70 Reviews for Love Junkies NYC

5.0
out of 5.0
User Photos
todo alt text
todo alt text
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Do-Not-Play List (21)
Microphones (18)
Sound/PA System (18)
Consultation (10)
Liability Insurance (10)
MC (9)
One Event Per Day (7)
70 Love Junkies NYC Reviews
Sort by:

5.0

Jon is a true professional who takes his craft seriously. He loves music and has extensive experience across genres which enables him to make a perfect template to play the music you are looking to hear on your day. His client service is also excellent. He is responsive and exceptionally organized and was able to help plan some of the order of our events using his experience that we had not yet thought of.

From our first email conversation to our video chat to our correspondence as we discussed music we wanted to have played, Jon was kind, patient and an excellent listener. On the day of our wedding he played what we had discussed, kept events moving on time and helped smoothly guide the day while playing some great tracks without some of the fanfare we have seen from other DJ's. Jon uses great equipment and even visited our venue to ensure he understood the layout and where he could best position himself for acoustics and MC duties. Highest Recommendation.

Profile Picture Priya, 4/7/18, 4 Reviews
Category: DJ
Services Used: Microphones, Sound/PA System, Consultation, Do-Not-Play List, MC
5.0

We can't say enough good things about Jon! We were afraid that we'd end up with a corny wedding DJ that was constantly on the mic all night long, so our wedding planner friend directed us to Jon. He was exactly what we were looking for! From the moment we reached out to him, he was incredibly helpful and professional and guided us through the entire planning process. His playlist was upbeat and so incredibly fun, and we appreciated the fact that he checked in with us before playing music requested by the guests to make sure we were happy with everything he played. Three months later and I'm still getting compliments from guests and family on how great a DJ Jon was. We recommend him to anyone who wants a hassle-free experience with a DJ who knows exactly what he's doing!

Profile Picture Laura, 9/16/17, 2 Reviews
Category: DJ
5.0

From the very first moment we got an email back from Jon Oliver, we thought we had won tickets to the Brit-hosted HBO show. But from the moment AFTER that, once our confusion dissipated—the SECOND moment—he was patient and professional to a fault, and the perfect wedding DJ. He was the calm rock to our waves of inexperience and neuroses, and brought considerable expertise and experience to help us throw an awesome wedding party for 100 of our closest friends and family. We had rave reviews from everyone—my 80-year-old grandparents danced their butts off, the best man works at Capitol Records in LA and was belting out the lyrics to Panic! at the Disco, and one of my husband's high school friends even said that he had more fun at our wedding than his own. There wasn't a bad song in Jon's set! Plus, when my family requested the Hava Nagila be played 4 times in a row, so everyone could go up on the chair, Jon was flexible and kept it on repeat. It was such a blessing to have a professional keep us from going off the rails while planning the wedding, and we were even amazed two months later when it turned out Jon had recorded the speeches and ceremony! He is just the best, top notch person.

Profile Picture Jenna, 9/9/17, 3 Reviews
Category: DJ
Services Used: Microphones, Sound/PA System, Consultation, Do-Not-Play List, MC, One Event Per Day
5.0

We hired Jon as our DJ for our Upstate NY wedding in September. He was easy to work with, quick to respond - a true all-around professional. He has lots of experience DJing weddings and was able to give us suggestions and recommendations when we had questions. He had lots of good worksheets that made it very easy to brainstorm on songs/music selections and helped you think through the whole day. He provided music for pre-ceremony, ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception - he is a machine! It was also super important to us that vinyl be used as much as possible. Jon has an incredible vinyl collection and it really made the night for us. The vinyl was an extra charge over his standard fee (which is extremely reasonable) - and for us, worth every penny. He also provided editing for ceremony music, first dance, and parents' dances that helped make the moments absolutely perfect. He really got the vibe we are going for and ran with it full speed. We could not have asked for a better DJ! I would recommend him without hesitation.

