Laurie Bracewell Photography Reviews

21 | Haymarket, VA
See photos, pricing and details

21 Reviews for Laurie Bracewell Photography

Recommended by 100%

21
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • User3591201 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laurie was the photographer for both our engagement session and wedding. She photographed my cousin's wedding a few years ago and did an AMAZING job, so we were thrilled to have her do ours as well. Laurie is incredibly talented and has a great eye for being able to capture just the right angles and all of the special moments. She is not only professional, but so personable that she feels like an old friend. She helped us keep on schedule when both the wedding ceremony and photo sessions began to run over, without ever having us feel stressed. The photos she took turned out amazing and we are thrilled to have them as a keepsake from our special day. If we can give one piece of wedding advice, get an excellent photographer for your wedding day, because when its all over you are going to want amazing photographs to remember the day by. Because of Laurie, we do!!

    Sent on 12/31/2014
  • E

    Eric · Married on 08/09/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We picked Laurie Bracewell to photograph our wedding after our wedding planner recommended her. She was the first wedding photographer we looked at, but as soon as we met I knew she would be the one. She is very easy going and relaxed, but was also very organized and showed us plenty of examples of her work. Soon after meeting we did engagement photos with her. I usually feel very uncomfortable in front of a camera, but Laurie was a natural and made my then-fiance and I feel like we were taking photos with an old friend. The photos turned out amazing and reassured me that she was the right one for our wedding. We just received our wedding photos and I can honestly say that her photos are stunning! She captured every moment on camera perfectly and even included almost every single guest in at least one photo. Laurie was one of the best vendor decisions we made and I already know that if we need professional photos taken in the future she will be the first person we call.

    Sent on 09/14/2014
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 10/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laurie Bracewell is one of the most wonderful and talented people you will ever meet. She was recommended to me by my wedding planner (Jennifer Charles of Something Fabulous), and as soon as my husband and I met her and saw her amazing portfolio, we knew she was the one for us! We literally could not be more happy with how our engagement and wedding photos turned out. Laurie takes the most beautiful photos I have ever seen in my life. The moment you meet her you feel completely comfortable, like you are hanging out with one of your best girlfriends, and it really helps you to relax in the photos. She puts a lot of love, time, and care into each client and it really shows. A few weeks before the wedding, she even sent us a surprise gift to keep us from stressing out too much and to remind us what was really important, our love for each other! She is such a joy to be around that half the time you forget you are even having your picture taken. She is not only an extremely talented photographer, but a wonderful person too. I HIGHLY recommend everyone hire her as their wedding photographer, you will be very happy with the results!

    Sent on 12/02/2013
  • K

    Katherine · Married on 09/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am so happy we chose Laurie to capture our wedding day! She was supportive throughout the entire wedding planning process. We had a great conversation at the start of planning and a really fun engagement photo session with her in Charlottesville. My husband and I were a little nervous about having our picture taken, but Laurie made us feel very comfortable. And, it was a great chance to spend time with her so that on our wedding day we could relax and enjoy having her capture our big day. And, the wedding day photos are gorgeous! We had a few hiccups at our wedding, but Laurie's photographs show how beautiful the day really was and how much fun everyone had at the reception. We cannot wait for our wedding album to arrive so we can relive the best parts of the day for many years to come. Laurie is a pleasure to work with, and I highly recommend her to any bride who wants beautiful photos from their wedding day!

    Sent on 10/18/2013
  • Chrisy

    Chrisy · Married on 09/14/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laurie was absolutely amazing! My husband and I could not have been happier with our choice to use Laurie as our wedding photographer. She captured our personalities perfectly, as well as all our favorite moments throughout the night. She was wonderful communicating with us throughout the entire process. We were absolutely thrilled with her and our photographs! Thank you Laurie!

    Sent on 10/30/2013
  • User3588591 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laurie completely exceeded our expectations! From the moment we met her, we felt we had known her for years. We aren't normally very comfortable in front of the camera but Laurie made us feel completely at ease. She is very organized, thoughtful, creative and professional. We did extensive research when it came to photography and, not to sound too crazy, we literally compared dozens of area photographers. In the end, it was an easy decision. We love every single picture that she took and we are still getting compliments on our album months after our wedding day! Thank you, Laurie, for giving us such wonderful portraits of our day that we will cherish for the rest of our lives.

    Sent on 10/07/2013
  • User2799083 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laurie was hands down my most favorite vendor. I can't tell you how important it is to like your photographer -- you spend the day with him/her so this is crucial. Laurie is a genuinely nice person and incredibly pleasant to be around. And on top of that she is genuinely invested in your event. You can tell she feels the highs and lows with the bride. From the first time we spoke on the phone to meeting her in person to the day of, Laurie delivered. She was incredibly helpful in determining the scheduling, was very prompt in answering questions, and flexible in going with the quirks of my day. And on the day of, she was awesome. Even many of my bridal party commented on how awesome my photographer was. She makes the day easy and that is just so important. And on top of it all, she takes amazing pictures. She has the most amazing eye and can transform the most mundane setting into something gorgeous. I definitely would recommend her and would use her again for all important events to be photographed!

