Kohl Mansion Reviews

13 | Burlingame, CA
See photos, pricing and details

13 Reviews for Kohl Mansion

Recommended by 86% of couples

4.3 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.3
  • Professionalism 4.5
  • Flexibility 3.9
  • Value 4.2
  • Average response time 4.6

Awards

13
Order by:
  • S

    Sheila · Married on 09/01/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue

    Diane and Terri were very helpful as we prepared for our wedding at Kohl Mansion. They were responsive and professional, and helped recommend fantastic vendors who were already familiar with the venue. Both were a pleasure to work with! Kohl Mansion was the perfect venue for our wedding – all of our guests were impressed by how beautiful it is! We definitely recommend booking Kohl Mansion as a wedding venue.

    Sent on 12/08/2019

    Kohl Mansion's reply:

    Shelia-

    Thank you so much for your 5* review. It was a pleasure working with you and Shah. Best of luck to you both. Take care. - Dianne
  • User6734080 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I've been dreaming about my wedding at kohl mansion for years. After my fiancée proposed, I had less then a year to plan the wedding. The 2 event planners worked with me and I was able to negoiate an early morning wedding all under my budget. The grounds of the mansion are gorgeous and all the preferred vendors are easy to work with. I would recommend this location to everyone!

    Sent on 09/27/2016
  • V

    Vince · Married on 05/02/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely loved our venue! It was so beautiful inside and so were the grounds. The staff were very helpful and responsive leading up to our big day and the wedding day itself. Terri and Diane are very organized and top of every detail. We got so many compliments from our friends and family about the venue!

    Sent on 05/23/2014
  • User2915872 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kohl Mansion made the perfect backdrop for our August 2013 wedding. The grounds are stunning, and the house creates an old-timey elegance that just added so much character and class to our wedding day. All of our guests were in awe of the beauty of the house, and the mix of colors and elegant backdrops made for stunning wedding photos. We could not be more pleased with our choice of Kohl Mansion as the venue for our big day!

    Sent on 12/29/2013
  • Kimberlee

    Kimberlee · Married on 03/17/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After looking at several different venues (hotel, golf course etc) around the bay area, it was clear to us that the Kohl Mansion was “the one”. We wanted something unique and breath taking and had seen an ad for them in a magazine and were almost too scared to ask how much the rental fee was. I was free on a weekday and decided to go up and visit the mansion with my Mom. It was really important to us that our venue had curb appeal. The Kohl Mansion has just that (and a ton of parking too!). When we pulled up it was about 3pm and (little to my knowledge) there were catholic school girls leaving the mansion! I didn’t know t hat it doubled as a school as well. After seeing the mansions grandness from the curb I was worried again about the cost and almost didn’t go in. My mom convinced me to give it a try.
    Well, we ended up staying there for about two hours without an appointment and Terri and Dianne (the women who handle the event bookings) were fantastic. They handled all of our questions and offered some sage advice about weddings at the mansion. They supplied us with a vendor list (you are required to pick one of their many caterers and DJs provided but other than that any other vendors are up to you) and after doing the math having our wedding was not too far out of our budget when we factored in the “no corkage/cake cutting” fees and the fact that we could supply our own alcohol. One of the best parts was there were few restrictions. I felt like a lot of other venues had so many restrictions (i/e Palo Alto Hills Golf and Country Clubs no denim/no cell phone use/mandatory valet etc), but the Kohl Mansion was quite easy. There were pretty flexible time slots, although the music must stop at 11pm, and you must use a caterer/dj from their list and other than that the place was all your for the night (no double bookings etc.). As a side note, Woody Miraglia from Big Fun Dj’s was THE BEST, he was the most professional, accommodating and patient DJs I’ve worked with, he was instrumental in the success of our wedding!
    From start to finish we loved EVERYTHING the Kohl Mansion had to offer, our wedding was flawless and the women that the mansion provided for assistance were fantastic. We were able to drop off our items early (wine/favors/etc.) and Teri and Dianne were so accommodating. We couldn’t have asked for anything more and were so pleased with our wedding. We love the Kohl Mansion and wish we could endorse them in any way possible!

    Sent on 04/12/2012
  • J

    Janet · Married on 07/02/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married at Kohl Mansion on 7/2/16 and since the very first visit, we love the space and knew we wanted our reception there. Dianne and Terri were both so great to work with and were super responsive via email. I was planning my wedding from New York City and they were so flexible and accommodating to my schedule when I was in town and wanted to visit the site. They were very sweet and I loved every minute working with them. They provided me with my day of coordinator who has now become a life long friend and also suggested Mills Wine Group. Without their guidance and help, it wouldn't have gone as smoothly as it did. We had 165 guests and we got to sit outside during the reception and dance inside in the Grand Hall. We received so many compliments on how beautiful the venue was and how well kept the grounds and various rooms were. Thank you for making our wedding day so beautiful and memorable!!