Profile Picture Hillary, 9/2/17, 1 Review
Category: DJ
Services Used: Microphones, Sound/PA System, Consultation, Do-Not-Play List, Liability Insurance
5.0

Jon was the perfect DJ for our wedding. He met with us multiple times to get an understanding of who we are and what we wanted, and also brought his own wisdom and knowledge to the equation, leading to an epic and electric 3+ hour dance party. This was confirmed by many of our guests who said it was the best wedding DJing they'd ever witnessed. He clarified every last detail with us and was completely professional. Literally nothing went wrong! I wish we could do the whole thing over again! Thank you, Jon!

Profile Picture Jane, 9/1/17, 1 Review
Category: DJ
5.0

Worth every penny! The dance floor was packed all night and everyone LOVED the music. Jon was very responsive, organized, and professional - a dream to work with. He met with us several times to craft our playlists and provided really helpful guidelines for timing, genres, etc. We heard every song we wanted to and none we didn't. Zero stress on our end. LOVED Love Junkies.

Profile Picture Kathryn, 8/12/17, 2 Reviews
Category: DJ
5.0

Jon was a pleasure to work with. He was very organized about getting all the information he needed from us before the wedding. We had a call with him to talk about the direction for different phases of the night and he made great suggestions based on our input. He also was super diligent about making sure we had all the right equipment for our outdoor DIY venue and everything went off without a hitch. He did a wonderful job of announcing speeches and the whole thing felt seamless. The music was perfect and had guests of all generations up and dancing all night. We had so much fun and he brought such great energy to the evening. I would recommend him highly for anyone looking for a DJ for a wedding or other event. Thanks Jon!!!

Profile Picture Laura , 8/5/17, 2 Reviews
Category: DJ
Services Used: Microphones, Sound/PA System, Consultation, Do-Not-Play List, Liability Insurance, MC, One Event Per Day
5.0

Jon was great to work with and had a good sense of humor. He kept the party energy high during our reception, and we would highly recommend him to another couple looking for a DJ! Or even for a non-wedding party. We thought that the phone call in advance of our wedding to review some of our song choices was extremely helpful.

Profile Picture User7222288, 1+ year ago, 5 Reviews
Category: DJ
Services Used: Do-Not-Play List, One Event Per Day
5.0

We couldn’t have asked for a better experience working with Jon. He listened to us, gave us useful/practical advice and was extremely responsive throughout the process. The dance floor was packed all night and compliments are still coming in about the music. He’s dynamic and did a great job of weaving different genres to keep all guests entertained as well as incorporating all of our must-play songs.

Late on the Thursday before our wedding, we wanted to make a change to the first dance song – not only did Jon accommodate this, but he sent us multiple edits to choose from. This was after he aptly pointed out a few weeks prior that another potential song had some lyrics that were maybe not the most appropriate for a first dance.

A few other positives worth noting:
-He’s actually mixing, cutting, etc. (been to a few weddings where DJ’s play songs start-to-finish and it is painful to watch)
-He liaised directly with the venue leading up to the date so we didn’t have to be a middle man
-His fee is fair and he is very transparent about everything he provides and needs (no surprises or last minute costs)

Profile Picture Aaron, 7/1/17, 1 Review
Category: DJ
Services Used: Consultation, Do-Not-Play List, Liability Insurance, MC, Microphones, Sound/PA System
5.0

Jon is an incredibly talented DJ and we were so lucky he was available for our wedding day! He made the entire planning process so seamless and fun. He provided worksheets for us to fill out and we were able to request a ton of songs and genres for our cocktail hour, dinner and reception. Jon really paid attention to our musical likes and dislikes and made sure the songs played at our wedding were exactly what we had in mind. He even worked with me the day before our wedding in editing down our wedding song to be the perfect cut! He was such a pleasure to work with at our wedding – music was exceptional! He really paid attention to the dance floor enthusiasm and catered to the vibe of the room when playing music. Our guests had a great time. I highly recommend the Love Junkies!

