Weddings

JuneBug Retro Resort Reviews

JuneBug Retro Resort

JuneBug Retro Resort

Weaverville, NC
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 37 Reviews
View more information

37 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 37
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner

58 User photos

Sort by:
  • Steph
    Steph E. Married on 09/16/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly recommend the treehouse

    The treehouse is absolutely stunning. The views, lights, flowers, food, fire pit - everything was better than we could have imagined. We had a very small ceremony and there is not a single thing we would change about the day. We were so grateful to find a venue that catered to small weddings. Charlene and her team took care of everything and were such fun to work with. We stayed in the campers with our guests and it was easily one of the coolest experiences we’ve had. Highly, highly recommend.
  • Raegen
    Raegen V. Married on 05/23/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The PERFECT outdoor venue!

    We had our wedding at the JuneBug and it was picture perfect! Charlene was fantastic to work with and helped us through the process of having to reschedule from last October due to COVID. Planning an out of town wedding can be challenging but Charlene was a huge help and all of her vendor recommendations were spot on! You can tell that Tom and Charlene have put their hearts and souls into this amazing property and will bend over backwards to make sure their couples have a seamless wedding day. We had our first look in the treehouse and it made for such a special experience. All of our guest are still raving about this wonderful day!
  • Martha
    Martha W. Married on 09/20/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Five star plus! Charlene is extremely responsive and supportive to accommodate the changing needs of a large wedding.

    We had to change our date and Charlene made it happen. (This is very tough to do in such a great location). She was the first venue we visited and we wasted time checking out at least 8 more in person. The setting was perfect for a gathering of friends and family - everyone felt welcome for the entire weekend. Awesome value for all this venue has to offer and Charlene is such a pleasure to work with. She is able to give great advice throughout the entire planning and execution of the wedding. Charlene always brought calm to any situation during the planning stage and I never had to worry during the event. She always has your back!
  • Gail
    Gail G. Married on 06/05/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    What a unique wedding venue!

    We could not have asked for a more perfect venue for our daughter's wedding. Owners Charlene and Tom were incredible and did everything they could to create a beautiful, yet relaxing day for all of us. As well as the great amenities provided (tent, Airstream Bar, gorgeous grounds, etc.), friends were able to stay in the campers as well as tent camp by the creek. This made the bride and groom very happy that their friends were able to stay and celebrate with them. At JuneBug Retro Resort, our daughter and SIL had the exact wedding day they wanted, one which suited their unique personalities. I can recommend the site to anyone looking for a beautiful, fun and different event setting.
  • G
    Grace Married on 10/19/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect Asheville Venue!

    We honestly could not have had a better experience at JuneBug! The space is so beautiful and has the peaceful mountain charm that I was looking for and more. Charlene was absolutely amazing to work with. She walked us through every step of the process, gave great advice, but was never pushy about what we should or shouldn’t do. She was also so incredibly kind during our reception. Even though she was busy making sure everything ran on time, she came over to me multiple times just to check on me and make sure I didn’t need anything and was having a good time. It was really so considerate and special. It ended up raining on our wedding day, but I was never worried because I knew we were in good hands with Charlene. And I think JuneBug was particularly beautiful in the rain! If you want a classic Asheville venue and to work with genuinely kind people who love what they do, JuneBug Retro Resort is the place!
  • J
    Julia F. Married on 10/13/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The best you can imagine, but better

    About the venue: Well kept, adaptive to your ideas, more beautiful each time you visit.

    About the people (Charlene, specifically): Helpful, patient, generally a powerhouse of dedication and energy for you and your event.

    We got married a few weekends ago and booked JuneBug precisely a year prior. Charlene was helpful every step of the way. We opted to hire her as our day-of coordinator but she went far above and beyond her duties. She was a sounding board for all of my ideas, my Google for all my tiny questions, and assured me constantly that everything would, in fact, get planned and happen according to those plans. We spent the weekend at JuneBug a few weeks prior to go over schedule, plans, etc. and it felt more like meeting up with a friend than a standard business interaction. All that to say, she also perfectly balances business and professionalism - she is concise, punctual, and responsive.
  • K
    Katie S. Married on 10/06/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The perfect venue

    Junebug Retro resort was everything I’d hoped it would be. When I saw the pictures online I knew this was where I wanted my special day to be. The venue was even more beautiful in person. The owners, Charlene and Tom are absolutely wonderful. They made sure everything was perfect for our special day. The campers were fun, clean, and ready for us as soon as we got there. I would recommend this place for any special event or fun weekend getaway.
  • Ally
    Ally H. Married on 09/28/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Day Ever!

