Weddings

Kelly Banks Cakes Reviews

Kelly Banks Cakes View more information

21 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 97% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 21

4 User photos

Sort by:
  • Karina
    Karina F. Married on 10/02/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Tasted even better than it looked!

    I am always very skeptical when it comes to bakery cakes, because to me they’re always dry. Wow, was this NOT the case with Kelly Banks Cakes! I contact Kelly last minute because my husband and I decided to move our wedding up by three months. Lucky for us, Kelly was available! When my mom and I went for a tasting, Kelly gave us 4 different flavored cupcakes that were all delicious. For our wedding cake, we got three layers: chocolate, vanilla, and red velvet with a cream cheese buttercream icing. We wanted our cake to be simple with a few flowers on it, and Kelly absolutely nailed it. The cake was beautiful, but it tasted even better than it looked!

    Kelly Banks Cakes's reply:

    Thank you for the kind words Karina!! So happy you loved the cake and had a wonderful wedding day!!🥰
  • Stacey
    Stacey Married on 09/05/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing !!!!!!

    Kelly from Kelly Banks Cakes is top notch in everything from communication to tasting. I can’t say enough about her knowledge and workmanship !!!!!! She will be doing all my cakes in the future and also any other baked goods I need !!!! Check her out
  • C
    Corey R. Married on 06/22/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Cake Master!!

    Kelly makes the best looking and tasting cakes ever. All your guests will being taking about how amazing the wedding cake tasted. Kelly is beyond talented and can create masterpieces. She also is extremely personable and a pleasure to do business with.
  • M
    Monica Married on 10/13/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly Recommend!

    Stop searching and book her for your wedding! We are so thankful to Kelly for the professionalism, talent and deliciousness she provided on our wedding day. We had a very large spread which included at least 20 different types of desserts and a 4-tier cake. Each time we added something, Kelly would make it happen! She also accommodated my gluten and dairy allergy with absolutely no issues. We were so happy with her, we drove 5 hours from NYC to meet her and do a tasting. We received soooo many compliments about our dessert table - everything was eaten! Always a great sign. Highly recommend you book Kelly before she is not available. We love you, Kelly!
  • Margo
    Margo Married on 09/30/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Totally delicious

    We had Kelly do pies for us instead of cake, and they went over so well. Kelly makes the most delicious pies I've ever had, and she is super professional to work with-- quick to respond, easy to communicate and plan with.
  • Kristen328
    Kristen Married on 09/15/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our cake was amazing! Kelly was great to work with, very responsive, our cake was so delicious, and also very reasonably priced!
  • S
    Sheila Married on 06/23/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kelly was amazing to work with and does such a nice job with her cakes! We gave her very loose guidelines as far as what we wanted and she far exceeded our expectations. We loved meeting her and getting to know her ahead of the wedding, and chatting with her about cake! In addition to her wonderful personality, her prices are extremely reasonable. She also let us borrow her cupcake stands free of charge. I highly recommend Kelly for anyone looking for a beautiful and delicious wedding cake!
  • M
    Melinda Married on 01/14/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our cake turned out beautiful! Everyone raved about how it tasted. Wedding cakes can sometimes be a bit dry, but that didn't apply! It was great.
  • C
    Claude Married on 06/18/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kelly's cake was amazing! We went with a naked cake that was made from her chocolate and white almond flavors with buttercream in between. It was the most delicious cake we've ever had and everyone loved it!. We only ended up having 3 slices left at the end of the night! The cake came out beautiful and we were so pleased with it once the flower decorations and cake toppers were added. Her prices were great. She was very responsive and set up the cake during our ceremony so we unfortunately didn't get to meet her and thank her in person for her wonderful work. Thank you again!
  • K
    Kelly Married on 05/21/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kelly's cakes are phenomenal! We chose to have a naked cake and it turned out beautifully and tasted great!

    The whole process with Kelly was seamless, from the tasting through to seeing and tasting the finished product. We opted for the chocolate Ganache and Raspberry filling, with alternate layers of vanilla and chocolate cake. It was such a lovely surprise to walk into the barn and see the cake for the first time with the cake topper and the flowers on top, and it was simply perfect.