Profile Picture Kaity, 6/10/17, 6 Reviews
Category: DJ
Services Used: Microphones, Sound/PA System
5.0

Jon was absolutely fantastic! He was very professional and really fun to work with. Andrew and I didn't have to worry on our wedding day and he really got the crowd dancing all night long! Thank you for a great day!

Profile Picture h, 6/3/17, 1 Review
Category: DJ
Services Used: Microphones, Sound/PA System, Consultation, Do-Not-Play List, MC
5.0

I really cannot say enough good things about the experience Jon delivered on our wedding day. Not only did he curate an amazing playlist for every facet the event (cocktails, dinner, dancing, entry) but the transitions were all seamless, the sound quality and volume was excellent, and the timings were on point. It was very professional that Jon did not try to inject any extra flare (i.e. hype man) and just let his skills do all the work. If we ever have another event that would benefit from a DJ, we'd definitely choose Jon in a heartbeat.

Profile Picture Graham, 6/3/17, 1 Review
Category: DJ
5.0

Jon was an amazing DJ! He met with us in person before the wedding to go over our tastes and what we wanted for the ceremony and reception. He was professional, responsive, and brought up things we hadn't even thought of! He was on top of everything leading up to the event, including going direct with the venue to work out the space and set-up. And then the night of he was even better than we expected. Friends couldn't stop raving about how he kept the whole wedding on the dance floor the whole night! We still have people ask for his information. We couldn't recommend him more!

Profile Picture Courtney, 4/22/17, 2 Reviews
Category: DJ
Services Used: Microphones, Sound/PA System
5.0

If you're looking for an A-list DJ that really knows music, can read a crowd, and that will have everyone talking about how good the music was at your wedding... Love Junkies is it.

Jon was truly a highlight of our wedding. We continue to feel so lucky to have found him. He provided seamless A/V support during the ceremony and dinner toasts, which was no easy feat given that the co-best men sang over snippets from four different songs in their toast. In addition, there were multiple setups across various rooms at our venue, and Jon & his assistant were able to handle it all without any problem.

Best of all was the music and atmosphere that Jon provided. He helped guide us with music genre & song selections for each component of the night based on our interests, and he built on that to keep the energy up from cocktail hour to the last song on the dance floor. He appealed to both older and younger crowds, peppered in some of our favorite artists, and really set the tone for an awesome party.

Bottom line, Jon is excellent at both planning and execution. He's organized, reliable and creative. We are so grateful to him for all the work he did to make our wedding even better and more memorable than we'd imagined. Thank you Jon!!!

Photo for Love Junkies NYC Review
Photo for Love Junkies NYC Review
Profile Picture PJ, 3/25/17, 1 Review
Category: DJ
Services Used: Microphones, Sound/PA System, Consultation, Do-Not-Play List, Liability Insurance, MC, One Event Per Day
5.0

Jon was a pleasure to work with. We knew Jon was a perfect match from the very first time we met him. He listened to our requests and came up with a music list which perfectly suited our style. We also loved that he is a full-time DJ, so he knows what he is doing.

Profile Picture Anny, 3/11/17, 8 Reviews
Category: DJ
Services Used: Do-Not-Play List, Liability Insurance, One Event Per Day
5.0

Jon is absolutely fantastic. So easy to work with and provided us with great guidance on putting together our music list. Jon had EVERY person up dancing. It was unbelievable to experience being on the dance floor with amazing music surrounded by all our family and friends. The whole night all our friends kept coming up to us complimenting us on the DJ and asking how we were able to get him. Jon also make the experience leading up to the wedding completely stress free. Thanks Jon!

Profile Picture Bethany, 11/12/16, 1 Review
Category: DJ
5.0

Jon was outstanding and a pleasure to work with throughout our wedding planning and the event itself. He worked closely with my wife on the playlist, combined vinyl and digital seamlessly, and helped us structure our toasts and the flow of the evening in subtle ways that made it all come together. Jon was also just a very sweet, patient guy in the face of a big, complicated wedding -- we did cocktails, the ceremony, the dinner, and the reception in the same venue, and he planned and executed all of the music for each stage. He connected with the folks at the Gramercy Park Hotel, tested all of the equipment, and even created custom, extended versions of our processional and recessional to make certain we had enough time. Love Junkies made our wedding day fantastic, and we can't thank Jon Oliver enough for all of his help and kindness!

