Julie Jakolat, DJ Reviews

72 | Reno, NV
See photos, pricing and details

72 Reviews for Julie Jakolat, DJ

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

72

8 User photos

Order by:
  • K

    Katina · Married on 11/02/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Most Wonderful DJ

    We can’t say enough good things about working with Julie. She crafted an inspired wedding playlist that kept everyone dancing all night, but also incorporated songs that catered to our eclectic tastes. We’re not a very dance-y crowd so I was nervous about keeping everyone entertained, but Julie did such a beautiful job reading the room and adjusting the music as necessary. She even picked up on an inside joke with our friends and surprised everyone with THE PERFECT SONG! We would absolutely look forward to another party with DJ Julie!

    Sent on 12/10/2019
  • Jessica

    Jessica · Married on 09/21/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly Recommend!

    Julie was incredible. She made sure to play a wide range of music given the parameters we provided, but also played some surprises that were a big hit. So many guests raved about her after the wedding. We couldn't be more pleased! Thank you, Julie! Our party was fun and memorable because of you.

    Sent on 12/30/2019
  • Martin

    Martin Brunk · Married on 09/14/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Creating super vibe and non-stop dancing

    Julie was absolutely top-notch throughout preparation and all the way through our wedding celebration. All our guests raved about her music selection and how she kept the vibes going and everyone on the dance floor all night long. We highly recommend her to anyone looking for a good time. We would definitely book her again!

    Sent on 09/17/2019
  • D

    Danielle Joffe · Married on 09/14/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A wonderful experience! Thank you Julie!

    Julie, Thank you for everything you did to make our wedding the success that it was! We received so much positive feedback about what an amazing DJ (and human) you are. We feel so lucky that its worked out for you to work with us! In particular: the skill with which you engage in the creative process of selecting music from seating music to ceremony to dance floor; your way of hearing our thoughts and then contributing with yours in a way that made the final experience better than we were even imagining it could be; and your uncanny intuition, creativity and enthusiasm mixing for our multicultural (German, Israeli, American) family! This experience definitely put “DJ” into a whole other class that I didn’t know existed.

    Sent on 09/26/2019
  • M

    Michael Nuciforo · Married on 07/13/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I found your next DJ...FYI she rocks!

    Julie was incredible from start to finish as the DJ of our special day. We honestly couldn't have picked a better DJ as she brought out our personalities and packed the dance floor all night long with a perfect mix of music. We can't recommend her enough!

    Sent on 07/23/2019
  • L

    Liz · Married on 06/29/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome energy and a perfectly curated set!

    After a long debate of the band vs. DJ decision for the reception, we were SO HAPPY we booked DJ Julie for our wedding. She is kind, witty, personable, and an incredible source for music. Also female DJ? Yes please! We loved that she kept her setup simple (no cheesy lights) and only made necessary announcements. She perfectly curated our set based on our initial Facetime meeting  and our must-play and do-not-play lists (which she truly honored). She even walked around during cocktail hour to get song requests from our guests, which our guests LOVED. She had everyone dancing the whole night and even coordinated with our fireworks guy and venue to play music with his fireworks set. It's clear how much fun she has doing this!

    Sent on 02/18/2020
  • Alexander

    Alexander Harlan · Married on 06/22/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julie rocked my wedding!

    There are regular DJ's and there are music scientists that get so dialed in to a crowd that they move the party along with the perfect progression of songs and beats so that everyone is out on the dance floor the whole night. Julie is the reason that I know that latter exists. The amount of effort Julie puts in to understanding the exact style and feel you want your wedding to have is astounding, I think at this point she knows our musical tastes better than we do! We had Julie play every element of our wedding, from the ceremony to the cocktail hour and through the night. That included helping us find the perfect songs and edits to fit our ceremony. Not only is she great at playing tunes, she's also a very gifted MC. She was great at making sure all of our dances and toasts went right on schedule and our guests had a great time. I can't recommend using Julie to rock your party enough!

    Sent on 08/11/2019
  • Christina

    Christina Moretti · Married on 06/15/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Dance Party EVER!

    If you want a DJ for your wedding, stop looking and hire Julie! My wife and I got married in June 2019 at Interlaken Inn in Lakeville, CT. She made our wedding unforgettable. All of our guests were dancing and there wasn't an empty space on the dance floor. Our friends kept asking us, where did you find her?! We gave Julie over 10 hrs of music on a spotify playlist and she took it and curated the perfect order and group of songs from that list. She even went around and asked our guests what they would like to hear.

