Skip to main content
Weddings

Key West Garden Club Reviews

Key West Garden Club

Key West Garden Club

Key West, FL
4.7 out of 5 rating, 16 Reviews
View more information

16 Reviews

Rated
4.7
out of 5.0
Recommended by 95% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.8 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 16

15 User photos

  • L
    Lindsey Married on 04/27/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Hidden Gem!

    When my husband and I first got engaged we immediately knew we wanted to get married in Key West, but we weren't sure on which venue. We set up tours at the more well known places - Hemingway House, Audubon, Casa Marina, Fort Zachary Taylor. All of them were beautiful in their own way, but nothing felt quite right. We had chartered a boat one day during our vacation and our boat captain said to us "If I got married again down here I would do it at Key West Garden Club." We had never heard of it before and so we decided to visit the next day. We were pretty awestruck. The gardens were beautiful with stunning views overlooking the ocean. The Garden Club is located in West Martello Tower, which was an old Union Civil war fort. We were amazed that we had never heard of it before. I could immediately envision our wedding day and started planning. The ladies running the Garden Club were fantastic to work with. Kathleen and Elaine were extremely responsive and helpful. When it looked like it may rain on our wedding day, they were so accommodating letting us set up a tent early and saying we could move whatever we needed to. It ended up being great weather and our wedding day turned out perfect. We had the ceremony at the top of the fort overlooking the ocean, cocktail hour by the almond tree, we had dinner at a long farm table surrounded by beautiful flowers and then danced the night away next to the fountain (which served as a great stage for our singer). It was magical. It was also so nice for the guests to be able to explore all the paths, butterfly garden and orchid display. We highly recommend the Garden Club and we are so thankful we found it. (photography by Care Studios).
  • J
    Jessica Married on 11/04/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I got married at the West Martello just 3 weeks after hurricane Irma released its fury on the Florida Keys. We were concerned we would no longer be able to hold our event at the venue as we saw the iconic strangling fig tree with brick tunnel had been destroyed. The staff at the garden club was amazing. They worked tirelessly to have the venue ready for our wedding day and the sure did deliver. The venue was cleaned up and replanted. There was no longer a giant tree in the center of the venue, but the walls held up and the structure was beautiful to see. The staff was constantly checking in with us and treated us just like family. They even showed up to thank all of our guests for coming to the garden for its first wedding since the storm. I would highly recommend the West Martello-Key West Garden Club! It is still as beautiful as ever.
  • K
    Katie Married on 04/29/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I got married on the beach in front of the garden center and had our reception inside! There is no better location on Key West in my opinion. The garden center was absolutely beautiful and the photo opportunities were endless. From the moment we walked in, we knew it was the venue for us! The staff is very kind and helpful; they will let you know little touches that work very well at that venue (for example, putting tea light candles in the arches and renting bistro lighting inside). The garden center runs on donations; it is very well taken care of and is constantly making updates. We will be visiting West Martello Tower every time we are in town.
  • illustration stars

    Did the reviews win you over?

    Send a message
  • D
    Devin Married on 04/22/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My wife and I held our wedding at the Key West Garden Club on a Saturday in late April and it was absolutely beautiful. It is truly a one-of-a-kind unique place to get married and makes for some stunning photos. The staff there are also very responsive and helpful, especially considering that they are volunteers (it is a not-for-profit organization). It is clear how passionate the staff are about the gardens, and it is clear why since it is such a beautiful, tranquil place. It also takes some of the sting out of the price knowing that your money its technically a "donation" to help maintain the gardens. The price was quite reasonable as well for the incredible value you get - an unforgettable wedding venue at which our guests were in awe!
  • L
    Lauren Married on 04/15/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Absolutely beautiful place to have a wedding! We held our ceremony there in April at 430 pm on a Saturday, so we knew other visitors were able to stop and watch, and we had no problem with that at all! We had 78 guests attend the ceremony standing near the almond tree, with a few chairs for older guests. It was wonderful!! Ocean in the background, lush greenery, and slight breeze. Our guests thought it was a beautiful location. So did we! Kathleen, and all of the staff, were very helpful and pleasant to work with from the start to finish. The fees were extremely affordable for this beautiful location!
  • H
    Hannah Married on 12/04/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our ceremony and cocktail hour at the Key West Garden Club. Kathleen and Elaine were so amazing to work with. They made sure that everything we needed was available and the venue was perfect. Highly recommend for an outdoor wedding or any event. We couldn't imagine choosing a better place for our wedding.
  • J
    Jim Married on 02/29/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our wedding ceremony was held here and it was absolutely beautiful. The lady in charge, I forget her name, was awesome. She was so helpful with everything and helped us get a feel for the venue and helped with anything we needed. The garden is beautiful and full of perfect places for pictures. All our guests were taken back with the beauty of our ceremony and the gardens. I highly recommend this place for any garden style weddings. It is also right next to the beach as well so that is an added bonus. Parking is also a non-issue since there is plenty of free parking all the time in the immediate area.
  • D
    Debbie Married on 12/09/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    What a lovely place for my wedding in Paradise. Beautiful grounds and sparkling ocean in the background. Many great places for pictures. Staff was nice. Affordable fee for the venue for two hours.
  • Kelsey
    Kelsey Married on 11/16/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    If you are looking to have a beautiful, private, and enchanting venue in key west, the key west garden club/west Martello tower is it!!! I loved that our wedding was anything but cookies cutter :)
  • L
    Linda Married on 07/21/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I chose this spot based on the pictures provided by this vendor's website and I must say I couldn't have been happier. The grounds are amazing and totally beautiful! Ron and Dean who are the main go to guys for any questions you might have were terrific. They allowed us to drop off beverages the day before for the ceremony so we wouldn't have to lug them there the day of and they lent us a garden hook to hang up our wedding sign. If you are looking for a beautiful historic site surrounded by nature for a great price and great people to work with then you couldn't do better than the Key West Garden Club!!!
  • C
    Courtney Married on 07/11/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Absolutely beautiful! The staff were very accommodating and were prompt to respond to all inquiries.
  • K
    Katie Married on 04/21/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We hosted our wedding ceremony and reception at the Key West Garden Club. It is the most beautiful location, both inside and out. I wanted an outdoor wedding really badly, and it worked out wonderfully. There are many areas to choose from for the ceremony, and we went with the big tree overlooking the water. The main area was super spacious for our group of 30, and everyone was able to wander around the grounds and explore.