    Sent on 12/30/2012
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 10/13/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved having Laurie with us for our special day! Her photos were beautiful, and I really believe that they helped us to capture the essence of the day. Laurie was very frank when offering advice, which I now understand was in an effort to make our experience as pleasant as possible. I may have been a demanding bride at times, but Laurie took it all in stride! I am definitely recommending her to all of my friends.

    Sent on 12/27/2012
  • J

    Julie · Married on 09/02/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laurie did an amazing job photographing our wedding. She was very responsive and very involved in the planning process and the quality of her service the day of was very professional and personal. She was very flexible in working with our timeline insuring she didn't miss a moment. Your photographs are the only thing left from your wedding day, so photography was something we didn't skimp on, and Laurie's photography was definitely worth the value.

    Sent on 01/22/2013
  • Amanda

    Amanda · Married on 06/30/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    In planning my wedding, I’d have to say my photos were one of the most important things to me. I heard about Laurie through a friend, when my fiancé and I met with her and knew right away she was our photographer. I don’t even think we made it to the car before we already had the check written and mailed (hehe). It was like meeting and old friend that you haven’t seen in years, she made us feel so welcome and comfortable, and answered all of our questions. Laurie kept in contact with us all the way up until the wedding day, getting our time line together, making suggestions, making last minute changes, and even sending us a nice note in the mail a couple weeks before.

    We had some wedding day drama from a huge storm the night before, we had no power the day of the wedding, causing everything to run behind, but Laurie was on time ready to go. She took all of the little detail pictures while we hurried to get ready. She was there for everything. It was so comfortable with her there I didn’t even know she was taking pictures half the time. She joked around with us and talked to us like a room full of girls just hanging out. I think it was her that kept me so calm. Even now looking through our wedding pictures I don’t even know when she took most of them. Even my guests said how amazing she was!
    Laurie was by far the BEST vender we had! I highly recommend her to anyone looking for a great photographer and a great experience. Laurie was not just our photographer, I really feel like she was a friend, a member of the family. Laurie, Dave and I cannot thank you enough for all that you’ve done to make our wedding day that much more special! We love sharing our photos, hearing people say how amazing they are. Thanks you for capturing such wonderful memories that we will never forget

    Sent on 01/01/2013
  • A

    Angela · Married on 06/19/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are glad to have Laurie as our photographer. She is very professional. We are very happy with our wedding portraits taken by her.

    Sent on 12/28/2012
  • Christine

    Christine · Married on 06/02/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When I began searching for our wedding photographer I clicked through profiles and reviews on Wedding Wire and waited for that *spark*. Photography is an important part of our wedding and I wanted someone with an artistic eye, to capture this special day. When I came upon Laurie Bracewell Photography and clicked through to her website and blog, I immediately had a good feeling. With fingers crossed I contacted her and found out she was available for our day! Within minutes of our first phone conversation she felt like an old friend and I knew she was definitely the photographer for us! She is incredibly talented and I wouldn’t be at all surprised if she’s a big name in wedding photography in a few short years.

    Our engagement photos were amazing... and our session with Laurie was so fun! Leading up to the wedding, Laurie was great to work with, providing a timeline and suggestions for our day. On our wedding day, Laurie was very professional, while still having fun with our group. When our wedding pictures arrived I was blown away! They were more beautiful than I could have imagined! Laurie has an incredible talent and any bride would be lucky to have her as their photographer! I highly recommend Laurie Bracewell Photography!

    Sent on 07/17/2012
  • N

    N · Married on 05/09/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laurie was great! Very responsive and professional and put in a lot of extra touches to get our photos just right. I highly recommend her services and would contact her again for a future event.

    Sent on 02/07/2013
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 10/08/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Words cannot express Laurie's pleasant demeanor, talent and creativity. Her work speaks for itself. From my first telephone conversation with her, I could feel her energy and enthusiasm...and that was just the beginning.

    The day we took our engagement photos, it was 98+ degrees. My husband and I easily got into the groove of picture taking, despite the crazy humid weather, because Laurie does an amazing job of making you feel comfortable and natural. She did an incredible job with the lighting! An added bonus...we got the disc of our pictures in under two weeks with a thank you card from Laurie!

    On our wedding day, we let Laurie choose the exact location for our bride/groom photos...at that point, we trusted her enough and knew she wouldn't steer us wrong. Glad we put her in the driver seat! We wanted a DC wedding and even though we were at prime tourist locations, she captured moments throughout the day without skipping a beat. She, and her second shooter, were never intrusive throughout our ceremony and reception...in fact, my mother asked if she stayed beyond the family portrait session.

    Laurie's work is incredible. She is so much fun to work with, my husband and I are hoping to find a reason to hire her again! We are so pleased with the details of her work, her calming and yet super-fun spirit, and the value for her work. For the package we purchased, similar photographers were charging almost double. I can't comment on her wedding albums, because we only recently got married, but the samples she showed me are contemporary and sleek. I would absolutely recommend Laurie without hesitation!!!