    Our wedding day went so, so smoothly and beautifully because of Charlene and Tom! The venue is wonderfully maintained and set up, and Charlene was very helpful with the whole lead up and day of stuff. I highly recommend taking Charlene up on being your day-of planner, as there was no way the set up, and day would have run as efficiently as it did without her. All of our guests have told us how much they enjoyed the venue and how unique it was, and the pictures are absolutely gorgeous. From the amazing restored, vintage campers, to Charlene's beautiful garden, to the reception and cocktail tents-everything was more than we could have ever hoped for for our wedding!
  • A
    Amanda W. Married on 09/21/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Daughter’s wedding on 9/21/2019

    Perfect outdoor wedding venue with vintage style! Top notch owners that pour their hearts into making the special day wonderful for couples, their families and the guests. If you are looking for a venue that is unique and special in the Asheville area this is it! Charlene and Tom have nailed it!
  • Ashley
    Ashley W. Married on 09/21/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    JuneBug Has My Heart

    I remember the day I sat down with my step mom to look at wedding venues! (after just 2 days of being engaged) 😁 My husband and I knew we wanted to get married as quickly as possible! The second I saw the JuneBug website I said that’s it!! I of course went and looked at 3 other venues in Asheville but my heart kept leaving towards JuneBug. I went to see the venue in March so the leaves were gone the venue was not wedding ready but I could I picture everything I wanted without all of the trees and flowers in bloom or the wedding tents up. Charlene the owner, she was my girl, she was so on top of everything. From start to finish! I could call, text or email her and she was on it. Making everything as easy as possible for me. When it got down to crunch time her husband was the BOMB.COM, Tom! Nicest guy ever, so accommodating and easy going. Charlene was my coordinator the day of the wedding and WOW! The compliments I got for the flow of EVERYTHING from the rehearsal to EVERYTHING on the day of the wedding. The campers were awesome! Our wedding party as well as my husband and myself stayed in them the night of the wedding. Tom and Charlene started an after party bonfire and brought all remaining beer and wine (post wedding) to the bonfire pit in a bucket on ice for the entire wedding party to indulge as we spent the last bit of time with our wedding party having more fun until time for bed! Tom and Charlene recently built this amazing tree house on the property! Tom took my mother in law and I 2 days before the wedding to see the tree house! I almost died and went to heaven! I asked if Ryan and I could do our first look up there.. Even with a bit of a construction zone they cleaned it up and Ryan and I were the first couple ever to be up there! It was so special to me. Our first look over the mountains and secluded up in the woods in a tree house! I could go on and on and on and on. The airstream bar with beer taps, the creek! The bridge I walked across and my daddy met me at the end to walk me down tow aisle. This venue gets 5 stars all across the board. I wish I could do it all over again! My husband and I want to rent out the venue for one of our anniversaries in the future and get our families together for another weekend there! JuneBug Retro Resort will have a special place in my heart for life. If you don’t get married there you’re missing out. #Bestweddinghandsbrown
  • Valerie
    Valerie M. Married on 09/14/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Love at First Sight :)

    My husband and I planned our wedding at Junebug long-distance, only coming to Asheville a few times before the big day. The first time we visited Junebug and met Charlene and Tom, we immediately knew we made the right decision. They were just amazingly genuine, welcoming, and responsive throughout the entire process. They helped us find reliable vendors and helped ease any stresses we had before, during, and after the event. Being able to stay in the campers the night of the wedding was so perfect and allowed us to spend more time with our friends who came a long way to see us. I can't say enough good things about this place and we hope to come back and visit for years to come!
  • Becky
    Becky C. Married on 07/04/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Unique venue with amazing owners