    We would definitely recommend Kelly!
  • C
    Caitlin Married on 05/07/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We were referred to Kelly by our vendor. We were lucky enough to have a tasting and meeting with her months before the wedding. We were blown away by all of the experience she had! She had us taste her cake as well as the fillings we wanted (chocolate ganache and raspberry filling.. YUM). She was very easy to work with and very responsive with her emails. They day of the wedding, I was so busy I didn't get a chance to see her when she delivered, but we were blown away with how beautiful the cake was. It was exactly my vision! We are so thankful to work with an amazing baker!
  • S
    Shannon Married on 09/12/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We found Kelly's information in a bridal show program, she was extremely responsive (I think we went back and forth 10 times via email the first time I contacted her so we each had all the information we needed). Our tasting with her was great, her cakes are delicious and she helped us nail down what we actually needed. Knowing how delicious our test cakes were we had Kelly make desserts for our rehearsal dinner too, the cupcakes were perfect and tasted great! She was also very helpful in designing a grooms cake to surprise my new husband, her work with fondant is incredible, I couldn't have asked for a nicer looking cake! Our wedding cake was perfect, she delivered on time and without any difficulty. It also tasted great, we received many compliments on how delicious her desserts were. I would highly recommend her and plan to use her in the future, her prices are very reasonable, she is very professional, yet down to earth and very accommodating.
  • W
    Whitney Married on 08/01/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The cake she made for my husband and, I was absolutely gorgeous and the flavor was great. She does a amazing job with her cake designs and her buttercream is out of this world!!
  • K
    Kathryn Married on 06/05/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kelly had done a lot of cakes for my family so it was obvious that I wanted her to do my wedding cake as well. We sat down with her and tried a couple different samples of her cakes and then discussed the details that we wanted. I gave her quite a few things that I was looking for, as well as pictures of examples. I knew Kelly did exceptional work but I was still anxious to see my wedding cake. On my wedding day, Kelly set up the cake with the cake topper and when I came over to see it, I couldn't have been happier with it. It was exactly what I asked for. Not only is she a wonderful baker, but she is a wonderful person. I am so happy that I had her make my cake and be such an important part in my big day!
  • A
    Anonymous Married on 10/06/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I recently had Kelly make my wedding cake for my wedding. My cake was absolutely beautiful and exactly what I had wanted. She makes the best buttercream frosting, and the cake was delicious. Definitely would recommend Kelly if you are looking for great service!
  • K
    Kelly Married on 09/21/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kelly Banks is so easy to work with and reasonably priced. We wanted two cakes - one to cut and one fun grooms cake - and Kelly delivered on everything. Both cakes were delicious, I might add - and both were budget friendly. Additionally, about three weeks before our wedding, we decided that we wanted to do caramel apples for favors and Kelly delivered 200 of them to our caterer with no issue. Did I mention that the apples were delicious?! And she individually tagged all of them with a sweet thank you message. Our guests are still talking about them and several have even asked for the recipe! Kelly also worked seamlessly with our caterer to ensure that everything was delivered on-time, maintained at the proper temperature, and beautifully presented. You will not regret working with Kelly Banks Cakes!
  • H
    Heidi Married on 10/11/2008
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    More than pleased with the cakes Kelly Banks has done for us. She is very easy to work with and even delivers right to your front door, prices are very reasonable as well. We\'ve been using Kelly for years, not only for wedding cake but for many birthdays as well. Our whole family looks forward to her delicious buttercream frosting (Amazing). I highly recommend working with Kelly, you won\'t regret it.
  • A
    Anna Married on 07/25/2007
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Amazing service beautiful cake and she delivered!! Thank you for making the cake and the event a success.
  • L
    Lucinda Married on 07/21/2007
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kelly is an amazing and gifted pastry artist. I have ordered cakes from her for a variety of occasions and have never been disappointed. Instead, I find her creativity extraordinary and am delightfully surprised with her creations. The taste is by far the best. I would recommend Kelly Banks Cakes for all occasions!
  • S
    Sarah Married on 05/16/2015
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I contacted Kelly shortly before our wedding, after a previous vendor fell thru. She was very responsive and easy to deal with. I sent her pictures of the cake I wanted, and she did a fantastic job! It was really beautiful! The cake was delicious and at the end of the night, barely a sliver was left of our decently sized, 3 tier cake! The only complaint I have is about the cake board. We had a gold themed wedding and I bought a beautiful white and gold cake stand for our cake (which sat on a gorgeous gold sequin tablecloth). But the cake board came out over the sides of the cake stand at least an inch, and was covered in silver foil. I would've liked to have the option of a white or gold cake board, anything that didn't clash with our overall look. In my opinion, the foil board under the cake just looked cheap and detracted from it's overall look. In many photos, you barely can see the cake stand that I shipped all the way with us from Las Vegas to New York. But I think a simple clarification with Kelly before, is a simple fix and other brides can avoid this situation. I think she is truly so talented and was probably my easiest vendor to deal with!
  • User889416 2+ years ago
    Rating 1.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    Disappointed with the quality of the cake. Guests commented that the chocolate was dry and "not good". It would have been helpful to do a tasting of the flavors we selected. The cake was displayed lop-sided. It also did not look anything like the picture we presented Kelly with. It would have been helpful if Kelly had told us upfront that she was unable to make a cake like the one in the picture. When guests asked how much we paid for the cake, they were shocked at the expense verses "what we got".