    One moment made me particularly grateful....I have a sister with autism who has a very eclectic music taste which includes all the showtunes and musicals! Julie made her night by playing "I could have danced all night" from My Fair Lady.

    Julie helped make our wedding seamless. She put real effort into understanding the venue and made sure she had the right set up to maximize sound quality and flow from our ceremony site to the cocktail hour to the reception. I would 100% recommend Julie as your wedding DJ!

    Sent on 06/27/2019
  • J

    Jillian · Married on 05/26/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best DJ ever!

    Julie is absolutely amazing! She curated the most amazing soundtrack to our day that included all the songs we wanted to hear. And even more amazing, she helped make sure our whole day ran smoothly. We had a DIY wedding that we planned and executed ourselves. She made sure that all vendors were able to communicate and that our bridal party moved through our timeline exactly as they were supposed to. Our guests raved about how amazing our reception was, but it truly was thanks to everything that Julie did. She was so chill throughout, so I ended up looking forward to emails or phone calls from her throughout planning because I knew I’d be enjoying myself the whole time. Her rates are very reasonable compared to other DJs in the area as well. We can not recommend her enough.

    Sent on 06/01/2019
  • N

    Niki · Married on 04/13/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We didn't consider anyone else

    We love Julie! All night people kept coming to us and telling us how aweome the music was. She listened to what we were looking for musically and created a great experience.

    She originally played at our friends' wedding and then another couple in the same friend group had her play their wedding as well. We loved her so much we didn't even consider anyone else! At our wedding, we realized she had also played at my childhood best friend's wedding! 4 Julie couples at one wedding. Wedding inception!

    Sent on 04/16/2019
  • K

    Kara · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julie made sure to appropriately incorporate our love for country music into our wedding despite not being a huge country fan herself, but still kept the dance floor moving all night. Extremely pleasant, accommodating, helpful, and professional. Guests were so thrilled to be able to unexpectedly request songs throughout the night!

    Sent on 09/23/2018
  • H

    Hannah · Married on 08/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julie is a rockstar. She made our wedding day so special. Not only did she incorporate all of our music requests, she took requests from our guests during the cocktail hour and ran them by us to approve! Her equipment is super streamlined, which is great for the minimal bride who wants to avoid anything cheesy. She went above and beyond and helped the day run smoothly overall, in addition to her responsibilities as DJ. I loved to see her busing a move in the DJ booth. Overall, she's just awesome. I highly recommend her to any bride and groom!

    Sent on 08/20/2018
  • Y

    Ya'ir · Married on 06/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One of our first choices for our wedding was to hire Julie, after remembering her from a friend's wedding a few years back. We're so glad we did. You should too.

    What made her great?

    - She *loves* music. So she was happy to put in several hours overtime working with us to craft our playlist beforehand - not just because it's professionally a good move, but because she just enjoys her craft! We had a blast working together.

    - She knows how weddings are. So she did all sorts of little stuff I never would have anticipated. For instance, during the cocktail hour, she circulated asking people what songs they wanted. And she did this, in part, just so that they also felt comfortable later going up to her during the dance itself with requests. But then she also cross-checked them against our "do not play" list - again, her idea - to make sure were were OK with it too.

    - She has great judgement. We gave her a list of songs to play, but our wedding ended up with a shorter dance time because speeches ran long. But she did such a good job picking the best/most representative songs from each genre in our playlist that I never noticed.

    - She has taste and standards. My FiL provided a medly for the first dance that she thought was badly cut - so she (after asking) went so far as to *remixed* it to make sure the transitions were better.

    - Did I mention she has taste? We went to her for ideas about recessional/precessional/ last songs - and her suggestions were inspired.

    - She was a great MC. Carefully got everyone's name right; kept things moving but was relatively unobtrusive; was meticulous about making sure we hit our timing.

    - She was just so responsive. At every point, her focus was making sure that our wedding was how we wanted it. I've heard nightmares about DJs halfway through just ignoring the bride/groom and doing their own thing - Julie is so the opposite.

    Sent on 08/24/2018
  • J

    Jason · Married on 12/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am not sure what I can say about Julie that has not already been said in one of the glowing reviews she has already received. There is a reason she has a very solid 5-star rating!

    My husband and I like a lot of different kinds of music and Julie was so excited discussing our musical tastes with us that we knew very quickly that she had to be the one to DJ our wedding. From the pre-ceremony music (instrumental ballads of current pop music), to the seated dinner music (classic pop standards mixed with more current artists from our playlist), to the high energy dance numbers, she just made all the perfect selections.

