Skip to main content
Weddings

Light up the Sound Reviews

Light up the Sound View more information

74 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 98% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 74
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

3 User photos

  • Molly
    Molly K. Married on 06/11/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Just Do it!

    Just do it! If you are debating on hiring him, do it. He was great, all my guest had a great time and some even asked for his information for their weddings. He was flexible, followed instructions to a T and asked questions when needed. Over all so happy with his price and the experience. I would highly recommend this company for your wedding/event! (Picture is from a game we played and he was a awesome MC for)
  • A
    Alexis Married on 01/04/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Awesome!! Reasonably Priced

    Josh was perfect for us and so reasonably priced. We had some recommendations for him that he gladly accepted, but we also trusted him with the rest of the music. Our guests did not leave the dance floor until our sparkler exit! My husband and I also were on the dance floor a great portion of the night thanks to the fun dance music!
  • M
    Maria Married on 04/18/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent DJ

    Josh is an excellent DJ. Everything went very smoothly. He played music that all of our guests enjoyed. He had an awesome light display that everyone loved. I would recommend him to anyone!
  • M
    Michael K. Married on 12/31/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing dj!

    Josh was awesome! He completely made our night. Yes, any DJ can play music but it takes someone special to elevate the night and that is exactly what he did. He was the total MC for the night and by doing so, he allowed my bride and I to relax and actually be present for our friends and family. He threw one heck of a party and we were dancing all the way until the end of the night.
    On top of being great with the music and entertainment, he was FANTASTIC with our kids. They had a million questions about his equipment and he was so kind and patient. They hung out with him most of the night and he was incredibly accommodating. It was that little touch that made Josh stand out to us. I HIGHLY recommend him!!
  • Jessica
    Jessica G. Married on 11/08/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing day

    Amber and Josh were amazing the whole time. From the initial meeting to the planning of songs to the big day. They even dressed up for my Harry Potter wedding the room looked amazing the uplighting was amazing and the banners were great. Would definitely recommend:)
  • M
    Miss D. Married on 01/21/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fun and Fantastic!

    Josh was very easy going and professional. We had a great party!
  • M
    Marcella Married on 12/29/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best day of my life!

    Amber was one of the best decisions we made for our big day. She was so responsive, fun, and professional. My family and friends cannot say enough about our DJ and how much fun they had. Our reception was an absolute blast and we have Amber and Light Up the Sound to thank for that. I would absolutely recommend this DJ, you will not be disappointed!
  • N
    N. R. Married on 12/14/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Proffessional

    Light Up the Sound was very professional and a great service. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed it!
  • Elissa
    Elissa H. Married on 12/07/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Incredible dj!

    Where do I start? Josh, thank you for everything. You were always willing to answer my texts, respond to my emails, download special songs, go over anything I had questions about. You offered to help upgrade our package close to the date to fit our needs. You met with us at a coffee house to ensure our timeline was what we wanted, and fit our vision. On the day of, you were on time, looked sharp and were ready to party! You had everything I sent you to ensure the night went smooth. You were so flexible with whatever I wanted to do at my wedding. THANK YOU FOR MAKING OUR NIGHT SO SPECIAL! Everyone had a GREAT time. People said it was the best wedding they had been to in years! Love, Mr. and Mrs. Mesi
  • T
    Traci Married on 10/16/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Job!

