LAURA'S COUTURE & ALTERATIONS Reviews

136 | Houston, TX
See photos, pricing and details

136 Reviews for LAURA'S COUTURE & ALTERATIONS

Recommended by 95%

136
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.8

4 User photos

LAURA'S COUTURE & ALTERATIONS 1
LAURA'S COUTURE & ALTERATIONS 2
LAURA'S COUTURE & ALTERATIONS 3
LAURA'S COUTURE & ALTERATIONS 4
Sort by:
  • A

    Angelina · Married on 10/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laura’s Couture and Alterations was absolutely AMAZING to work with! Her team transformed my sample Galia Lahav Gown from Ivory Bridal Atelier into an unforgettable sight. I picked a Galia Lahav dress, “Odette” but wanted the “Ms. Elle” gown by the same designer. However, due to my budget I could not. I took my Odette gown to their alteration boutique and they transformed my dress into the most beautiful wedding dress I had ever seen and I couldn’t tell the difference between the Ms. Elle and the oroginal Odette I had purchased. In my first photo, it shows a model wearing Ms. Elle, then what my original dress looked like (Odette) and finally with the added lace and newly placed straps and even new sheer where there was a hole, my dress as a finished product followed by other photos of me in it

    LAURA'S COUTURE & ALTERATIONS 5
    LAURA'S COUTURE & ALTERATIONS 6
    LAURA'S COUTURE & ALTERATIONS 7
    LAURA'S COUTURE & ALTERATIONS 8
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 07/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laura’s Couture & Alterations saved my wedding dress! I wish I had gone with them from the start, but I live in San Antonio and had travelled to Houston to buy my dress from BHLDN. I figured I would get it tailored in San Antonio to save myself the trip to Houston. In spite of good reviews on Yelp (including for wedding dresses), my seamstress in San Antonio couldn’t figure out how to bustle my tulle dress (she even suggested cutting off the train!) and also managed to screw a few things up with the dress. Two weeks before my wedding I got my dress back from her and called BHLDN very worried to see if they had any recommendations. They referred me to Laura’s Couture & Alterations, and they were able to squeeze me in about 10 days before the wedding! It was so worth the trip, and they finished everything in such a short time frame. They even managed to fix the mistakes my previous seamstress made and beautifully bustled the dress. They saved my dress, and I would highly recommend them!

  • M

    Melissa · Married on 10/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They were so kind, professional, and helpful. The work they did on my dress was perfect and it fit just right for the wedding. I got so many complements on the bustle, and could not have asked for anyone better or a better fit. Thanks!

  • A

    Amber · Married on 10/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    THESE GUYS ARE ABSOLUTE MIRACLE WORKERS. I lost 50 lbs before my wedding, and my size 12/14 dress had to be taken in 8 inches!! I was so afraid that I was going to have to end up purchasing a new dress. But nope! This place did such an absolutely wonderful job altering the gown. It is absolutely stunning and I could not have asked for anything more. If you are looking for the best place to get your gown altered, a place that you can truly trust, take it to Laura's Couture!

  • K

    kristin · Married on 10/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I chose Laura's based on all the 5 star ratings. I am so glad I did! They did an amazing job on my dress. Everyone there is so nice and friendly. I would highly recommend them.

  • User6093713 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Did such an awesome job on my dress! I went in not knowing what to request, but they are so experienced, they knew exactly what to do!

  • User4834930 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laura's Couture & Alterations did a fabulous job altering my wedding dress. They are clearly extremely knowledgeable regarding wedding dress alterations. They were confident in the work that needed to be done to the dress and were able to convince me to do all of the right things when I was a little unsure (ex: how tight to make the strapless dress, how long to make the dress so I could walk but it still skimmed the ground). The dress worked out perfectly. I was super comfortable and was able to dance all night. I got so many compliments on the dress and it was in big part because Laura's did such a great job making sure it fit me perfectly. They were really expensive, but worth every penny.