    In the planning stages, her communication was on point. She made sure to check in on us in the weeks leading up to the wedding, helped plan out the day-of timeline, helped us make decisions on the details that we were unsure of, and was overall a huge support.

    Our processional song was Sara Bareilles, "I Choose You". This is one of my favorite artists, and the first time I heard this song I knew it had to be included in our wedding. Julie suggested an acoustic version that we had never heard before. It was so beautiful and fit the moment better than any other song could have. These are the important details that sets her apart from any DJ I have ever met.

    We had two of our good friends perform our wedding song live. Not only did Julie take the time to work with them to ensure everything was in place for the performance, she was genuinely excited to make this special request happen.

    Her excitement and enthusiasm during the wedding was contagious and it really helped to get everyone out to the dance floor. We were having so much fun that by the end of the night, no one wanted to leave.

    If I could do the entire wedding over again, the first call I would make would be to Julie. Thank you, Julie for helping to make our wedding the event of a lifetime!

    Sent on 12/15/2017
  • J

    Julie · Married on 11/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julie Jakolat is THE BEST. All of our guests raved about Julie and said she was the best DJ they had ever seen (and me and my groom agree). Julie is the essence of cool and easy going, but has a keen ear and knows how to get people up and dancing. And no cheesy music, but she will tailor the list to your musical tastes if cheesy is what you're looking for :) We met with Julie before signing the contract and she took a full two hours of getting to know us and our music tastes. She really helped to form the flow of the night, which was extremely fun and unforgettable. We love Julie!

    Sent on 11/18/2017
  • B

    Becca · Married on 10/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow. Where do I even begin? Julie was perfect. I can't stress PERFECT enough! From our very first conversation while we were searching for the right DJ, she was super nice, spoke with us both professionally and like a friend. We knew pretty much right away she was the right choice- and BOY were we happy we picked her! Communication in the months leading to the wedding day was a breeze- she was super responsive and so enthusiastic- like she was looking forward to it as much as we were! Any ideas as far as specific songs or reception timing, she was right on board, or offered an even better idea I hadn't thought of! Julie really went above and beyond a DJ's duties in my book- she helped me lay out the timeline of the whole reception weeks in advance, and guided our guests along seamlessly so no one was standing around wondering what to do or where to go. And let's not forget the PARTY! She built a fabulous dance party, got almost every guest on the dance floor, even the shy, and our 90 year old grandfather! She was able to read the crowd so well, took requests (running all of them by me and my groom first!) and looked like she was having a great time herself! When it was time for last call, all the guests were sad the dance party was coming to an end! After the wedding day, I was sad the super special event I'd been planning for months had passed- in huge part because communication with my vendors had become so familiar and fun! I really look at Julie like a friend. She was so happy for us, helped give us the best day of our lives, and I can't imagine our wedding day without her. YOU ROCK, JULIE! Look no further brides to be, you've found your DJ.

    Sent on 10/24/2017
  • B

    Brigid · Married on 08/26/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Literally- one of the best decisions we made for our wedding was selecting Julie as our DJ. Julie didn't just go the extra mile to understand our taste in music, and the vibe we wanted for our night- she did a marathon. We were looking for a DJ who understood our dislike of all things corny and over-the-top, and we found it with Julie. From blasting our song outside the venue early so we would hear it as we got some photos taken (making me burst into happy tears) to taking time to talk to our guests during cocktail hour, Julie played the perfect song at the perfect time again and again. Our guests raved about her, and days later I am getting texts asking how we found such an awesome DJ. Can't recommend her enough.

    Sent on 08/30/2017
  • C

    Cotton · Married on 08/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Julie to DJ our wedding 3 years ago, but when I was at a family member's wedding this weekend I couldn't help but be grateful all over again. Sometimes you just don't realize how fortunately you were! Julie miked us for our outdoor ceremony and everyone could hear everything. (For the wedding we attended this was not the case! I was sitting in the second row and was having difficulty hearing.) She set up a secondary setup to play music for our cocktail hour on the patio, which was perfect. Best of all, she balanced the sound in our reception hall so that the music could be heard by everyone, but wasn't blasting out anyone's ear drums. (At the wedding we attended, the DJ put both his speaks at the same end of the room so that one end of the room was painfully louder than the other.) On top of all that, she was a complete class act - super fun and responsive to the atmosphere of the party, right on top of announcing all the important moments, but never doing any awkward commentary. (I wish I could say the same for this other wedding!) As I say, we loved Julie when we hired her 3 years ago and this other wedding just made it that much more clear how wonderful she is. She is outstanding!!