Profile Picture User7557177, 1+ year ago, 1 Review
Category: DJ
5.0

Jon was amazing. Came to meet us in our neighborhood, quickly understood our music preferences and the direction we wanted to go in, edited songs for us, and was always responsive and super easy to work with. When the wedding night came, he let the music do the talking, read the crowd perfectly, recorded the toasts (really nice touch), and really brought life to the party. He's a true professional and really good dude. We couldn't imagine finding a better DJ to keep our friends and family dancing. Thank you, Jon!!

Sam & Aysu

Profile Picture User7496424, 1+ year ago, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony Music, DJ
5.0

We were lucky enough to hear Jon DJ a friends' wedding in New York before planning our own, and thought he would be a great match! And he lived up to our expectations. The planning was easy with his spreadsheet and a number of helpful video consultation calls. Jon took our diverse musical ideas and put together a fantastic set which had everybody dancing and having a great time.

Profile Picture Ted, 9/17/16, 1 Review
Category: DJ
5.0

Jon was amazing to work with. We have no hesitation giving 5 stars each category. He was incredibly organized, offered helpful advice and listened carefully to our song preferences. We may or may not have had more opinions than most couples (ha) and he did a great job of blending our specific requests with his own good taste. As a result, the dance floor was packed the entire time. Finally, a representative anecdote - after the last song the guests chanted 'one more song' and a bridesmaid tried to bribe him to play for another hour. He remained professional throughout.

Thanks Jon!

Profile Picture Jennifer, 9/10/16, 1 Review
Category: DJ
Services Used: Microphones, Sound/PA System, Consultation, Do-Not-Play List, MC, One Event Per Day
5.0

We found Jon from a New York Magazine list, and pretty much as soon as we FaceTimed with him, we knew he was the one. Jon was incredibly easy to work with, very organized, and super responsive. There are so many things to worry about when planning a wedding, but if you go with Jon as your DJ, I promise that he will not be one of those things. We highly recommend him.

Profile Picture Andre, 9/10/16, 1 Review
Category: DJ
5.0

Jon has the BEST music knowledge in the world. He's also the most professional, accommodating and skilled DJ we could have ever asked for.

Thanks loads for making the day so awesome and giving everyone great vibes.
XX

Profile Picture User7329848, 1+ year ago, 1 Review
Category: DJ
5.0

With all the planning that goes into a wedding, it's hard to appreciate how much having good music goes toward having a good wedding. I know for sure that my wedding would not have been the party it was (and it was a party in a major way) without Love Junkies leading us that way. I and most of my guests spent the majority of our time on the dance floor.

In the months before the day, Jon was very helpful in getting us to define what kind of experience we wanted to create for our guests. This in turn helped us with the vision we had for our wedding, the effort of thinking of music influencing all the others. He was affable and professional and remained so at the wedding.

Bonus. There were some sound system issues at our venue that the venue was not prepared to deal with. Jon was unflappable, quickly fixing them, disaster averted.

All in all, I highly recommend Love Junkies.

Profile Picture Alexander, 8/15/16, 1 Review
Category: DJ
5.0

Jon is amazing! When we started planning our wedding, there were two things that were super important to us-- food and music. When we found Jon, we knew we were in good hands. He took the time to meet with us and really get a sense of what we were looking for (mostly soul and then contemporary dance tunes). He was thorough, flexible, and extremely professional. Everyone was on the dance floor, and at the end of the night, our friends started chanting "one more song!" which was very fun. We felt very safe with Jon, and we just knew that he was going to do his job and do it well. Whole-heartedly recommend him to any wedding couple, especially those who stray a bit from the mainstream wedding playlist.

Profile Picture Laura Jo, 7/23/16, 6 Reviews
Category: DJ
Services Used: Do-Not-Play List, Microphones, Sound/PA System