Kristy May Photography Reviews

46 | Roselle Park, NJ
See photos, pricing and details

46 Reviews for Kristy May Photography

Recommended by 98%

46
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0

7 User photos

Kristy May Photography 1
Kristy May Photography 2
Kristy May Photography 3
Kristy May Photography 4
Kristy May Photography 5
Kristy May Photography 6
Kristy May Photography 7
Sort by:
  • D

    Diana Z. · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristy was a dream come true!

    While looking for photographers, we had a budget in mind that seemed to be too little for what we wanted. Everything we liked was way out of our price range, double and higher. Then we came across Kristy May. her work was exactly what we wanted, executed more beautifully than anything we had seen by far, and yet affordable. Her professionalism and pleasant demeanor were also part of what made working with her a true delight. Since our wedding we have received our photos and they are everything we could have dreamed of. If you want a photographer who will capture every memorable moment of your special day, and allow you to actually enjoy it, Kristy is the photographer you want.

    Kristy May Photography 8
  • S

    Suzanne · Married on 09/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely nothing but praise!! We eloped and had a private, just the two of us, very romantic, ceremony in Central Park, NY. Kristy was able to capture every precious moment. I do not like to be the center of attention, and worried about feeling awkward in front of the camera, but she was able to make me feel comfortable and at ease. Not once posing felt forced, all felt very natural. We were really able to enjoy our wedding day together. We visited 3 locations in a 3 hour window, all well planned by Kristy, who kept track of time, no stress or fuzz for us. We were able to visit all locations on our wishlist and got great pics at all of them. She has a very keen eye for details and the best light. Our family and friends, we were not with us on our day, loved the pictures and almost felt like they were part of the day. I highly recommend Kristy, a professional, easygoing and flexible photographer, who will capture your wedding day in the most fantastic manner and will give you beautiful memories!

  • M

    Mikayla · Married on 08/26/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely love our wedding photos! Kristy did an amazing job capturing every detail of our day. She was so easy to work with and was quick to get us sneak peek pictures before we left for our honeymoon! We would highly recommend Kristy!

  • K

    Kim · Married on 07/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so lucky to find Kristy for our wedding pictures. Prior to our wedding ( we live in Canada and were being married in NYC) I had multiple conversations with Kristy by phone and email. She always responded and or set up a time that we could chat. Kristy was very friendly and very knowledgeable about Central Park (where we were married) which made it great for us as she knew all the good spots for iconic pictures which is what we were looking for. Kristy was in contact when we got home and told us when to expect our pictures for downloading. After a few days she sent us a quick peek of a few pictures which was nice to see. And to my surprise when the pictures did come there was a great little video as well!! We were very happy with Kristy the day of our wedding and I would highly recommend her for your special day. She certainly made ours!! Thanks again Kristy!!

    Sent on 11/06/2017
    Kristy May Photography 9

    Kristy May Photography's reply:

    Thanks Kim! It was my pleasure being part of your day and taking your wedding photos! :)
  • M

    Masha · Married on 06/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Similar to what others have been saying, Kristy was great. We cannot thank her enough for photographing our elopement at Manhattan's Marriage Bureau. When we were first getting quotes and information about the elopement process, Kristy was super responsive and informative. Her blog has a ton of great photos and we sent her links to some photos my now husband and I liked. She also had us fill out a questionnaire online to document our preferences. On the day of, she arrived early and took note of all of the requests and feedback we provided. She is very focused on natural light and now we know why. The pictures came out beautiful. Her candids are awesome. She knew all of the great locations near the Marriage Bureau/City Hall to take pictures. I am not usually good in front of the camera, but Kristy guided my husband and I through the process. I would recommend Kristy for any wedding, but especially for anyone planning to elope in NYC. She knows the steps inside and out, can help with timing if you are planning a celebration after City Hall, provides great ideas with respect to locations, and on top of that takes amazing photos. What is even better is that she sends you sneaks of the big day super quick (for us, it was next day even though it was Christmas Eve!). It was awesome to be able to share those pictures with our family around the holidays. The final pictures came a little less than a month after. Really, a fantastic experience overall.

  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 06/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristy took the photos for our destination wedding, and we couldn't of been more thrilled with them! Kristy used her experience to help us get the best shots, and capture memories that will last a lifetime! We even got some sneak peaks while on our honeymoon!
    We would 100% recommend her, you won't regret it!

  • I

    Isabel · Married on 03/18/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Being a photographer myself, choosing the right person to photograph my wedding was one of the things I cared about most. I stumbled across Kristy’s website while google image searching a potential venue and completely fell in love with her work. My mom put it best, “everyone on her website looks good and they aren’t models!” Throughout the entire wedding process, from pre-wedding planning to day of logistics, Kristy was amazing. We were absolutely blown away by her images of our wedding, we loved her photojournalistic style and were happy with how she was able to capture so many genuine and beautiful moments from the big day. We can’t even begin to thank her enough for capturing such an important day so perfectly.

  • M

    Myra · Married on 03/18/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristy May was just what we wanted in a wedding photographer; for our experience to be intimate and more journalistic than “posed”. She had great ideas to deal with the unpredictable weather that gave us peace of mind. Kristy has a great eye and ability to capture wonderful moments that we now cherish. We also love her options for albums.

    Kristy May Photography 10
    Kristy May Photography 11
    Kristy May Photography 12
    Kristy May Photography 13
    Kristy May Photography 14
  • M

    melanie · Married on 01/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristy May was a true gift. We had a small private ceremony and she was wonderful at quietly integrating herself in order to get great photos. We could not have asked for
    More. The photos were beautiful and she was top notch.