  • User6511691 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After researching a legit place to have my wedding gown altered and customize, noticed after reading the reviews from Laura's Couture, this would be THE PLACE! I did not want to get my dress altered/customized at the bridal salon where I purchased my gown, because their style seemed a bit odd, along with other cons I which to not discuss.

    I made an appt with Laura's Couture Alterations and immediately when I put my gown on they treated my like a queen. Their style, note-taking, snapping photos, and just being sure they are being as precise as possible was incredible. They saw my vision and much more and a month or so when I went back for my fitting with the customizations completed - I was blown out of this world, and cried. YES, it was tears of joy!!! They knew exactly how to make my wedding gown fit perfectly on my body and etc. Laura's Couture is absolutely incredible.

    I know you're someone who is searching for the place to have your wedding gown done at, and on a budget. Please know that this place is worth every penny. I was on a tight budget myself, but ladies this is the most important dress you'll ever wear and want to have someone do it that is trustworthy and actually know what they're doing. You have to get your alterations done here, even if it's over your budget. It is seriously worth every penny you spend.

    I will definitely be doing back for just about everything now!

  • User6340543 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff at Laura's Couture is a joy to work with. They listened to our requirements for my daughter's wedding gown alterations and my mother of the bride dress and made all the adjustments we requested. Then, when we decided to add a cathedral veil TWO DAYS before my daughter's bridal portraits, they made it (and made it beautifully!). You get great service and quality for your alterations from Laura's Couture, and I highly recommend them.

  • K

    Kaitlin · Married on 12/05/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laura's Couture and Alterations was excellent! I just needed to get a bustle added to my dress, and Karime did an amazing job! I was nervous because I loved the train of my dress, and I didn't like most pictures I had seen of dress bustles, but she took one look at my dress and immediately designed a unique bustle that was gorgeous! It held perfectly for the whole reception and looked amazing. They were quick and easy and so friendly to work with too. I would highly recommend them!!

  • C

    Chelsea · Married on 11/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This place does a beautiful job on wedding gown alterations. They work quickly and professional. Not only did they alter my dress, but they also added full length sleeves to a strapless gown. I highly recommend them.

  • User5015297 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I wore a green dress for my wedding. Because I waited until the last minute (I know!) I purchased the dress only about six weeks before the wedding. I went to Laura's Couture and Alterations to have significant alterations to rebuild the bodice of the dress. They ensured my dress fit perfectly and worked with me for almost two hours to ensure that a specific seam lay correctly.

  • V

    Vanessa · Married on 06/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The most amazing people and the most incredible work ever! Thank you so much for making my dress look beautiful! You rock! Will send you a pic after the wedding :)

  • G

    Maranda · Married on 06/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laura's Couture & Alterations were amazing. I purchased my very expensive designer wedding dress from Kleinfeld which had a lot of sequins and beading and was very delicate and intricate. I thought it would be impossible to alter it (as it was SOOOOO detailed), and make the alterations in time, as my wedding was a month away. But she did it :) Laura got me in for my initial appointment as soon as my dress came in. Everyone at the shop was so friendly and knowledgeable, it was a great experience.

    When she finished my dress it was amazing! I have no idea how she did it! It looked exactly the same and fit like a glove. She is very talented.

    I would recommend that anyone and everyone go to her, she pays very close attention to detail and takes excellent care of your dress while in her shop.

    Although the price was a little up there, It was completely worth it!! Next to the fortune I payed for my dress this was nothing.

    Laura also made me a veil with Swarovski crystals which was beautiful; she is very very talented and has a great eye and hands.

  • K

    Kim · Married on 05/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    LAURA'S COUTURE & ALTERATIONS did an AMAZING job on my alterations for both my wedding dress and my reception dress, which happened to be my grandmother's 57 year old dress. My grandmother's dress was made out of linen and there was no give. I had to drop 2 dress sizes to fit into it. I did drop the weight but I found 10 pounds the week before my wedding. I thought I would not be able to wear my grandmother's dress to the reception and bought a backup dress. But, LAURA'S COUTURE & ALTERATIONS was able to work their magic and let out a few seams. I looked like princess walking down the aisle with my Daddy and queen dancing the night away with my Husband in my grandmother's dress at the reception. I can't thank them enough! They will definitely be getting more business from me and my friends, since I was the first one getting married out of six of my bridesmaids.