    I love that the proceeds for the venue go towards the non-profit Garden Club, and I wouldn't have had my wedding anywhere else in Key West. People still are talking about how beautiful and natural it was.
  • User1075374 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We enjoyed having our ceremony at the Key West Garden Club! Their paperwork was minimal and their staff was helpful. Our ceremony was uninterrupted by other visitors. All of our pictures were taken at the club in various spots on the grounds. They have so many great locations that we have more photos than expected!
  • S
    Stella Married on 05/05/2012
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We held our entire wedding at the Key West Garden Club. It's a gorgeous venue that few visitors to Key West even know about. It shows by their limited web presence. I was only able to find pictures from a few weddings held there and their website -well like most Key West companies and organizations- is a little dated. But don't let that deter you. If you're interested in a unique, historic and/or beautifully serene location. This is it. I mean it's a garden built from an unfinished civil war era fortress located on a beach! How amazing is that?

    The garden is also a non-profit. Many of the people that work there are volunteers and their passion for the garden shows. The venue fees you pay will go towards continued maintenance for the garden. I found their fees to be very reasonable compared to other Key West venues and, at least for me, the fact that they are a charity helped take the sting out of the bill. Over all, the booking process was fairly easy. The folks working their are friendly and all the info is available through their website. Also be aware --this is a non-profit. Their role is minimal. So if you're planning to hold your wedding their be prepared to handle all other details. Also, they book up fast so make your plans well in advance.

    Lastly-- Our guests gave a lot of compliments during our wedding, but the venue was clearly their favorite thing. They were just amazed by the place. Guests that had visited Key West many times before had never ever heard of the garden. It really is a beautiful, hidden gem!
  • Charlene
    Charlene B. Married on 03/27/2021
    3.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Picturesque Location, Unhelpful Staff

    The West Martello is stunning and our pictures are absolutely gorgeous. Our guests were in awe of the ocean views, colorful orchids, and eroding civil-war era brick walls. The staff however were rude. There was no one on the day to greet us after we have just been told we needed to pay double for having a few extra people at the ceremony. It was bizarre! Know that the price you are paying is really for the space, not for any sense of hospitality.
  • B
    Bonnie Married on 03/10/2012
    2.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      2.5 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      2.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    Let me start by saying that for me, this was a destination wedding as I no longer live in Key West. Both my and my husband's family still lives there, so we made the trip down and tried to get everything together from a thousand miles away. Needless to say, the time we spent down there prior to the wedding were extremely important. This was a beautiful venue- that being said, they are not willing to work a deal with you no matter what. The venue bills out at ~$200/hr plus additional fees if you dont use thier preferred vendors (even though they dont have vendors on site). This is a garden run by the city and is open to the public... and we had to FIGHT them to close the venue to the public during the garden's normal business hours during my wedding! PLUS we paid for however many hours on the day of, but of course, we wanted to have a rehearsal. So the garden club made us pay an extra $200 and hold it after business hours. And when that hour was coming to a close they told my mother that if we ran over at ALL, it would be another $200! sheesh.
illustration stars

Did the reviews win you over?

Send a message