    Charlene and Tom are top notch! From start to finish they made us feel at home and we had an instant rapport with them. The value for money at this venue is beyond expectation! All of our guests were in awe with the views and hospitality from the owners. We engaged Charlene as the event coordinator and every detail was considered and executed perfectly throughout the day. The campers are authentically restored (even the radios work!) and were a treat for ourselves and our guests. We live overseas and were able to contact and communicate with Charlene and Tom at any time, allowing us to plan our wedding with minimal stress and full confidence. Their knowledge and recommendations for local vendors, that they have worked with previously, helped provide a seamless event run by professionals who truly care about their clients. Ending the wedding day around the campfire with our friends and family was magical. We highly recommend inviting a friend with a guitar! JuneBug is a full service and genuinely unique venue that our friends and family will be talking about for years to come! We can't wait to come back for an anniversary trip in the future.
  • Cristyn
    Cristyn O. Married on 06/21/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Dreamy, charming, and the right amount of whimsy

    My husband and I were looking for a venue that stands out, and JuneBug stole our hearts from the get go! This venue has it all. The ceremony space has such a great vibe with mature trees and a beautiful wooden arbor in front of a gently meandering creek (very auspicious in Feng Shui!). We had close to 200 people comfortably seated under the gorgeous double high peak tent during dinner (this tent would look beautiful even in a parking lot) and everybody boogied hard on the brand new dance floor. Our guests that weren't big on dancing were often spotted walking the grounds and discovering all the other charms of this property including the meticulously kept campers and retro playground. Tom and Charlene were amazing and a huge help with everything leading up to our wedding day and without them the big day would have been much more stressful. They made our wedding day dreams come true
  • Kat
    Kat E. Married on 06/15/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fantastic Retro Getaway!

    How to describe the amazing talent of Charlene and Tom at Junebug?? From the moment we stepped onto their beautiful property and toured the grounds, we knew this was the place to share our special moment with our families. Charlene's communication was great, and the entire wedding from planning stage to saying "I do!" went off without a hitch. They both are great at running the show, behind the curtain so you are able to fully relax with your family and enjoy the evening. We utilized the campers as well as their newly renovated "bar cart", and everyone spoke so highly of the entire aesthetic vibe. We couldn't have been happier, and as Asheville natives we are proud to say that we would love to come back and share more special moments at Junebug with them. Thank you for an amazing wedding experience!
  • K
    Kimberly Married on 10/28/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Love this place!

    Charlene and her staff were awesome! I could not have asked for a better experience. Charlene was always prompt to answer my surplus of texts no matter how ridiculous my questions were.
  • Nicole
    Nicole R. Married on 10/21/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Simply perfect

    June Bug is the perfect place for any wedding, large or small. The retro campers, fire pits and flower gardens make it easy to decorate in any style. The staff is friendly, helpful and professional. There are several places you can have a ceremony and there's plenty of parking. There are designated places for the wedding party to get ready and to stay after the wedding.
  • Angeli
    Angeli C. Married on 10/20/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing wedding venue

    Junebug Retro Resort ended up being the perfect place for our wedding. All of our guests were so impressed by the venue and how unique and beautiful it was, especially in October. There is plenty of space for guests to not feel on top of one another and yet everyone comes together under the tent in such a special way. Having the trailers to stay in after a post-wedding bonfire was beyond perfect for us and our wedding party and took a lot of transportation stress out of the weekend. Speaking of wedding stress Charlene could not be more wonderful and does everything in her power to reduce as much stress as she can. She even contacted a vendor for me! She really wants your day to be perfect and it shows. You’ll feel so taken care of and our wedding went so smoothly thanks to her.

    Overall I couldn’t recommend Junebug more.
  • Hanna
    Hanna S. Married on 10/13/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Look No Further!