    Light up the Sound was incredible! Josh made our Event in Milford so much fun. He got crowds excited and had people doing Karaoke in the street. We have several requests to bring him back for our next event.
  • D
    Dondi Married on 09/22/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Amber was amazing!!!! She was on top of EVERYTHING and we were so blessed to have her!!! Right from the start she was beyond helpful, fun to work with and is the best at what she does!! I look back now and realize without her our wedding would not been as organized and ran so smoothly!! It was the best day of my life!! And I have Amber to thank for that!!
  • A
    Adam Married on 09/15/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Light Up The Sound (Josh) was great to work with. Our guests commented positively on the music and presentation of the party. We were also pleased with how well Josh was able to coordinate with other vendors and keep the party moving along. Our wedding had lots of moving parts during planning, so changes in plans didn't seem to bother Josh at all. He was able to set up quickly and we experienced no technical issues at all. Highly recommended.
  • A
    Alecia Married on 08/18/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Josh was the best DJ! His music and light show kept my guests dancing the whole night. I had so many compliments on my DJ!! I knew he would rock because I had seen him before and knew I wanted him for my wedding. I highly recommend him for an amazing reception!!
  • D
    Deborah Married on 07/30/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Josh hosted our 30th anniversary party. We had so much fun. We danced all night. His selection of music was perfect.
  • T
    Tiffany Married on 07/07/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I am so happy we decided to go with Josh at Light Up The Sound. One of my biggest concerns was having an empty dance floor. Josh did not disappoint - every time I looked over at the dance floor, it was PACKED. He could definitely tell what type of music and vibe our guests enjoyed, and would play into that. He was always so easy to get into contact with, and genuinely wants to make your day special and-stress free. We had a packed day, but Josh was able to maneuver around it all. Even though we didn't get a chance to meet until the wedding day, I was super confident that he would do a wonderful job - which he did.
  • M
    Maja Married on 06/23/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We really enjoyed working with Josh and Light up the Sound for our wedding. He was very attentive to what we wanted and was in frequent communication with us when needed. Josh was great in keeping the night moving as far as the evening's schedule was concerned. We also had many unique songs we wanted played during the ceremony and reception and Josh made sure he had them. An overall great experience and we would receommend Josh and light up the Sound for any event you might be planning.
  • F
    Deana Married on 06/16/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    LUTS was a great choice for our wedding. Amber supported and guided my fiancé and I as the day got closer, played every song we provided in advance AND help create so many memorable moments on our day. She was awesome! It was 80-degrees on my wedding day. I was hot, tired, and a ball of emotions and Amber helped keep me going the whole evening with a great vibe. But to begin, she had the best approach to every piece of our timeline to keep us on track. The guests loved her. People could not stop telling me how much they loved her personality behind the mic. We had a great moment for the children too! Also, she helped my 'maid and I have a really special moment with my now husband... When I sang to him. She worked with the piano player to have him hooked into her system AND she brought an extra mic so that we were comfortable as we sang. She made it all possible! Give them a call - the Starlight package is worth it and Amber is awesome!! I had an outdoor reception by the way. So great for the atmosphere. Thanks LUTS! And happy planning, everyone.
  • M
    Michael Married on 06/09/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This guy is the best. He is very friendly and knows what he is doing. Helped us out with any questions and concerns right away. Helped all night with the schedule we were thinking and advice on when to do things. Played great music all event and takes requests. I will be giving his number to anyone I hear needs a DJ.
  • M
    Marielle Married on 05/19/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Amber was Fabulous! The event was a success because of her...she has an outstanding personality with the ability to get the crowd motivated. Looking forward to planning another event involving Light Up The Sound! Thank you!!
  • S
    Sang-Ah Married on 05/19/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Thank you for being so flexible and professional!
  • E
    Emily Event on: 05/15/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I was the event coordinator for our gymnastics team award banquet. We had two graduating seniors and a personalized video presentation to show our 250 guests when it was discovered that the projector we had brought to use wasn't working. I found Light up the Sound's contact information through a google search of the area and called them at 6 pm in a panic. Not only did they get us the equipment needed within 45 minutes, it was set up before dinner was over! We will definitely use them again and our venue, 59 West Banquet Center, will be sure to add them to their preferred vendor list. Thank you so much Josh and Randy! You saved our event.
  • K
    Katie Married on 05/12/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    If you are looking for a DJ seriously stop your search here, Josh is AMAZING! To begin with, he met us in person, in the middle of a snowstorm, to go over the contract. He was incredibly kind and enthusiastic as well as not pushy about his services like many other vendors we came across. You honestly cannot beat his prices and he nailed everything perfectly. He found hard to locate music, followed our long (probably annoying) playlist, hit every single cue for our wedding, and went above and beyond. He kept our dance floor packed and even offered our guest to karaoke. He made sure he got the details he needed to pull it off without a hitch. He did both our ceremony and reception and I honestly could not be more happy or grateful we chose him for our wedding. If you are looking for someone who is going to make the music for your day perfect, Josh is it. Our guests keep asking about who did our music and I happily refer them to Light Up the Sound. I really want to throw a party just to hire him again!
  • C
    Charlie Married on 10/07/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    GREAT JOB!!!! He did everything that we asked of him, then some!!!! You can't go wrong with Josh...
  • 2BMrsKing
    Elle Married on 09/23/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Josh was amazing! Kept the reception going with a variety of good dance songs. Super friendly, very professional, and truly accommodating. I'm recommended Josh to anyone in our area looking for a DJ!! Thank you Josh for being part of our special day.
  • K
    Kristy Married on 08/26/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Amber was absolutely amazing! She was responsive, energetic, accommodating and engaged. We would absolutely hire her again and would highly recommend her services. She was attentive to us throughout the night and made sure everything went as planned - and improvised when necessary. She went above and beyond for us throughout the process and was a pleasure to have around on our special day.

    - Kristy & Caroline (Her first same-sex wedding) :)