Lyman Harbor Waterfront Weddings Reviews

20 | Sandusky, OH
See photos, pricing and details

20 Reviews for Lyman Harbor Waterfront Weddings

Recommended by 87%

20

4.4 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.4
  • Professionalism 4.4
  • Flexibility 4.4
  • Value 4.3
  • Average response time 4.4
Sort by:
  • E

    Elena · Married on 07/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lyman was perfect venue for our wedding reception. They were wonderful to work with. Taste testing of food was great, and food night of our wedding was as good as at tasting. Still receiving compliments on food, venue, etc. Lyman allowed us to come in Tues before our Sat reception to review table seating lay-out and allowed me to make changes. Also we were able to come in on Fri (day before wedding) and set up all our personal decorations. Our reception was perfect and everything I dreamed it would be!

    Sent on 09/21/2016

    Lyman Harbor Waterfront Weddings's reply:

    Elena, Thank you so much for the glowing review. We are always very happy to have helped make your special day unforgettable! Congratulations!
  • 611WithTheEvans

    Latrice · Married on 06/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was held on Lyman Lawn and the reception was in Clinker's Ballroom. The catering manager changed 3 times during my planning process but things still went smoothly on our wedding day. The only hiccup was the chicken that was served was different from what we tasted. At our tasting we had a grilled chicken breast and at the wedding we had a breaded chicken breast. It was still delicious and our guests enjoyed it. The manager is awesome! We were allowed to come in the day before to decorate the room. He allowed us to stay over past closing hours to have rehearsal. He was very helpful and kept a smile on his face. The venue is very nice and has a great view. You get a lot for what you pay. I'm glad I chose this venue.

    Sent on 07/11/2016

    Lyman Harbor Waterfront Weddings's reply:

    Hi Latrice, Thank you for your review and feedback. Your made a beautiful bride, and your guests and reception were fantastic. It was nice to meet you and work with you. We wish you and Myron and very happy married life together. (Hope to talk to you about a few items, if you have the time.)
  • E

    Edward · Married on 05/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We held our daughter's wedding reception at Lyman Harbor in May. The view of the harbor from the room was absolutely beautiful. The staff was excellent and helpful in every way possible including the planning before the event. They set the room up to meet are needs perfectly including our own centerpieces and other individual touches. The food was very good and enjoyed by all. We received many compliments from our guests. A special thank you to Ashlee and Lee Ann. The event couldn't have been so wonderful without you! I highly recommend Lyman Harbor to anyone looking to be sure their event is the best.

    Sent on 06/27/2016
  • User5452935 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everybody I dealt with at Lyman Harbor was very professional and helpful. We had a great time and I would recommend to anyone.

    Sent on 09/20/2015
  • Jessica

    Jessica · Married on 05/23/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were struggling to find a place where we could have an outdoor wedding near the water, with an indoor reception and could hold the amount of people we were planning to invite. Then we found Lyman Harbor and it was like a dream come true. Even though it was not located in our hometown it was near a place that we like to visit quite often (Cedar Point). We booked our vendor almost a year in advance to the date of our wedding (May 23). When we hit around the 7 month mark and I hadn't heard from Lyman, I was a little worried but when I finally got in touch with them they still had everything in place for our day. (They had changed management for their event planning position and that is why I didn't hear from them). Luckily Laura worked with us during the rest of our wedding planning and she made everything run smoothly. We scheduled a taste-testing of the food and it as delicious! They worked out a meal within our budget and was still exceptional! The only thing that we would have liked sooner was we were suppose to have a snack tray for the bridal party while getting ready and it showed up a little later when we started doing group photos. We had some decorations broken by a staff member when cleaning up (the issue was addressed) but other than that, everything was perfection! They let us come in the day before to set up the reception hall and ceremony site before the rehearsal dinner, so we would have fewer things to do the day of. They helped us stay on schedule throughout the whole day! They helped direct all of our vendors to where they would be stationed during the reception. We heard from our guests that the food was really good and they were happy with the attentive service at the bar. Everyone thought the reception hall (The Starlite Room) was beautiful! We were a little nervous by some of the reviews we saw online when first looking at this venue but we are glad we gave this beautiful place a chance!