    Junebug is truly a unique and refreshing venue choice. Their retro style and beautiful property made a very memorable experience for our wedding guests - a breath of fresh air from the predictable reception hall. The staff here are incredibly personable, easy to work with, and really contributed to the success of our day. They offer gorgeous options of ceremony and reception site, with a solid contingency plan (something that was very important to us). A major plus - our wedding party got to stay on site in their vintage campers, which was not only fun but incredibly convenient. You will not regret booking with these wonderful people!
  • C
    Charlotte Married on 10/07/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Charlene is amazing. She was so flexible and accommodating. She asked all the right questions and worked with the vendors directly. I could not have asked for a more personable and responsive person to help me through this wedding process. JuneBug is an amazing venue. It has everything you need. Charlene and Tom are there to help you throughout your special day. They are just fantastic people. My guests had a once in a lifetime experience. I have been telling everyone about JuneBug and will continue to do so. My husband and I will be sure to visit again for our anniversary.
  • B
    Brooks M. Married on 10/06/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Venue and Amazing Staff

    Working with Charlene at June Bug made our entire wedding weekend (and the proceeding few months) so much easier. She is truly SO easy to work with (and a lot of fun just to chat with!). We had a "family reunion" style wedding with 175 people and everything, including the Friday night rehearsal dinner, was on site. The bridal party stayed in the trailers. The venue is gorgeous (we had fun telling all of our friends we were getting married in a trailer park, but in actuality the venue is much nicer). It's hard to write a review because there's so many positive things I want to say about Charlene and how nice it was working with her - we originally set a May 2019 date but had to move the date up to October 2018 due to an illness in the family, and Charlene was just amazingly accommodating and helped us find great vendors/caterers/etc. and was on site the whole weekend helping facilitate a magical event...she even sprinted across the property when the bride realized she left her bouquet of flowers right before walking down the aisle! 12/10 stars.
  • Kaitlin
    Kaitlin Married on 10/06/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect Location for an Outdoor Wedding

    JuneBug Retro Resort along with Charlene and Tom completely blew us away. They were flexible when our date changed due to family illness and helped us all along the wedding planning process. We loved that JuneBug didn't feel like a factory wedding venue, spitting out the same wedding weekend after weekend, and that Charlene was so incredibly personable and helpful. The property is pristine and the trailers are each unique and beautiful. We held our rehearsal dinner and wedding under the tent and stayed with our wedding party in the trailers (they loved the unique lodging!). Everything was on-site which made for the perfect laid-back weekend with family and friends. We really enjoyed playing badminton and corn hole and sitting by the campfire in the evenings.

    I wish I could give 10 stars for JuneBug. I can't stress enough how helpful Charlene was throughout the planning process as my husband and I live in Colorado and were planning from afar, and my parents (who are in Asheville) were planning everything in person. She kept us all sane, and also won the award for fastest 100 yard dash when she raced back to get the bouquet I realized I had forgotten in the bridal trailer right as I was about to walk down the aisle.

    We're already dreaming of an anniversary trip back so we can stay at June Bug again!
  • A
    Alanna Married on 09/15/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had the wedding of our dreams at JuneBug! From the beautiful grounds and campers, to the ease of booking a venue that already has tents, tables and chairs, to the two amazing owners! Even with a hurricane coming right towards us, they calmed our nerves and pulled off a perfect night. And the JuneBug magic kept us dry! Love how convenient the resort is to Asheville, and the fact that it is somewhere we can go back to visit for years to come! Cant wait to celebrate anniversaries back at JuneBug!
  • S
    Stephanie Married on 09/08/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I don't even know where to start! everything about charlene and tom and their amazing venue was more than i ever dreamed of. willing to help us make all our hairbrained ideas work for our totally nontraditional wedding and w me every step of the way without skipping a beat these guys made our dreams come true. my friends and family WILL NOT STOP TALKING about this place!!! my bet is on this place being impossible to book very very soon. have your wedding here and you will not regret it!
  • D
    Diane Married on 09/02/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My daughter and her fiancé were married at Junebug Retro Resort a couple weeks ago and I couldn’t have asked for a better experience. From start to finish Charlene, Tom and staff were wonderful to work with. So professional, helpful and attentive along the way and for the big day. All night long guests came to us telling us how wonderful the event location was! Thank you for making our little girl’s dreams come true!!
  • T
    Taylor Married on 09/01/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Honestly we could not have asked for a better venue or group of people at junebug. If you are looking for something that's inviting, welcoming, beautiful, and has the coolest campers ever then this is it. We are so thankful we had our wedding at junebug and know we will always be friends with the owners of this magical place.