    Sent on 07/18/2016
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 08/28/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kohl mansion is incredible!!!

    Our friends and family raved about the location and everyone that worked there. Our event planning was seamless throughout the entire process with recommendations, planning, and responsiveness. We'd get married again and again at Kohl in heartbeat!!

    Sent on 12/18/2011
  • L

    Laura · Married on 09/30/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They were great at helping me organize and plan my big day. They gave me great ideas and helped me set everything up on the day of. Terri was who I worked with and she was wonderful! The venue is BEAUTIFUL! Perfect for our dream wedding!

    Sent on 10/06/2012
  • J

    Janelle · Married on 09/05/2009

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The kohl mansion was a beautiful venue for my ceremony and reception. The staff was very helpful and the background for pictures are perfect. The only downside is that it only held around 190 guests in the main room, so we couldn't invite everyone we wanted to.

    Sent on 09/08/2009
  • User4677418 · 2+ years ago

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      2.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our ceremony only at Kohl Mansion. Dianne was great to work with - she responded quickly and was very professional. She has many years of experience, so I could ask her how other couples have done it and she knew all the answers. Kohl Mansion allowed us to have a ceremony in the morning only because they had an afternoon wedding already booked. They will not book a ceremony only without an afternoon event. We were allowed to use the space from 9:30-12:30. Timing was tight!
    They were not flexible with changing the amount of time reserved with us as they need time to clean up and set up for the next event. They were also not flexible with the ceremony rehearsal times. We ended up not having our rehearsal at the venue.
    Last down side to the venue, they do not provide any personnel to help with the day. We had to provide all of our own help.
    Aside from cons the venue is beautiful. Our guests felt comfortable and at ease. It didn't feel stuffy. Our photographer and videographer loved loved loved the space!

    Sent on 09/04/2015
  • User2312291 · 2+ years ago

    3.0
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      2.5
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    This was the first place we looked at when we started looking at possible wedding venues and we knew after we visited 5 other places that nothing compared to this beautiful location. The pricing to rent the venue is pretty steep; but we went ahead and booked it anyways as it provided us with everything we were looking for in a venue (private, beautiful, room size). I worked with both ladies at the venue and although I thought Terri was a bit short via email and Diane was more personable; however it was horrible working with Diane and she often spoke to me with a snooty attitude and just assumed that if we had the money to pay for the rental of this place that we had the money to go with all their "preferred vendors" which were outrageously expensive. I ultimately ended up working with Terri towards the very end and she made my life and my stress so much easier and she was way more willing to accommodate things than Diane ever was. Their rule of having to hire one of their preferred caterers is ridiculous, especially when I was given the reason that outside caterers didn't know the mansion's set up...well it's not that difficult to figure out, especially if the caterer you hire has experience in catering and the fact that their Kitchen has a beeline to the area where our food was going to be set up. If it hadn't been for the last moments working with Terri I would have given this venue a much lower rating. I just tried to brush everything off as the place is quite stunning, but the staff needs to brush up on their professionalism and be more realistic with things and take another look at their preferred vendors list as Diane said that they try to have a price point for different budgets, but they also don't have too many ethnic vendors.

    Sent on 10/29/2012
  • C

    ChauHank · Married on 08/05/2007

    3.0
    • Quality of service:
      2.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    Kohl mansion is a very breathtaking place with stunning rooms. However, it is always windy and chilly there, even in the month of August. Our outdoor ceremony was quickly switched to an indoor event due to the mist and heavy wind.
    Having paid $10K for the rental fee, there's no much service provided by the vendors, except for setting up the chairs and tables in the early morning. We even had to move the chairs/arch inside by ourselves during the switch because the set-up people had left in the afternoon! There is one person from the mansion that overlooks everything, but I felt that she did not do much because there were strangers wondering around the gardens during the ceremony.

    It is a little disappointing that they do not provide much service for the very high fees charged. They seemed very hands-off and a little disorganized...

    Sent on 07/13/2008
  • E

    Ellen · Married on 11/05/2016

    1.8
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    Just a quick note to anyone considering booking this venue-- they do not allow same sex ceremonies. We know that this information does not affect most of you directly, but that it does matter to most of you personally. That said, they were willing to take our money for the reception...

    Sent on 07/18/2016