    Sent on 09/11/2015
  • T

    Timothy · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Let me start by saying durring the planning of our wedding lyman was going through many administration changes and things were confusing at first, but it was amazing how when all the dust finally settled they made sure all ducks were in a row and the day turned out picture perfect. Every place you go there are going to be rules, and this place is no exception, BUT they are very willing to work with you to make sure common ground is met. The venue is amazing, the food was great, the staff went out of there way. Honestly we fealt like we had a wedding planner. They were there for us every step of the way to make sure everything went smooth. The ONLY issue I had was we a were under the understanding that with our fish dinners that 4 pieces of fish were SUPOSE to be served and only three were. We has some guests asking questions and there was a bunch left over, but I really didn't mind knowing that the leftovers were going to a shelter and not getting thrown away. Minor communication mishap, but if that's the only thing I have bad to say then who cares. I would strongly suggest this place. They were wonderfull. Let me just add one last thing...tons of reviews on line about this place that are not the greatest, and we were honestly a bit nervous at first, but from the date of our wedding into the future I am convinced they have the right staff in place and everything is up from here.THANKS LYMAN!

    Sent on 11/18/2014
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 08/30/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding at Lyman Harbor was perfect! It was about a year and a half of planning and during that we did experience some set backs but who wouldn't with a wedding. The staff was extremely friendly and once the food was decided upon and specifics were written down the end product was fantastic! We set up the day before the wedding and the maintenance crew tied all of the ribbons around the chairs. Saved my family and I tons of time! The staff was very attentive before and day of. The lit the tiki torches and fire pit outside so my guests could enjoy outdoor space. We even received a champagne bottle from them the night of the wedding. Bartenders were great and attentive to my guests. Couldn't ask for a better time!

    Sent on 11/05/2014
  • J

    Jackie · Married on 10/22/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our experience with Lyman was a positive one. Everything from our initial meetings, food tasting, head counts, payments, set up, and the big day always ran smoothly and was done in a professional manner. The compass point room at Lyman is amazing. It is so beautiful any time of year, over looking the lake and pier with Cedar Point in the background. The venue alone helped make our guests have a memorable time!

    Sent on 02/07/2012
  • B

    Beth · Married on 09/18/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Though i didn't get to have my reception here :-(. I toured this Venue. Wow is it stunning!! The staff was very helpful. Cost seemed quite reasonable. My fiance and i had to choose a venue closer to cleveland. I highly recommend seeing this beautiful venue for yourself!!!

    Sent on 10/21/2010
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 08/28/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our ceremony and reception were held at Lyman Harbor Marina, because we had a lot of out of town guests, and we didn't want them to have to drive from place to place. Our ceremony was held on the large lawn overlooking Lake Erie and Cedar Point. We couldn't have asked for a better day. Afterwards, we had a cocktail hour and then a reception in the new Starlite Ballroom, which features gorgeous hardwoods and amazing crystal chandeliers. It isn't your typical, large, stuffy ballroom. It is cozy and intimate, but was still large enough for our 200+ guests. The venue also did our catering, and the food was amazing. The pictures, inside and outside and around our venue are all gorgeous. We had the prime rib and stuffed chicken, both which were excellent. Normally I'm not a fan of buffets, but this was just fabulous. Everything about Lyman Harbor was just perfect, and Suzi, the banquet manager, was just amazing. She was so easy to work with, and was there to answer every question I had, day or night. If you're looking for a different, yet classy and fun venue, Lyman Harbor is perfect for you.

    Sent on 05/26/2011
  • T

    Lisa · Married on 07/09/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lyman Harbor provided a beautiful location, great food and wonderful service. Suzi (the event coordinator) is amazing. They were extremely flexible and even set up outside after it rained all day:)

    Sent on 09/08/2010
  • K

    Kristi · Married on 06/16/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Suzi was absolutely wonderful to work with! Everything was great throughout the wedding day and night. You can't beat that view of Cedar Point and Lake Erie - it was breathtaking! The food was delicious and every person on the staff was friendly and helpful.

    Sent on 07/14/2012
  • User5591506 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I celebrated the evening of our wedding with Lyman Harbor in September. We had an absolute wonderful experience. Price was reasonable for rental. They supply food and alcohol which was excellent. Many choices. Excellent part of the alcohol package was since it is connected to a bar, you may opt to order more alcohol during the event rather than over estimating purchase. Many of our guests commented how it is unbelievable that this is a hidden gem on Lake Erie and have never been here before. Our goal was to have a lake side reception, and this was perfect, over looking cedar point. The hall really came alive at night once it was dark outside and the room was lit with the beautiful rope lights and colored chandeliers. Definitely recommend up-lighting. We would like to thank Lyman Harbor for a wonderful send off to celebrate our marriage.

    Sent on 11/06/2015
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 06/02/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After a new banquet manager was hired (rehired), there is little to complain of. We were able to set up the hall the day before our reception. Lyman worked well with all of our other vendors. Suzi is a joy and answered all of our questions promptly- she's so easy to work with! The only negative we really could find is that the food is what one would consider "wedding food" and it is my hope that none of my guests were disappointed in their meals. The price is comparable to the other reception halls in the area and in my opinion one of the most beautiful in the area. I HIGHLY recommend booking the Starlite room due to the private entrance for your guests and the semi-private restrooms.