    Sent on 08/24/2017
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 06/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am so thrilled that I booked Julie for my wedding! We had a wonderful initial meeting where she got a sense of what we liked (and didn't like :)) She was very communicative via email leading up to the wedding. Then, on the day, she went around to our guests asking for requests, which she ran by us. I had several guests comment on how awesome she was, and how much fun she was having! My sister even said she wants to book Julie for her future wedding! Julie is more than a DJ, she becomes your friend. Thank you for everything!

    Sent on 07/26/2017
  • I

    Ilya · Married on 06/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julie was the best! She was very responsive when working with us and was open to any suggestions we had and was very helpful when I had questions on the wedding day timeline. She kept the reception fun and upbeat. She was such a pleasure to work with!

    Sent on 06/26/2017
  • T

    Theresa · Married on 06/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julie is the GREATEST. She DJ'd our wedding in June of 2017, and from the moment we spoke on the phone I was smitten with her. She has phenomenal taste, listens to everything you tell her (she picked up on my likes and dislikes faster than I did!), is charismatic and the consummate professional. Julie not only DJ'd, but really helped us run our wedding, from set up to ceremony to the very last song. She asked our guests for song requests during the cocktail hour, checked in with us regularly to make sure we were happy, and is the brightest ray of sunshine you can imagine. Our guests RAVED about her, and we agree wholeheartedly. Hire her! Hire her now!

    Sent on 03/17/2018
  • A

    Alexandra · Married on 05/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julie was:

    -Professional. Great communication and organization leading up to the wedding. She prepared playlists, song folders, and video chats to discuss logistics. She was flexible and accommodating as things changed, working with our cocktail band and wedding planner.

    -Great personality. Wedding guests all remarked how fun our DJ was. She went around prior to the reception and took requests to make sure everyone felt welcome on the dance floor. She was dancing and smiling every time we looked over at her.

    Sent on 05/29/2017
  • L

    Lisa Marie · Married on 11/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julie was exactly what we were looking for! From the very beginning, she was kind, meticulous and aligned with all the priorities we had; to focus on making this day about my mine and my husband's union and it was exactly that-- reflective of our life, personality and love! My husband is a musician and was very particular as to what music was and was not played. Julie had multiple Skype dates with us, she prepped an amazing cocktail hour (and a half) of music, surveyed our crowd for requests during it and then killed it during the reception. She has tons of fun while doing her job, and appropriately checked in throughout the night without overwhelming us. She knew how important the music was to us and did her best to represent us. She even attended our ceremony, picked up on lyrics read during it and then played it as the first song after our first dance! We invited her to our after party and brunch the next day, where she was an absolute pleasure to share a drink with! It was the most perfect day for my husband and I and all of our guests were overwhelmed with the full experience Julie helped create (tons commented on her awesome energy and spirit while she was behind the table!). Julie is a custom service to the max! Thank you Julie!

    Sent on 12/12/2016
  • M

    Mike · Married on 10/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julie was awesome - she was great to work with and really flexible with how we approached the music selection. We had an outdoor / tented wedding and her equipment suited the event perfectly. Her musical taste and song selections fit each stage of the wedding day and we couldn't be happier with how things turned out. A lot of friends and family have commented on how enthusiastic she was when DJ'ing.

    Sent on 10/31/2016
  • K

    karen · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I are so grateful to Julie Jakolat for the incredible DJ services she provided.

    Julie gave us personalized attention from the first phone call (three months ago) to today (2 weeks after the wedding). She spent time getting to know us and our musical tastes, which I think helped her understand the vibe we wanted for our wedding.

    On the day of the event, Julie mingled with our guests and asked them for requests. Only when the dance party started did I understand the genius of this approach. Our guests got so engaged and excited when their requests came on, and it kept the playlist fresh and surprising for us (though I should add that Julie gave us veto power to remove requests we didn’t like). She kept our dance party going full force for four hours straight.

    Additionally, Julie helped us on the day of our wedding in ways that went above and beyond her duties as a DJ, which was essential for things running smoothly. She was our right-hand person throughout the evening.

    Over the next few days, we heard repeatedly from our guests how amazing the DJ was, and that they were sore from non-stop dancing. One guest said that she didn’t want to use the restroom because she was afraid she would miss a good song. The dance party was the most important aspect of the wedding for us, and Julie realized our greatest hopes, and then some.

    Sent on 10/10/2016