Skip to main content
Weddings

Maudlin Co. Reviews

Maudlin Co. View more information

28 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 28
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

20 User photos

  • A
    Andrea Married on 09/18/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely Perfect!

    We loved working with Kristen of Maudlin Co. for our small wedding. Her photos are gorgeous and captured all the moments and more that we could have hoped for. Her photos provided a unique perspective and special insight into our wedding. We highly recommend her photography.
  • Clare
    Clare B. Married on 05/29/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    I highly recommend Kristen/Maudlin Co. for wedding photography!

    Kristen was recommended by another vendor (always a good sign!) and we’re so happy we chose her for our engagement and wedding photos.

    The photos are truly stunning and nicely curated; each photo felt special and the gallery came together to tell the story of the day. The photos are authentic, candid, and you can tell a true professional was behind the camera. My husband and I are shy when it comes to having our pictures taken, but Kristen made us feel comfortable and it shows in the photos. Additionally, because of COVID, we had to change the venue more than once and Kristen was accommodating with all the changes.

    We’re thrilled with the outcome and will cherish these photos for years to come!
  • Emily
    Emily K. Married on 08/28/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The best choice for our engagement photos and wedding!

    It's hard to put into words how much we appreciate Kristen in a few sentences, but here's a quick recap. She is a professional. It can be really hard to figure out what you're investing in from social media and internet reviews when you're planning a wedding but I can assure you Kristen was the best investment. We hired Kristen to shoot our engagement photos in New Mexico and our wedding in Iowa. She was so helpful in planning our engagement shoot and offered really great advice, a timeline for our wedding and she captured us perfectly and didn't force poses so all of the photos really feel like us. Her style of shooting/equipment and her editing is something that can only be done by someone with her level of experience and talent. Plus she's genuinely a cool and fun person! We recommend Kristen to everyone 10/10.
  • Alexis
    Alexis G. Married on 06/20/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect in every way

    Kristen was by far the perfect photographer for our wedding day (s!) When Covid happened, she was so amazing with helping us deal with the stress and was seriously such a gem. She shot our “micro” wedding and our BIG celebration, one year anniversary! Both extremely hot hot days and she was such a pleasure to work with, helping us forget about the heat! Our family and friends loved her and all made a point to mention how wonderful they thought she was. We love our photos from both days so much!! I’m also so obsessed with our wedding album that we will cherish for years to come! I literally can’t say enough good things about her.
  • A
    Austin J. Married on 10/11/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    All Smiles and Fall Leaf Piles

    I will admit, at first, I was very intimidated by Kristen’s work, and was afraid to even ask if she would be interested and available to be our photographer.  I thought to myself, “Wow, she does amazing work, and the people and the weddings are so beautiful, there is no way she is going to want to have anything to do with our simple little wedding.” 

    Immediately after meeting Kristen in person, she gave me a hug, and all of my fears instantly melted away, as I could tell she was truly a genuine person.  While my husband and I were working with Kristen, we did not get the impression that our simple little wedding was beneath her, or any less important than any other wedding she has photographed.  Plus, she wore Chuck Taylor’s, so I was even more convinced, we had made the right decision!

    Kristen’s personality, down to earth approach, and ability to make you feel comfortable, really allows her to capture the most important and intimate moments in your life.  She truly is one of a kind, and has a beautiful soul!

    Austin Jade & Bobby Dixon - 10.11.19
  • Kelsey
    Kelsey Married on 07/13/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fantastic Photographer!

    We had such a great experience shooting with Kristen! She captured us perfectly! I will cherish the photos for years to come! Thank you so much for making our photos perfect for us!!
  • E
    Elizabeth Married on 04/06/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Kristen is an amazing photographer, thank you so much for being a part of our wedding!

