Love & Promise Jewelers Reviews

11 | Chicago, IL
See photos, pricing and details

11 Reviews for Love & Promise Jewelers

Recommended by 92%

11

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.5
  • Average response time 4.7

1 User photo

Love & Promise Jewelers 1
Sort by:
  • T

    Thomas · Married on 09/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have seen a lot jewelry, and I have seen literally thousands of engagement rings. I used to work for a jewelry company on Jeweler's Row in Chicago where my main task was to inspect fine jewelry for flaws and repair them. I can say with absolute confidence that L&P is the best at what they do in the Chicago Area. My old company worked with many other companies in the city as well as across the country, who were considered to be "the best". In reality none of them even come close to the quality that L&P can achieve.
    When my husband had decided to propose to me, he knew that he was going to have a harder time than most in finding a ring that I would love. So he let me know to start looking for something I liked, and I immediately knew where to go to. I had already known that L&P's quality was second to none, but I was also looking for something more unique than the boring, same ol' rings I've seen hundreds of times. I went in for an appointment to explain to them what I was looking for, and I was not disappointed. They totally got the idea I had tried to explain, and I was able to just tell my then boyfriend, that he would be getting an email from them so he could take it from there. I few months later he proposed to me with the ring of dreams, and it was absolutely perfect in every way. I'm not just saying it when I say that their designs are the best. They have a unique and thorough understanding of Fine Jewelry and Design that many in the industry claim to have, but few actually possess.
    Thank you so much for your work, we couldn't be happier. When asked for my advice when looking for engagement rings or a just gift I have and always will recommend Love & Promise Jewelers as the Best

    Sent on 09/04/2018
    Love & Promise Jewelers 2
  • L

    Leiram · Married on 05/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Originally found their Etsy store and was blown away by their ring selection--and then I got to visit the studio and really fall even more in love with the ring I chose. I get compliments on my engagement ring all the time, and we're excited to start wearing our wedding bands soon. A'riel's friendliness via email won me and my fiancé over, so I returned for his band and have several others on my wishlist!

    Sent on 05/05/2018
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 06/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I worked mainly with Kim and Amanda and both were absolutely amazing! I opted to have a less traditional engagement ring and I really wanted a Morganite stone but it was impossible to find anyone local. I was a little weary ordering my engagement ring online especially one with a decent price tag but I have to say, I could not be more thrilled with what I received from them! I ended up ordering an oval Morganite stone with a platinum band. It looks amazing and we will definitely be ordering my wedding band from them in the near future! Definitely recommend this company!

    Sent on 02/18/2016
  • C

    Cheryl · Married on 10/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I love my ring! I got a rose gold ring with morganite and and matching band. It's perfect!! Definately recommend this company!

    Sent on 09/05/2015
  • M

    Malinda · Married on 08/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My now husband and I were searching for engagement rings in Charlottesville, VA. The rings we were looking at in Virginia and in big-box stores online were so much more expensive than we could afford. I started looking on Etsy for a jeweler and I found Love and Promise. We had a phone call with Shirley and she quoted us for a ring at our exact specifications for much less than we had expected. We bought a custom-made diamond and platinum engagement ring. We were so happy that we were able to visit the company in Chicago and choose my husband's and I's wedding bands. I am so happy to have found this company. I will be recommending them to all my friends are looking to get engaged soon.

    Sent on 10/22/2015
  • M

    Helene · Married on 12/05/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had a fabulous time shopping here, and the ladies made me my dream ring. They were very patient with me, very accommodating, and really wonderful to work with. I also love that my ring is made with ethically, lab-created stones that look even better than diamonds (moissanite).
    On top of all that, when the finished product arrived, there was a check tucked into my package because they realized that they had overestimated the cost of making the ring. I will recommend this place again and again. They are also on Etsy as RosadosBox.

    Sent on 12/23/2014
  • E

    Emily · Married on 11/03/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shirley is AMAZING. I found Rosados Box on Etsy and it is absolutely amazing. I told my fiance which ring I wanted and it is breathtaking. And for SUCH a great price! She was so great throughout the process and we are now ordering my matching wedding band! Every piece is so incredibly unique and not something I have seen in any jewelry store! Shirley actually cares about the customer and giving them the best there is! I highly recommend her for any jewelry!

