We did not have to worry about anything at all - it was stunningly beautiful and completely stress free. They have add-ons available such as draping for the outdoor ceremony tent, special linens, etc, but we decided against them. With everything that came standard, our ceremony and reception were still so beautiful. It didn't feel like anything was missing, because it wasn't! We didn't have the stress of renting tables, chairs, etc from some company - they took care of everything. We couldn't be more satisfied with the venue itself and the truly wonderful service we received. We would recommend this venue to everyone!

    MacGregor Downs Country Club's reply:

    Thank You for your kind words!! It was a pleasure working with you.

    Sincerely,
    Linda
  • User1633759 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My wedding was in October 2013 and things have been crazy, so I am just now writing this review. We had a lot of family coming from out of town so we knew we wanted the ceremony and reception to be at the same venue. There is a brick pavilion outside looking over the golf course where we had our ceremony and our dance floor (they flipped it during dinner), then we had the dinner inside the main dining room. It was a beautiful setting and the staff was fantastic. We had one miscommunication when Elizabeth went out of maternity leave and Brooke took over, but it was resolved beyond our expectations. We had a tasting before the wedding and the food was great. We were concerned about them trying to make it in large quantities, but on the wedding day it was still fantastic. Wedding days can be stressful, but Brooke handled everything perfectly and we could not have had a better night.
  • M
    Meghan Married on 11/03/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The club is very rustic and charming with all of the exposed wood beams, hardwood floors in the main dining room and large stone fireplace overlooking the golf course (everything we were looking for). Everyone at MacGregor Downs was great and provided wonderful service. Our wedding turned out to be amazing and a day we will always remember. After the ceremony the club broke down ceremony in the tent during cocktail hour to make it a beautiful backdrop for our dinner within 45 minutes. The food was wonderful, all the guests raved about it (especially the mashpotini bar). Elizabeth and her staff were very accommodating and wanted to make sure our day turned out to be everything we dreamed of. At the end of the night the club also pulled off a beautiful sparkler send off for my Husband and I. We even had our day after the wedding brunch at the club and that was great too! We would highly recommend using this venue for you wedding!

    MacGregor Downs Country Club's reply:

    Thank you for sharing your experiece online! I'll never forget your farm tables and your family. You are wonderful!
  • User1022073 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    MacGregor Downs CC was the perfect place to have our daughter's wedding reception!! It was perfect from start to finish! The staff was amazingly friendly and efficient and great to work with. The atmosphere was just beautiful overlooking the golf course and the lake. The food was magnificent too and the whole evening was everything our daughter had dreamed of. Definitely pick MacGregor Downs CC for your reception- you will not be disappointed. It's not only a gorgeous place but it's elegant without being a stuffy country club!! Loved it and you will too!!
  • User921662 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Elizabeth and everyone at MacGregor were wonderful to work with! They made everything so stress-free. I was a little concerned because we had to change our reception venue last minute, and I hadn't heard much about receptions at MacGregor Downs. Everything turned out to be beautiful though! We also realized last minute that we had about 60 more people coming than we had initially expected. Elizabeth did everything she could to change around the setup for dinner and make sure everyone could fit inside for dinner!

    MacGregor Downs Country Club's reply:

    Thank you! You were a pleasure to work with. I hope your family is doing well :).
  • W
    Whitney Married on 04/21/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The new staff at MacGregor Downs is awesome!! They went above and beyond to make our day perfect! Before Elizabeth, things seemed unorganized, non responsive, and were wondering if our wedding was going to be everything we were hoping for. Elizabeth was super organized, never had to wait long for any response, and made our dreams come true! We couldn't have asked for a better staff! The day of the wedding was perfect and we were treated like royalty. We cannot thank you enough for making our wedding day perfect!

    MacGregor Downs Country Club's reply:

    Whitney,

    Thank you for your kind words! It was an absolute pleasure working with you and your family. Please keep in touch!

    Sincerely,
    Elizabeth
  • J
    Jackie Married on 04/21/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    MacGregor Downs provided a GREAT venue for our daughter's wedding. The facility, food, and staff were a pleasure to work with. We had the privileg of working with Elizabeth Winfield and she was AWESOME and FANTASTIC!! Elizabeth was professional, prompt, creative, fun, and extremely patient. She is a definite asset to MacGregor and a superb representation of the club. The staff was also easy to work with and very accomodating. I would highly recommend MacGregor Downs!

    MacGregor Downs Country Club's reply:

    Thank you Jackie! I loved working with your family! Please keep in touch.
  • C
    Catherine Married on 10/02/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Angel Myers, Food & Beverage Manager was wonderful to work with on our wedding planning! She gave us great ideas, and always aimed at perfection. There were rave reviews from our guests on the beauty of the location, with a view of the lake and the graceful pine trees, to the beautiful displays on the fruit and cheese table. Our Southern Supper Buffet was perfect, too! The staff was SO nice and attentive, even helping us load up gifts and flowers on the way home! We could not have asked for a better site, or a more beautiful day!
  • E
    Eugene Married on 07/03/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    It was amazingly easy to work with administration of Mac Gregor Country Club in particular with Angel Myers.
    We have experienced high level of professionalism the top level quality service along with delicate sense of responsibility.
    It was a pleasure to use your services.

    Eugene & Lana
  • K
    Kathy Married on 05/22/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Very personal service; exceeded expectations on day of reception. Food was excellent and all logistics were handled very professionally. Every detail was covered! Beautiful venue.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message