  • C

    Christy · Married on 02/28/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Did an amazing job! They lady doing the alterations is super sweet. Was able to get an appointment quickly and the turn around time was reasonable

  • S

    Sarahi · Married on 02/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing staff!! They literally altered this dress to my taste by adding additional pieces such as buttons and sleeves.. Beautiful dress, fit perfectly!
    Would definitely recommend to others..

  • D

    Dorianne · Married on 12/26/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Blessed hands! Amazing work and very sweet lady. My wedding dress was a tulle over satin, completely beaded dress with crystals and they did a great job. She adjusted the bodice to perfection and hem it. Even though there was a lot to hem she managed to sew in all the beading and lace and no one can say that dress was worked on! She also managed to pick up the train in a very elegant manner. One thing is all alterations have to be done with time. I did mine 6 months before the wedding. She is quite busy and she does everything on time for everyone, therefore the earlier the better. Thank you so much Lauras' Couture

  • M

    meredith · Married on 12/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful! Would highly recommend!!! I really wanted pockets put into my dress and she said no problem and it only cost $50! She had to take it in twice and hem ALOT. My dress turned out stunning! Would highly recommend!

  • L

    Lauren · Married on 11/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I purchased my dress in Canada but my wedding was in Houston. I was nervous about going to a seamstress in a different country and one not known by the bridal salon where I bought my dress.
    I phoned several Houston bridal salons and asked for recommendations on where to go. After visiting 3 different seamstresses and receiving quotes, Laura's was on-par with the other three locations for price. What differentiated them is their kindness. Since I moved to Houston without any family and my bridal party all in different cities, my appointments were just me - so I needed to feel like they cared and would give me honest advice - which they did.

    Carmine was very sweet, and knew exactly what I needed to get done. Once I explained what I wanted, her expert hands just started pining away. She had to reconstruct the arm holes, add in boning to support the dress better, and take in parts of the dress to create the silhouette I wanted - so a fair amount of work. My dress was beaded and with lace, so a lot of intricate details too!

    The dress fit like a glove on my wedding.

  • D

    Danice · Married on 10/26/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am so happy with Laura Alterations that I came straight to the computer to leave a review.
    My dress looks gorgeous thanks to their great work!
    I almost went to a cheaper place, which I am glad I didn't, because they are totally worth it.
    Thank you sooo much!!!! :)

  • K

    Kendall · Married on 07/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you have a designer wedding dress that needs alterations, you HAVE to go Laura's Couture & Alterations! Carmina knew EXACTLY what she was doing and my dress is perfect now. They know their stuff!

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 06/29/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly recommend using Laura's Couture and Alterations! They took my dress down from a size 12 to a size 2/4 and it looked absolutely incredible!

  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 05/17/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laura did a great job. She transformed my dress, and made it fit perfectly. I would recommend her to anyone needing alterations. I chose her because she had such great reviews, and she did not disappoint.

  • L

    Lisa · Married on 05/16/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The wedding store I ordered my couture wedding dress from recommended a size based on my measurements, but when it arrived, it was almost 4 sizes too small and, because it was couture, I had signed a no returns agreement! There wasn't enough time to lose enough weight to make up the difference, but the experts at Laura's Couture & Alterations saved the day.. They literally took apart every single seam in my dress and resewed it giving me the extra inches I needed to be able to be comfortable on my wedding day. They also raised the hem to match my shoe height, created 3 layers of beautiful bustles in back and made me some cap sleeves out of my extra tulle that I could snap off after the church ceremony. The bustles were color coded yet invisible, making my dress easy to adjust and beautiful. The prices at Laura's are expensive. Very expensive, for me it was like buying a 2nd wedding gown, but it was 100% worth every penny. As an added bonus, the staff was wonderful to work with. I wish they did other tailoring too because I would send them my entire wardrobe.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review