Weddings

Lake of the Woods Clubhouse Reviews

Lake of the Woods Clubhouse

Lake of the Woods Clubhouse

Locust Grove, VA
Rating 4.8 out of 5, 9 Reviews
View more information

9 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 95% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 9
Sort by:
  • E
    Erika Married on 10/08/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I've long been a customer of the Clubhouse at the Lake of the Woods as my grandparents have lived in the community for many years, so when it came time for wedding planning this was one of the first places we considered. The location is amazing (on the water, the pictures came out incredibly), the food is delicious (could not ask for a tastier buffet), and the staff is delightful. Joey was great in working with our family and our vendors and really made the day a breeze. She is very accommodating and flexible (even with our many changes to plans before the wedding). We also had planned to have our ceremony outside on "the point" and our cocktail hour on the deck, but when a hurricane interrupted our plan, the staff was essential in the easy, stress-free transfer to the indoors. We are so glad we chose this venue and we highly recommend it!
  • C
    Chelsea Married on 08/27/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I'm so happy I chose this venue for my wedding, we had on ceremony right by the lake and our reception in their ballroom. The manager Joey Welsh is amazing, she was so nice and happy to answer any questions. The staff was equally amazing and my wedding day went by really smoothly. The ballroom is gorgeous and such a great layout! It has a large dance floor and plenty of room for for a lot of tables for a large wedding. The food was delicious And I received so many compliments on it and I was very happy with the open bar I ordered. I did wine and beer and they had a great selection and worked quickly so there was never a long line which I appreciated. Everyone is just so accomadating and they know what they're doing so you don't have to worry about a thing. Conveniently I was also able to have my rehearsal/rehearsal dinner there as well and I was able to set up the ballroom after the dinner so I didn't have to worry about it Saturday morning which was really helpful. It was worth every penny, just a lovely venue with a very attentive staff. I couldn't thank them enough.
  • User2661316 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I got married at the Lake of the Woods Church and had my reception here. The view of the water is unbeatable! I liked how when we had our reception, the cost included everything!
  • K
    Kelly Married on 03/26/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lake of the Woods (LOW) Clubhouse in VA- so many wonderful, grateful words to describe LOW- breathtakingly elegant venue, intimate and flexible for many sized weddings, stunning ceremony locale on the lake with pier (we came to the ceremony via boat!) or gorgeous indoor venue or indoor back up rain option, gorgeous one-stop-shop from rehearsal, rehearsal dinner, ceremony and reception. Totally professional, engaging and easy to work with Director of LOW and all the staff, one-of-a-kind venue not far from Fredericksburg VA! Delicious food- they catered both my rehearsal dinner and wedding reception- guests on both days raved about the food, the venue and they whole two days. Joey W. is a maven at coordinating the venue activities. She's got these events down to a science. The layout has a lovely room for cocktail hour with piano and fireplace, the grand room has lovely dance floor with ample room for all sorts of features like the DJ, tables (cake, gifts, table seat cards), space for Photo Booth, multiple seating arrangement options etc. Reasonable cost for first-class elegant quality, one-stop-shop and totally fun! It was such an easy, lovely, pleasure to work with Joey and the staff. I wish I had more life events to plan there- I know I will be back in the future! Definitely check it out!
  • K
    Kate Married on 06/06/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Wedding planning made easy! Joey Welsh and ALL of the staff were amazing! everything was done exactly the way I wanted it to be done. They took care of things I didn't even think of. The staff made sure every detail was handled, many without me even knowing it. Meeting with Joey was easy, she could see our vision, knew exactly what we wanted. The area is so beautiful and the weather was perfect. Even Lake Patrol held boats back from the ceremony to reduce the noise. The food was outstanding and the room was so beautiful. I would highly recommend this venue!
  • L
    Leticia Married on 10/06/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Lake of the Woods Clubhouse was amazing! We had our reception here and we had a wonderful time. The venue was lovely, the food was perfect and the staff were amazing! I would highly recommend them to anyone looking for a wedding ceremony or reception venue.
  • A
    Allison Married on 11/05/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I can’t say enough wonderful things about Joey and the staff at the Lake of the Woods clubhouse. We had such a wonderful experience working with her. We opted to do the tasting with her even though we knew the food was going to be delicious. She organized the whole tasting and was there after everything we tried to get our feedback and to see if we still wanted to go with our choices. She was very responsive, very patient with all of my last minute panic emails and she led us through the rehearsal and was very involved the day of the wedding. She made me feel like she was just as vested in my wedding being a success as if it were her own. She even thought to bring us hor d'oeuvres because our bridal party missed most of the cocktail hour taking pictures. She allowed my friends to come in early and take down a lot of the thanksgiving themed décor and put up our wedding décor inside and outside. Her staff even helped us load things up at the end of the night. Her staff was so wonderful making sure that drinks were never empty, food was always plentiful, and they were always there to make our guests happy. My husband and I were taken care of the entire night. I would recommend Joey, the servers, the chefs and the Lake of the Woods clubhouse for any event.
  • C
    Jenny Married on 10/29/2011
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We enjoyed our time at LOWA for our reception. It was beautiful. Love the large windows and wood floors. The venue was flexible with us to stay a little later than the scheduled time because we had started a little later than scheduled. The wait staff was excellent. Our guests had plenty of positive comments about the food. Joey was easy to work with. Responsive to emails, although occasionally difficult to get a hold of. Overall happy with our decision to have our reception here.
  • Irene
    Irene M. Married on 06/30/2019
    Rating 3.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    All Inclusive, a.k.a. Headache Free

    The point on the lake was a beautiful place for the ceremony. The clubhouse indoor and outdoor spaces for the reception were comfortable, sleek and clean. The staff set up and tore down everything, and served dinner quickly (I selected plated instead of a buffet) . Had it rained, they would have moved the ceremony indoors. There were good meal options to chose from, and the guests liked their food. I used my phone to play music instead of hiring a DJ because they have a sound system both inside and outside. The staff, when visiting in person, were very knowledgeable and professional. What I wasn’t crazy about was how unresponsive the clubhouse manager was. Almost without exception, I had to email him 2-3 times before he’d respond, even though he told me email was the best way to communicate with him. The closer the wedding drew the more frustrating that became. My suggestion: call him on the phone if you want to discuss anything. I also wish there’d been a better beer selection for the open bar and wine option (all light beers and Yuengling). Along those lines, a champagne toast was added to the contract for all the guests without us having discussed it, which I didn’t want and had removed. The final thing was that at least 20 extra chairs were set up outside for the ceremony than were needed, and I don’t know why. Because of that, several guests sat much farther away than needed.

    Overall, it wasn’t perfect, but it was a great location, beautiful, and headache free! It made planning and executing my wedding so easy.