    We hired Kristen as our photographer after seeing another wedding she captured at our venue, Salvage One and falling in love with her photos. Prior to booking her for our wedding, we had a super fun engagement session all around downtown Chicago. Both Kristen and her husband are super down to earth, friendly and professional. My husband and I are pretty awkward in front of the camera but they made us feel at ease and helped us enjoy ourselves in the process. They were also readily available whenever we had questions or concerns leading up to the wedding. We love our wedding pictures and can't look at them without getting emotional. Thank you Kristen and Eric for capturing our special day!!
  • R
    Ryan G. Married on 01/05/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful!

    We hired Kristin as our photographer for our wedding in January 2019. Leading up to our engagement session, I was quite a bit nervous since my husband is not the most openly affectionate person. I was super concerned that he was going to be uncomfortable and the pictures weren’t going to look good because of that. Well, from the very start Kristin made us feel so welcome! While shooting, she was super goofy and quirky to get us to loosen up, something which I truly appreciate! We were able to laugh and fool around which led to some amazing candids! Her turn around time was great and I had several people tell us how AMAZING our engagement pictures were! They said they are the best they have ever seen! 😊 Fast forward to our wedding, she continued to capture the most beautiful shots! She was very respectful of the family photos I wanted and caught all of the little details so we can cherish them for years to come! Throughout the whole process, Kristin was very open and communicated well. She was easily accessible, professional, and super helpful! I cannot recommend her enough!
  • C
    Camille Married on 09/01/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Let me preface this by saying I NEVER write reviews, but feel the need to do so because Kristen and Eric were so unbelievably fantastic to work with. My husband and I aren’t crazy about taking pictures.. we were a little nervous, and to be quite honest we were kind of dreading that portion of the day. We have to say, Kristen and Eric went above and beyond and exceeded all expectations. Not only were they an absolute blast to be around, but they were also professional, organized and made the entire process a breeze. We had a large (and pretty rowdy) bridal party of 20 that Kristen and Eric had no problem directing for photos. We were so impressed with their ability to make us feel comfortable and at ease (we almost forgot we were even taking photos at points in the day). We are completely blown away with how well they were able to capture the magic of our weekend in the most stunning way possible. My husband and I couldn’t be happier with our photos and the entire experience we had with Kristen and Eric. We could not have asked for better people to work with on our day. Thank you Kristen & Eric!!
  • G
    Gabby Married on 05/26/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    She deserves far more than 5 stars! She was so amazing, responsive, caring, and made the process for both our engagement photos and wedding photos so simple and carefree! We had such a blast working with her and our photos were so amazing that everyone kept asking us who did them. They are stunning. We couldn’t have asked for a better photographer
  • A
    Amanda Married on 05/20/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kristen and Her husband made us feel so comfortable. They took our engagement photos in Yosemite. I know what a more beautiful place to be?!! But even with the breathe taking views our love stood out in each photo! Thank You Guys!!
  • J
    Justine Married on 05/17/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kristen and Eric are such a dream. We sought out Kristen for engagement photos only, but ended up booking her for our: engagement session, elopement in Greece and our celebration back at home with our family and friends. Long story short, that was the best decision ever! We’re so thankful to have been able to have them photograph all our special events, but above all, especially our elopement! It was just us four in Santorini on our wedding day and they honestly made us feel SO special. Kristen and Eric’s professionalism is top notch. They’re very hard workers and went above and beyond our expectations. They knew exactly when to give us our intimate, special moments, and when to give us direction. From Kristen and Eric scouting the best locations, to stopping and grabbing gyros for us, to the nonstop laughs, to going off the beatin’ path to get the most RAD backdrops… it will always be the BEST DAY EVER! We’re forever thankful and will always cherish the moments + details they captured of our special day. To top it all off, we gained two exceptionally awesome friends.
  • C
    Camie Married on 03/21/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I hired Kristen to shoot a surprise boudoir session as a gift for my hubs, and it was an absolute blast. Kristen has an uncanny ability to make the nerves melt away, the conversation to flow with ease, and the setlist to set the PERFECT vibes for the shoot. Not to mention, the photos exceeded my expectations and made me want to immediately book Kristen for another session. Not only is Kristen an accomplished photographer, but also she is a person of great character and creativity and a dream to work with.
  • C
