Hair by Lillian Self Reviews

16 | Raleigh, NC
See photos, pricing and details

16 Reviews for Hair by Lillian Self

Recommended by 99%

16
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.8

2 User photos

Hair by Lillian Self 1
Hair by Lillian Self 2
Sort by:
  • Cyndi

    Cyndi · Married on 04/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lillian was extremely professional, she was very responsive. From someone who is used to my hairdresser of many years, its difficult to trust someone new. I was pleased with my up-do; as well as the rest of the bridal party. Simply the best!

    Sent on 04/18/2018
  • H

    Holly · Married on 08/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lillian did an amazing job on myself and all the girls! Everyone loved their hair and said it was exactly what they wanted. Lillian was so sweet and professional, and easy to work with. You have to book her!!!!!

    Sent on 08/07/2018
  • K

    K · Married on 05/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lillian did a great job! Everyone loved their hairstyles and they all held through the entire wedding and dancing! She was easy to get along with and was willing to listen to feedback to improve the up-do and make sure that my wedding hair was exactly what I'd pictured! I have A TON of hair so it has never been easy to get an updo that didn't just look like a blob, but Lillian did a fantastic job and I received compliments all night long! I would recommend her to every bride!

    Sent on 06/30/2017
  • C

    Casee · Married on 03/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lillian did a wonderful job on our hair for the wedding!! She had to style several lengths and types of hair, including the flower girl and we all came out looking fabulous!!! I met with her twice before the wedding to get my hair cut and styled and will be going back to see her soon! Love my new cut Lillian!!!

    Sent on 03/20/2017
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 10/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am so glad Lillian was available on our wedding day, and a million times more so that I chose her! She was so easy-going -- exactly what a bride needs during a time of high stress. I loved the pictures on WeddingWire of Lillian's past work, and knew that she could accomplish my vision. I am a pretty particular person when it comes to hair, and Lillian rolled with me, taking in all of the little details I mentioned along the way. I had a simple updo that I loved with some twists and curls on a girl whose hair is STICK straight. On the wedding day, Lillian did my hair along with 7 bridesmaids and both moms. She was a rockstar and we all loved the results.

    Sent on 02/02/2017
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 09/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lillian was great! My hair is super thin and fights to escape from any sort of style, so I was definitely a challenge. We had to make some changes to the style after the trial (where she came to me!) to make sure it would stay up all night, and she did it! I never thought my hair could have so much volume, and I felt super secure dancing the whole night. She was very professional and made sure I got exactly what I wanted.

    Sent on 10/05/2016
  • M

    Marissa · Married on 09/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lillian was recommended to me by my makeup artist and I’m so grateful that she was available for my wedding! From my first inquiry, her enthusiasm and style really stood out. When we had our consultation and hair trial, I only became more confident that I was going to look beautiful on my wedding day. Her attention to detail is unsurpassed, and her advice and suggestions were invaluable. Aside from her ability to create elegant, timeless hairstyles, what really sets Lillian apart is her natural way of being calm, supportive, grounded, and positive. I was able to really relax and enjoy getting ready because I knew I was in such great hands. Even in the North Carolina heat and humidity, all of our up-dos looked great all night long. I highly recommend working with Lillian and look forward to her doing my hair for my next event!

    Sent on 11/16/2016
  • M

    Mindy · Married on 09/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Lillian was great. She did my three bridesmaids up-dos and mine. They all looked great and mine stayed as we partied and danced well into the morning hours. None of the bridesmaids had issues either and everyone loved her work. She was also very flexible and understanding with the blocked off street in front of the bridal suite location. Also she had no problems coming to me for the trial. She does beautiful work!

    Sent on 10/04/2016
  • E

    Emma · Married on 08/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Love Lillian and so glad she did my (bride) hair for the wedding. She also did the MOH and MOB's hair. She is really easy-going, flexible, responsive to emails/texts/calls, and most importantly, competent. She has great styling ideas but doesn't push anything onto you. Highly recommend!!

    Sent on 08/26/2016
  • K

    Kathryn · Married on 05/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lillian was great! Super responsive and flexible. She does wonders with up-do's. I used her for bridal portraits and the day of. I wanted to make a few changes for the day of and she knew exactly what I was talking about - my hair was perfect the day of! Lillian is also very personable and fun to talk to while she does your hair.

