Weddings

Lyndhurst Castle Reviews

Lyndhurst Castle View more information

24 Reviews

Rated
4.5
out of 5.0
Recommended by 90% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.3 out of 5

Awards

  • 24

8 User photos

Sort by:
  • Elyssa
    Elyssa Married on 09/18/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Charming Venue!

    I fell in love with Lyndhurst at our first site visit. The castle is just exquisite. All of our guests could not believe how beautiful the grounds are. Phillip Stone Caterers did an amazing job with the menu. Big thanks to Paul, Tom, and Nicole for making it happen. This venue has a charm you will not find anywhere else!

    Lyndhurst Castle's reply:

    Thank you for leaving such an amazing review! We're so happy we were able to share your special day with you.
  • Kimberly
    Kimberly L. Married on 05/30/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    So accommodating and understanding

    Tara was amazing. She listened to all concerns, was willing to work with our schedule and help up achieve the wedding of our dreams. I cannot reccomend this place enough. So beautiful and the staff is beyond nice. And one of the best parts Tara works with you frolic day one and is your coordinator day of. She really learns who you are, what your vision is and makes it happen.
  • Jessica
    Jessica W. Married on 10/05/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fabulous Venue

    We had our wedding at Lyndhurst this October 2019 and it was truly amazing. There are so many awesome things about Lyndhurst, starting with 1) The venue itself is gorgeous - you cannot beat watching the sunset over the Hudson from the mansion’s veranda during cocktail hour. We were able to take pictures inside the art gallery which was so special and felt like stepping back in time 2) The food is delicious and there are so many options! We got so many compliments about the food and the service - all the servers were super on top of things and very knowledgeable/accomodating with allergies. I wish that they had a restaurant so I could eat the food over and over again - seriously, it was that good 3) Tayla, the event and catering manager, is so awesome! She is so knowledgeable, communicative, and made the whole process so easy. We loved working with her and would do it all again in a heartbeat. This venue is truly magical and we had such an unforgettable celebration here.
  • A
    Amanda S. Married on 11/03/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fairytale wedding

    I highly recommend everyone at Lyndhurst, from planning to every detail they were there to answer every question. Every vendor we chose, they worked closely with and communicated with them so everything and everyone was on the same page. You can hire any vendor but the ones the recommended were AMAZING. Highly recommend Lyndhurst and the team there!
  • I
    Irene Married on 10/06/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Rough start, but in the end it was amazing!

    We initially booked Lyndhurst Mansion (who works exclusively with Philip Stone Caterers) in November 2016, almost two years before our wedding. Not going to lie, while our initial booking process was very smooth, we actually ended up seeing both our original venue coordinator and her replacement leave! It was pretty rough around the year-before-the-wedding mark when we were trying to get our second payment in.

    However, third time is the charm. Brandon, who is currently the coordinator for Philip Stone at Lyndhurst, is absolutely amazing, and his team is equally awesome. Brandon is extremely responsive, and answered all of my emails very promptly and patiently (and he was definitely patient -- there were multiple days in the month before the wedding when I'd send multiple emails). He and his team are completely on top of things; our cocktail hour and reception went off without any issues, and they rolled with it when things like my entire extended family showing up two hours early happened.

    Also, THE FOOD. Our guests raved about it. One of my friends dreams about the Meyer lemon puree in the sea bass entree. My big worry was that the food day of would not be as good as the tasting, but that turned out to be completely unfounded. My uncle that complains about literally everything even complimented it.

    I do also want to mention my bridal attendant, Jeannie, who I didn't know I needed before the wedding, but ended up being my crutch throughout the day of; I don't know what I would've done without her.

    In short, everything about our wedding at Lyndhurst was amazing. The mansion (so beautiful, and we loved the Halloween decor/scarecrows), the food/drinks, the Philip Stone team and their handling of logistics (seriously, I didn't have to worry about anything!), the servers (who we have a video of dancing to Whip/Nae Nae -- super cute!), everything. Thank you guys so much. :)
  • K
    Kayleen Married on 08/11/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had our wedding at Lyndhurst this August and it was amazing! The venue is beautiful on its own and Brandon helped to make sure everything was perfect. Leading up to the wedding he was able to meet with us a number of times, go over the details and answer any questions we had. He did his best to make sure we were happy. The day of the wedding he helped to make sure everything went off without a hitch. It was great!