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 10/07/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not be happier with our entire experience with Kristy and the photos we received from our wedding. She was very easy to work with, had great ideas and nailed the documentary and not-overly-posed style we were going for. One of the things we were looking for in a wedding photographer was that we didn't want to feel their presence. Kristy did a great job of capturing the moments without drawing attention. We absolutely love the photos and would recommend Kristy in a heartbeat!

  • C

    christina · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are looking for a professional photographer to capture the special moments of your day, the emotion felt by everyone, the beauty surrounding you...then I would highly recommend Kristy May. She navigated through our day with ease and intuitively snapped photos that make us feel as if we are reliving that day again! My husband and I are beyond grateful for Kristy's talent and thankful for the memories we now have documented.

  • User7418837 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Went above and beyond the call of duty on all possible measureables. She is full of energy and has a very unique style and captured every possible moment of our special day.

  • C

    C · Married on 09/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From our first communication Kristy was responsive, polite, enthusiastic and professional. We were booking an NYC elopement from England and so could not meet in advance. She put me at ease by answering all my questions and letting us know what to expect on the day. Our main requirement was that we did not want the photos too posed or contrived, and the photos she has delivered have exceeded all our expectations. They are natural, romantic, not cliche, and most importantly, capture the feel of our relationship and our wedding. Her turnaround time was very quick, too. All our friends and family who have seen the photos have commented on how fabulous they are. I have only positive things to say and would highly recommend her!

  • J

    Jennie · Married on 07/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristy is a very professional and personable person. She works with you to help you achieve your vision on your special day. She has plenty of great ideas if you just don't know what to do. We highly recommend Kristy!! She definitely makes your special day memorable!

  • C

    Cláudia · Married on 06/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristy did an awesome job. Her job is very natural and that was we were looking for. My husband and I couldn't be more happy with her photos that captured every special moment, emotion, family and friends that made our wedding day memorable.

  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 05/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristy was easy going, attentive and took fantastic photos! I'd recommend her to anyone.

  • S

    Shona · Married on 05/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristy was wonderful and put us at ease. She sent us all our photos 4 weeks after the wedding and they were fantastic. Her style is natural and unforced. She takes photos of little details that you don't notice at the time but you cherish forever. We couldn't have asked for more. Thanks so much Kristy.

  • User6848826 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you're looking to be put at ease and for natural photography, I highly recommend Kristy. Our day couldn't have gone better, and our photos were wonderful. Our family have all complimented them.

  • L

    Lauren · Married on 04/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristy did an amazing job capturing our perfect day! Before the wedding she sent us a form to fill out so she would be prepared for anything and everything, it also had a list of important people and important group photos we didn't want to miss which was great. We got out formal photos knocked out in no time. But the best part of Kristy's work is that she truly captures the emotions and fun in the action shots. She tells the story of your wedding in her photos! :) Now I just need to order more prints and a get a book made!

  • V

    Vicki · Married on 04/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I planned to visit New York and get married at City Hall (we live in Los Angeles). We needed a photographer to capture our day and we came across Kristy May Photography. One look at her website and I knew that we had found the perfect photographer for us. She was absolutely wonderful from start to finish! She made suggestions regarding locations and knew all the best places to take photos. We booked her for 6 hours and that was the perfect amount of time for us. Kirsty is truly a professional and has a great eye. We were so comfortable with her and it was more like hanging out with a friend for the day. We recently received our photos and we were absolutely blown away! They pictures far exceeded our expectations and we could not be happier! Thank you Kristy for making our wedding day so special!

  • K

    Kirili · Married on 03/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristy was fantastic. She was extremely flexible, as we changed the timing of our elopement and really helpful with suggesting places to take shots. The photos turned out absolutely amazing and we are so grateful for all her time and effort.

  • User6810996 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristy was superb to work with. Very organized and professional, with an easy-going personality. Many of her pictures have a lovely artful edge to them--something that made her work stand out from the slew of wedding photographers out there, and the thing that attracted us to her in the first place. At our wedding she got all of the shots we wanted, and more--she was always in the right place at the right time, but was never at all intrusive. We love our wedding photos. You can't do any better than Kristy, and if we were doing it all over we'd choose her again in a heartbeat.

  • I

    Ilyse · Married on 10/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristy was great to work with, super responsive and she knew all the best spots to get pictures. She got some shots that make me think she's a wizard, we didn't even notice her moving around. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a photographer in the NYC area.

  • User6831448 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kristy photographed our wedding and rehearsal dinner last fall on Cape Cod. She has a very positive energy, relaxed style and was never intrusive. Her work is beautiful and she is very flexible/easy to work with. We highly recommend Kristy to anyone looking for a wedding photographer!

  • N

    Natalie · Married on 05/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We travelled from Australia to elope in NYC and could not have done it without Kristy. From countless emails, a couple of Skype chats, changing ceremony spots at the last minute and basically guiding us as our wedding planner (we were first timers in NYC and I am notoriously indecisive), Kristy could not have done more for us. The photos - we were speechless!! We are a couple who aren't photogenic and find it difficult to be in front of the camera but gosh, when you look at the photos you wouldn't even have a clue. The images are so natural and captured every emotion, exactly what we had hoped for. It's been a few months and although we have arrived home with a vague memory of our surreal wedding in NYC, each time we look at our wedding photos we go right back to the lush Central Park and live it all over again. Please don't hesitate to choose Kristy as your photographer, she was just fabulous!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review