    Sent on 07/01/2012
  • F

    Tara · Married on 06/23/2007

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I highly recommend Lyman Harbor. It was a beautiful location for a beautiful reception.

    Sent on 06/11/2008
  • A

    Alisa · Married on 08/06/2011

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    The workers were great but some of the new people like manager of hall was a little flighty and made me very nervous. The new bar manager was not so friendly either so I was glad to see he did not work the night of my wedding. The rest of the people setting it up and bartenders were great! It is beautiful and was a fairytale day!

    Sent on 09/14/2011
  • User3156648 · 2+ years ago

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The day of the reception was handled wonderfully by the whole staff... Interactions leading up to the event, however, were frustrating at times, with three DIFFERENT event coordinators involved over the course of the fifteen months of our planning. The first event coordinator was awesome, and I have no idea why her services were terminated by Lyman Harbor; the second was very difficult to work with (disorganized, did not return messages, dressed in sweatshirt/jeans/tennis shoes at every meeting - did not inspire confidence, to say the least), and she was abruptly fired just days before my daughter's wedding. The third coordinator, who actually managed the reception day - was wonderful. Clearly Lyman has/had some staffing issues...

    We were happy to pay a reasonable price for a beautiful venue, but I do think the food was just average for the price. And we were disappointed to learn that the 19% "service charge" that was automatically added to the final bill was not actually given to the service staff... ALL of the service staff were beyond amazing on the day of our reception event: professional, helpful, pleasant, attentive.... Definitely deserving of a generous gratuity, but it seemed ridiculous that we'd be expected to pay an automatic 19% "service charge" PLUS an optional 20% (or more) gratuity.... Seems that if Lyman needs to charge more for their services, they should just put it in higher meal pricing or room rental, rather than calling it a "service charge"...

    The $15,000 spent here was food and drink for 300 guests - all décor, table linens (napkins), chair coverings, lighting, cake and DJ services were separate charges, provided by other vendors.


    Sent on 03/06/2015
  • User3832490 · 2+ years ago

    0.6
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    okay, first i started planning my wedding in the beginning of 2013 with Suzi Evans. I had my food tasting as well in October. Suzi was great she wrote everything that i wanted i would like to think so in my file. They fired her in February this was 4 months until my wedding. I get told by one of the venders i hired that she is no longer there and a lady by the name of Jessica replaced her. Brides do yourself a favor Lyman is a beautiful place to have a wedding but theie service sucks. Okay so i started talking to Jessica telling her exactly what i wanted and what i expected. The bill comes for the 50% she tells me she cant split the food and alcohol in 2 she tells me that the computer program she uses won't let her do that. HA a monkey could figure that out. Bill comes and is so off it's not even funny chick can't even use a calculator. It takes her 3 times to come up with a correct bill. Okay so now 2 weeks before my wedding i call to go over some things with her tell her i want to meet with her to go over how i want the room set up. The day of the meeting her assistant calls me an hour until the meeting and says she is sick. This is the week of the wedding by the way. Then the rehearsal i told her i wanted the rehearsal at 5:00 on Friday. I get there that day on Friday nobody is nowhere to be found so my officiant bridal party and parents and waiting and waiting. I went to the bar to get some help with where she was and finally someone else helped us start our rehearsal. she showed up 10 minutes before my rehearsal was over talk about unprofessional. After my wedding ceremony ended the cocktail hour began we ran out of food when she assured me that we wouldn't. When the reception started there was no water poured no wine glasses and no drinks were on the table. Also the head table didn't have their own server which every wedding that i've ever been to the head table is assigned a server for the night. rolls were stone cold. no butter. butter frozen. food sucked.

    Sent on 06/18/2014
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 06/04/2011

    0.0
    • Quality of service:
      0.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.0
    • Value:
      0.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.0

    I regretfully had so many issues all the way around from service, management, servers, food, pretty much everything. It was very difficult to contact but eventually got a call back, Everything went pretty decent until the day of our wedding and that is where it all went down hill. I think a lot of the problem is because it is under new management but still not excusable. Our food didn't arrive until halfway though reception and it was so hot people weren't dancing my DJ had to go back to the kitchen to get them on track because they weren't serving my guests and then the servers were rude to my guests. Lyman is very capable of excellent work, I have seen first hand how amazing they can be but my experience was absolutely horrible!

    Sent on 08/08/2011

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review