    Lyndhurst Castle's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind words. It was an absolute pleasure to host you and Nick on your special day. I'm so happy to have met you and your family and hope to see you again soon! Here is to many more celebrations as Mr & Mrs. Stavrakis!

    Brandon Harris
    Sr. Catering Sales & Event Manager
  • M
    Marianne Married on 06/02/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We held my daughter's wedding reception at Lyndhurst at the end of May 2018. It could not have been more beautiful, and the food (catered by Philip Stone Caterers) was -- by far -- the best I have had at any wedding. Many of our guests commented on how good the food was and how professional and accommodating the service was.

    The cocktail reception on the porch of the mansion and on the lawn running down to the Hudson River was stunning; and the tent, carriage house, and patio provided a comfortable and beautiful location for dinner, gathering and dancing.

    If I had another wedding to plan, I would definitely have it at Lyndhurst.
  • K
    Katie Married on 01/04/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    These are stunning photos and an amazing venue. My favorite place to buy wedding gifts and decor I always go to www.5thavestore.com. Check them out they are amazing!

  • L
    Laura Married on 09/02/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Wow! What a wonderful venue to work with! Not only is the setting just amazing, but so is the team! They are super accommodating for your needs, very professional & the food is beautifully presented and delicious! I wish I could do my wedding all over again just to spend more time at Lyndhurst.
  • C
    Caroline Married on 01/15/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our June 2018 wedding at Lyndhurst was amazing and the best day of our lives!

    We booked Lyndhurst a year and a half before our wedding. Between then and our wedding, the wedding coordinator changed. We met Brandon (the amazing and now permanent coordinator there!) about 5 months before our wedding.

    We, and all of our guests, still can’t stop raving about the night! Brandon did an amazing job of running the night and making sure everything went so smoothly. He is very type A and has everything perfectly under control. He has a great team, including the most amazing bridal attendant, and runs a tight ship. He also did a great job of coordinating with all of our vendors. We did not have an additional wedding planner, and you absolutely do not need one with Brandon there.

    The venue is really so special and unlike any other. We had our ceremony outdoor in the front lawn and the cocktail hour outdoor on the wrap around porch with amazing views of the Hudson River. Then, we had our reception in the permanent tent, which is beautiful. Do note that in the summertime, you will want to make sure that you get A/C added to the tent- we made this decision the day before and couldn’t imagine without it.

    The food at Lyndhurst was delicious. The presentation and taste of everything was better than most weddings we have ever been to. Phillip Stone Catering does not disappoint and it was nice to not have to worry about if our guests would like the food. They were also very accommodating with all our requests and we got to even create one of our main dishes. The alcohol was a pretty standard package, but one thing that stood out was the choice of a speciality cocktails. While we have seen this feature at many weddings, the cocktails that Brandon created were truly above and beyond (we did a cucumber basil vodka drink!).

