Skip to main content
Weddings

Kona Sweets Reviews

Kona Sweets View more information

24 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating

Awards

24
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

11 User photos

  • Ashleigh
    Ashleigh J. Married on 05/08/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Tasty and beautiful

    I wanted a very minimalistic cake that could be decorated lightly with flowers and boy did Kona Sweets nail it! We did the flower decorations on the cake ourselves. I asked for a surprise filling and frosting and they did not disappoint. When I think of the cake its like I can still taste the amazing flavors. We also ordered a fruit tart and that was amazing! This bakery was hands down a great find. Our guests are still raving about the cake! Not only was everything perfect but it was affordable and that was a big plus!
  • Jaclyn
    Jaclyn A. Married on 04/23/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful, tasty cake!

    Delicious cake, easy to work with, beautiful decoration, fantastic, affordable. Please hire them to make your wedding dessert!!
  • Sheridan
    Sheridan J. Married on 03/29/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful & delicious!

    We worked with Janel for our mini-destination wedding in March and our wedding cake was superb!! Perhaps it was too good, because there was absolutely none left the next morning - our family had already DEVOURED every morsel! We loved the guava & passionfruit fillings and so did our guests, I only wish we had another piece! I highly recommend Kona Sweets for your special occasion!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Kashia
    Kashia L. Married on 03/20/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Look no further than Kona Sweets

    Look no further than Kona Sweets for your wedding cake. Janel was able to create both a wonderful looking and tasting cake for our big day. We had a 3-tiered cake with Kona coffee cake/ chocolate ganache frosting and vanilla cake with lilikoi filling and it was absolutely delicious! Janel even accommodated us for a tasting a few months prior to our wedding to help us lock down what flavors we wanted to choose. Day of the wedding Janel was on time and the cake looked wonderful and was everything you would hope for. Kona Sweets is top notch and we 100% recommended. Mahalo!
  • Rosetta
    Rosetta G. Married on 03/01/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing cake!

    Janel made an amazing chocolate cake for our wedding. She used chocolate mousse between the layers and buttercream frosting for the outside. It was soooo delicious. She made it look like the ocean. It was artistic and so yummy.
  • K
    Kelly Married on 08/16/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amazing! Last minute wedding cake, the buttercream was Amazing!
  • S
    Shalane Married on 06/12/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Janel was wonderful and very attentive when it came to emails and getting our cake just right. We had a destination wedding in Kona on the Big Island of Hawai’I on the 12th of June 2018 and did not initially think we had time to do the fun planning things like cake tasting prior to the wedding, however with Janel's help and flexibility to squeeze us in for a cake tasting we got to pick out our flavours.. which were SO delicious. We chose their famous carrot cake made with pineapple chunks and macadamia nuts-highly suggest to get the full Hawaii affect especially paired with luau style menu -and chocolate with Grenache.
  • K
    Kirsten Married on 04/12/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amazing service! Kona sweets made the exact cake that I wanted, and was very reasonably priced. Thank you so much!
  • M
    Maura Married on 09/29/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had Kona Sweets make our wedding cake (a two tier Chocolate + Lilikoi cake), and it was absolutely to die for. I would highly recommend Kona Sweets for any occasion!
  • A
    Anna Married on 04/21/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We ordered our wedding cake from Kona Sweets and it was delicious. Janel is laid back and easy to deal with. She had great ideas, and made a separate gluten free cake for our guests with dietary requirements. We highly recommend Janel and Kona Sweets for your wedding or event.
  • S
    Stephanie Married on 04/23/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Janel provided our daughter's small wedding cake and several dozen cupcakes topped with the perfectly tinted sugar plumeria flowers, all beautifully arranged on an acrylic cake/cupcake stand. And everything we ordered was delicious! We communicated via email and she nailed the colors, flavors and presentation beautifully! We were more than thrilled with the process from start to finish. Her prices are very reasonable as well. Janel is very professional and wonderful to work with. We highly recommend Janel to provide her talents to your special event!
  • T
    Tony Married on 10/30/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Awesome! We ordered two small wedding cakes, a mocha cake and a carrot cake. Both were fantastic! The cakes were beautifully decorated! The cakes were moist and very flavorful. My husband loved the mocha cake and I loved the carrot cake. We had a few friends join us for our sunset wedding ceremony and Janel's two small cakes were plenty!