    Sent on 10/21/2011
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 10/01/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I knew ahead of time that I wanted Laurie to be my wedding photographer, so I actually booked her BEFORE I was officially engaged! I heard that her wedding season was filling up fast so I booked her ASAP. She was my first priority wedding to-do!

    Laurie was very professional and friendly in all her dealings with us. She obviously has a passion for what she does, and not just the technical photography part (which she's great at!) - she truly enjoys being a part of your big day and all that goes into that.

    Laurie is amazing at capturing those special moments without being intrusive, yet gives great guidance since she knows what poses, angles, and lighting works best to make you look beautiful!

    She carefully chooses quality assistant photographers and works well as a team with him or her. She was always on time (early!), and kept everything running smoothly according to our schedule without making us feel rushed or stressed. She is great with thinking on her feet in tough situations. It started POURING on our wedding day (no cute pictures with umbrellas would have even worked), but we worked around that and still managed to get some AMAZING photos under overhangs, etc. Even the lighting turned out great (probably even better than harsh sunlight would have been!) thanks to her amazing skills.

    The best part is that even after your big day, she still gives special touches! Our final photo CDs were delivered in such a cute package with a bow and thank you note. She cares about that on-going relationship, and I will continue to find excuses to use her again and again!!

    Sent on 06/06/2012
  • E

    Erin · Married on 09/17/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laurie is AMAZING!!!

    We did our engagement session with her in Annapolis and she walked all over trying to get as many different shots as possible. The engagement photos were used for a guestbook picture album that everyone LOVED.

    On the day of wedding Laurie was professional and organized and just so sweet. Our first look and formal photos were taken before the ceremony which was amazing because it allowed us to use the cocktail hour for portraits of just the two of us. Everyone who has seen the pics thinks we look like models or movie stars.

    The second shooter Laurie picked was also very nice to work with and I highly recommend having a second shooter. It allowed "getting ready" pics of both of us, different perspectives of the ceremony, and a photographer to be at the cocktail hour while Laurie was with us.

    It took me almost 2 hours to go through our photo gallery and DAYS to pick our favorite for our print. Laurie was very helpful in suggesting which ones might work the best.

    All in all Laurie was great to work with and the photographs on her blog speak for themselves.

    Sent on 12/10/2011
  • A

    ann · Married on 05/14/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    laurie is an amazing photographer! the whole process with laurie was easy. the photographer was a big deal to me and my husband and i thought it was going to be a headache. i was sooo wrong! i first met laurie for coffee. she wanted to get to learn about who we we were, our style, our story. it was fun and i got to know laurie as well. from then on it was super easy.

    laurie is super organized, easy to email (very important to me because i was planning from chicago), upbeat, and extremely personable. we worked together on a "day of" timeline and made sure i got all the shots i wanted.

    the day of, went smoothly. there was some tension the day before and the morning of because we didn't know if it was going to rain or not :/ but everything worked out. laurie and her assistant we're cheerful, laughing, and seemed as though they we're having a fun time as well.

    the images turned out amazing! i couldn't be happier!!!

    Sent on 07/09/2011
  • M

    Megan · Married on 01/22/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so happy that Laurie was the photographer for our wedding. She made us feel comfortable right away and was incredibly easy to work with. She even went the extra mile and brought us hand warmers to keep us comfortable on our 19 degree wedding day! Our pictures are beautiful-she has a knack for finding great shots and making ordinary surroundings into something beautiful.
    Most importantly for us, she was able to capture the day without causing us to miss all the fun. She blended into the crowd, catching special moments of us with family and friends and we weren't even aware she was there. I love our pictures and would pick her again.

    Sent on 03/12/2012
  • M

    m. · Married on 10/10/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laurie was a pleasure to work with. She had great ideas for shots and made everyone feel very comfortable. She captured the very essence of our special day and she worked with us to create a photo list that would include all of the important people in our lives. We were so thankful to have found her and smile everytime we look at the photos. Thank you Laurie!!!

    Sent on 04/25/2011
  • Q

    Grace · Married on 03/13/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Normally, I'm not a huge fan of being stocked by a camera and can be very camera shy, but Laurie's kind, sweet, friendly attitude made the whole experience extremely comfortable for me. She's flexible; she listens, and met our needs for our wedding day, as well as during the post-wedding time. All of her photographs were of professional clear and clean quality with a twist of Laurie's beautiful style. We absolutely loved them!

    Laurie also did an engagement photo-shoot with us. We highly recommend doing this with Laurie as well! Having those precious moments of pre-wedding life means so much to us, and having those moments captured by our wedding photographer means even more.

    My husband and I highly, tremendously recommend Laurie!

    Sent on 04/21/2011
  • E

    Erin · Married on 10/12/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laurie made our day so easy and relaxing - she was a treat to work with, and her photos speak for themselves. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 10/28/2013

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review