    Sent on 06/08/2016
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 05/07/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I don't have a regular stylist in Raleigh, so I turned to the internet for a stylist for my wedding day and found Lillian. I figured I'd try her out and if it didn't work out, I'd eat $50 in a trial and move on. Happy to report I didn't need to look any further! She was very accommodating with my schedule and offered her services for a great price. I'm not into hair and so I didn't know how to describe what I wanted (or really what I wanted, either) but I showed her a few Pinterest ideas and she ran with it. By the time she finished and I looked in the mirror, I was very happy with what I saw. (Also, she's neat to talk to while you're in the chair.) It felt like me and wasn't overly fussy. The style didn't hold super well so I told her it would need to be stronger on the wedding day, and she made that happen with no problem at all. I happily recommend her!

    Sent on 06/11/2016
  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 04/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I found Lillian through WeddingWire actually, and she is fabulous! She came to the venue (in downtown Raleigh) and was wonderful! I have actually contacted her since then to cut my hair after the wedding insanity calmed down and my hair looks fabulous. Super sweet, personable, on time, and quick. Great job! :)

    Sent on 06/20/2016
  • User5319599 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    She is AMAZING!!! I cannot write a more flattering review of Lillian. I am so grateful that she was available on the day of my wedding because I can't imagine having had anyone else do my hairstyle for a day I had put so much planning and attention into. She showed up with the most CALMING and PROFESSIONAL energy. She is the nicest person and extremely talented. I, and my groom's mother and my own mother had just a vague sense of what we wanted to look like--natural, but beautiful for the day and she surpassed any of the photos I had found online as examples and we were all BLOWN AWAY!
    I can't recommend her enough. My expectations were exceeded and the hairstyle (she wove a few strands around a thin silver vintage wreath I wanted to wear) really really pulled my entire look together. My hair looked seamless and had loose curls and it kept all night even with a lot of dancing, which I still feel unbelievable because it felt soft and looked so delicate! Guests kept asking me how it had been done and took photos of my hairstyle all day. The moms looked so GORGEOUS!!! They are both hoping they can recreate what she has done for them.
    Thank you so much Lillian!!! I am so happy with the work that you did and I want to send everyone I know to you!!!

    Sent on 08/05/2015
  • I

    Iris · Married on 08/04/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lillian was such a professional from start to finish. We walked through the tools she'd use, the timeline for when each girl would be in her chair and she was incredibly accommodating, especially with last minute changes from my wedding party.

    Our hair trial gave me a really good sense of what my hair would look like on the big day, and she was very open to feedback and tweaks during the process. In fact, her having practiced on my VERY curly hair during the trial allowed her to layer in product throughout hair/makeup the day of, creating a look that lasted in the humid Carolina heat.

    Every strand of hair shone and there were extra details that she added in which really popped in my photos. AMAZING!

    Sent on 08/09/2018
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 04/02/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lillian did a fantastic job with my hair and my bridesmaids' hair. I went to see her about a week before my wedding in need of a color "freshen up". (Which is a big bridal "no" to do so soon before your wedding, I know I know.) But she NAILED it. She gave me some of the best color I've ever had and so many of my friends have been raving about how much they love my color and highlights. I wanted something whimsical half-up, half-down do for my wedding day but had no idea how to describe it. But Lillian was able to capture it PERFECTLY. AND my hair stayed in place for the entire night while still maintaining a "loose and flowy" look. She did an amazing job and I was really glad we booked her!

    Sent on 05/18/2016
  • N

    Nettie Jankoviak · Married on 10/28/2018

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Beautiful Long Lasting Wedding Hair

    I saw many rave reviews regarding Lillian’s hairstyling skills and knew I had to give her a try! She did a wonderful job at bringing my hair vision to life. Lillian worked later than scheduled to be sure my hair trial reflected what I was hoping to have as my style on my wedding day. I also had a larger bridal party (six girls and myself). Lillian was able to style all of these ladies in a little over three hours. Everyone’s hair looked gorgeous and held through the reception and after party! Thank you Lillian!


    Photo credit for this review belongs to FireRose Photography.

    Sent on 12/28/2018
    Hair by Lillian Self 3
    Hair by Lillian Self 4

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review