    Thank you to the entire Lyndhurst team for an incredible evening!
  • R
    Richard Married on 06/19/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    my wife and I recently had our wedding at Lyndhurst castle and by far was the most magical day of our lives !!! Christine and the rest of the people at Lyndhurst were nothing short of fantastic !! Lorraine really knows her stuff about wedding planning, she and her staff were incredible !! everyone was extremely helpful and they make you entirely comfortable. you don't have to worry or think about anything except for having a great time. the food was fantastic !! the service from the waiters to the bridal assistant and everyone else is impeccable !! I would highly recommend Lyndhurst to anyone looking for the perfect venue. CHEERS TO YOU ALL !!!
  • A
    Amie Married on 06/18/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our June wedding at the Lyndhurst was by far the best day of our lives! The grounds are stunning on just a regular day, now with the added touch of a wedding, this place is out of this world gorgeous. Lorraine is wonderful to work with. She knows the event planning business extremely well and will help you in whatever you shall need. She has fantastic recommendations and gives great advice. Christine is also very sweet and helpful. Everything is extremely well planned and organized so that you can enjoy your big day for everything it is, without a worry! The food is remarkable and the staff is accommodating. If you are looking to have an elegant wedding that provides something a bit more outside the box than your average ballroom, look no further. You and your guest will be blown away by the most perfect wedding! My friends and family have not stopped talking about how beautiful it was, how good the food tasted, and how it was one of the best times they've ever had. I have been told by many that it will be a tough one to top. To say the Lyndhurst will not disappoint, would be an understatement!
  • R
    Rebecca Married on 09/06/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I weren't sure what kind of venue we wanted when we first started planning on wedding, but after stepping onto the grounds at Lyndhurst, we instantly fell in love and knew we wanted to get married there. Lyndhurst is truly a remarkable, one of a kind setting. You enter to acres of lush grounds, a magnificent greenhouse, rose garden, fabulous view of the water, and then of course the stunning, historic mansion. Our rose garden ceremony was unlike anything we could have imagined, it was so beautiful and made for an incredibly meaningful experience for my husband, myself, and all our guests. We then had cocktail hour on the mansion veranda overlooking the water, with the sun setting through the trees - just magical. And then our tent reception near the carriage house was just the most fabulous party we have ever experienced. I truly would not change a single thing about my wedding especially because of the gorgeous venue. Christine was very helpful and held our hand through the entire wedding planning process. She was a pleasure to work with. We would absolutely recommend this Lyndhurst to anyone who wants a gorgeous, spectacular wedding!
  • S
    Sydney Married on 05/25/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lyndhurst was the ideal location for my wedding. The grounds, castle, location, and team cannot be matched. I felt like a princess the entire weekend. There were so many options for where we were going to have the rehearsal dinner, ceremony, cocktail hour, reception, and brunch on the property, and every choice we made was the perfect one! The scenery was just amazing for all of our photos with friends and family, and the staff made sure every detail was taken care of. The entire weekend went so smoothly, I can only attribute that to the amazing team behind the scenes that ensured everything was attended to. I loved getting dressed and spending time with my bridal shower in the Laundry Building, and then making the walk to the castle with my sister and parents. Walking out of that beautiful castle and seeing my fiance waiting at the end of the aisle was so moving and powerful, another great suggestion made by the Lyndhurst team. Cocktail hour on the veranda worked out wonderfully. People were enjoying food and drink overlooking the Hudson River. And the tent by the Carriage House turned out better than I ever could have imagined it. The entire night was a dream come true! I can't recommend Lyndhurst enough to future brides and grooms!
  • Ashley
    Ashley Married on 08/30/2019
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5

    Nice for Larger Wedding

    We would have loved to have had our wedding at the Lyndhurst Castle but our wedding size didn’t match expectations. If you plan on having a larger wedding guest list or don’t mind spending the money to guarantee even though you know you have a smaller guest list then it’s a really nice venue. They are very responsive & I’m sure our wedding would have been beautiful in this venue.
  • User2417564 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Stunningly Beautiful Venue! The landscape was perfect for our fall wedding and having the mansion in back of us during our ceremony made for a romantically, breathtaking setting. Lorraine, from Phillip Stone Caterers, is amazing! She is super-attentive and pays attention to all of the details. It was comforting to know I could trust Lorraine to organize and coordinate our wedding night. The food they provide is exquisite! All of our guests raved about the food! We were extremely pleased with our overall experience and highly recommend this venue to future wedding couples!
  • A
    Anthony Married on 09/29/2018
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    Perfect place for a fairy tale wedding. Every one was blown away by the party and how beautiful the grounds are and the TENT.
  • M
    Meghan Married on 08/13/2016
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    Thanks to Lorraine (who is in charge of running catering for their exclusive caterer, Philip Stone Catering), and her wonderful team, I had a DREAM of a wedding! It's impossible not to fall in love with this venue. The castle is spectacular and guests were completely blown away. The tent was also so gorgeous and was everything I could have ever wanted.

    Lorraine is extremely organized. She is also a problem solver and willing to work with you. There are quite a few rules being that this is a gorgeous historical venue (i.e. no open flames ANYWHERE) but Lorraine was able to find a way to make all of my ideas go off without a hitch.

    Not only is the venue SPECTACULAR, the food was OUT OF THIS WORLD. I was a little nervous because Philip Stone is the only caterer Lyndhurst uses and you can't really taste the food before booking, but we loved the venue so much we booked anyway. My now husband and I are foodies and eat out all the time in Brooklyn and NYC, as do most of our friends. Let me tell you-the food did not disappoint! The appetizers were incredible, and being that I'm vegetarian, there were so many great options even for me, that I didn't feel like I was settling. The main dinner course was also wonderful, and the head chef actually sat and designed a vegan dish all around what I love to eat. One of the most popular portions of the night was the dessert parade-TEN delicious desserts were passed throughout the tent and guests went crazy for them. Not to mention, all of these things I'm talking about are included in your actual catering cost, not a bunch of add-on's like other venues do. An open bar was also included in the price.