    We definitely recommend Janel's custom cakes at Kona Sweets for your special celebration. We will definitely order a cake from Janel when we come back to the Big Island as a 'welcome back' treat for ourselves! I can wait to taste her carrot cake again!
  • Marie
    Marie Married on 08/16/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My cake was amazing and it tasted wonderful. I requested square three tier with flowers and broaches that I provided also tropical flavors. I was so impressed with my entire cake and the outstanding service . The price was also very affordable. I loved it. I highly recommend this vendor!
  • A
    Alma Married on 07/22/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The cake was delicious and exactly like the picture I sent her. It was moist and thick and not dry and spongy. She set up on time and was was easy to work with. I only wish there had been some leftover!
  • G
    Geri Married on 05/10/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Wow, what a gorgeous and delicious cake - our guests are still raving about it! And we had a very unique cake topper around which she created a fabulous theme.
  • User1505420 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I had no prior knowledge of how good (or not) Kona Sweets was, but because of how professional the website was, they were the first bakers I contacted. From the beginning, Janel who is the owner was quick to respond to my questions and provided me with clear, understandable answers. I felt very confident following her suggestions and as it turned out, she was spot on. Because I'm gluten intolerant, I requested that the top layer of the 3 tier cake be gluten free and it was not a problem at all for her. Not only was the cake beautiful, but absolutely delicious! I had many guests ask who did the cake and I was very pleased to pass on Kona Sweets' information.
  • V
    Valee Married on 03/11/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amazing cakes! And Janel was awesome to work with! Super accommodating and didn't charge ridiculous fee for ordering the cake less than 2 wks prior to the event. We ordered two tiered choco w coconut haupia and white cake w lilikoi... Both were amazing but next party, would ordered the bigger white cake since that was the party's favorite! Even my baker girlfriend said that was the best white lilikoi cake she has ever had! Highly recommend!
  • V
    Vanessa Married on 11/03/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The best cake ever!! We did a 2 tier cake with 2 flavors: red velvet with raspberry filling and carrot cake with kona orange curd filling all with cream cheese frosting. Amazing!! I would give her 100 stars for flavor! The design was also just as we wanted! And her prices are more than reasonable. You won't find any other cakes with that kind of quality for that kind of price. We did our research and we are so happy we found Kona Sweets. She was also very accommodating since we live on Maui and were planning our wedding to be on Big Island. We were able to communicate all by email. It was so easy to plan. Highly recommend Kona Sweets!!

    Kona Sweets's reply:

    Mahalo nui loa! Vanessa & Jeff were a pleasure to work with and i'm so glad to have people truly enjoy the cake.
  • K
    Kristin Married on 09/09/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Best cake I have ever eaten! Very beautiful too! Exactly, what I wanted.
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 06/16/2016
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Janel was really great! She was responsive to emails and was willing to book several months prior to the event. She gave us exactly what we were hoping for and sought to add the exact flowers that were in my bouquet to the cake. To top it off it was DELICIOUS; we ate it for several days.
  • T
    Tricia Married on 10/24/2013
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Janel is fantastic!!! The cake was perfect, the quality of cake, taste and appearance were perfect. I loved the cake she made! It looked exactly like the photo. Janel was very easy to communicate with through email and payment was super easy. Her prices are the best by far! My guests couldn't stop commenting on how great the cake looked and tasted. Janel delivered the cake herself on time and in perfect condition. I highly recommend Kona Sweets!!
  • M
    Melanie R. Married on 05/08/2021
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best cake flavor

    Omg our wedding cake was amazing. Not just aesthetically pleasing, but in taste it was by all accounts a hit at our wedding. My husband and I made sure to bring back several pieces we hid from the guests to enjoy on our first anniversary
  • G
    Gato S. Married on 04/11/2020
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible flavors and great value

    We just hired Kona Sweets. Their cakes are beautiful and their flavors are fantastic [and local inspired]. Lilikoi and coconut is amazing.
  • User2615337 2+ years ago
    4.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    We initially found Kona Sweets difficult to get a hold of, however once we made contact things were smooth. Wonderful cake! We wanted a simple cake with flowers that we provided to decorate it, and it turned out so lovely. We had way too much for the number of people, but our guests and us enjoyed eating it for the next week before everyone left the island!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message