    C Married on 12/09/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kristen was so easy to work with and just an amazing person in general. She was able to make me feel so so comfortable during our boudoir session that it was actually crazy fun - which is not something I thought I would ever say!!
    Not only does the session feel like a breeze but the photos... the photos are out of this world, I’ve never felt so beautiful.
    She truly is one of the most talented photographers I know. Booking her was easily the best decision I made!!
  • S
    Sarah Married on 11/04/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I first met Kristen back in mid July when I spontaneously decided to drive 7 hours to Devils Lake to attend a photography workshop she was teaching. She was an absolutely amazing teacher, and her work was so unreal, and I knew then I wanted to keep in contact with her about photographing my elopement. Little did I know, the elopement I had been planning for next year would be moved up drastically by my fiancé's decision to join the USMC. I reached out to Kristen right away because everything was changing so fast and suddenly, and I knew she would be able to help me. And she definitely did. She helped me plan out our photos completely last minute and spur of the moment. She reassured me, directed me, and helped me through some of the most stressful weeks of my life as we waited to figure out how our lives were about to change forever.
    When it came to the actual day of the photos, Kristen and her husband Eric were amazing. The last thing you want to be on such a special day is stressed, and with the two of them there, my fiancé and I spent the whole time laughing, joking, and reminiscing on our love for one another. And now, actually having the photos in my hands to look at, I am in so much awe of what an amazing job she did. Every time I look at our photographs, I feel everything from that day all over. Which is a truly amazing feeling. The cold air, the nerves, and all the love. In the end, you HAVE to pick a photographer whose work moves you. Speaks to you. Someone you can get along with. Someone who will be a friend. And I know that person will be different for everyone. But for me, I couldn't have found two more perfect souls to accompany us on the beginning of this adventure. I will be forever grateful. Thank you guys a million.
  • M
    Mary Married on 09/16/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We couldn’t be happier with our wedding and engagement photos by Kristen Kaiser. She was easy to communicate with throughout all of our planning, and made the whole process easy (which is very helpful when you have a wedding to plan!) the photos are flawless. She has a unique style and a great eye for lighting. She captured every detail on our big day and made the wedding party feel comfortable so none of the pictures look forced or too posed. I would definitely recommend Kristen to any bride that wants beautiful, adventurous photos.
  • N
    Natalie Married on 06/10/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I first came across Kristen as a reference from a string of endless photographers that were either unavailable on our wedding date, out of our budget range or weren't able to travel to Northwestern Illinois. When I came across Kristen, she was one of the only photographers to be flexible with our date, budget and wedding destination. But one of the things that stuck out most to me during my first interactions with Kristen was her desire and passion to just capture us being us. Because after all is said and done, the wedding is planned and the day as passed, all you have left is your memories and your photos of you and your spouse and all the emotions that were flowing that day. Somehow, Kristen captured every single memory, feeling of joy and pure love perfectly in her each photo. I could go on and on about how amazing each shot was and the endless compliments we still receive on all our photos, but no amount of words will be able to describe the beautiful work-- you'd have to check her work out for yourself. And while there are many other photographers out there who are beyond talented, there is only one Kristen who's heart is made of gold! She cares for her clients more than any of my other vendors could have dreamed about. From your first email to the engagement session to the wedding day to 2 months post the wedding, she continually follows up with you to make sure you're happy and stress free because she CARES. It's more than a client relationship, she makes you want to be her friend, stalk her Instagram and hangout on weekends to binge watching The Office--because she's that cool. We are just so beyond bless and excited and grateful we choose Kristen (and she choose us) for the best day of our lives and we're so excited to continue working with her for all our future sessions!! I just feel bad for anyone who doesn't get her as their photographer!
  • J
    Jessica Married on 06/10/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our photos turned out great! We loved working with Kristen.
  • V
    Vanessa Married on 04/25/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kristen was so great and I would love to book with her again! Booking the session was easy, she responded to questions promptly and was not only very professional she makes you feel totally comfortable in front of the camera! Not to mention her work is absolutely beautiful!
  • A
    Ali C. Married on 01/07/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Everyone desires to have their story told in a way that truly portrays the value + emotion of their life at a given time – and ours, in this season, happens to be a story of redemption, freedom + love.