    The cost of the venue/catering absolutely ate up a large chunk of our budget, but I would not have changed a single thing about it. If you're even considering going with Lyndhurst, I would say 100% do it. It's beyond gorgeous, the food is insane, and the service was phenomenal! I wish we could do it all again next weekend!
  • P
    Ashleigh Married on 08/27/2016
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    My husband and I had our wedding at Lyndhurst this past summer and they were an absolute pleasure to work with. Lorraine is organized, professional and warm and along with Philip Stone Catering (their new exclusive vendor as of this year) helped us come up with a menu that our guests are still raving about months later. The venue itself is breathtaking, and you get the entire property to yourself when you rent it (no wedding factory vibe here). Everyone working here was pleasant to deal with and bent over backwards to allow us to have our special day be perfect. Definitely recommend this place to any future couples planning on getting married.
  • M
    Marie L. Married on 02/19/2020
    Rating 4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5

    Location = Top Notch Wedding Venue. Service = Concerning

    Lyndhurst Mansion is a beautiful venue with amazing amenities to have your wedding day in. Everyone had a great time and I want to thank Tayla for her help in doing everything she could to make the day go as seamless as possible for my daughter. The menu options were plenty and everyone raved about cocktail hour. I took two stars off based on the behavior of Philip Stone Catering company's staff the evening of my daughters wedding last Fall. Please refer to that post under their page with the situation that occurred. I would be a bit mindful of who is working your event and how trained they are....unfortunately they are the sole caterers of LM so you are stuck with the event staff wether you like it or not. For those reviewers who had better staff at their wedding and were satisfied, consider yourselves lucky.
  • Andi
    Andi Married on 09/22/2018
    Rating 4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5

    A whimsical dream location

    we fell in love with Lyndhurst Mansion for its picturesque grounds and gorgeous sweeping landscape. Upon research we learned the site fee ($5000) went directly to the upkeep and benefit of the historic trust which we loved. By way of beauty this venue is unmatched in my opinion. They have strict policies on what can and can’t be (no candles, no confetti, party must end by 11:30 etc). I found the communication between myself and the contact person to be wildly underwhelming. After signing the contract and sending the initial deposit I had a very difficult time (and in fact never received a response) when I had an issue and sent several emails to get in touch. The day of my wedding I had mixed experiences with different members of Lyndhurst staff. Despite working with one guy who was fantastic, (he escorted us into the mansion to take our pictures) and one older guy who was exceptionally knowledgeable about the property, after the ceremony I unfortunately had a terrible experience with one of the older female members of staff who seemed to want us to do the opposite of everything we were promised. I found her to be rude, unprofessional, and condescending. my biggest issue with her attitude is that while my bridesmaid was bustling my dress near the very end of cocktail hour she began locking the doors to the mansion and told us if we didn’t finish in time we could bustle my dress on the front porch because it was the end of cocktail hour and they had to close which I found unacceptable.
    I reviewed the food separately, which was delicious and our catering manager Brandon as well as our amazing bridal attendant were both incredible.
    The food is still be raved about a long with the sunset!
  • E
    Elizabeth Married on 06/08/2013
    Rating 3.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    Our June wedding at Lyndhurst was absolutely gorgeous. Although a bit expensive for what you get, the venue is stunning and very different than your typical wedding site.

    The only issue with Lyndhurst is that you pay for the site, but then have to coordinate everything on your own or hire a wedding planner (e.g. rental company, caterer, florist, cake, etc.).

    They also recently went through a lot of renovations, so the facility is in wonderful shape!
  • B
    Anastasia Married on 06/05/2016
    Rating 2.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    I met with the caterer at Lyndhurst. The location is hard to beat, the grounds are beautiful, and the prices are reasonable for the area. The catering manager was responsive at first, but less and less as time goes on...
  • A
    Anna Married on 11/23/2014
    • Quality of service
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    We had an appointment and was stood up! We drove over an hour to get to the appointment and when we arrived no on would return out phone calls.

    It is a beautiful property with character and a wonderful view- but the customer service is THEE worst I've ever encountered