    Sent on 09/14/2013
  • A

    Alexandria · Married on 09/29/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I wanted very specific, unconventional wedding rings. We wanted the main stones to be amethyst in both rings, we wanted the metal to be 100% palladium, and we wanted our jewelry to be ethically obtained. We designed our rings together, and we searched for months through mainstream and other Etsy shops to find someone to make our rings, then we found Rosados Box on Etsy, with Shirley Kam, and everything she stood for for and created was perfect! Quality jewelry with a conscience! And she worked with me so patiently through so many emails back and forth to make sure we had exactly what we wanted, and our rings are perfect. I wish I could upload a picture! If you are looking for quality, unconventional wedding rings, do yourself a big favor and talk to them. I cannot praise them enough!

    Sent on 10/10/2013
  • S

    Sherry · Married on 04/28/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shirley was fantastic to work with. I only have positive things to say her as she honest and personal- 2 of my favorite qualities!

    Sent on 05/16/2012
  • J

    Juliana · Married on 06/27/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I found L&P Jewelers on Etsy.com while I was looking for a moissanite engagement ring (my fiancé proposed with his mother's ring so that I could have the option of keeping it or picking out another one afterwards). I like everything they stood for (American-made, recycled gold, ethically-sourced diamonds) and I love their moissanite designs. Ultimately I decided to keep my FMIL's engagement ring, but I purchased a thin, pavé 14K white gold wedding band for myself, and a custom 6mm white gold flat band for my fiancé. They just arrived last week, and they are GORGEOUS. While I was trying to decide between keeping my FMIL's ring or getting a moissanite engagement ring, I sent L&P over a dozen e-mails (around the Christmas season, no less), and they were all replied to in a friendly and timely fashion.

    Sent on 02/20/2014
  • N

    Nick · Married on 10/28/2017

    0.8
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    DO NOT BUY FROM love and promise jewellers.
    The quality of the jewellery that they produce is EXTREMELY poor.
    I bought my now wife, an engagement ring last year, and with just over 6 months of light wear the stone fell out and was lost. We have had no luck communicating with L&P about the issue, even after providing detailed photos of the obvious defects in the ring (there is a hole in the basket where it has been soldered to the main body of the ring). We have gone to two separate jewellers (in Australia) for an independent evaluation, who each confirmed that the ring was NOT constructed to adequate specifications to support the stone. They stated that as well as the (obvious) poor build quality, the supporting prongs were 30% thinner then they should have been and combined with normal temperature fluctuations from day-to-day wear has caused the metal to expand the stone to come loose. I have lost THREE THOUSAND DOLLARS on this ring and I am very upset, as is my wife. This was supposed to be a forever ring, not 6 months. I would have written this review on ETSY except for the 100 day time limit for reviews.

    UPDATE based on vendor response:

    Dear L&P.

    I am aware that gold melts at 1948 F, Thankfully the ring did not melt off my wife’s fingers. I am sure you know that
    metals expand and contract with temperature, it is called LINEAR THERMAL EXPANSION COEFFICIENT and gold surprisingly is a metal.
    Seems that your standard practise is to place blame on the customer in all cases.
    You state "Although our products are handcrafted with care and expertise". Two independent Jeweller assessments say otherwise.

    You have not addressed the follow issues with the ring

    - There is a hole in the basket where it has been soldered.
    - The claws that hold the stone in place are way to thin
    - The basket does not have adequate structural support

    Are these defects "best practice within our industry"? doesn't seem to be much "care and expertise" at all.

    Sent on 08/24/2018

    Love & Promise Jewelers's reply:

    Dear Nick,

    We apologize for any frustration that we may have caused. As discussed in our continued dialogue, the missing center stone is not caused by the groove in the photo, but rather from the few lifted and shifted prongs (as seen in northwest, northeast, & southeast prong in photo), that is caused from snagging and pulling from daily wear & tear, not manufacturing. Customizing grooves to best fit each hand cut stone to the prongs is best practice within our industry. In addition, normal human body temperatures does not change the flexibility or durability of gold because gold requires temperatures of over 1948 Fahrenheit to melt. Gold can however, like most precious alloys, wear down and bend over time from heavy daily wear & tear. This is applicable for all gold jewelry in the market. Although our products are handcrafted with care and expertise, we highly suggest mindful wearing and routine checkups for optimal results.

    Because this project was evaluated as damaged from heavy daily wear, we unfortunately are not able to issue a refund or replace the stone for free. We can, however, try to work with you on repairing this ring at a discounted price so that we can help alleviate some of the cost. Please feel free to reach out to our repairs department to learn more about this opportunity. We look forward to helping you soon.

    Warmly,
    Love & Promise Jewelers Team

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review