    We had seen, followed + admired the work of photographer Kristen Kaiser for over a year + had fallen in love with her talent. The way she tells stories through her lens is remarkably captivating + there was no question that we wanted our day to be captured + shared through her perspective.

    Not only are Kristen Kaiser’s photographs a true work of art, but the integrity + client-centeredness of their business is unsurpassed. From the skype coffee date to the unpacking of my wedding photos in hand, the experience was a relaxed, fun + exciting one.

    We knew we weren't just 'hiring' Kristen, but choosing to make an investment... in us, for our day. Our wedding day photographs are a treasure. Now those precious once-in-a-lifetime moments aren't just memories running through our minds but moments captured.
  • A
    Ashley Married on 12/31/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Check out her Instagram to see some of her work- it's gorgeous!

    Maudlin Co.'s reply:

    Thank you so much, Ashley! You guys were so great to work with!
  • E
    Erika Married on 08/19/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kristen is so fun to work with! Her style is so unique and absolutely beautiful!! We were so happy with our pictures. She captured our love story in a way no one else could have!
  • B
    Barbara Married on 07/22/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    When my husband and I decided to elope in Chicago, I felt completely lost booking a photographer because there are so many to choose from and I lived in a different country! I enlisted my wedding photographer friends to find someone for me, and they raved about Kristen’s work. Even though all of our correspondence before the big day was through email, I felt like I had already met her and made a new friend because her genuinely warm and caring spirit was shone through in every email. When it came to the day of our elopement, Kristen was FLAWLESS! I was worried that having a photographer might put a damper on our elopement because my husband dislikes having his picture taken, but Kristen reassured me that she loves authentic moments, and we’d never hear, “look at the camera and smile.” She was right!! Kristen’s playful yet relaxed and professional vibe was just perfect for us to stay in the moment and not be distracted by having our pictures taken. We adore the final photos. Kristen’s work precisely captured the excitement and happiness of the day!
  • K
    Kaitie Married on 06/04/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I initially reached out to Kristen because I wanted to gift my fiancé with something I knew he’d love—boudoir photos. I had been following her work and knew she was the perfect person to shoot something so intimate. However, as Kristen and I communicated about the shoot, she transformed my perception of the session completely. I went from thinking about the photos as something only for my fiancé, something I was happy to do for him, but something I was nervous about nonetheless— to viewing this opportunity as a celebration of my body and femininity. During the shoot, I felt so comfortable with Kristen because she was so professional, complimentary and overall, just made me feel beautiful. The photos she shared were so tasteful and artistic to the point where I was showing my girlfriends (and anyone who mentioned boudoir photography) because I loved them so much, as did my fiancé when I gave him an album before our wedding. I have recommended Kristen to anyone and everyone who has even mentioned boudoir photography in my presence because I absolutely loved working with her and treasure the photos she created so much.

    Maudlin Co.'s reply:

    I am so happy we got a chance to work together! You totally rocked your boudoir session and I'm so stoked you had a wonderful experience and love the photos!
  • D
    Devyn Married on 06/03/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    "Picking Kristen to photograph our wedding day and the moments leading up to it was one of the first and best decisions I made regarding our wedding. The minute I met with Kristen I KNEW she was the one we wanted to be a part of our wedding! She was so relaxed but focused, and was more than a photographer. She was a friend, a fresh eye to give wedding thoughts, someone I could count on and trust. When Kristen took our engagement photos we instantly felt so comfortable, she didn't make us do weird or cheesy photos. She simply captured us in our element, just loving and interacting with each other. Leading up to the wedding she created our timeline, helped me decide times for ceremony, pictures, sunset pictures, everything. She was never pushy or bossy, always very loving and encouraging with her advice. The best part was I fully trusted her, because of that I felt no stress going into the big day, because I knew she would take that on for me. I am so thankful we chose her and now I have a lifelong photography friend, which always comes in handy!"